DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 18/135,655 filed 17 April 2023, which claims priority to JP2022-068030 filed 18 April 2022 and JP2023-040789 filed 15 March 2023. Claims 1-13 are pending, as filed, and are considered below.
Amendments to the claims, filed 6 February 2026, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0183017 A1) (Minamibori) in view of Zawada (US Patent No. 5,427,847) (Zawada), Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2019064028A (citations taken from the provided machine translation) (JP028), and Kawasaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0329101 A1) (Kawasaki).
Regarding instant claim 1:
Minamibori discloses a packaging material for power storage devices comprising:
a base material;
a sealant layer as an inner layer;
a metal foil arranged between the base material layer and the sealant layer;
and a protective layer laminated on a surface of the base material opposite to a metal foil side layer (Claim 1).
Said “packaging material for power storage devices” reads on the claimed “battery packaging material”.
Minamibori further discloses that the sealant layer is preferably a thermoplastic resin layer made of at least one kind of resin inclusive of polypropylene and an olefin based copolymer. Minamibori makes particular reference to an elastomer-modified olefin based resin (polypropylene block copolymer) containing propylene and ethylene (paragraphs [0110; 0112]).
In his original disclosure, Applicant characterizes that the heat-fusible resin layer is preferably a polyolefin based resin inclusive of ethylene-propylene copolymers (see Specification at paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, there is substantial reason to believe that the “sealant layer” of Minamibori reads on the claimed “heat-fusible layer” because both are made of substantially identical resins. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2112.01(I).
Minamibori further discloses that the metal foil layer imparts a gas barrier property (paragraph [0115]); therefore, said “metal foil layer” reads on the claimed “barrier layer”.
Minamibori further discloses that the protective layer contains a polyester resin (Claim 1) (i.e., a binder resin).
Minamibori further discloses that the protective layer further contains solid fine particles (Claim 5). Said solid fine particles are inclusive of inorganic fine particles (e.g., silica, alumina, kaolin, etc.) and acrylic resin beads (paragraph [0061]).
Minamibori teaches that the inclusion of solid fine particles imparts good slipperiness to the surface and improves formability of the packaging material (paragraph [0061]).
Minamibori further discloses that the protective layer comprises a polyethylene wax (paragraph [0063]).
Minamibori further discloses that the content of the solid fine particles is 0.1 mass% to 60 mass% (paragraph [0062]), which includes the claimed range; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Minamibori teaches that excellent printability is desired in its packaging material (paragraph [0012]).
Minamibori does not explicitly disclose soft resin fine particles having a glass transition temperature of less than 30°C and hard resin fine particles having a glass transition temperature of 30°C or higher. Minamibori does not explicitly disclosed the claimed size relationship between the soft resin fine particles, the hard resin fine particles, and the inorganic fine particles
As to the claimed soft resin fine particles:
Zawada discloses sheets having good print quality with both conventional and high speed printers (col. 4, lines 12-15).
Zawada discloses that said sheets comprise a substrate and a coating with a glass transition temperature below 25°C, wherein the coating is comprised of a wax (col. 3, lines 25-30).
Zawada further discloses that the glass transition temperature of the wax should be below about 25°C, and discloses a preference for a polyethylene wax having a glass transition temperature of about -16°C (col. 4, lines 29-46).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to choose a polyethylene wax having the glass transition temperature described in Zawada as the polyethylene wax desired in the protective layer of Minamibori. The motivation for doing so would have been that Zawada shows that such waxes provide good print quality, wherein print quality is desired by Minamibori.
JP028 discloses protective layers comprising at least one of an olefin-based wax (paragraph [0009]).
JP028 further discloses that the olefin wax is inclusive of polyethylene wax (paragraph [0066]).
JP028 further discloses that the in order to provide excellent scratch resistance and three-dimensional formability, the particle size of the olefin wax is about 1.0 to 10 μm (paragraph [0067]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of the prior art before him or her, to select the particulate polyethylene wax of JP028 as the wax in the protective layer of Minamibori. The motivation for doing so would have been that such a particulate wax provides excellent scratch resistance and three-dimensional formability, wherein formability, at least, is desired by Minamibori.
The prior art combination of a particulate polyethylene wax having a glass transition temperature of less than about 25°C meets the claimed soft resin fine particles.
Further, by selecting a particulate form of polyethylene wax, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily incorporate it in amounts such that the desired content of the solid fine particles is 0.1 mass% to 60 mass% is maintained.
As to the claimed hard resin fine particles:
Kawasaki discloses polyester films comprising particles mainly for imparting an easy-slipping property to the film, wherein said particles are inclusive of organic particles composed of an acrylic resin (paragraph [0015]).
Kawasaki teaches that the glass transition temperature of the acrylic resin particles is in the range of 50 to 120°C such that the particles provide sufficient slipping property (paragraph [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to choose acrylic resin beads having the glass transition temperature described by Kawasaki when forming the protective layer of Minamibori. The motivation for doing so would have been that Kawasaki teaches that such acrylic resins provide sufficient slipping properties that are desired by Minamibori.
The prior art combination of acrylic resin beads having a particular glass transition temperature meets the claimed hard resin fine particles.
As to the claimed size relationship:
Minamibori further discloses that the solid fine particles have an average diameter of 1 μm to 10 μm (paragraph [0061]).
