DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments with respect to claim 1, claim 12 and claim 19 have been fully considered but are moot. The amendments materially changed the scope of the claims and necessitated a new search of the prior art. Upon conducting this new search, additional relevant references are identified and the grounds of rejection have been modified in response to applicant’s amendments to the claims as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Pore (US- 2019/0279866-A1, hereinafter Pore)
Regarding Claim 19.
Pore teaches A semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing a first precursor to a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed within a processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the substrate defines a feature; contacting the substrate with the first precursor, wherein the contacting forms a first portion of a silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material within the feature defined on the substrate; (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #140 to form first SiN material)
purging the semiconductor processing chamber; (Pore [0034] the reaction chamber may be purged between precursor pulses.)
providing a second precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the second precursor comprises a silicon-containing precursor or a carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor; and contacting the substrate with the second precursor, wherein the contacting forms the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material within the featured defined on the substrate, (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #110 to form SiCN material)
and wherein the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material is characterized by an oxygen content less than or about 50 at.%. (Every ALD SiCN film produced by Pore’s process has an oxygen content far below 50%.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pore (US- 2019/0279866A1, hereinafter Pore), and further in view of Noh et. al. (US- 2022/0119939A1, hereinafter Noh)
Regarding Claim 1.
Pore teaches in Fig. 1 and step 102 A semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing a first precursor to a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed within a processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the substrate defines a feature; contacting the substrate with the first precursor, wherein the contacting forms a first portion of a silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material on the substrate; (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #140 to form first SiN material)
providing a second precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber; and
contacting the substrate with the second precursor, wherein the contacting forms the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material on the substrate via an atomic laver deposition, (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #110 to form SiCN material)
Pore does not explicitly disclose wherein the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material is void free.
However, Noh teaches that introducing an inhibitor molecule into the ALD cycle prevents pinch-off and achieves ~100% step coverage at aspect ratio up to 25:1 in HAR gap fill application (Noh Figs. 5-8 [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pore’s semiconductor device with the teachings of Noh, as identified above, in order to achieve void-free SiCN gap fill to have better control of film deposition process.
.
Regarding Claim 2.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore teaches that ALD of SiCN maintains conformality on features with aspect ratios of at least about 6 and Noh further teaches wherein the feature is characterized by an aspect ratio of greater than or about 10:1. (Noh Fig. 5-8 shows aspect ratio of 20:1-25:1) These limitations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
Regarding Claim 3.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore further teaches wherein either the first precursor or the second precursor comprises a silicon-containing precursor. (Pore Abstract and Fig 1)
Regarding Claim 4.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 3, Pore further teaches wherein the silicon-containing precursor further comprises a halogen. ([0045])
Regarding Claim 7.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore further teaches in Fig.5 and in related text further comprising:
providing an inert precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber;
generating plasma effluents of the inert precursor; and
contacting the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material with plasma effluents of the inert precursor. ([006] [0075] Fig 5, step 116)
Regarding Claim 8.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 7,
Pore further teaches wherein the inert precursor comprises argon, helium, or nitrogen. (Fig 5, step 116 [006] [0075] the noble gas can be argon (Ar). )
Regarding Claim 9.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore modified by Noh does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
prior to providing the first precursor, providing an inhibitor to the semiconductor processing chamber; and contacting the substrate with the inhibitor.
However, Noh teaches further comprising:
prior to providing the first precursor, providing an inhibitor to the semiconductor processing chamber; and contacting the substrate with the inhibitor. (NOH claim 1, substrate is sequentially exposed to a vapor of an inhibitor, followed by a vapor of a precursor) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore and Noh with the teachings of Noh, as identified above, in order to improve the step coverage in the film deposition process.
Regarding Claim 10.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 9,
Noh also teaches wherein the inhibitor comprises a hydrocarbon. (Noh [0127] “the disclosed carbon based inhibitors include acetylene and alkene.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore and Noh with the teachings of Noh, as identified above, in order to improve the step coverage in the film deposition process and to have better control of film deposition in desired region.
Regarding Claim 11.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore further teaches wherein a temperature in the semiconductor processing chamber is maintained less than or about 600° C. (Pore Claim 4 the thin film is deposited at a temperature of 300 to 600° C.)
Regarding Claim 12.
Pore teaches in Fig.5A-5C, Fig.6, process 500 and in related text: A semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing a first precursor to a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed within a processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber,
contacting the substrate with the first precursor, wherein the contacting forms a first portion of a silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material on the substrate; (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #140 to form first SiN material)
halting a flow of the first precursor; purging the semiconductor processing chamber; (Pore [0034] the reaction chamber may be purged between precursor pulses.)
providing a second precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber; and
contacting the substrate with the second precursor, wherein the contacting forms the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material on the substrate via an atomic laver deposition, (See Pore [0037-0041] Fig.1 step #110 to form SiCN material)
Pore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material is void free. and
wherein the substrate defines a feature characterized by an aspect ratio of greater than or about 10:1;
However, Noh teaches that introducing an inhibitor molecule into the ALD cycle prevent pinch-off and achieves ~100% step coverage at AR up to 25:1 in HAR gap fill application (Figs. 5-8) ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pore’s semiconductor device with the teachings of Noh, as identified above, in order to achieve void-free SiCN gap fill to have better control of film deposition process.
