DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1) in view of Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) and Lin et al. (US 2016/0273095 A1)
As to Claim 1, Zhan et al. teaches a semiconductor processing method (para 0003) comprising: providing a powder to a processing region of a processing chamber (305, Fig. 3A) that is ceramic containing (para 0019-0020); providing one or more deposition precursors to the processing region (310, Fig. 3A) ;generating plasma effluents of the one or more deposition precursors (spray, 325, Fig 3B); and depositing a layer of material on the powder in the processing region (article, 325, Fig 3B), wherein the layer of material comprises a corrosion-resistant material (protective coating in para 0003-0004), and wherein a temperature within the processing chamber is maintained at less than or about 700 °C (paras 0036-0041). Though the ALD process in Zhan is well below the claimed temperature, Zhan et al. does not explicitly teach the plasma process at this temperature as well. However, Zhan does modify the temperature during the plasma process to control the ion flux in para 0040. Therefore, it would be obvious to control and maintain this temperature in the claimed range as taught by Zhan et al. in order to control the ion flux. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955). Both the ceramic powder and layer of material are as claimed in Zhan et al. paras 0019-0020, 0034, for example.
Zhan et al. does not teach an annealing step after deposition, though it does teach a sintering step. Stowell et al. teaches a similar method of coating particles where an annealing step is used, alternately with a sintering step in series, in order to modify the morphology and/or the surfaces of the coated particles (para 0062). Stowell further uses dopants, or an active gas environment as broadly claimed, during annealing in para 0062. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. to include an annealing step as taught by Stowell in order to modify the morphology and/or the surfaces of the coated particles.
Stowell does not use a fluorine containing environment for its annealing. Lin et al. teaches oxides deposited similar to that of Zhan that are annealed in a fluorine environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity in para 0033-0034. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. and Stowell to include an annealing step in fluorine as taught by Lin et al. environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity.
As to claims 3-5, both the powder and layer of material are as claimed in Zhan et al. paras 0019-0020, 0034, for example. Lin et al. further teaches yttrium or aluminum oxides that are optimized by fluorine annealing para 0032-0036.
As to claims 9-11, the material is annealed or sintered in step 335 of Zhan et al. Fig 3B in a pressure-controlled environment as in para 0045 to make a component in para 0047-0051. Stowell et al. teaches a similar method of coating particles where an annealing step is used, alternately with a sintering step in series, in order to modify the morphology and/or the surfaces of the coated particles (para 0062). Stowell uses an inert environment, or ‘a pressure is controlled’ as broadly claimed, in para 0128. In the Stowell Examples, the particles are further welded or sintered together after annealing, such as in para 0145, for example.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1), Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) and Lin et al. (US 2016/0273095 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0379806 A1)
Zhan et al. does not teach the nitrides as claimed as a particle coating for anti-corrosive purposes. Xu et al. teaches similar coatings as Zhan et al. in para 0018-0019 where nitrides are included as ALD coatings and used for the same purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include nitrides along with the oxides mentioned in Zhan et al. as taught by Xu et al. as Xu et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-15, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1) and Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) in view of Dadheech et al. (US 2017/0327948 A1)
Zhan et al. is discussed above and includes the limitations of claim 12, including depositing two separate layers of material onto a powder via an ALD process and the thickness of the coating in para 0017 (about 1 nm includes under 1 nm), but does not teach that the ALD process uses plasma effluents for its reactant gases. Dadheech et al. teaches using plasma as its reactants for ALD processes on particles in paras 0034-0039 to reduce the amount of thermal energy needed for the coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. to include plasma in its ALD process as taught by Dadheech et al. in order to reduce the amount of thermal energy needed for the coating. Dadheech teaches the claimed pressure in para 0034. Further, as Zhan et al. teaches the final coating is 1 nm, every cycle in Dadheech would be less to meet the claim as well.
