DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 19 December 2025. By this amendment, claims 7-8, 10, 14-17, 19-21, and 24-26 are amended. Claims 7-26 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive; the rejections of the claims have been modified in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The amended limitations (and Applicant’s arguments regarding the amended limitations) are addressed by the modified rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0104097 A1 to Park.
Regarding independent claim 7, Park (Fig. 6) discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor layer 510 (¶ 0118);
a first isolation structure 550a (¶ 0124) in the semiconductor layer;
a first gate structure 586a (¶ 0141) adjacent a first side of the first isolation structure;
a first source/drain region 524 (¶ 0117) adjacent a second side of the first isolation structure;
a second source/drain region 522 (¶ 0117) adjacent the first gate structure, wherein the first gate structure 586a is between the first source/drain region 524 and the second source/drain region 522 in a first direction (direction from left to right in Fig. 6); and
a first conductive field plate 561a (¶ 0129) at least partially embedded in the first isolation structure 550a, wherein in a second direction (direction from top to bottom in Fig. 6) perpendicular to the first direction, a sidewall of the first conductive plate 561a is separated from a sidewall of the semiconductor layer 510 by the first isolation structure 550a (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 7, comprising: a dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure, 592/591/593 disposed thereon) over the semiconductor layer 510, over the first gate structure 586a, and over the first isolation structure 550a, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a is at least partially embedded in the dielectric layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 8, wherein the dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure, 592/591/593 disposed thereon) comprises: a first portion over a portion of the first gate structure 586a; a second portion over a portion of the first source/drain region 524; and a third portion over a portion of the first isolation structure 550a (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 7, comprising: a dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure, 592/591/593 disposed thereon) over the first gate structure 586a, the first source/drain region 524, and the first isolation structure 550a; and a contact 574 (¶ 0133) in the dielectric layer contacting the first source/drain region 524, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a is at least partially embedded in the dielectric layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 10, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a comprises: a line portion (portion of 561a extending from 591 to surface of 550a) embedded in the dielectric layer; and a plug portion (portion of 561a in 550a) embedded in the first isolation structure 550a (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 7, comprising: a second isolation structure 550a (portion containing 565a) in the semiconductor layer 510 adjacent the first gate structure 586a; and a second conductive field plate 565a (¶ 0129) at least partially embedded in the second isolation structure (Fig. 6).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0088777 A1 to Lu et al. (hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding independent claim 21, Lu (Fig. 3) discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a source/drain region 106 (¶ 0022);
a gate structure 210 (¶ 0032);
a first isolation structure 302 (¶ 0038) between the source/drain region 106 and the gate structure 210 in a first direction (direction from left to right in Fig. 3);
a first dielectric layer 124 (¶ 0033) over the gate structure 210 and the first isolation structure 302 (Fig. 3); and
a second isolation structure (portion of 118; ¶ 0034) between the source/drain region 106 and the gate structure 210 in the first direction and separated from the first isolation structure 302 in a second direction (direction from top to bottom in Fig. 3) perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 22, Lu (Fig. 3) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 21, comprising: a second dielectric layer 118 (¶ 0025) over the first dielectric layer 124 and the gate structure 210, wherein: the first dielectric layer 124 contacts a first portion of a top surface of the gate structure 210, and the second dielectric layer 118 contacts a second portion of the top surface of the gate structure 210 (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Regarding independent claim 14, Park (Fig. 6) discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor layer 510 (¶ 0118);
a first isolation structure 550a (¶ 0124) in the semiconductor layer over a first drift region 534 (¶ 0120);
a first gate structure 586a (¶ 0141) adjacent a first side of the first isolation structure 550a and over a first channel region 540 (¶ 0121);
a first source/drain region 524 (¶ 0117) adjacent a second side of the first isolation structure 550a; and
a first conductive field plate 561a (¶ 0129) in the first isolation structure 550a over the first drift region 534 (¶ 0120) and having a lowermost surface (bottom of 561a) below an uppermost surface of the first isolation structure 550a and above a lowermost surface of the first isolation structure 550a (Fig. 6).
Park fails to expressly disclose: a lowermost surface of the first source/drain region is below the lowermost surface of the first isolation structure. However, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Here, the limitations “a lowermost surface of the first source/drain region is below the lowermost surface of the first isolation structure” are considered mere dimensional limitations. The instant disclosure is silent as to a particular unobvious purpose, unexpected result, or criticality of the above dimensional limitations, and thus are found to be prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 14, comprising: a second source/drain region 522 (¶ 0117) adjacent the first gate structure 586a (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 14, comprising: a dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure, 592/591/593 disposed thereon) over the first gate structure 586a, the first source/drain region 524, and the first isolation structure 550a; and a contact 574 (¶ 0133) in the dielectric layer contacting the first source/drain region 524, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a is at least partially embedded in the dielectric layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 14, comprising: a dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure, 592/591/593 disposed thereon) over the semiconductor layer 510, over the first gate structure 586a, and over the first isolation structure 550a, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a is at least partially embedded in the dielectric layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 17, wherein the first conductive field plate 561a comprises: a line portion (portion of 561a extending from 591 to surface of 550a) embedded in the dielectric layer; and a plug portion (portion of 561a in 550a) embedded in the first isolation structure 550a (Fig. 6).
