DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/23/2025.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “pixel electrodes.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s)s 1-5 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “and/or” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it requires “and” or if it requires “or.”
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the connection electrodes are in contact with the contact electrodes through a contact portion penetrating the interlayer insulation layer exposed by the opening” is unclear as to the proper correspondence of elements. Specifically, it is unclear as to if all the of the connection electrodes are in contact with all of the contact electrodes through a single contact portion, or if there is intended to be a one-to-one correspondence with plural contact portions. Additionally, it is unclear as to a “contact portion” of what element, i.e. if it intended is analogous to the opening(s) or if it is intended to be an element which does the contacting.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the contact portion penetrates the second insulation layer to expose the contact electrodes,” is unclear as to what is required and as to how the element can “expose the contact electrodes.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the first connection electrode is in contact with the contact electrodes” is unclear as to how it is related to the “the connection electrodes are in contact with the contact electrodes” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “wherein the passivation layer…includes a first opening exposing a second area of the interlayer insulation layer,” is unclear as to how it is related to “the passivation layer and/or the first insulation layer include an opening exposing the interlayer insulation layer,” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “the thickness of the second area of the interlayer insulation layer,” is indefinite because it lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a thickness of the third area thereof,” is unclear as to what element “thereof” refers.
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20220102423; herein “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses in Fig. 18 and related text a display device comprising:
contact electrodes on a substrate (CDP/VL2, see [0078]);
an interlayer insulation layer (IL3; see also VIA in Fig. 15 and [0082]) on the contact electrodes;
a passivation layer (PAS1, see [0083]) on the interlayer insulation layer;
pixel electrodes (e.g. RME1/2, see [0058]) on the passivation layer;
a first insulation layer (PAS2, see [0083]) on the pixel electrodes;
light emitting elements (31/36/32/37 of ED1, see [0064]) between the pixel electrodes; and
connection electrodes (CNE1/2, see [0083]) electrically connected to the light emitting elements,
wherein the passivation layer and/or the first insulation layer include an opening exposing the interlayer insulation layer (e.g. CTD/CTS), and
the connection electrodes are in contact with the contact electrodes through a contact portion penetrating the interlayer insulation layer exposed by the opening (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses further comprising a second insulation layer (e.g. 38, see [0103]) between the light emitting elements and the connection electrodes (CNE1/2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the connection electrodes comprise a first connection electrode (CNE1) in contact with first end portions of the light emitting elements, and a second connection electrode (CNE2) in contact with second end portions of the light emitting elements.
Regarding claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein the first connection electrode (CNE1) is in contact with the contact electrodes (CDP).
Regarding claim 9, Kim further disclose wherein the passivation layer (PAS1) covers a first area of the interlayer insulation layer (e.g. an area of IL3 between VL1 and VL2), and includes a first opening (opening above CTD/CTS) exposing a second area of the interlayer insulation layer (e.g. at least a portion of an area of IL3 directly above CDP and around CTD).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further discloses wherein a thickness of the first area of the interlayer insulation layer is greater than a thickness of the second area thereof (e.g. thickness of IL3 between VL1 and VL2 is thicker than thickness of IL3 above CDP).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further disclose wherein the first insulation layer (PAS2) covers the second area of the interlayer insulation layer (the area of IL3 directly above CDP and around CDP), and includes a third opening exposing a third area of the interlayer insulation layer (e.g. the opening in PAS2 above/around CTD exposing at least a portion of an area of IL3 around CTD).
Regarding claim 14, Kim further discloses wherein the thickness of the second area of the interlayer insulation layer is greater than a thickness of the third area thereof (e.g. the thickness of IL3 above CDP is greater than a thickness of IL3 at portions of CTD).
Regarding claim 15, Kim further discloses further comprising a lower metal layer (e.g. S1, see [0076]) between the substrate and the contact electrodes, wherein the lower metal layer overlaps the contact portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and in view of Yun et al. (US 20210376192; herein “Yun”).
Regarding claims 2 (second interpretation) and 3, Kim does not explicitly disclose
a second insulation layer between the light emitting elements and the connection electrodes;
wherein the contact portion penetrates the second insulation layer to expose the contact electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor, Yun teaches in Fig. 9C and related text a display device comprising
a second insulation layer between the light emitting elements and the connection electrodes (e.g. a second portion of INS1 in the instance that it is a multi-layer, see [0270]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim by having a second insulation layer between the light emitting elements and the connection electrodes, as taught by Yun in order to employ a known-alternative structure for the insulating layer. Yun shows that a multi-layer insulating structure is an equivalent structure known in the art to that of a single layer insulating structure. Therefore, because these two were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a multi-layer for the single layer of PAS1 of Kim, resulting in one portion being interpreted as the “passivation layer,” and another portion being interpreted as the “second insulation layer.” The limitation “wherein the contact portion penetrates the second insulation layer to expose the contact electrodes” is therefore taught by the combination of the contact portion penetrating PAS1 to expose the contact electrodes, as shown by Kim, and a portion of PAS1 being the second insulation layer, as shown by Yun.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kim does not explicitly disclose
a via layer between the passivation layer and the pixel electrodes;
wherein the via layer covers the first area of the interlayer insulation layer, and includes a second opening exposing the second area of the interlayer insulation layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Yun teaches in Fig. 9C and related text a display device comprising
a via layer between the passivation layer and the pixel electrodes (e.g. a lower portion of INS1 in the instance that it is a multi-layer, see [0270]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim by having a via layer between the passivation layer and the pixel electrodes, as taught by Yun in order to employ a known-alternative structure for the insulating layer. Yun shows that a multi-layer insulating structure is an equivalent structure known in the art to that of a single layer insulating structure. Therefore, because these two were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a multi-layer for the single layer of INS1 of Kim, resulting in the upper portion being interpreted as the “passivation layer,” and the lower portion being interpreted as the “via layer.” The limitation “wherein the via layer covers the first area of the interlayer insulation layer, and includes a second opening exposing the second area of the interlayer insulation layer” is therefore taught by the combination of PAS1 covering the first area of the interlayer insulation layer and including a second opening exposing the second area of the interlayer insulation layer, as shown by Kim, and a portion of PAS1 being the via layer, as shown by Yun.
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 1/28/2026