Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-27, drawn to a process of using a particle beam to correct/modify a lithographic object (photomask) having a ruthenium layer, classified in G03F1/86
II. Claim 28, drawn to an particle beam apparatus able to correct a photomask , classified in B44C1/227
III. Claim 29 , drawn to a processed photomask, classified in G03F1/22,24.
IV. Claim 30, drawn to a lithographic exposure apparatus including a photomask, classified in G03B27/32.
V. Claim 31, drawn to a computer program for computer controlling correction of a photomask, classified in ********
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions group I and group II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus can be used to correct/modify other photomasks or other devices not including a ruthenium layer.
Inventions group I and group III are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions these function in an entirely different manner. The invention of group I uses a particle beam to ablate/modify a ruthenium layer on a photomask while the lithographic device of group III uses light to image photoresists.
Inventions group I and group IV are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions these function in an entirely different manner. The invention of group I uses a particle beam to ablate/modify a ruthenium layer on a photomask while the lithographic process of group IV uses light to image photoresists to produce a semiconductor device
Inventions group I and group V are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the process can use manual or non-computerized means to control the position and duration of the particle beam treatment.
Inventions group II and group III are related as apparatus and product made. The inventions in this relationship are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the apparatus as claimed is not an obvious apparatus for making the product and the apparatus can be used for making a materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different apparatus (MPEP § 806.05(g)). In this case the product can be made using other etching mean, such as a masked reaction ion etch.
Inventions group II and group IV are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions these function in an entirely different manner. The invention of group II uses a particle beam to ablate/modify a ruthenium layer on a photomask while the lithographic process of group IV uses light to image photoresists to produce a semiconductor device
Group II and V
Inventions of group III and IV are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the photomask can be used in metrology, evaluation of the lithographic system or forming optical devices, rather than in a process producing a semiconductor device.
Inventions group III and group V are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions these function in an entirely different manner. The invention of group V is used with a particle beam apparatus while the photomask of group III is used with light to image photoresists to produce a semiconductor device
Inventions group IV and group V are unrelated. Inventions are unrelated if it can be shown that they are not disclosed as capable of use together and they have different designs, modes of operation, and effects (MPEP § 802.01 and § 806.06). In the instant case, the different inventions these function in an entirely different manner. The invention of group V is used with a particle beam apparatus while the process of group IV uses light to image photoresists to produce a semiconductor device
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The different inventions have acquired a separate status in the art as evidenced by their different classification and divergent subject matter.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Rex. I. Huang (57611) on June 23, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-27. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1-4,9,10,12-16 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Chan et al. 20190079384
Chan et al. 20190079384 teaches the processing of a comparative example where an EUV mirror is not formed. The substrate is coated with a 2.5 nm Ru layer (capping), a 25 nm Ni layer (absorber), a 5 nm Ru etch stop layer, a TiN hardmask, a SiO2 layer, a spin on carbon (SOC) layer and a spin on glass (SOG) and then a photoresist. The second method used an ion beam etch to pattern the 5 nm Ru/25 nm Ni layer. It was not possible to control the etch so that it stopped when the 2.5 nm Ru layer was reached. [0146].
The examiner holds that there are at least some gas molecules present in the ion beam etch apparatus and at least some of these act as a carrier to remove etched material. The claims do not require any particular gas, that it is reactive with ruthenium or present in any particular amount. The 5 nm Ru layer is the first material and the second material is the Ni layer and the third material is 2.5 nm Ru layer. The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
Claims 1-5,7-10,12 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Matsuo 20120021344.
Matsuo 20120021344 teaches an EUV mask formed on a substrate with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a 21.5 nm Ru layer, a 17 nm SnO which was then coated with a resist and patterned and then used to control the etch of the SnO and Ru film. This was then inspected and defects were repaired using an electron beam and then cleaned [0157-0162].
Claims 1-13,16-20,23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shiyouki JP 2004289048.