As to claims 6-7, Dadheech et al. teaches that the claimed nitrides are common coatings deposited on powders by ALD in para 0043.
As to claims 13-14, these limitations are taught by Zhan et al. as discussed above.
As to claim 15, Zhan et al. teaches fluorine precursors in paras 0019-0020, 0034, for example.
As to claim 17, Zhan et al. teaches that the temperature is as claimed as discussed above. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 21, the material is annealed or sintered in step 335 of Zhan et al. Fig 3B in a pressure-controlled environment as in para 0045 to make a component in para 0047-0051. Stowell et al. teaches a similar method of coating particles where an annealing step is used, alternately with a sintering step in series, in order to modify the morphology and/or the surfaces of the coated particles (para 0062). Stowell uses an inert environment in para 0128. In the Stowell Examples, the particles are further welded or sintered together after annealing, such as in para 0145, for example.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1) and Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) in view of Dadheech et al. (US 2017/0327948 A1) in further view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0379806 A1)
Zhan et al. does not teach the nitrides as claimed as a particle coating for anti corrosive purposes. Xu et al. teaches similar coatings as Zhan et al. in para 0018-0019 where oxynitrides (combinations thereof) are included as ALD coatings and used for the same purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include oxynitrides along with the oxides mentioned in Zhan et al. as taught by Xu et al. as Xu et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1), Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) and Dadheech et al. (US 2017/0327948 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0273095 A1).
Stowell does not use a fluorine containing environment for its annealing. Lin et al. teaches oxides deposited similar to that of Zhan that are annealed in a fluorine environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity in para 0033-0034. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. and Stowell to include an annealing step in fluorine as taught by Lin et al. environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity.
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1) and Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) in view of Shull et al. (US 2022/0267899 A1)
As to claims 6-7, Zhan et al. does not teach the nitrides as claimed as a particle coating for anti corrosive purposes. Shull et al. teaches similar coatings as Zhan et al. in paras 0005-0009, 0030, 0035, for example where nitrides are included as ALD coatings and used for the same purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include oxynitrides along with the oxides mentioned in Zhan et al. as taught by Shull et al. as Shull et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Oxynitrides are taught as well in this section of Shull et al. in reference to claim 16.
Zhan et is discussed above and includes the limitations of claim 12, including depositing two separate layers of material onto a powder via an ALD process and the thickness of the coating in para 0017 (about 1 nm includes under 1 nm), but does not teach that the ALD process uses plasma effluents for its reactant gases. Shull et al. teaches using plasma as its reactants for ALD processes on particles in paras 0004-0005 to reduce tailor the particle properties in para 0010. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. to include plasma in its ALD process as taught by Shull et al. in order to tailor the particle properties. Shull teaches the claimed pressure in para 0034. Further, as Zhan et al. teaches the final coating is 1 nm, every cycle in Shull would be less to meet the claim as well.
As to claims 13-15 and 17, Zhan et al. teaches these limitations as discussed above.
As to claim 21, the material is annealed or sintered in step 335 of Zhan et al. Fig 3B in a pressure-controlled environment as in para 0045 to make a component in para 0047-0051. Stowell et al. teaches a similar method of coating particles where an annealing step is used, alternately with a sintering step in series, in order to modify the morphology and/or the surfaces of the coated particles (para 0062). Stowell uses an inert environment in para 0128. In the Stowell Examples, the particles are further welded or sintered together after annealing, such as in para 0145, for example.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan et al. (US 2019/0127280 A1), Stowell et al. (US 2020/0028155 A1) and Shull et al. (US 2022/0267899 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0273095 A1).
Stowell does not use a fluorine containing environment for its annealing. Lin et al. teaches oxides deposited similar to that of Zhan that are annealed in a fluorine environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity in para 0033-0034. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Zhan et al. and Stowell to include an annealing step in fluorine as taught by Lin et al. environment in order to have the finished particles have an etch resistance, crack resistance and integrity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718