Claims 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claims 7 and 14 above, and further in view of US 2022/0293771 A1 to Lin et al. (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 13, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 7, comprising: a second isolation structure 552 (¶ 0122) in the semiconductor layer 510 adjacent the first source/drain region 524; a second gate structure 587a (¶ 0142) adjacent the second isolation structure.
Park fails to expressly disclose a third source/drain region adjacent the second gate structure; and a second conductive field plate at least partially embedded in the second isolation structure. In the same field of endeavor, Lin (Fig. 1) discloses a semiconductor structure including a second isolation structure 50 (¶ 0021) adjacent a first source/drain region 53 (¶ 0021); a second gate structure 52 (¶ 0021) adjacent the second isolation structure, a third source/drain region 42 (¶ 0020) adjacent the second gate structure; and a second conductive field plate 54 (¶ 0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park to include a shared source/drain region and device configuration as taught by Lin, the combination thus teaching a second conductive field plate at least partially embedded in the second isolation structure, for the purpose of providing a dual transistor, an art-recognized alternative high power device configuration (¶ 0021).
Regarding claim 19, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 14, comprising: a second source/drain region 522 (¶ 0117) adjacent the first gate structure 586a.
Park fails to expressly disclose: a second isolation structure in the semiconductor layer over a second drift region; a second gate structure adjacent the second isolation structure over a second channel region; a third source/drain region adjacent the second gate structure; and a second conductive field plate in the second isolation structure over the second drift region and having a lowermost surface at depth of at least 50% of a thickness of the second isolation structure. In the same field of endeavor, Lin (Fig. 1) discloses a second isolation structure 50 (¶ 0021) in a semiconductor layer over a second drift region 26 (¶ 0020); a second gate structure 52 (¶ 0021) adjacent the second isolation structure over a second channel region 56 (¶ 0021); a third source/drain region 42 (¶ 0020) adjacent the second gate structure; and a second conductive field plate 54 (¶ 0021) over the second drift region 26 (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park to include a shared source/drain region and device configuration as taught by Lin, the combination thus teaching a second conductive field plate in the second isolation structure, for the purpose of providing a dual transistor, an art-recognized alternative high power device configuration (¶ 0021).
The combination of Park and Lin fail to expressly disclose the second conductive field plate having a lowermost surface at depth of at least 50% of a thickness of the second isolation structure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited lowermost surface depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, the conductive field plate lowermost surface depth is considered a result effective variable because it affects the contact area of the conductive field plate and the semiconductor structure’s breakdown voltage (¶¶ 0136-37) . Thus the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the depth of the conductive field plate for the purpose of improving the breakdown voltage characteristics of the semiconductor structure.
Regarding claim 20, Park (Fig. 6) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 14, however fails to expressly disclose: the lowermost surface of the first conductive field plate below the uppermost surface of the first isolation structure and above the lowermost surface of the first isolation structure is at a depth of at least 50% of a thickness of the first isolation structure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited first conductive field plate lowermost surface depth, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F .2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, the conductive field plate depth is considered a result effective variable because it affects the contact area of the conductive field plate and the semiconductor structure’s breakdown voltage (¶¶ 0136-37) . Thus the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify the depth of the conductive field plate for the purpose of improving the breakdown voltage characteristics of the semiconductor structure.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu.
Regarding claim 23, Lu (Fig. 3) discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 22, wherein: the second dielectric layer 118 contacts a second portion of the top surface of the source/drain region 106, however fails to expressly disclose the first dielectric layer contacts a first portion of a top surface of the source/drain region. In other embodiments, Lu discloses a dielectric layer 406 contacting a first portion of a top portion of a top surface of the source drain region 106 (see Figs. 4, 9A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lu to include a first dielectric layer as recited for the purpose of providing protection to the underlying region (¶ 0044).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 24, Lu discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 21, however fails to expressly disclose wherein the gate structure overlies a portion of the isolation structure. In the same field of endeavor, Park (Fig. 6) discloses a semiconductor structure including a gate structure 586a (¶ 0141) overlying a portion of an isolation structure 550a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor structure of Lu to include the configuration of Park for the purpose of improving breakdown voltage characteristics without degradation of on-resistance characteristics (Park, ¶ 0136).
Regarding claim 25, Lu discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 21, including a conductive field plate 214 (¶ 0034), however fails to expressly disclose: the conductive field plate extending through the first dielectric layer and a portion of the isolation structure. In the same field of endeavor, Park (Fig. 6) discloses a conductive field plate 561a (¶ 0129) extending through a dielectric layer (unlabelled in figure; 592/591/593 disposed thereon) and a portion of the isolation structure 550a (¶ 0122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor structure of Lu to include the conductive field plate disposed as taught by Park, the combination thus teaching the conductive field plate extending through the first dielectric layer, for the purpose of improving breakdown voltage by providing a conductive field plate in an art-recognized alternative manner (Park, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 26, Lu and Park disclose the semiconductor structure of claim 25, Park (Fig. 6) discloses further wherein the isolation structure 550a contacts a first sidewall of the conductive field plate 561a, a second sidewall of the conductive field plate, and a bottom surface of the conductive field plate (Fig. 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
24 March 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813