Shiyouki JP 2004289048 (machine translation attached) teaches in example 1 (see figure 1), a substrate (1) with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer (2) , a 3 nm CrN buffer layer (3) and a 70nm TaBN absorber layer and a 15 nm TaBO low reflection layer, and the absorber layer was patterned using a chloride etch. To correct the black defect a 1 keV electron beam was used in the presence of XeF2 gas to remove the undesired portions. The white defect was corrected using a 1 keV electron beam to decomposed methylcyclopoentadiuoienyl platinum gas to deposit Pt. The remaining (CrN) buffer layer was removed by a dry etch using chlorine and oxygen [0022-0027]. Example 2 was similar, but used a 10 nm CrRu buffer layer [0028-0030].
The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Kishida et al. WO 2024085026.
Kishida et al. WO 2024085026 (machine translation attached) describes a substrate with a backside CrN layer, a reflective Mo/Si multilayer, a 3.5 nm Ru60Rh30Cr10 protective layer, a buffer layer (see table 3), a first absorber layer (see table 3) and an upper absorber layer (see table 3) and an etching/hard mask (see table 3, CrON, CrN/SiO2,). As the first absorption layer 42 in Examples 5 and 6 and Comparative Example 4, a PtRuB film was formed with the thickness shown in Table 1. The PtRuB film (first absorption layer 42) was formed by DC magnetron sputtering using a PtRuB target and introducing argon (Ar) gas at a gas flow rate of 25 sccm at a power of 1200 W.
These were patterned and then evaluated for repair. The repair evaluation used a 1 kV beam with XeF2 at a temperature of 0o C and H2O at a temperature of -42o C [0134-0169]. The protective film 3 preferably contains at least one selected from ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh) and iridium (Ir). It is more preferable that the protective film 3 contains at least one selected from ruthenium (Ru) and rhodium (Rh). The protective film 3 may further contain an additive element in addition to the above-mentioned elements. The additive element contained in the protective film 3 is preferably one or more elements selected from Tl, Hf, Ti, Zr, Mn, In, Ga, Cd, Bi, Ta, Pb, Ag, Al, V, Nb, Sn, Zn, Hg, Cr, Fe, Sb, W, Mo and Cu [0051]. The first absorption layer 42 contains a metal (M .sub.A1 ) and boron (B). The metal (M .sub.A1 ) is not particularly limited as long as it has a function of absorbing EUV light and/or a phase shift function, can be processed by etching or the like (preferably can be etched by dry etching with a chlorine (Cl)-based gas and/or a fluorine (F)-based gas), and has a high etching selectivity with respect to the multilayer reflective film 2 (or the protective film 3, if present). As the metal (M .sub.A1 ) having such a function, at least one metal selected from palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), tungsten (W), chromium (Cr), cobalt (Co), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), vanadium (V), nickel (Ni), hafnium (Hf), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), tellurium (Te), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), germanium (Ge), aluminum (Al), rhodium (Rh), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), niobium (Nb), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), yttrium (Y), and silicon (Si), an alloy containing two or more metals, or a compound thereof can be preferably used. The compound may contain oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and/or carbon (C) in the above metal or alloy. The material of the first absorption layer 42 preferably contains boron (B) and at least one metal (M .sub.A1 ) selected from tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru) and gold (Au). The metal (M A1 .sub.) contained in the material of the first absorption layer 42 can be a single metal or an alloy containing two or more metals. The first absorption layer 42 may contain N, O and/or H in addition to boron (B) and the metal (M .sub.A1 ). The material of the first absorption layer 42 can preferably be at least one selected from TaB, TaBN, TaBNO, PtRuB, PtRuBN, AuB, AuBN, AuRuB, AuBN, AuCrB, AuCrBN, AuTaB and AuTaBN. When the metal (M .sub.A1 ) contained in the first absorption layer 42 is the above-mentioned element, it is possible to obtain an absorber film 4 having predetermined optical characteristics with respect to EUV light, which is the exposure light. In the reflective mask blank 100 of this embodiment, the first absorption layer 42 preferably contains tantalum (Ta). By making the first absorption layer 42 contain tantalum (Ta), it is possible to more reliably obtain an absorber film 4 that is easy to etch.In the case where the absorber film 4 has a phase shift function, the material of the first absorption layer 42 may contain boron (B) and at least one metal (M .sub.A1 ) selected from platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru) and gold (Au). In order to increase the etching selectivity