DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-14 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the amendments made over come pervious prior art of record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made incorporating US 20230141852 A1 Lee et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130207166 A1 Chen et al hereafter “Chen” in view of US 20200044025 A1 Liu et al hereafter “Liu” and US 20230141852 A1 Lee et al hereafter “Lee”.
Claim 1 Chen teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a gate structure (comprising at least 13 fig. 1) on a substrate (21 fig. 1); and
an epitaxial layer (comprising 25, 27, 29, and 35 fig. 1) adjacent to the gate structure, wherein the epitaxial layer comprises:
a first buffer layer (25 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe);
an anisotropic layer (29 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe) on the first buffer layer; and
a bulk layer (35 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe) on the anisotropic layer,
a concentration of boron in the bulk layer ranging from
6
*
10
19
/
c
m
3
to
5
*
10
20
/
c
m
3
[Column 5 lines 56 to 61]
a concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer is 0 [Column 5 lines 50 to 55 “boron free”]
Chen does not teach wherein a concentration of boron in the first buffer layer is less than the concentration of boron in the bulk layer, a concentration of boron in the bulk layer is less than a concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer, and the anisotropic layer has a substantially crescent moon profile.
Liu teaches a melt anneal performed with a lower power [Paragraph 0055] that results in a boron concentration profile of a source/drain region as a function of depth (134 fig. 19) wherein a first concentration of boron at a first depth (140 of 134 fig. 19) is less than a second concentration of boron at a second depth (144 intersecting 134 fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the boron doped epitaxial layer as Chen teaches and perform an melt anneal to get the boron concentration profile as Liu teaches such that “a concentration of boron in the bulk layer is less than a concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer” to optimize the result effected variable of the contact resistance of the source drain/region [paragraph 0013 Liu] and/or to optimize the result effected variable the stress and/or strain and/or carrier mobility (hole mobility) of the source/drain (SiGe material layer) [column 2 line 54 to column 3 line 12 Chen]. [See MPEP 2144.05 II]
In view the Boron concentration profile Liu teaches as shown above the limitation “a concentration of boron in the first buffer layer is less than the concentration of boron” is also met [sufficiently illustrated 134 fig. 19 Liu when combined with Chen, see annotation below].
Lee teaches epitaxial source/drain layers (151, 152P, 153P1 Fig. 9H I-I’ “gently curved shape” paragraph 0093) having a crescent moon profile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the known device Chen in view of Liu teaches and to combine it with the known crescent moon profile of the epitaxial source/drain layers Lee teaches such that “the anisotropic layer has a substantially crescent moon profile” to reduce the dislocations formed on the surfaces between epitaxial layers [Sufficiently disclosed Lee Paragraph 0093 “The third lower epitaxial layer 153P1 may have a gently curved shape as illustrated in FIG. 9H by diffusion of surface atoms. Accordingly, dislocations formed on the surface of the third lower epitaxial layer 153P1 formed in the process in FIG. 9G may be removed”].
Annotated fig. 19 Liu: Highlighting the corresponding layers to relative depth when combined with Chen
Claim 2 Chen in view of Liu and Lee teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a second buffer layer (27 fig. 1, per MPEP 2112, SiGe) between the first buffer layer and the anisotropic layer [illustrated fig. 1].
Claim 3 Chen in view of Liu and Lee teaches the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein a concentration of boron in the first buffer layer (0, Column 5 line 39-40 “no boron” Chen) is less than a concentration of boron in the second buffer layer (from
3
*
10
18
/
c
m
3
to
1
*
10
10
/
c
m
3
Column 5 lines 44-49 Chen). [this limitation is met by base reference Chen and/or in view of Liu as shown for claim 1 concentration profile 134 fig. 19, see annotation below].
Annotated fig. 19 Liu: Highlighting the corresponding layers to relative depth when combined with Chen
Claim 4 Chen in view of Liu and Lee teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein a concentration of boron in the second buffer layer is less than the concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer. [the limitation is met in view of Liu as shown for claim 1 concentration profile 134 fig. 19, see annotation above]
Claim 5 Chen in view Liu and Lee teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a cap layer (37 fig. 1) on the bulk layer.
Claim 6 Chen teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a gate structure (comprising at least 13 fig. 1) on a substrate (21 fig. 1); and
an epitaxial layer (Comprising 25, 27, 29, 35) adjacent to the gate structure, wherein the epitaxial layer comprises:
a first buffer layer (25 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe), an anisotropic layer (29 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe) on the first buffer layer, and a bulk layer (35 fig. 1 per MPEP 2112, SiGe) on the anisotropic layer,
a first concentration of boron (sufficiently disclosed under broadest reasonable interpretation column 2 lines 46-53 “boron doped”) expanding along a first direction (see annotation below); and
a second concentration of boron (sufficiently disclosed under broadest reasonable interpretation column 2 lines 46-53 “boron doped”) expanding along a second direction (see annotation below), wherein an angle (see annotation below) included between the first direction and the second direction is between 35-65 degrees [This limitation is met under broadest reasonable interpretation, a boron concentration is disclosed as being in the SiGe layers and concentration is measured in amount per distance cubed, Liu explicitly measures the concentrations in atomic units per centimeter cubed (see column 5 lines 44-49), this is a 3D measurement that represents the amount boron in all of real space. There must necessarily be a boron concentration in all real directions within the SiGe material including a first and second direction with an angle between them that is between 35-65 degrees in order to enable a 3D boron concentration within the SiGe material, see annotation below].
Chen does not teach wherein, and wherein a concentration of boron in the bulk layer is less than a concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer, a concentration of boron in the first buffer layer is less than the concentration of boron in the bulk layer, nor the anisotropic layer has a substantially crescent moon profile.