Those particles having the size described by Minamibori are construed to read on the claimed hard resin fine particles and inorganic fine particles. Further, it is noted that the range disclosed by Minamibori overlaps the hard resin fine particle size range recited by the claim; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
JP028 further discloses that the olefin wax particles (which read on the claimed soft resin fine particles) have a size of about 1.0 to 10.0 μm, which overlaps the claimed soft resin fine particle size range; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the claimed ranges (i.e., wherein the average size of each of the soft resin fine particles, hard resin fine particles, and inorganic fine particles is 1 to 10 μm), there exist embodiments encompassed by the prior art wherein the average particle diameter of the soft resin fine particles is larger than an average particle diameter of the hard resin fine particles that is larger than an average particle diameter of the inorganic fine particles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zawada, JP028, and Kawasaki with Minamibori to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claim.
Regarding instant claims 2 and 12-13:
Minamibori further discloses that the solid fine particles have an average diameter of 1 μm to 10 μm (paragraph [0061]).
Those particles having the size described by Minamibori are construed to read on the claimed hard resin fine particles and inorganic fine particles. Further, it is noted that the range disclosed by Minamibori overlaps the hard resin fine particle size range recited by the claim; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
JP028 further discloses that the olefin wax particles (which read on the claimed soft resin fine particles) have a size of about 1.0 to 10.0 μm, which overlaps the claimed soft resin fine particle size range; however, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding instant claim 3:
Minamibori discloses that the content of the solid fine particles is 0.1 mass% to 60 mass% (paragraph [0062]), which necessarily includes embodiments of each of the claimed amounts of soft resin fine particles and inorganic fine particles.
Further, by selecting a particulate form of polyethylene wax, one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily incorporate it in amounts such that the desired content of the solid fine particles is 0.1 mass% to 60 mass% is maintained.
While the scope of the prior art encompasses, but does not explicitly disclose, the claimed ranges, “in the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding instant claim 4:
The prior art combination encompasses soft fine resin particles composed of polyethylene wax as cited in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding instant claim 5:
The prior art combination encompasses hard resin fine particles composed of acrylic resin beads as cited in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding instant claim 6:
Minamibori discloses inorganic fine particles inclusive of silica, alumina, kaolin, calcium carbonate, calcium sulfate, barium sulfate, and calcium silicate fine particles (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding instant claim 7:
Minamibori further discloses that the protective layer contains a polyester resin (Claim 1) (i.e., a binder resin).
Regarding instant claim 10:
Minamibori further discloses that a colored layer is arranged between the base material layer (i.e., the claimed substrate) and the metal foil layer (i.e., the claimed barrier layer) (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding instant claim 11:
Reference is made to FIG. 1 of Minamibori, reproduced below:
FIG. 1 illustrates packaging material <1> comprising base material layer <2> and metal foil layer <4> that are integrally laminated by adhesive layers <5> and <8> with colored layer <9> therebetween (paragraph [0047-0048]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamibori in view of Zawada, JP028, and Kawasaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0092902 A1) (Ueda).
Regarding instant claims 8-9:
Minamibori in view Zawada, JP028, and Kawasaki discloses the packaging material for power storage devices.
FIG. 1 of Minamibori further illustrates packaging material <1> comprising base material layer <2> and metal foil layer <4> that are integrally laminated by adhesive layers <5> and <8> (paragraph [0047-0048]).
Minamibori in view Zawada, JP028, and Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose that the base material layer, the metal foil layer, or the adhesive layers contain a coloring agent.
However, Ueda discloses a battery packaging material comprising a laminate in which at least a base layer, an adhesive layer, a metal layer, and a sealant layer are laminated, wherein at least one of the base material layer and the adhesive layer contains a dye (Claim 1).
Ueda further discloses an embodiment wherein the battery packaging material comprises a laminate in which at least a decorative layer, a base material layer, a metal layer and a sealant layer are laminated, wherein the decorative layer contains a colorant (Claim 6).
Ueda further discloses that the decorative layer is composed of a polyester resin (paragraph [0090]); therefore, said decorative layer is analogous to the protective layer comprising a polyester resin of Minamibori.
Ueda teaches that the incorporation of colorants allows for, among other things, the battery to be discriminated from the outside by color, which allows the user to determine if a battery is genuine or false (paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to incorporate the dyes/colorants of Ueda into at least one of the base layer, the adhesive, and the protective layer of Minamibori. The motivation for doing so would have been to incorporate colors into the battery packaging that allows easy identification for the user. Further, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007). See MPEP § 2143(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ueda with Minamibori in view of Zawada, JP028, and Kawasaki to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claims.
Answers to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of record are fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant submits that the Office fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness for the claims as they are set forth because there is no evidentiary support for the conclusion that the features recited in the claims were known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Specifically, Applicant submits that the prior art fails to disclose a battery packaging material wherein an average particle diameter of soft fine resin particles is larger than an average particle diameter of the hard resin fine particles that is larger than an average particle diameter of the inorganic fine particles. Applicant contends that such a relationship provides advantageous features that are not taught or suggested by the applied references.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. As cited in the rejections of record, the prior art discloses particle sizes between 1 and 10 μm. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily conclude that given the particle size range, the prior art must encompass embodiments wherein the average particle diameter of soft fine resin particles is larger than an average particle diameter of the hard resin fine particles that is larger than an average particle diameter of the inorganic fine particles.
Though Applicant alleges that the prior art does not recognize the advantages of the claimed size range, such advantages are not recited by the claims. If Applicant alleges that the advantages are unexpected properties attributed to the claimed range, then Applicant should present such arguments in a manner that provides evidence commensurate in scope with the claims that reflect the unexpected nature of the properties.
Conclusion
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 02/13/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788