with the first absorption layer 42, the material of the protective film 3 may contain rhodium (Rh). Since Rh has a low refractive index, when the thickness of the protective film 3 changes, the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2 is likely to vary. Therefore, in order to suppress the variation of the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2, it is preferable that the damage to the protective film 3 is small. In this specification, the "damage to the protective film 3" includes not only the adverse effect on the surface of the protective film 3, but also the protective film 3 being unintentionally etched and thinned. By using the absorber film 4 of this embodiment, it is possible to reduce the damage caused to the multilayer reflection film 2 and/or the protective film 3 when the etching mask pattern 6a is removed by etching, and it is possible to suppress the variation of the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2. Therefore, when the absorber film 4 has a phase shift function, the reflective mask blank 100 of this embodiment can be preferably applied [0060-0063]. The material of the second absorption layer 44 includes a metal (M .sub.A2 ). The metal (M .sub.A2 ), like the metal (M .sub.A1 ) of the first absorption layer 42, is not particularly limited as long as it has a function of absorbing EUV light and/or a phase shift function, can be processed by etching or the like (preferably can be etched by dry etching with a chlorine (Cl)-based gas and/or a fluorine (F)-based gas), and has a high etching selectivity with respect to the multilayer reflective film 2 (or the protective film 3, if present). As the metal (M .sub.A2 ) having such a function, at least one metal selected from palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), tungsten (W), chromium (Cr), cobalt (Co), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), vanadium (V), nickel (Ni), hafnium (Hf), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), tellurium (Te), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), germanium (Ge), aluminum (Al), rhodium (Rh), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), niobium (Nb), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), yttrium (Y), and silicon (Si), an alloy containing two or more metals, or a compound thereof can be preferably used. When the material of the second absorption layer 44 includes a compound, the compound may include oxygen (O), nitrogen (N), carbon (C), and/or boron (B) in the above metal or alloy [0073]
Examples 5 and 6 and comparative example 4 meet claims 1-27. The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
Claims 1-17 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170.
Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170 (machine translation attached) in example 1 teaches a substrate with a CrN backside layer and a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a 3.5 nm Ru protective layer (3), a 6 nm TaBO buffer film (4), a 40 nm RuCrN absorber film (5). This was then patterned and the absorber was evaluated for defect removal by exposure to an electron beam which supplying a fluorine gas [0082-0094].
The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
Claims 1-6,8,9,10 and 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434.
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 (machine translation attached) teaches in ethe examples a substrate coated with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a protective layer (18) as shown in figure 3. This was evaluated for repair resistance using exposure with an electron beams in a XeF2/H2O atmosphere. The repair evaluation used a 1 kV beams with XeF2 at a temperature of 0o C and H2O at a temperature of -42o C . A second set of substrates was then provided with a RuCr phase shift film, which was then patterned and then evaluated for reflectance.
[0109-0126]. In the reflective mask blank 110 of the present embodiment, it is preferable to use a material containing ruthenium (Ru) (Ru-based material) as the material of the absorber film 24. Ruthenium (Ru), chromium (Cr), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), germanium (Ge) as Ru-based materials. ), Niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), hafnium (Hf), tungsten (W) and ruthenium (Re). Further, the Ru-based material containing Ru and at least one element among Al, Si, Ti, Nb, Mo, Sn, Te, Hf, W and Re can be dry-etched with a fluorine-based gas. As the fluorogas, CF .sub.4 , CHF .sub.3 , C .sub.2 F .sub.6 , C .sub.3 F .sub.6 , C .sub.4 F .sub.6 , C .sub.4 F .sub.8 , CH .sub.2 F .sub.2 , C .sub.3 F .sub.8 , SF .sub.6 and the like can be used. can. These etching gases may be used alone or in combination of two or more. These etching gases may contain an inert gas such as He and / or Ar, or an O .sub.2 gas, if necessary. [0070-0077]
Comparative example 1 which uses RuNb and inventive examples 2 and 3 meet the claims rejected under this heading.
