DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0064184 A1 [Brown].
Regarding Claim 6:
Brown discloses a method of inspecting a sample (Fig. 2) comprising:
generating a scan clock signal (paras 14-15);
generating a first electron beam (para 30);
deflecting the first electron beam synchronous with the scan clock signal to scan an area on the sample (para 34);
directing a signal generated by the sample in response to the electron beam to a multipixel solid-state sensor of a detector module (Fig. 3a), wherein the multipixel solid-state sensor comprises a cluster including two or more pixels (paras 36-38);
detecting charge collected by the cluster in a first time interval, wherein the first time interval is synchronized to the scan clock to generate a first electrical signal corresponding to the charge collected by the cluster in the first time interval (Fig. 2 (204-214) at a later point in scanning, note para 42 with respect to synchronization), wherein each pixel of the cluster is coupled to dedicated readout electronics within the detector module, and converting the first electrical signal into a first digital signal within the detector module (para 86);
detecting the charge collected by the cluster in a second time interval, wherein the second time interval is synchronized to the scan clock to generate a second electrical signal corresponding to the charge collected in the second time interval (Fig. 2 (204-214) at an earlier point in scanning, note para 42 with respect to synchronization), wherein each pixel of the cluster is coupled to dedicated readout electronics within the detector module, and converting the second electrical signal into a second digital signal, wherein converting the second electrical signal starts before converting the first electrical signal is completed (para 86); and
inspecting the sample by analyzing the first digital signal and the second digital signal (Fig. 2 (218)).
Regarding Claim 7:
Brown discloses the method of claim 6, wherein detecting the charge comprises summing the charges from the two pixels. Paras 19, 53, 65.
Regarding Claim 8:
Brown discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the summing comprises summing one of a voltage domain and a current domain. Paras 19, 53, 65.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0064184 A1 [Brown] in view of US 3,812,288 [Walsh].
Regarding Claim 1:
Brown teaches a method of inspecting a sample (Fig. 2) comprising:
generating a scan clock signal (paras 14-15);
generating a first electron beam (para 30);
deflecting the first electron beam to a first location on the sample (para 34);
directing a signal generated by the sample in response to the first electron beam to a multipixel solid-state sensor of a detector module, wherein the multipixel solid-state sensor comprises a plurality of pixels (paras 36-38);
detecting the charge collected a pixel of the multipixel solid-state sensor (Fig. 3a), wherein each pixel is coupled to dedicated readout electronics within the detector module, to generate an electrical signal corresponding to the charge collected by the pixel (para 86);
converting the electrical signal to a digital value within the detector module (para 86); and
comparing the digital value with a first threshold and a second threshold and determining the presence of an element (paras 46-47).
However, Brown does not specify that the determination is made if the digital value is greater than the first threshold and the digital signal is smaller than the second threshold.
Walsh teaches an SEM comparing signals to known values in order to determine the presence of an element if an X-ray signal is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold. 6:35-7:11. Brown explicitly notes that it may also collect x-rays with its detectors. Para 95. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the X-ray element characterization of Walsh to Brown since this would provide another modality for identifying elements in a sample.
Regarding Claim 2:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first threshold is smaller than the digital value corresponding to a characteristic energy of the element, and the second threshold is greater than the digital value corresponding to a characteristic energy of the element. Walsh 7:6-11.
Regarding Claim 3:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the element comprises at least one of silicon, aluminum, copper, tungsten, or titanium. Walsh 7:6-11.
Regarding Claim 4:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
deflecting the first electron beam to a second location on the sample (Brown paras 14, 15, 40, 41);
directing a second signal generated by the sample in response to the first electron beam to a pixel (Brown (208-214) occur for each scanned location);
detecting a second charge collected by the pixel to generate a second electrical signal corresponding to the second charge collected by the pixel (Brown (208-214) occur for each scanned location);
converting the second electrical signal to a second digital value within the detector module (Brown (208-214) occur for each scanned location); and
comparing the second digital value with the first threshold and the second threshold and determining the presence of the element (paras 46-47).
However, Brown does not specify that the determination is made if the digital value is greater than the first threshold and the digital signal is smaller than the second threshold, or
creating a map of where the element is present on the sample.
Walsh teaches an SEM comparing signals to known values in order to determine the presence of an element if an X-ray signal is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold. 6:35-7:11. Brown explicitly notes that it may also collect x-rays with its detectors. Para 95. Further, Walsh teaches creating a map of where the element is present on the sample. Fig. 6, 8:12-27. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the X-ray element characterization and elemental mapping of Walsh to Brown since this would provide another modality for identifying elements in a sample.
Regarding Claim 5:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising:
comparing the first and second digital value with a third threshold and a fourth threshold and determining the presence of a second element if the second digital value is greater than the third threshold and the second digital value is smaller than the fourth threshold (Walsh 8:12-27); and
creating a map of where at least one of the first element or second element is present on the sample. Walsh Fig. 6, 8:12-27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881