DETAILED ACTION
Response
The amended title overcomes the objection.
See the new rejections below of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han, US 2019/0326372 A1.
Claim 1: Han discloses
a plurality of pixel electrodes (218) spaced apart from each other, wherein each of the plurality pixel electrodes includes a central part (middle) and a peripheral part (outside) surrounding the central part;
a pixel defining layer (215d) disposed on the plurality of pixel electrodes, the pixel defining layer including an overlap part overlapping the peripheral part when viewed in a plan view and a lateral side which exposes the central part to define a pixel opening, wherein a portion of the overlap part has an undercut portion which is recessed from the lateral side and exposes a top surface of the peripheral part;
a light emitting material (230) disposed on the central part exposed through the pixel opening;
and a common electrode (228) including a first part disposed on the light emitting material on the central part and a second part disposed on the pixel defining layer, wherein the common electrode has a disconnected portion along the undercut portion (FIG. 10).
Claim 4: a height of the undercut portion which is disposed adjacent to the central part is higher than a height of the light emitting material disposed on the central part (FIG. 10).
Claim 6: a portion of the second part which does not overlap the undercut portion when viewed in a plan view electrically makes contact with the first part.
Claim 7: each of the plurality of pixel electrodes includes: an extension part that extends from an outer portion of the each of the plurality of pixel electrodes in a direction from the central part to the peripheral part and does not overlap the undercut portion of the peripheral part when viewed in a plan view.
Claim 8: the pixel defining layer directly contacts with the extension part (FIG. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han.
Claim 2: the embodiment of Han FIG. 10 does not illustrate the forward-tapered shape. However, the embodiment of FIG. 9G shows that the pixel defining layer has a forward-tapered shape (FIG. 9G) with respect to the plurality of pixel electrodes, and wherein the undercut portion is recessed from the lateral side of the pixel defining layer in a direction from the central part toward the peripheral part (FIGS. 10, 9G). It would have been obvious to have had such as shape as known within the same reference to make the pixel defining layer undercut shape.
Claim 3: a height of the undercut portion is gradually decreased in the direction from the central part toward the peripheral part (FIG. 9G).
Claim 5: FIG. 10 only shows one pixel, but Han discloses multiple pixels (see e.g. FIG. 7), and in a view including multiple pixels, Han reads on claim 5. See the altered FIG. 10 below that has multiple pixels. Han includes a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode disposed adjacent to each other, wherein the undercut portion includes: a first undercut portion overlapping a peripheral part of the first pixel electrode when viewed in a plan view; and a second undercut portion overlapping a peripheral part of the second pixel electrode when viewed in a plan view, and wherein each of the first undercut portion and the second undercut portion is interposed between a central part of the first pixel electrode and a central part of the second pixel electrode.
It would have been obvious to those in the art that such a structure would be present in Han between pixels, although it is not explicitly disclosed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Yun, US 2022/0085125 A1. Han does not show the overhead view of the cathode, and thus does not illustrate what connections it has. Yun, FIGS. 9 and 10, discloses undercut structure UC used to disconnect the cathode layer 333 for the purpose of preventing leakage current ([0054]), the same purpose for which Han creates disconnects in the cathode ([0121]).
Thus those in the art would see the disclosure of Yun to teach that a partial disconnection around part of the subpixel would effectively protect against leakage current. Applying Yun to Han, it would have been obvious to have the undercut (which disconnects the cathode in Han) only go partially around the subpixel, and that in the places around the subpixel where the cathode is not disconnected, a portion of the second part which does not overlap the undercut portion when viewed in a plan view electrically makes contact with the first part.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Zhao, US 2021/0288120 A1. Han does not disclose the claimed groove. Zhao discloses a pixel defining layer (102/104) that includes a groove (104) recessed in a direction from a top surface of the pixel defining layer and toward a top surface of the peripheral part (that is, it is recessed downward):
It would have been obvious to have used such a groove to facilitate ink distribution during manufacturing ([0071]). Note that there would likely be sufficient spacer over the undercut portion for such a groove, so that the groove overlaps the undercut portion when viewed in a plan view.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Kim, US 2014/0183472 A1. Han does not disclose that the pixel defining layer 126 is positive photoresist material. However, this was a known material for pixel defining layers. See e.g. Kim [0067]: “the bank layer 135A may be formed using a positive photoresist.” It would have been obvious to have used this in Han as a known material used for a known purpose.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897