The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
Claims 1-6,8-10,12,13,16-19 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa et al. 20180259841.
Nozawa et al. 20180259841 in example 1 teaches a photomask with an AlSiO etch stop layer, a MoSiN phase shift film, a CrOCN light shielding layer, a SiON hardmask, which was patterned. This halftone phase shift mask is useful with 193 nm ArF exposure sources and the mask pattern was evaluated and then repaired using an electron beam in the presence of XeF2 [0142-0158]. On the one hand, phase shift film 3 can be formed from a material containing a transition metal, silicon, and nitrogen. In this case, the transition metal includes any one or more metals from among molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), hafnium (Hf), nickel (Ni), vanadium (V), zirconium (Zr), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), zinc (Zn), niobium (Nb), and palladium (Pd), etc., and alloys thereof. The material for phase shift film 3 may include, in addition to the abovementioned elements, elements such as nitrogen (N), oxygen (0), carbon (C), hydrogen (H), and boron (B). Furthermore, materials for phase shift film 3 may include inert gases such as helium (He), argon (Ar), krypton (Kr), and xenon (Xe). Taking into consideration the detection of etching endpoints in EB defect repair, this phase shift film 3 preferably does not incorporate aluminum [0088]. The silicon containing material for forming light shielding film 4 may incorporate a transition metal or a metal element other than a transition metal. The pattern to be formed on light shielding film 4 is a light shielding band pattern in the outer periphery region as a rule. This is because the region has less cumulative irradiation of the ArF exposure light compared to the transfer pattern region and because a fine pattern is rarely arranged in this outer periphery region and low ArF resistance would cause substantially no problems. Furthermore, this is because having light shielding film 4 incorporate a transition metal greatly improves the light shielding performance compared to the case in which no transition metal is incorporated, making it possible to make the thickness of light shielding film 4 thinner. Transition metals to be incorporated in light shielding film 4 include any one metal such as molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), hafnium (Hf), nickel (Ni), vanadium (V), zirconium (Zr), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), niobium (Nb), and palladium (Pd), or alloys thereof [0096]. This hard mask film 5 is preferably formed from the abovementioned silicon containing material in a case where light shielding film 4 is formed from a chromium containing material. Here, in this case, because hard mask film 5 tends to have low adhesion to resist films of organic materials, the surface of hard mask film 5 is preferably subjected to HMDS (Hexamethyldisilazane) treatment to enhance surface adhesion. Note that in this case, hard mask film 5 is more preferably formed from SiO.sub.2, SiN, SiON, etc. Furthermore, for the case in which light shielding film 4 is formed from a chromium containing material, tantalum containing materials may be applied as the material for hard mask film 5. In this case, tantalum containing materials include, apart from tantalum metals, materials incorporating one or more elements selected from among nitrogen, oxygen, boron, and carbon in addition to tantalum. Examples thereof include Ta, TaN, TaO, TaON, TaBN, TaBO, TaBON, TaCN, TaCO, TaCON, TaBCN, and TaBOCN. Note that in this case, the silicon content of hard mask film 5 is preferably 5 atom % or less, more preferably 3 atom % or less, and even more preferably it does not substantially contain silicon. Furthermore, hard mask film 5 is preferably formed from the abovementioned chromium containing material in the case where light shielding film 4 is formed from a silicon containing material [0101-0102].
Nozawa et al. 20180259841 teaches DUV photomasks, but does not exemplify the correction of a photomask having a Ru containing layer.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify cited example by adding at least some Ru to the phase shift layer as taught at [0088] and/or the light shielding layer as taught at [0096] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful corrected DUV mask based upon the disclosure to add these element to these layers.
Claims 1-10,12,13 and 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434.
