DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 1, 13, 19 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Lai in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220005723 to Panavalappil in view of US 20210013063 to Tamura and further in view of US 20220349047 to Lai.
Claims 1, 10-11: Panavalappil discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC), comprising: a substrate (100 [electrostatic chuck], Fig. 1-2) with a first surface (112 [top surface], Fig. 2), wherein the first surface (112) has a first surface roughness (Fig. 2); and a plurality of mesas (115 [mesas]) extending up from the first surface (112) of the substrate (100), wherein the plurality of mesas (115) each include a second surface (116 [top surface]), wherein the second surface (116) has a second surface roughness (Fig. 2),
However Panavalappil does not explicitly wherein the first surface roughness and the second surface roughness both have an average surface roughness Ra of approximately 0.3um or lower; (claim 10) wherein the first surface roughness is substantially equal to the second surface roughness; (claim 11) wherein the first surface roughness is different than the second surface roughness.
Yet, Panavalappil teaches where Ra is interpreted to be in microinches, as measured by the profilometer in para. [0052], and surface roughness is in some embodiments to be 10-25 Ra which is less than 0.3 um, and ranges are given for the first and second surfaces, for the purpose of providing for more efficient heat transfer between the substrate support mesas and the wafer (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Panavalappil with motivation to provide for more efficient heat transfer between the substrate support mesas and the wafer.
The apparatus of Panavalappil does not disclose a plurality of grooves into the first surface of the substrate, the plurality of grooves intervening with the plurality of mesas.
However Tamura discloses a plurality of grooves (28b [inner diffusion portion], Fig. 5, 3-4) into the first surface (21a [mounting surface]) of the substrate (21 [bast portion]), the plurality of grooves (28b) intervening with the plurality of mesas (25 [second protrusions]), for the purpose of improving conductance of the entire inner region (F2, para. [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of grooves as taught by Tamura with motivation to improve conductance of the entire inner region.
The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura does not disclose wherein each groove of the plurality of grooves has a lateral width less than a lateral width of each mesa of the plurality of mesas in a cross-sectional view.
Lai discloses a groove (31 [depressed portion], Fig. 8A-8C) has a lateral width (AL) less than a lateral width (AH) of a raised portion (32 [first protrusive portion]) in a cross-sectional view (Fig. 8C, see also Fig. 8A and 8B where 31 has a lateral width less than a lateral width of 32) for the purpose of having portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired (para. [0046]) and/or achieving more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Lai with motivation to have portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired and/or achieve more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai discloses wherein the second surface (116, Fig. 2, Panavalappil) is domed (para. [0036] where some of the shape options are domed).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai discloses wherein the second surface (116, Fig. 2, Panavalappil) is coupled to the first surface (112) by substantially vertical sidewalls (Fig. 2, para. [0036]).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai discloses wherein the plurality of grooves (28b, Fig. 5, 3-4, Tamura) is a plurality of gas grooves (28b, para. [0041]).
Claim 12: The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai discloses further comprising: a seal band (150/130 [outer band and inner band], Fig. 2-3, Panavalappil) towards a perimeter of the of the substrate (100), wherein the seal band (150/130) has a third surface roughness, wherein the third surface roughness appears to be less than the second surface roughness (para. [0051]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai as applied to claims 1, 6-8, 10-12 above, and further in view of US 20210006182 to Maeta.
Claims 2-5, 9: The apparatus of Panavalappil in view of Tamura, Lai does not explicitly disclose (claim 2) wherein the plurality of mesas have a non-uniform height; (claim 3) wherein a first mesa towards a center of the substrate has a first height, and wherein a second mesa towards an edge of the substrate has a second height that is different than the first height; (claim 4) wherein the first height is greater than the second height; (claim 5) wherein the first height is less than the second height; (claim 9) wherein a height of each of the plurality of mesas is up to approximately 15µm.
However Maeta teaches (claim 2) wherein the plurality of mesas (22 [projection portions], Fig. 7-8) have a non-uniform height (see Fig. 7-8); (claim 3) wherein a first mesa (towards center 22) towards a center of the substrate has a first height (Fig. 7-8), and wherein a second mesa (towards edge 22) towards an edge of the substrate has a second height that is different than the first height (Fig. 7-8, para. [0071]); (claim 4) wherein the first height is greater than the second height (Fig. 8); (claim 5) wherein the first height is less than the second height (Fig. 7); (claim 9) wherein a height of each of the plurality of mesas is up to approximately 15µm (para. [0071] where height differences are taught in ranges which 15µm falls within); for the purpose of controlling a shape of a projection portion for attracting the plate-shaped sample on the placement surface of the base body (para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations and options as taught by Maeta with motivation to control a shape of a projection portion for attracting the plate-shaped sample on the placement surface of the base body.
Claim(s) 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090097184 to Buchberger in view of US 20210013063 to Tamura and further in view of US 20220349047 to Lai.
Claim 13: Buchberger discloses an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (200 [electrostatic chuck assembly], Fig. 2), comprising: a substrate (202 [puck]) with a center and an edge (Fig. 2); a first mesa (one 220 [mesa]) proximate the center of the substrate (Fig. 2), wherein the first mesa (one 220) has a first shape and a first height (Fig. 2); and a second mesa (another 220) proximate the edge of the substrate (Fig. 2), wherein the second mesa (another 220) has a second shape and a second height (Fig. 2), and wherein the first shape is different than the second shape (para. [0026] where 220’s can be combinations of different shapes listed) and/or the first height is different than the second height.
