DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-23 and 29-32 are under consideration
Claims 24-28 and 33-34 are withdrawn
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference character 902 in figure 9.
Reference character 1922 in figure 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-23, 29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng (US20210302833A1, published 2021).
Regarding claims 1-14, 16-23, 29, and 31-32,
Weng teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device includes forming a photoresist layer (radiation-sensitive, patternable material, polymeric material) over a substrate, including combining (reacting) a first precursor and a second precursor (instant precursors and/or reactants) in a vapor state (gas-phase) to form a photoresist material, and depositing the photoresist material over the substrate [abstract] in a vacuum chamber (reaction chamber/system) [0068], reading on instant claim 1, 7-8, 14, and 32.
Weng teaches the deposition may be performed by CVD (chemical vapor deposition), ALD (atomic layer deposition), PECVD (plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition), or PEALD (plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition) [0067], reading on instant claims 2-3.
Weng teaches the first precursor may be an organometallic precursor with formula MaRbXc, where M may be Si and R is an alkyl, alkenyl, or carboxylate group (carbosilane, organosilicon, siloxane, carbosiloxane) [0057], including a dimer such as the one below (silazane) [fig 9, 0066], reading on instant claims 4-5 and 9-13.
Weng also teaches the second precursor (reactant) may be water or an amine [0063], reading on instant claims 10-11 and 13.
Weng teaches the precursor gases may be pulsed [0068], reading on instant claim 6.
Weng teaches their deposition gas my further contain argon (noble gas) [0075], reading on instant claim 16.
Weng teaches the substate may include buffer layers in its surface region, one or more layers of a metal containing layer, and a dielectric material [0052-0055], reading on the instant underlayer, as well as a patterned hard mask [0094], and a layer to be patterned over the substrate [0087], reading on instant claim 17.
Weng teaches selectively exposing their photoresist layer to EUV radiation to form exposed and unexposed regions [0031, 0088] and dry developing the patterned resist to remove the unexposed portions using either a gentle plasma (high pressure, low power) or a thermal process in a heated vacuum chamber while flowing a dry development chemistry [0048], reading on instant claims 18-21.
Weng teaches etching the substrate to transfer the pattern of the resist layer to the underlying substrate [0050], reading on instant claim 22.
Weng teaches filling trenches with a dielectric material (selective deposition onto the surface of the substrate) [0094], reading on instant claim 23.
Examine notes that the instant capping layer may be interpreted as any layer that caps (overlies) the resist layer, where a pulsed deposition process would include formation of multiple layers of the resist film, where a final deposition film may be considered the capping layer relative to the underlying formed resist layers, reading on instant claims 29 and 31.
Weng also teaches an overlying protective film (capping layer) [0029], reading on instant claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng (US20210302833A1, published 2021) as applied to claim 1 and 29 above.
Regarding claims 15 and 30,
Weng teaches the above limitations set forth.
Weng further teaches the photoresist layer is formed to a thickness of about 5 nm to about 50 nm, and to a thickness of about 10 nm to about 30 nm in other embodiments [0074], overlapping the range of instant claims 15 and 30.
Weng teaches their protective film ranges from about 3 nm to about 100 nm. In some embodiments, the protective layer has a thickness ranging from about 15 nm to about 80 nm [0080], overlapping the range of instant claim 30.
Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20170146909A1 teaches photo-patternable hardmask which is deposited by CVD or ALD, which may be plasma enhanced. US20210389670A1 teaches a photoresist deposition process that may be performed by CVD or ALD. US 20210366711 A1 teaches a metallic photoresist may be an alloy of two or more metal elements which may be deposited by ALD or CVD. US20120088369A1 teaches pulsed deposition of a radiation sensitive photoresist on a substrate.
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734