DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims as amended have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the references do not teach silica preferably has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. However, according to the description (Pages 10-11) the microparticles are reduced as claimed by the solvent distillation step. Therefore, the same distillation step of Fei et al. (Examples 1, 3, 6) would reasonably be expected to reduce the microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed. Further, the same distillation step of Otsuki et al. (Paragraphs 96, 105 and Examples) would reasonably be expected to reduce the microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed. Further, Otsuki et al. (Paragraphs 103, 105) ultrafiltration which would reasonably be expected to reduce microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed
Additionally, newly cited Ashitaka et al. teaches (Paragraphs 13 and 33) silane modified colloidal silica preferably has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the polishing silica of Fei et al. and Otsuki et al. with a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size in order to produce chemical mechanical polishing particles with predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112429741 to Fei et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Fei et al. teaches sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein during synthesis the mercapto-containing silane coupling agent is present at 0.01 to 10% of the mass of silica in the silica sol to me modified (See Claim 2). Fei et al. teaches (Examples 1-6) applying different concentrations of mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane to the silica sol and prepared by the preparation method of mixing with alcohol solvent, heating, refluxing and aging, followed by heating, mixing with oxidizing agent and reacting. Therefore, it is implicit that the amount of sulfonic acid groups per 1g of particles is 3.0 µmol/g or more and 10.5 µmol/g or less.
Regarding Claim 1, Fei et al. teaches silica particles are widely used for chemical mechanical polishing, but does not expressly teach the sulfonic acid-modified colloidal silica has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. However, according to the description (Pages 10-11) the microparticles are reduced as claimed by the solvent distillation step. Therefore, the same distillation step of Fei et al. (Examples 1, 3, 6) would reasonably be expected to reduce the microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112429741 to Fei et al. in view of US Publication 2017/0362465 to Ashitaka et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Fei et al. teaches sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein during synthesis the mercapto-containing silane coupling agent is present at 0.01 to 10% of the mass of silica in the silica sol to me modified (See Claim 2). Fei et al. teaches (Examples 1-6) applying different concentrations of mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane to the silica sol and prepared by the preparation method of mixing with alcohol solvent, heating, refluxing and aging, followed by heating, mixing with oxidizing agent and reacting. Therefore, it is implicit that the amount of sulfonic acid groups per 1g of particles is 3.0 µmol/g or more and 10.5 µmol/g or less.
Regarding Claim 1, Fei et al. teaches silica particles are widely used for chemical mechanical polishing, but does not expressly teach the sulfonic acid-modified colloidal silica has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. However, Ashitaka et al. teaches (Paragraphs 13 and 33-37) silane modified colloidal silica preferably has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the silica of Fei et al. with a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size in order to produce chemical mechanical polishing particles with predictable results.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0177318 to Otsuki et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Otsuki et al. teaches (See at least Paragraphs 110-
116 in context) sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein the amount of sulfonic acid
groups per 1g of particles is 0.5 to 350 µmol/g, preferably 5.5 to 170 µmol/g. It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention
to provide a sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein the amount of sulfonic acid
groups per 1g of particles is 3.0 µmol/g or more and 10.5 µmol/g or less in order to
provide a modified colloidal silica that can be stably dispersed and can further increase
electrostatic attraction or repulsion against a polished object, and further suppresses an
increase in secondary particle size, formation of aggregates, and gelation as recited by Otsuki et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Otsuki et al. does not expressly teach the sulfonic acid-modified colloidal silica has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. However, according to the description (Pages 10-11) the microparticles are reduced as claimed by the solvent distillation step. Therefore, the same distillation step of Otsuki et al. (Paragraphs 96, 105 and Examples) would reasonably be expected to reduce the microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed. Further, Otsuki et al. (Paragraphs 103, 105) ultrafiltration which would reasonably be expected to reduce microparticles as claimed, or else is the result of essential limitations which have not been claimed.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2022/0177318 to Otsuki et al. in view of US Publication 2017/0362465 to Ashitaka et al.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Otsuki et al. teaches (See at least Paragraphs 110-
116 in context) sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein the amount of sulfonic acid
groups per 1g of particles is 0.5 to 350 µmol/g, preferably 5.5 to 170 µmol/g. It would
have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention
to provide a sulfonic acid modified colloidal silica wherein the amount of sulfonic acid
groups per 1g of particles is 3.0 µmol/g or more and 10.5 µmol/g or less in order to
provide a modified colloidal silica that can be stably dispersed and can further increase
electrostatic attraction or repulsion against a polished object, and further suppresses an
increase in secondary particle size, formation of aggregates, and gelation as recited by Otsuki et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Otsuki et al. teaches silica particles are used as abrasive for electronic materials such as semiconductor wafers (Paragraph 3), but does not expressly teach the sulfonic acid-modified colloidal silica has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. However, Ashitaka et al. teaches (Paragraphs 13 and 33-37) silane modified colloidal silica for polishing preferably has a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size based on a Heywood diameter (diameter of the equivalent circle) by image analysis using a scanning electron microscope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the silica of Ashitaka et al. with a number-based percentage of 10% or less of microparticles having a particle size of 40% or less of a volume-average particle size in order to produce chemical mechanical polishing particles with predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716