However Buchberger does not disclose a groove intervening between the first mesa and the second mesa.
However Tamura discloses a groove (28b [inner diffusion portion], Fig. 5, 3-4) intervening between the between the first mesa (one 25 [second protrusions]) and the second mesa (another 25), for the purpose of improving conductance of the entire inner region (F2, para. [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a groove as taught by Tamura with motivation to improve conductance of the entire inner region.
The apparatus of Buchberger in view of Tamura does not disclose wherein the groove has a lateral width less than a lateral width of each of the first mesa and the second mesa in a cross-sectional view.
Lai discloses a groove (31 [depressed portion], Fig. 8A-8C) has a lateral width (AL) less than a lateral width (AH) of a raised portion (32 [first protrusive portion]) and second raised portion (34 [second protrusive portion], Fig. 8A) in a cross-sectional view (Fig. 8C, see also Fig. 8A and 8B where 31 has a lateral width less than a lateral width of 32 and 34) for the purpose of having portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired (para. [0046]) and/or achieving more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Lai with motivation to have portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired and/or achieve more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor.
Claim 15: Buchberger discloses wherein the first shape has a rectangular cross-section, and wherein the second shape has a domed cross-section (para. [0026] where 220’s can be combinations of different shapes listed).
Claim(s) 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchberger in view of Tamura, Lai as applied to claims 13, 15 above, and further in view of US 20100039747 to Sansoni.
Claims 14, 16: The apparatus of Buchberger in view of Tamura, Lai does not disclose (claim 14) wherein the first height is larger than the second height; (claim 16) wherein a domed surface of the second shape is connected to the substrate by substantially vertical sidewalls.
However Sansoni discloses (claim 14) wherein the first height is larger than the second height (para. [0051] where heights and sizes are varied options); (claim 16) wherein a domed surface of the second shape is connected to the substrate by substantially vertical sidewalls (multiple shapes disclosed which reads on the limitation, para. [0051], [0063]); for the purpose of allowing a heat transfer gas for thermal coupling between the chuck and substrate and temperature control (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the options above as taught by Sansoni with motivation to allow a heat transfer gas for thermal coupling between the chuck and substrate and temperature control.
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchberger in view of Tamura, Lai as applied to claims 13, 15 above, and further in view of US 20220005723 to Panavalappil.
Claims 17, 18: The apparatus of Buchberger in view of Tamura, Lai does not disclose (claim 17) wherein the substrate has a first surface roughness, and wherein top surfaces of the first mesa and the second mesa have a second surface roughness, and wherein the first surface roughness is substantially equal to the second surface roughness; (claim 18) wherein the first surface roughness and the second surface roughness have an average surface roughness Ra that is approximately l um or less.
However Panavalappil discloses (claim 17) wherein the substrate (100 [electrostatic chuck], Fig. 2) has a first surface roughness (112 [top surface]), and wherein top surfaces of the first mesa and the second mesa (116 [top surfaces] of 115 [mesas]) have a second surface roughness (para. [0051]), and wherein the first surface roughness is substantially equal to the second surface roughness (para. [0011], [0051]); (claim 18) wherein the first surface roughness and the second surface roughness have an average surface roughness Ra that is approximately l um or less (para. [0052]); for the purpose of providing for efficient heat transfer (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Panavalappil with motivation to provide for efficient heat transfer.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210287924 to Li in view of US 20210013063 to Tamura and further in view of US 20220349047 to Lai.
Claim 19: Li discloses a method of forming an electrostatic chuck (ESC), comprising: polishing a first surface of a substrate (para. [0045]); forming a plurality of mesas (425 [protrusions]) into the first surface (420 [recessed ledge]) of the substrate (407 [first chuck body]) with a laser ablation process (para. [0061]);
However Li does not disclose and forming a gas groove into the substrate between mesas.
Tamura teaches forming a plurality of gas grooves (28 [diffusion portion], Fig. 5) into the substrate (21 [base portion]) the plurality of gas grooves (28) intervening with the plurality of mesas (24/25 [protrusions]) for the purpose of diffusing the heat transfer gas along the circumferential direction of the conductance band (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate forming the gas grooves as taught by Tamura with motivation to diffuse the heat transfer gas along the circumferential direction of the conductance band.
The method of Li in view of Tamura does not disclose wherein each groove of the plurality of grooves has a lateral width less than a lateral width of each mesa of the plurality of mesas in a cross-sectional view.
Lai discloses a groove (31 [depressed portion], Fig. 8A-8C) has a lateral width (AL) less than a lateral width (AH) of a raised portion (32 [first protrusive portion]) in a cross-sectional view (Fig. 8C, see also Fig. 8A and 8B where 31 has a lateral width less than a lateral width of 32) for the purpose of having portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired (para. [0046]) and/or achieving more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Lai with motivation to have portions with different thicknesses to increase or decrease the temperature as desired and/or achieve more precise adjustments of the temperature difference on the surface of the susceptor during the process, or to adjust the temperature field distribution on the surface of the susceptor.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Tamura, Lai as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of US 20200357947 to Chen.
Claim 20: The method of Li in view of Tamura, Lai does not disclose wherein the laser ablation process is done with a picosecond pulse frequency laser or greater.
However Chen teaches using a picosecond pulsed laser for a laser ablation process (para. [0046]) for the purpose of forming a desired pattern on the substrate (para. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the kind of laser as taught by Chen with motivation to form a desired pattern on the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230008922 discloses an ESC (225, Fig. 1-3) having a plurality of mesas (227) and a seal band (Fig. 2B) with varied heights (para. [0046-0053]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718