Liu teaches a melt anneal performed with a lower power [Paragraph 0055] that results in a boron concentration profile of a source/drain region as a function of depth (134 fig. 19) wherein a first concentration of boron at a first depth (140 of 134 fig. 19) is less than a second concentration of boron at a second depth (144 intersecting 134 fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the boron doped epitaxial layer as Chen teaches and perform an melt anneal to get the boron concentration profile as Liu teaches such that “a concentration of boron in the bulk layer is less than a concentration of boron in the anisotropic layer” to optimize the result effected variable of the contact resistance of the source drain/region [paragraph 0013 Liu] and/or to optimize the result effected variable the stress and/or strain and/or carrier mobility (hole mobility) of the source/drain (SiGe material layer) [column 2 line 54 to column 3 line 12 Chen]. [See MPEP 2144.05 II]
In view the Boron concentration profile Liu teaches as shown above the limitation “a concentration of boron in the first buffer layer is less than the concentration of boron” is also met [sufficiently illustrated 134 fig. 19 Liu when combined with Chen, see annotation below].
Lee teaches epitaxial source/drain layers (151, 152P, 153P1 Fig. 9H I-I’ “gently curved shape” paragraph 0093) having a crescent moon profile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the known device Chen in view of Liu teaches and to combine it with the known crescent moon profile of the epitaxial source/drain layers Lee teaches such that “the anisotropic layer has a substantially crescent moon profile” to reduce the dislocations formed on the surfaces between epitaxial layers [Sufficiently disclosed Lee Paragraph 0093 “The third lower epitaxial layer 153P1 may have a gently curved shape as illustrated in FIG. 9H by diffusion of surface atoms. Accordingly, dislocations formed on the surface of the third lower epitaxial layer 153P1 formed in the process in FIG. 9G may be removed”].
Annotated fig. 19 Liu: Highlighting the corresponding layers to relative depth when combined with Chen
Annotated fig. 1 Chen: highlighting a first direction and a second direction
Claim 7 Chen in view of Lee and Liu teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the first direction is parallel to a surface of the substrate (the top most surface of the substrate 21, illustrated fig. 1, see annotation above).
Claim 8 Chen in view of Lee and Liu teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the second direction is toward a bottom of the substrate [illustrated in fig. 1, see annotation above].
Claim 9 Chen in view of Lee and Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6,
Chen in view of Lee does not teach wherein the first concentration of boron expanding at a first depth is less than the second concentration of the boron expanding at the first depth.
Liu teaches a boron concentration (140 of 134 fig. 19) expanding at a first position (the SiGe cross section represented by the boron concentration profile 134 fig. 19) is less than a second concentration (144 intersecting 134 fig. 19) expanding at the first position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the boron doped epitaxial layer as Chen teaches and perform an melt anneal to get the boron concentration profile as Liu teaches such that “the first concentration of boron expanding at a first depth is less than the second concentration of the boron expanding at the first depth” to optimize the result effected variable of the contact resistance of the source drain/region [paragraph 0013 Liu] and/or to optimize the result effected variable the stress and/or strain and/or carrier mobility (hole mobility) of the source/drain (SiGe material layer) [column 2 line 54 to column 3 line 12 Chen]. [See MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 10 Chen in view of Liu and Lee teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the first depth is between 30-40 nm. [This limitation as Chen teach Layer 35 has a thickness of 40 to 60nm (column 5 lines 64-65), so the first depth must be less then 60nm which significantly overlaps 30-40nm (see MPEP 2131.03)]
Alternatively, if the applicant disagrees It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the relative size and/or scale of the device as Chen in view of Liu teach such that “the first depth is between 30-40nm” as changes in relative size and/or shape is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A] and/or changes in overlapping and/or similar ranges is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.05 I.].
Claim 11 Chen in view of Lee and Liu teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 6,
Chen in view of Lee does not teach wherein the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a first depth is less than the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a second depth.
Liu teaches a boron concentration profile (134 fig. 19) expanding at a first position (140 of 134 fig. 19) is less than the boron concentration profile expanding at a second position (144 intersecting 134 fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the boron doped epitaxial layer as Chen in view of Lee teaches and perform an melt anneal to get the boron concentration profile as Liu teaches such that “the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a first depth is less than the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a second depth” to optimize the result effected variable of the contact resistance of the source drain/region [paragraph 0013 Liu] and/or to optimize the result effected variable the stress and/or strain and/or carrier mobility (hole mobility) of the source/drain (SiGe material layer) [column 2 line 54 to column 3 line 12 Chen]. [See MPEP 2144.05 II].
Claim 12 Chen in view of Liu and Lee teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the second depth is between 40-50 nm.
[This limitation as Chen teach Layer 35 has a thickness of 40 to 60nm (column 5 lines 64-65), so the first depth must be less then 60nm which significantly overlaps 40-60nm (see MPEP 2131.03)]
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the relative size and/or scale of the device as Chen in view of Liu and Lee teach such that “the first depth is between 30-40nm” as changes in relative size and/or shape is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A] and/or changes in overlapping and/or similar ranges is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.05 I.].
Claim 13 Chen in view of Lee and Liu teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a third depth (depth of element 25 fig. 1, 0, Column 5 line 39-40 “no boron” Chen) is less than the second concentration profile of boron expanding at a second depth (depth of element 27 fig. 1, from
3
*
10
18
/
c
m
3
to
1
*
10
10
/
c
m
3
Column 5 lines 44-49 Chen).
Claim 14 Chen in view of Leeand Liu teaches as shown above the semiconductor device of claim 13,
Chen in view of Lee does not teach wherein the third depth is between 50-60 nm.
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the relative size and/or scale of the device as Chen in view of Liu teach such that “the third depth is between 50-60 nm” as changes in relative size and/or shape is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893