DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II and Species II, III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/19/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Support pin moving part (cylinder, electromagnet, or linear movement guide, para. [0072]) in at least claims 5.
Driving part (ball screw and motor, para. [0074]) in at least claims 10-11.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Light source part (something that emits light, para. [0058-0059]) in claims 1-11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100212832 to Wakasaki in view of US 20200009597 to Ko, and further in view of US 20210301402 to Suzuki.
Claim 1: Wakasaki discloses an exposure apparatus comprising: a stage (2 [electrode stage], Fig. 1) on which a target substrate (4 [substrate]) is loaded and in which a plurality of holes (26 [cylindrical holes], Fig. 4) are defined (para. [0084]); and a plurality of support pins (7 [lift pin mechanism]) disposed to penetrate the plurality of holes (26) and supporting the target substrate (4),
wherein the plurality of support pins (7) include: a fixed support pin (28 [fixed type lift pins]) whose position is fixed in a plan view (Fig. 2, 4) and a first variable support pin (20 [spring type lift pins]); and wherein the plurality of holes (7) include: a pair of first holes (7) penetrated by the fixed support pin (26) and arranged side by side at a predetermined interval along the first direction (Fig. 2); and a second hole (middle 7’s) penetrated by the first variable support pin (20) and disposed between the pair of first holes (Fig. 2).
However Wakasaki does not disclose (claim 1) a light source part, which radiates light to the stage; and a first variable support pin configured to reciprocate in a first direction; (claim 2) wherein the target substrate includes an active area in which a plurality of cells are disposed and a non-active area surrounding the active area, and wherein the plurality of support pins are configured to support the target substrate, and contact a lower surface of the target substrate while being spaced apart from the active area in the plan view;
(claim 3) wherein the plurality of support pins are configured to support the target substrate, and contact the lower surface of the target substrate while overlapping the non-active area in the plan view; (claim 4) wherein the target substrate includes: a base substrate; and a monomer layer disposed on the base substrate and including a monomer; (claim 6) wherein the second hole is provided in plural, and wherein the plurality of second holes extend in a second direction crossing the first direction and are arranged side by side along the first direction.
Ko discloses (claim 1) a light source part (910 ultraviolet light sources], Fig. 8A), which radiates light to the stage (920 [chuck], para. [0114-0124]); (claim 2) wherein the target substrate (4000 [substrate], Fig. 15A) includes an active area (“active regions”) in which a plurality of cells (active regions) are disposed and a non-active area (periphery regions]) surrounding the active area (para. [0087]), and wherein the plurality of support pins (2224A [pins]) are configured to support the target substrate (4000), and contact a lower surface of the target substrate (4000) while being spaced apart from the active area in the plan view (Fig. 15A);
(claim 3) wherein the plurality of support pins (2224) are configured to support the target substrate (4000), and contact the lower surface of the target substrate (4000) while overlapping the non-active area (periphery regions between active regions and at edge) in the plan view (Fig. 15A, para. [0087]); (claim 4) wherein the target substrate (4000) includes: a base substrate (“substrate”); and a monomer layer (“monomer”) disposed on the base substrate and including a monomer (para. [0088]); (claim 6) and wherein the plurality of second holes (holes of 2224) extend in a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 15A) and are arranged side by side along the first direction (Fig. 15A). Ko discloses these limitations for the purpose of offering a highly uniform coating to all of the substrate area, and can be used productively (para. [0087]).
It is noted that the limitations drawn to the target substrate are recitations that tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Ko with motivation to offer a highly uniform coating to all of the substrate area, and can be used productively.
Suzuki discloses (claim 1) and the first variable support pin (2 [lifter pins]) configured to reciprocate in a first direction (para. [0024]); (claim 6) wherein the second hole (2a [pin holes]) is provided in plural (para. [0022]), for the purpose of forming a film on the rear surface of the wafer without causing warp due to the stress of the films in another step subsequent to the film formation on the front (para. [0015]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Suzuki with motivation to form a film on the rear surface of the wafer without causing warp due to the stress of the films in another step subsequent to the film formation on the front.
Claim 10: The apparatus of Wakasaki in view of Ko, Suzuki discloses further comprising: a driving part (83/82, Fig. 1, Suzuki), which reciprocates the first variable support pin (2) in the first direction (para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakasaki in view of Ko, Suzuki as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 10 above, and further in view of US 20210313547 to Park.
Claim 5: The apparatus of Wakasaki in view of Ko, Suzuki does not disclose further comprising: a support pin moving part, which lifts or lowers the plurality of support pins.
Park discloses further comprising: a support pin moving part (AP [support pin adjustment portion], Fig. 9), which lifts or lowers the plurality of support pins (para. [0086]) for the purpose of adjusting the location of the support pins so that the substrate can be placed on or off a robot arm to be transferred or processed (para. [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Park with motivation to adjust the location of the support pins so that the substrate can be placed on or off a robot arm to be transferred or processed.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakasaki in view of Ko, Suzuki as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 10 above, and further in view of US 20220130702 to Kawawa.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Wakasaki in view of Ko, Suzuki does not disclose wherein the driving part includes: a ball screw rotatably coupled to a side surface of a pin frame accommodating the first variable support pin; and a motor coupled to the ball screw and, which rotates the ball screw.
Kawawa discloses wherein the driving part (54 [driving mechanism], Fig. 1) includes: a ball screw (56 [ball screw mechanism]) rotatably coupled to a side surface of a pin frame (side surface of 59 [movable member]) accommodating the first variable support pin (51/52); and a motor (55 motor]) coupled to the ball screw (56) and, which rotates the ball screw (para. [0036]) for the purpose of adjusting the contact position of a lift pin with the substrate for placement (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kawawa with motivation to adjust the contact position of a lift pin with the substrate for placement.
Claims 12-20: (Withdrawn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20050176252 discloses support pins (410, Fig. 4B) possess a horizontal motion component, which permits the transfer device to transfer the wafer from the upper load platform to the lower load platform or vice versa without retraction and extension (e.g., translation) of the wafer transfer robot (para. [0060]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718