DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on May 13, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 8-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claims 1 and 14, the limitation “the light emitting element” fails to refer to which of the plural “light emitting elements” is directed to. Further, the limitation “the side surfaces of the connection portion” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Further in claim 14, the limitation “the reflective portion” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitations render the claims indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0365669 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) and evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0353690 A1 to Choi et al. (“Choi”). As to claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (SUB); pixel electrodes (D) on the substrate (SUB); light emitting elements (EL) on the pixel electrodes (D) and extending in a thickness direction of the substrate (SUB); a first insulating layer (BANK) on and extending around sides of each of the light emitting elements (EL); a connection electrode (E1) between one of the pixel electrodes (D) and a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (EL), the connection electrode (E1) comprising: a connection portion (A1) bonding the pixel electrode (D) to the light emitting element (EL); and a reflection portion (A2) integral with the connection portion (A1) and extending around the sides of the light emitting element (EL) on the first insulating layer (BANK); a common electrode (E2) on the light emitting elements (EL); and a second insulating layer (CPL) on an upper surface and sides of the reflection portion (A2) and sides of the connection portion (A1), wherein the common electrode (E2) extends on the second insulating layer (CPL) along the upper surface and side surfaces of the reflection portion (A2) and along the side surfaces of the connection portion (A1) (See Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 15, ¶ 0091-¶ 0093, ¶ 0101-¶ 0103, ¶ 0109, ¶ 0116-¶ 0123, ¶ 0131-¶ 0134, ¶ 0137, ¶ 0139, ¶ 0225-¶ 0236) (Notes: the recited “pixel electrodes” are met by the connection to the drain as taught by ¶ 0041 of Choi).
As to claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the connection portion (A1) and the reflection portion (A2) comprise the same material (See Fig. 15).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses further comprising a planarization layer (PAS) between the pixel electrodes (D), wherein the second insulating layer (CPL) is on the planarization layer (PAS) (See Fig. 3, Fig. 4, ¶ 0109). As to claim 14, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (SUB); pixel electrodes (D) on the substrate (SUB); light emitting elements (EL) on the pixel electrodes (D) and extending in a thickness direction of the substrate (SUB); a first insulating layer (BANK) on and extending around sides of each of the light emitting elements (EL); a connection electrode (E1) between one of the pixel electrodes (D) and a corresponding one of the light emitting elements (EL), the connection electrode (E1) having a connection portion (A1) bonding the pixel electrode (D) to the light emitting element (EL) and a reflection portion (A2) comprising the same material as the connection portion (A1) and extending around the sides of the light emitting element (EL) on the first insulating layer (BANK); a common electrode (E2) on the light emitting elements (EL); and a second insulating layer (CPL) on an upper surface and sides of the reflection portion (A2) and sides of the connection portion (A1), wherein the common electrode (E2) extends on the second insulating layer (CPL) along the upper surface and side surfaces of the reflective portion and along the side surfaces of the connection portion (A1) (See Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 15, ¶ 0091-¶ 0093, ¶ 0101-¶ 0103, ¶ 0109, ¶ 0116-¶ 0123, ¶ 0131-¶ 0134, ¶ 0137, ¶ 0139, ¶ 0225-¶ 0236) (Notes: the recited “pixel electrodes” are met by the connection to the drain as taught by ¶ 0041 of Choi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0365669 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) as applied to claims 2 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0159064 A1 to Sakariya et al. (“Sakariya”). The teaching of Kim has been discussed above. As to claims 3 and 15, although Kim does not further disclose wherein the connection portion and the reflection portion comprise gold, Sakariya does disclose wherein the connection portion (on 116) and the reflection portion (on 114) comprise gold (See ¶ 0124). In view of the teaching of Sakariya, it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kim to have wherein the connection portion and the reflection portion comprise gold because gold along with other metallic materials are known reflective materials applicable in the industry (See ¶ 0124).
Claim(s) 9-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0365669 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0105980 A1 to Sim et al. (“Sim”). The teaching of Kim has been discussed above. As to claim 9, although Kim does not disclose further comprising: partition walls partitioning light emission areas and a non-light emission area; and a wavelength conversion layer between the partition walls and overlapping the light emitting elements in the light emission areas, Kim in view of Sim discloses further comprising: partition walls (124) partitioning light emission areas (adjacent at EL/110) and a non-light emission area (adjacent 110); and a wavelength conversion layer (128, 130, 132) between the partition walls (124) and overlapping the light emitting elements (EL/110) in the light emission areas (adjacent at EL/110) (See Kim Fig. 4 and Sim Fig. 2, ¶ 0019, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0042) such that multicolor is obtained while preventing optical interference and improving light extraction efficiency. As to claim 10, Kim in view of Sim discloses further comprising: a third insulating layer (127) between the wavelength conversion layer (128, 130, 132) and the common electrode (E2); and a reflective film (404) between the wavelength conversion layer (128, 130, 132) and the partition walls (124) (See Kim Fig. 4 and Sim Fig. 2, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038). As to claim 11, Kim in view of Sim further discloses wherein the reflective film (404) comprises a reflective metal (See Sim ¶ 0038). As to claim 12, Kim in view of Sim discloses further comprising: a light blocking member (127, 404) on the partition walls (124); and color filters (¶ 0033) on the wavelength conversion layer (128, 130, 132) (See Kim Fig. 4, Sim Fig. 2, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038). As to claim 17, although Kim does not disclose further comprising: partition walls partitioning light emission areas and a non-light emission area; and a wavelength conversion layer between the partition walls and overlapping the light emitting elements, Kim in view of Sim discloses further comprising: partition walls (124) partitioning light emission areas (at EL/110) and a non-light emission area (adjacent at EL/110); and a wavelength conversion layer (128, 130, 132) between the partition walls (124) and overlapping the light emitting elements (EL/110) (See Kim Fig. 4 and Sim Fig. 2, ¶ 0019, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0032, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0042) such that multicolor is obtained while preventing optical interference and improving light extraction efficiency.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0365669 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,923,630 B1 to Pynn et al. (“Pynn”). The teaching of Kim has been discussed above. As to claim 13, although Kim does not further disclose wherein the light emitting elements comprise a first semiconductor layer, an electron blocking layer, an active layer, a superlattice layer, and a second semiconductor layer that are sequentially stacked in the thickness direction of the substrate, Kim in view of Pynn further discloses wherein the light emitting elements (EL/1000) comprise a first semiconductor layer (1040), an electron blocking layer (1035), an active layer (1030), a superlattice layer (1025), and a second semiconductor layer (1020) that are sequentially stacked in the thickness direction of the substrate (SUB) (See Kim Fig. 4 and Pynn Fig. 10, Column 26, lines 21-52) such that the light emitting elements having reduced electron leakage current and improved efficiency are obtained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815