Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended claims 1 and 6. Applicant has amended both claims with the limitation
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape.
In the previous office action, see page 6, examiner made note of Zang et al. (US20220020790A1, hereinafter Zang) who does teach
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape (Fig. 2A CDTI 214 has a Union Jack shape).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with the teachings of Zang because as both Wu and Zang teach suitable deep trench isolation shapes, it would have been obvious to substitute any one of Wu’s numerous different shapes for deep trench isolation as disclosed in figs. 3A-3G with Zang’s Union Jack deep trench isolation shape to achieve the predictable result of forming deep trench isolation with a Union Jack shape.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are taught by Wu in view of Zang, see below for full claims mapping.
Regarding claims 3 and 8. In the previous office action, these claims were rejected as being indefinite for reciting the phrase “critical dimension.” The amendment to “optimized dimension” does not rectify the issues of indefiniteness as the specification does not describe which dimension of a structure for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor would constitute an “optimized” dimension. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for which dimension is an “optimized” dimension for a structure for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor and so the claims are rendered indefinite and unable to be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, both claims recite the limitation “an optimized dimension is between 100 nm and 200 nm.” This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe which dimension of a structure for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor would constitute an “optimized” dimension. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for which dimension is an “optimized” dimension for a structure for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor and so the claims are rendered indefinite and unable to be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US20190165009A1, hereinafter Wu) in view of Zang (US20220020790A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a structure for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor, wherein the structure at least comprises
a substrate (Fig. 1 substrate 102) and
a plurality of photodiodes (Fig. 1 plurality of photodiodes 104), wherein
the plurality of photodiodes is formed in the substrate (Fig. 1 plurality of photodiodes 104 formed within substrate 102),
wherein a cell deep trench isolation structure is fabricated on a surface of each photodiode of the plurality of photodiodes (Fig. 1 multiple deep trench isolation MDTI 110 formed on surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104).
Wu does not appear to teach
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape.
Zang teaches
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape (Fig. 2A CDTI 214 has a Union Jack shape).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with the teachings of Zang because as both Wu and Zang teach suitable deep trench isolation shapes, it would have been obvious to substitute any one of Wu’s numerous different shapes for deep trench isolation as disclosed in figs. 3A-3G with Zang’s Union Jack deep trench isolation shape to achieve the predictable result of forming deep trench isolation with a Union Jack shape.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu and Zang discloses the structure for improving the near-infrared quantum efficiency of the backside illuminated image sensor according to claim 1, wherein
the of the plurality of photodiodes are isolated by a deep trench isolation region (Wu fig. 1 plurality of photodiodes 104 separated by boundary deep trench isolation BDTI 111), and
the depth of the cell deep trench isolation structure is less than a depth of the deep trench isolation region (Wu fig. 1, par. 15 BDTI 111 has depth d1, MDTI 110 has depth d2 and “the first depth d1 is greater than the second depth d2”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wu and Zang discloses the structure for improving the near-infrared quantum efficiency of the backside illuminated image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the structure further comprises
a color filter and a micro lens sequentially disposed on one surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes (Wu fig. 1 color filters 116 and micro-lenses 118 sequentially disposed on one surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104), and
a metal wire structure located on another surface of said photodiode (Wu fig. 5 BEOL metallization stack 510 located on another surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches a method for improving near-infrared quantum efficiency of a backside illuminated image sensor, wherein the method at least comprises:
providing a substrate (Fig. 1 substrate 102) and
fabricating a plurality of photodiodes in the substrate (Fig. 1 plurality of photodiodes 104); and
fabricating a cell deep trench isolation structure on a surface of each photodiode of the plurality of photodiodes (Fig. 1 multiple deep trench isolation MDTI 110 formed on surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104).
Wu does not appear to teach
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape.
Zang teaches
wherein a cross section of the cell deep trench isolation structure parallel to the surface of the photodiode comprises a Union Jack shape (Fig. 2A CDTI 214 has a Union Jack shape).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with the teachings of Zang because as both Wu and Zang teach suitable deep trench isolation shapes, it would have been obvious to substitute any one of Wu’s numerous different shapes for deep trench isolation as disclosed in figs. 3A-3G with Zang’s Union Jack deep trench isolation shape to achieve the predictable result of forming deep trench isolation with a Union Jack shape.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu and Zang discloses the method for improving the near-infrared quantum efficiency of the backside illuminated image sensor according to claim 6, wherein
the cell deep trench isolation structure is fabricated on the surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes by adopting photolithographic and etching processes (Wu par. 29 “the masking layer 704 of FIG. 7 and the masking layer 804 of FIG. 8 may comprise photoresist or a nitride (e.g., SiN) patterned using a photolithography process.” The masking layer 704 is on the surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes and the trenches formed are MDTI trenches 702).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wu and Zang discloses the method for improving the near-infrared quantum efficiency of the backside illuminated image sensor according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises
a step of forming a deep trench isolation region between two adjacent ones of the plurality of photodiodes (Wu fig. 1 plurality of photodiodes 104 separated by boundary deep trench isolation BDTI 111), and wherein
a depth of the cell deep trench isolation structure is less than a depth of the deep trench isolation region (Wu fig. 1, par. 15 BDTI 111 has depth d1, MDTI 110 has depth d2 and “the first depth d1 is greater than the second depth d2”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wu and Zang discloses the method for improving the near-infrared quantum efficiency of the backside illuminated image sensor according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
sequentially forming a color filter and a micro lens on the surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes (Wu fig. 1 color filters 116 and micro-lenses 118 sequentially disposed on one surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104); and
forming a metal wire structure on another surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes (Wu fig. 5 BEOL metallization stack 510 located on another surface of each of the plurality of photodiodes 104).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLE LEON LINDSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812