Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., US 2020/0365774.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses (figs. 1-2, 3A-3H and related text) a device structure (10) comprising: a light emitting diode structure (LED, 14) operable to generate light; a photoluminescent region containing a photoluminescent material (40,quantum dots, [0059]), wherein the photoluminescent region is positioned on the light emitting diode structure (14); and an ultraviolet (UV) light filter (50, [0060]) positioned above the photoluminescent region (40) operable to absorb light generated by the light emitting diode structure characterized by an emission wavelength of less than or about 430 nm ([0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the photoluminescent material (40) a red color quantum dot material, a green quantum dot material, or a blue quantum dot material (40a, 40b, 40c).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the UV light filter is characterized by a thickness of less than or about 200µm (the vertical isolation wall 20 is about 3 to 20 µm, that is comparable to the height/thickness of 50, therefore less than 200µm).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a backplane (16) in electronic communication with the light emitting diode structure (14, fig. 1 and 2, [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the backplane (16) is operable to activate the light emitting diode structure (14, figs. 1-2 and [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses (figs. 1-3H and related text) a device structure comprising: a backplane (16); a subpixel in electronic communication with the backplane that includes [0030]: a light emitting diode structure (14) operable to generate light, and a photoluminescent region (40, [0059]) containing a photoluminescent material operable to emit red, green, or blue light (40a, 40b, 40c), wherein the photoluminescent region is positioned on the light emitting diode structure (14); and an ultraviolet (UV) light filter (50) operable to absorb light characterized by an emission wavelength of less than or about 430 nm ([0031]), wherein the UV light filter is positioned on the photoluminescent region (fig. 3H).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the UV light filter is characterized by a thickness of less than or about 200µm (the vertical isolation wall is about 3 to 20 µm, that is comparable to the height/thickness of 50, therefore less than 200µm).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses (figs. 1-3H and related text) a method of fabricating a device comprising: forming a light emitting diode structure (14) on a substrate ([0029]); forming a photoluminescent region (region where 40a, 40b, 40c are formed) on the light emitting diode structure (14); forming a photoluminescent material (40a, 40b, 40c) in the photoluminescent region, wherein the photoluminescent material is operable to emit red, green, or blue light [0059]; and forming a UV light filter (50) on the photoluminescent region (fig. 3H), wherein the UV light filter is characterized by a thickness of less than or about 200 µm ((the vertical isolation wall is about 3 to 20 µm, that is comparable to the height/thickness of 50, therefore less than 200µm).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses the UV light filter comprises polyacrylates [0038].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Woodgate et al., US 2019/0348585.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang does not disclose an upper layer overlying the UV light filter, wherein the upper layer comprises silicon nitride, polymeric material, or glass.
Woodgate discloses an upper layer (52) overlying the display device (100), wherein the upper layer comprises glass [0183].
Zhang and Woodgate are analogous art because they both are directed to light emitting devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Mitchell with the specified features of Woodgate because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang to include the upper layer as taught by Woodgate in order to advantageously reducing cost and power consumption [0166]. The combined structure Zhang and Woodgate would have the upper layer overlying the UV light filter, wherein the upper layer is glass.
Regarding claims 13-15, Mitchell as modified by Woodgate does not disclose the UV light filter is characterized by a transmittance percentage of less than or about 10% of light having an emission wavelength of less than or about 430 nm, the UV light filter is characterized by a UV exposure stability of greater than or about 10,000 hours, wherein the UV exposure is greater than or about 50 mJ/cm2 or the UV light filter is characterized by a temperature stability of greater than or about 1,000 hours, wherein a temperature is greater than or about 85 °C at about 85% relative humidity.
Parameters such as UV filter transmittance percentage, UV exposure stability, or temperature stability in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an appropriate transmittance percentage or thickness of the UV exposure to meet the specific requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang.
Regarding claims 4-5, Zhang does not explicitly the UV light filter is characterized by a transmittance percentage of greater than or about 80% of light having an emission wavelength of greater than or about 430 nm or the UV light filter is characterized by a transmittance percentage of less than or about 10% of light having an emission wavelength of less than or about 430 nm.
Parameters such as UV filter transmittance percentage in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an appropriate transmittance percentage to meet the specific requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the UV light filter is characterized by a transmittance percentage of greater than or about 90% of light having an emission wavelength of greater than or about 430 nm.
Parameters such as UV filter transmittance percentage in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an appropriate transmittance percentage to meet the specific requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Pschenitzka et al., WO 2020242636.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a buffer layer disposed between the photoluminescent material and the UV light filter.
However, Pschenitzka discloses (fig. 2C and [0025]) a buffer layer (213) disposed on the photoluminescent material (210) in order to protect the sensitive material sensitive materials in subjacent layers [0025].
Zhang and Pschenitzka are analogous art because they both are directed to light emitting devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Mitchell with the specified features of Pschenitzka because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang to include the buffer layer as taught by Pschenitzka in order to protect the sensitive material sensitive materials in subjacent layers [0025]. The combined structure of Zhang and Pschenitzka include the buffer layer disposed between the photoluminescent material and the UV light filter as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as modified by Pschenitzka discloses the buffer layer (213, Pschenitzka) comprises silicon nitride (Pschenitzka, [0025]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 3/31/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811