Pore teaches that ALD of SiCN maintains conformality on features with aspect ratios of at least about 6 and Noh further teaches wherein the feature is characterized by an aspect ratio of greater than or about 10:1. (Noh Fig. 5-8 shows aspect ratio of 20:1-25:1) These limitations would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
.
Regarding Claim 18.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 12,
Pore further teaches in Fig.5 and in related text further comprising:
providing an inert precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber;
generating plasma effluents of the inert precursor; and
contacting the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material with plasma effluents of the inert precursor, wherein the contacting densifies the silicon-carbon-and-nitrogen-containing material. ([006][0075] Fig 5, step 116)
Regarding Claim 20.
Pore teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 19,
Pore does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
prior to providing the first precursor, providing an inhibitor to the semiconductor processing chamber; generating plasma effluents of the inhibitor; and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the inhibitor, wherein the contacting removes active sites from a portion of substrate or deposits a carbon residue on a portion of the substrate.
However, Noh teaches the method further comprising:
prior to providing the first precursor, providing an inhibitor to the semiconductor processing chamber; generating plasma effluents of the inhibitor; and
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the inhibitor, wherein the contacting removes active sites from a portion of substrate or deposits a carbon residue on a portion of the substrate (Noh claim 1, substrate is sequentially exposed to a vapor of an inhibitor, followed by a vapor of a precursor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pore with the teachings of Noh, as identified above, in order to improve the step coverage in the film deposition process.
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pore (US-2019/0279866A1, hereinafter Pore), in view of Noh et. al. (US- 2022/0119939A1, hereinafter Noh) and further in view of Yuan et. al. (US-2021/0391171-A1, hereinafter Yuan)
Regarding Claim 5.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 1,
Pore modified by Noh teaches does not explicitly disclose wherein either the first precursor or the second precursor comprises a carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor.
However, Yuan teaches wherein either the first precursor or the second precursor comprises a carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor. (Yuan [0041] The silicon-containing precursors may optionally contain Si—N bond and Si—C bond. Also film #506 SiCxOyNz is produced as a result of carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor implicitly) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore and Noh with the teachings of Yuan, as identified above, because aminosilane precursors are an established class of Si/C/N sources for SiCN deposition, and it would be routine precursor selection without inventive efforts.
Regarding Claim 6.
Pore modified by Noh and Yuan teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 5,
Yuan further teaches further comprising:
generating plasma effluents of the carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor. (Yuan [0035-0037][0041]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore and Noh with the teachings of Yuan, as identified above, as it is a straightforward extension of the combined process.
Regarding Claim 14.
Pore modified by Noh teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 12,
Pore further teaches wherein:
one of the first precursor or the second precursor comprises silicon-containing precursor (Pore step 104) ;
Yuan teaches one of the first precursor or the second precursor comprises a carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor or a carbon-and-oxygen-containing precursor. (Yuan [0041] The silicon-containing precursors may optionally contain Si—N bond and Si—C bond. Also film #506 SiCxOyNz is produced as a result of carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor implicitly)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore and Noh with the teachings of Yuan, as identified above, as identified above, because aminosilane precursors are an established class of Si/C/N sources for SiCN deposition, and it would be routine precursor selection without inventive efforts.
Regarding Claim 15.
Pore modified by Noh and Yuan teaches The semiconductor processing method of claim 14,
Yuan further teaches further comprising:
generating plasma effluents of the carbon-and-nitrogen-containing precursor or the carbon-and-oxygen-containing precursor. (Yuan [0035] “introducing one or more hydrogen radicals generated from a remote plasma source”. [0038] “The source gas for the hydrogen radicals may be delivered with other species, including carrier gas. The silicon-containing precursors may be delivered with other species, including carrier gas. Example carrier gases include but are not limited to argon (Ar), helium (He), neon (Ne), krypton (Kr), and xenon (Xe). ) ) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pore, Noh and Yuan, with the teachings of Yuan, as identified above, as it is a straightforward extension of the combined process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 13 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method,…wherein a third precursor to the semiconductor processing chamber, wherein the third precursor comprises an oxygen-containing precursor. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 16 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method,… wherein either the first precursor or the second precursor comprises a carbon-nitrogen-and-oxygen-containing precursor. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 17 contains allowable subject matter because it depends from claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA W KAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817