Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0238095 A1), hereinafter Ogihara 1, in view of Ogihara et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2013/0210229 A1), hereinafter Ogihara 2.
4. Regarding Claims 1-15 and 18-20, Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0262]) forming a first layer, therein a lower layer film, comprising an organic material over a substrate. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) forming a second layer, therein a silicon-containing film, over the first layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) the second layer comprises a silicon-containing polymer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) forming a layer of a composition comprising a silicon-based polymer and a material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the first layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) reacting the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group with the silicon-based polymer to form an upper second layer comprising a silicon-based polymer having pendant acid groups or pendant photoacid generator groups overlying a lower second layer comprising the silicon-based polymer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) forming a photosensitive layer, therein a photoresist film, over the second layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) patterning the photosensitive layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraph [0235]) reacting the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group with the silicon-based polymer comprises heating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group containing and the silicon-based polymer at a temperature ranging from 50° C to 400° C. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0135]) the silicon-based polymer is a polysiloxane. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) the silicon-based polymer of the upper second layer comprises pendant acid groups having a pKa ranging from 5 to −8. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) the pendant acid groups include —COOH. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0135]) the reacting the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group with the silicon-based polymer is a sol-gel reaction or an esterification reaction. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group is an organic compound. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0262]) forming a bottom anti-reflective coating layer over a substrate. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) forming a middle layer over the bottom anti-reflective coating layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) forming a photosensitive layer over the middle layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) selectively exposing the photosensitive layer to actinic radiation to form a latent pattern. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0261-0266]) developing the selectively exposed photosensitive layer to form a pattern in the photosensitive layer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0135]) the first silicon-based polymer is a polysiloxane. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0135-0136]) the second silicon-based polymer comprises pendant acid groups having a pKa ranging from 5 to −8. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0195-0224]) the second silicon-based polymer comprises pendant photoacid generator groups, and the photoacid generator groups include an onium cation. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0135]) a silicon-based polymer. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0195-0224]) an organic compound having an acid group or a photoacid generator group. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0195-0224]) the organic compound having an acid group or a photoacid generator group, and the organic compound is represented by formula HOOC—R2-A of the present application. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0195-0224]) the floatable material includes the photoacid generator group, and the photoacid generator group includes an onium cation. Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0195-0224]) the composition includes 0.01 wt. % to 50 wt. % of the floatable material based on the total weight of the composition.
5. However, Ogihara 1 fails to explicitly teach floating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group containing material over the silicon-based polymer. Furthermore, Ogihara 1 fails to explicitly teach the floating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the silicon-based polymer comprises spinning the substrate while applying the composition comprising a silicon-based polymer and the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the first layer or spinning the substrate after applying the composition. Furthermore, Ogihara 1 fails to explicitly teach the middle layer comprises a lower middle layer and an upper middle layer formed over the lower middle layer, wherein the lower middle layer comprises a first silicon-based polymer and the upper middle layer comprises a second silicon-based polymer having pendant acid groups or pendant photoacid generator groups. That said, Ogihara 1 teaches (Paragraphs [0111-0145]) teaches the surface modifier of Ogihara 2 and a material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group.
6. Ogihara 2 teaches (Tables 1-11, Paragraphs [0227-0276]) the floating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the silicon-based polymer comprises spinning the substrate while applying the composition comprising a silicon-based polymer and the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the first layer or spinning the substrate after applying the composition, See particularly Paragraphs ([0251 and 0262]). Thus, Ogihara 2 teaches (Paragraph [0235]) the surface modifier polymer separates from the photoresist rising to an upper portion of the mixture forming an upper layer comprising the surface modifier and the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group containing material. Thus, Ogihara 2 teaches (Tables 1-11, Paragraphs [0227-0276]) the middle layer comprises a lower middle layer and an upper middle layer formed over the lower middle layer, wherein the lower middle layer comprises a first silicon-based polymer and the upper middle layer comprises a second silicon-based polymer having pendant acid groups or pendant photoacid generator groups. Thus, Ogihara 2 teaches (Tables 1-11, Paragraphs [0227-0276]) the second silicon-based polymer and the first silicon-based polymer have different compositions from each other. Ogihara 2 teaches (Paragraphs [0019-0020]) the upper and lower resin structure taught therein results in a prevention of pattern collapse.
6. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogihara 1 to incorporate the teachings of Ogihara 2 such that there is a floating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group containing material over the silicon-based polymer; the floating the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the silicon-based polymer comprises spinning the substrate while applying the composition comprising a silicon-based polymer and the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group over the first layer or spinning the substrate after applying the composition; the surface modifier polymer separates from the photoresist rising to an upper portion of the mixture forming an upper layer comprising the surface modifier and the material containing an acid group or photoacid generator group containing material; the middle layer comprises a lower middle layer and an upper middle layer formed over the lower middle layer, wherein the lower middle layer comprises a first silicon-based polymer and the upper middle layer comprises a second silicon-based polymer having pendant acid groups or pendant photoacid generator groups; and the second silicon-based polymer and the first silicon-based polymer have different compositions from each other. Doing so would result in an upper and lower resin structure which prevents of pattern collapse, as recognized by Ogihara 2.
7. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0238095 A1), hereinafter Ogihara 1, in view of Ogihara et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2013/0210229 A1), hereinafter Ogihara 2, and further in view of Ogihara et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2021/0026246 A1), hereinafter Ogihara 3.
8. Regarding Claims 16-17, Ogihara 1 in view of Ogihara 2 teaches all limitations of Claim 14 above. However, Ogihara 1 in view of Ogihara 2 fails to explicitly teach the composition includes the silicon-containing compound having an acid group or a photoacid generator group, and the silicon-containing compound is represented by (R3O)3Si-R2-A of the present application. Furthermore, Ogihara 1 in view of Ogihara 2 fails to explicitly teach the composition includes the silicon-containing polymer having acid groups or photoacid generator groups, and the silicon-containing polymer is represented by the structure of Claim 17 of the present application.
9. Ogihara 3 teaches (Paragraphs [0054-0069], particularly Paragraph [0057]) the composition includes the silicon-containing compound having an acid group or a photoacid generator group, and the silicon-containing compound is represented by (R3O)3Si-R2-A of the present application. Ogihara 3 teaches (Paragraphs [0054-0069], particularly Paragraph [0057]) the composition includes the silicon-containing polymer having acid groups or photoacid generator groups, and the silicon-containing polymer is represented by the structure of Claim 17 of the present application. Ogihara 3 teaches (Paragraphs [0049-0051]) said compounds contribute to a smaller contact angle, a more impermeable to acid upper layer, and improved pattern formation.
10. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ogihara 1 in view of Ogihara 2 to incorporate the teachings of Ogihara 3 wherein the composition includes the silicon-containing compound having an acid group or a photoacid generator group, and the silicon-containing compound is represented by (R3O)3Si-R2-A of the present application; and wherein the composition includes the silicon-containing polymer having acid groups or photoacid generator groups, and the silicon-containing polymer is represented by the structure of Claim 17 of the present application. Doing so would result in the upper layer having a smaller contact angle, being more impermeable to acid, and improved pattern formation, as recognized by Ogihara 3.
Conclusion
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737