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 does not exemplify the treatment of the photomask including the RuCr phase shift film.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of inventive examples 2 and 3 by adding the RuCr phase shift film, patterning it and correcting the patterned film using the disclosed XeF2/H2O and electron beams treatment taught for correction with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned and corrected EUV photomask
Claims 1-10,12,13 and 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434, in view of Kormilov et al. 20200141972.
Kormilov et al. 20200141972 teaches gasses for locally etching (photo) masks [0048]. Moreover, a local EBID process can be used to correct the defect 460 if the defect 460 is a defect of lacking material. The second supply container 555 stores an etching gas, which makes it possible to perform an electron beam induced etching (EBIE) process. With the aid of an electron beam-induced etching process, a test structure deposited by use of an EBID process can be modified in such a way that said test structure has a predetermined contour. A test structure can be transferred by dragging a contamination of the sample 510 on the test structure by the measuring tip 100, 110. As a result of a cleaning process for the test structure 470, 480, the functionality of the latter can be substantially restored. To this end, the test structure at the site 470, 480 is cleaned by an electron beam 535 and, optionally, under the provision of the etching gas stored in the second supply container 555 [0145-0146]. If the defect 460 is a defect of excess material, the defect 460 can be removed from the mask 400 by carrying out a local EBIE process. An etching gas can comprise for example xenon difluoride (XeF.sub.2), chlorine (Cl.sub.2), oxygen (O.sub.2), ozone (O.sub.3), water vapor (H.sub.2O), hydrogen peroxide (H.sub.2O.sub.2), dinitrogen monoxide (N.sub.2O), nitrogen monoxide (NO), nitrogen dioxide (NO.sub.2), nitric acid (HNO.sub.3), ammonia (NH.sub.3) or sulfur hexafluoride (SF.sub.6). Further suitable etching gases are listed in the third section of this description [0149]. The etching gas may comprise: Xenon difluoride (XeF.sub.2), xenon dichloride (XeCl.sub.2), xenon tetrachloride (XeCl.sub.4), water vapor (H.sub.2O), heavy water (D.sub.2O), oxygen (O.sub.2), XNO, XONO.sub.2, X.sub.2O, XO.sub.2, X.sub.2O.sub.2, X.sub.2O.sub.4, X.sub.2O.sub.6, where X is a halide, ammonia (NH.sub.3) and/or nitrosyl chloride (NOCl). Further etching gases for etching one or more of the deposited test structures are specified in the applicant's U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/103,281 [0047].
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 does not exemplify or fairly teach the presence of heavy water in the etching atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the etch used in processes exemplified or rendered obvious by Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 by replacing the water with heavy water based upon their known equivalence as taught in Kormilov et al. 20200141972
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170, in view of Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 and/or Kormilov et al. 20200141972
Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170 does not describe the exact conditions for the electron beams/fluoride gas etch used in the repair.
It would have been obvious to modify the disclosed process of Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170 by using cooled XeF2 and water taught by Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 as useful for photomask repair and/or the combination of XeF2 or XeCl2 with water, heavy water or other process gasses taught by Kormilov et al. 20200141972 as useful for photomask repair with a reasonable expectation of forming useful patterned and corrected mask.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiyouki JP 2004281967 (machine translation attached) teaches repair of EUV masks with a substrate, Mo/Si reflective multilayer, CrRu buffer layer and TaBN/TaBO absorbers using FIB.
Lee et al. 20020045108 teaches the patterning of the photomask blanks including partially or fully etching through the Ru buffer layer. The correction of the mask using FIB is also disclosed [0050-0061].
Yasusato et al. JP-H08292549 (machine translation attached) teaches the etching of RuO layers with fluoride gasses which masked by a photoresist (see examples).
Liang et al. 20040126670 teaches that an opaque defect 120 may be etched or removed using highly selective electron-beam-induced chemical etching with fluorine or chlorine etch chemistries, such as XeF.sub.2, which are highly selective to the defect material as opposed to the adjacent ruthenium layer (104). Subsequent to repair, the trench (124) preferably is substantially free of unrepaired defects, as is the EUV absorber layer (108) [0018].
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 June 24, 2026