DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 1/8/2026. Claims 1-6, 8-16 & 21-25 are pending in this application. Claims 7 & 17-20 are canceled. Claim 25 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 13, 15, 16 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2017/0170224) in view of Kuo (US 2022/0310779, cited in IDS 12/16/2025) and Felber et al. (US 2004/0061111).
Re claim 13, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 6, 8 & 10, [0017, 0058, 0064, 0067, 0068, 0074, 0078], a structure, comprising:
-a substrate (100-103);
-first and second groups of trench capacitors (left & right 105-107) disposed on the substrate, wherein the first group of trench capacitors (left 105-107) comprises:
a first trench capacitor with a first trench (first trench on left) having an elongated side extending a long a first direction, and
a second trench capacitor with a second trench (second trench on left) having an elongated side extending a long a second direction;
-a first conductive line (left 109) connected to the first group of trench capacitors;
-a second conductive line (right 109) with first and second line portions (lower & upper portions), wherein the first line portion (lower portion) is connected to the second group of trench capacitors (left 105-107);
-a first bonding structure (202) disposed on the first conductive line (109) and connected to the first group of trench capacitors (left 105-107); and
-a second bonding structure (dielectric 201) disposed on the second line portion and electrically isolated (by 108) from the first and second groups of trench capacitors (105-107).
Huang does not explicitly teach the second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Kou teaches, Fig. 1, [0015, the second direction (y axis) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (x axis) (between capacitance cells).
As taught by Kou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction in the first group of trench capacitors, because it aids in achieving a desired arrangement of multi-trench capacitance structure in a 2D grid. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kou in combination with Huang due to above reason.
Huang/Kou does not explicitly teach first and second measurement structures disposed directly on the first and second conductive lines, respectively, and configured to measure electrical properties of the first and second groups of trench capacitors, respectively.
Felber teaches, Fig. 2, “These capacitor plates 401, 402 are furthermore connected via interconnects 501, 502 to contact areas (not shown) which can be contact-connected to the needles of a test needle card” [0030].
As taught by Felber, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first and second measurement structures disposed directly on the first and second conductive lines, respectively, and configured to measure electrical properties of the first and second groups of trench capacitors, respectively as claimed, because it aids in achieving the highest possible yield of memory cells. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Felber in combination with Huang/Kou due to above reason.
Re claim 15, Huang/Kou/Felber does not explicitly teach each of the first and second measurement structures comprises a metal layer.
Felber does teach a contact area connected to interconnects (501, 502) and needles of a test needle card [0031] & “a current is impressed in order to determine whether a current flow takes place between the two capacitor rows” [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Felber to obtain a metal layer as claimed, because metal layer is a known electrical conductor. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 16, in combination cited above, Felber teaches, Fig. 2, each trench capacitor in the first group of trench capacitors (rows 301) comprises a stack of capacitors electrically connected to each other in a parallel configuration.
Re claims 21 & 24, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 6, 8 & 10, [0017, 0058, 0064, 0065, 0067, 0068, 0074, 0078], a structure, comprising:
-a substrate (100-103);
-first and second groups of trench capacitors (left right 105-107) disposed in the substrate, wherein the first group of trench capacitors (left 105-107) comprises:
a first trench capacitor with a first trench (first trench on left) having an elongated side extending a long a first direction, and
a second trench capacitor with a second trench (second trench on left) having an elongated side extending a long a second direction;
-a first interconnect line (left 109) disposed on the first group of trench capacitors;
-a second interconnect line (right 109) disposed on the second group of trench capacitors;
-a passivation layer (201) disposed on the first and second interconnect lines (left & right 109);
-a first bonding structure (left portion of 200 and/or with 202) disposed on the first interconnect line (left 109) through the passivation layer (201); and
-a second bonding structure (right portion of 200 and/or with 202) disposed on the second interconnect line (right 109) through the passivation layer (201).
Huang does not explicitly teach the second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Kou teaches, Fig. 1, [0015, the second direction (y axis) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (x axis) (between capacitance cells).
As taught by Kou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction in the first group of trench capacitors, because it aids in achieving a desired arrangement of multi-trench capacitance structure in a 2D grid. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kou in combination with Huang due to above reason.
Huang/Kou does not explicitly teach first and second measurement structures electrically connected to the first and second interconnect lines, respectively, wherein the first and second measurement structures are electrically isolated from each other; and wherein the first and second measurement structures are disposed directly on the first and second interconnect lines, respectively.
Felber teaches, Fig. 2, “These capacitor plates 401, 402 are furthermore connected via interconnects 501, 502 to contact areas (not shown) which can be contact-connected to the needles of a test needle card” [0030].
As taught by Felber, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first and second measurement structures electrically connected to the first and second conductive lines, respectively, wherein the first and second measurement structures are electrically isolated from each other, and the first and second measurement structures are disposed directly on the first and second conductive lines, respectively as claimed, because it aids in achieving the highest possible yield of memory cells. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Felber in combination with Huang/Kou due to above reason.
Re claim 22, Huang/Kou/Felber does not explicitly teach each of the first and second measurement structures comprises a metal layer.
Felber does teach a contact area connected to interconnects (501, 502) and needles of a test needle card [0031] & “a current is impressed in order to determine whether a current flow takes place between the two capacitor rows” [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Felber to obtain a metal layer as claimed, because metal layer is a known electrical conductor. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 23, in combination cited above, Felber teaches, Fig. 2, each trench capacitor in the first group of trench capacitors (rows 301) comprises a stack of capacitors electrically connected to each other in a parallel configuration.
Re claim 25, Huang teaches, Fig. 10, wherein the second interconnect line (right 109) comprises: a first conductive portion (vertical portion of 109) connected to the second group of trench capacitors (right 105-107); a second conductive portion (horizontal portion of 109) connected to the second bonding structure (right 200, 202); and an insulating portion (of dielectric 108) disposed between the first and second conductive portions (in horizontal direction).
3. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Kou/Felber as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US 2006/0169484).
The teachings of Huang/Kou/Felber have been discussed above.
Re claim 14, Huang/Kou/Felber does not teach each of the first and second bonding structures comprises a metal pad and a solder ball.
Yamashita teaches, Fig. 1, each of the first and second bonding structures comprises a metal pad (20) and a solder ball (30).
As taught by Yamashita, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain each of the first and second bonding structures comprises a metal pad and a solder ball as claimed, because solder ball is known and wildly used in to art as bonding structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yamashita in combination with Huang/Kou/Felber due to above reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 1-6 & 8-12 are allowed including limitations “first and second measurement structures electrically connected to the first and second conductive lines, respectively, and configured to measure electrical properties of the first and second groups of trench capacitors, respectively, wherein the first and second measurement structures are electrically isolated from each other; and
a third measurement structure electrically connected to the first group of trench capacitors and electrically isolated from the first measurement structure, wherein the first measurement structure is connected to a first voltage and the third measurement structure is connected to a second voltage higher than the first voltage” (claim 1).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12/16/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 2/21/26