DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 9, and 11-13 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled, and claims 14-21 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 recites “according to claim 1, wherein the compound is represented by formula (5)”. However, claim 1 does not recite formula (5), claim 13 does. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishihara et al. (U.S. 2012/0323014).
Ishihara et al. teaches in Examples 32-35 the following compounds:
[page 8] which are equivalent to a compound represented by formula (5) of instant claim 13 when R1 is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group respectively, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a divalent linking group, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is a chlorine atom.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsushita (U.S. 2025/0216780).
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Matsushita teaches in Example 4 a resist composition comprising resin (A)-4, acid generator (B0)-1, base component (D)-1, and solvent (S)-1 [0583] in which resin (A)-4 corresponds to the following Chemical Formula (A1)-4 in which the copolymerization composition ratio (the ratio (molar ratio) of each constitutional unit in the structural formula) determined by 13C-NMR was l/m=50/50 [0588] (claims 1 and 9):
[0588] wherein the left repeating unit is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (2) of instant claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 14, and 15 when R1 is a methyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom; and the right repeating unit is equivalent to a structural unit having a phenolic hydroxy group of instant claim 6; and (D)-1 is an acid diffusion control agent represented by the following Chemical Formula (D)-1 [0610]:
[0611] which is equivalent to a photodegradable base of instant claim 4. Matsushita also teaches an 8-inch silicon substrate which had been subjected to a hexamethyldisilazane (HMDS) treatment was coated with each resist composition of each example using a spinner, and subjected to a pre-bake (PAB) treatment on a hot plate at a temperature of 110° C for 60 seconds so that the 8-inch silicon substrate was dried, thereby forming a resist film having a film thickness of 50 nm. Next, drawing (light exposure) was performed on the resist film by using an electron beam lithography apparatus JEOL-JBX-9300FS (manufactured by JEOL Ltd.), with the target size being set to a pitch width of 46 nm and a hole width of 23 nm, at an acceleration voltage of 100 kV, and the post-exposure bake (PEB) treatment was performed at 100° C. for 60 seconds. Subsequently, alkali development was performed at 23° C for 60 seconds using a 2.38% by mass tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH) aqueous solution “NMD-3” (trade name, manufactured by TOKYO OHKA KOGYO CO., LTD.), and rinse treatment was performed for 15 seconds using pure water [0612-0614] (claims 10 and 11).
With regard to claims 13, 16, and 19, Matsushita teaches the following compound (a0-201):
[page 7] where Rα represents a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group [0081] which is equivalent to a compound represented by formula (5) of instant claims 13, 16, and 19 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita (U.S. 2025/0216780).
With regard to claims 5 and7, Matsushita teaches the above resin (A1)-4 [0588].
Matsushita does not teach a structural unit represented by formula (4) or a structural unit comprising a lactone structure.
However, Matsushita teaches the component (A1) may have other constitutional units as necessary in addition to the constitutional unit (a0) described above. Examples of the other constitutional units include a constitutional unit (a1) containing an acid decomposable group whose polarity is increased by the action of an acid (here, a constitutional unit corresponding to the constitutional unit (a0) is excluded), a constitutional unit (a10) represented by General Formula (a10-1), a constitutional unit (a2) containing a lactone-containing cyclic group, and a constitutional unit (a8) derived from a compound represented by General Formula (a8-1) [0084-0085] (claim 7) and specific preferred examples of such a constitutional unit (a1) include constitutional units represented by General Formula (a1-1) or (a1-2) [0170] and specific examples of the constitutional unit represented by Formula (a1-1) are shown below. In the formulae shown below, Rα represents a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group [0192]:
[0192] which is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (4) of instant claim 5 when R11 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, R12 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, and R13 and R14 form an alicyclic hydrocarbon group having 10 carbon atoms. Matsushita also teaches since the lithography characteristics (the sensitivity, the shape, and the like) are easily improved using electron beams or EUV, a constitutional unit represented by Formula (a1-1) is preferable as the constitutional unit (a1) [0194].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Matsushita to additionally include the above constitutional units and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to improve sensitivity and shape.
Claims 1, 3-13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al. (JP2013213860). Translation attached.
Asano et al. teaches the photoresist composition of the present invention contains [A] a polymer and [B] an acid generator. The photoresist composition may contain, as a suitable component, [C] an acid diffusion control body (photodegradable base), [D] a polymer having a fluorine atom content higher than that of the polymer [A] (hereinafter, also referred to as "[D] polymer"), and [E] a solvent [0017] (claims 1 and 4) wherein the polymer [A] is a polymer having a structural unit (I) [0018] and in addition to the structural unit (I), the polymer may have a structural unit (II) having at least one group selected from the group consisting of a structural unit (II) represented by formula (2), a lactone group, a cyclic carbonate group, and a sultone group, a structural unit (IV) including a hydrophilic functional group, a structural unit (V) represented by the following formula (5), and a structural unit (VI) represented by the following formula (6), and may have other structural units other than these structural units. Each structural unit may have one or two or more types [0019] (claim 7). Asano et al. also teaches structural unit (I) is represented by the following formula (1):
[0012] wherein R is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group. A is a monovalent aromatic heterocyclic group having 5 to 30 nuclear atoms and containing at least one sulfur atom as a ring-constituting atom. Some or all of the hydrogen atoms of the aromatic heterocyclic group may be substituted. R1 and R2 are each independently a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a cycloalkyl group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms, an aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, an aralkyl group having 7 to 30 carbon atoms, or a monovalent heterocyclic group having 3 to 30 nucleus atoms. Some or all of the hydrogen atoms of the alkyl group, the cycloalkyl group, the aryl group, the aralkyl group, and the heterocyclic group may be substituted. R1 and R2 or R2 and A may be bonded to each other to form a cyclic structure together with the carbon atoms to which they are attached. However, both R1 and R2 are not hydrogen atoms [0012] wherein examples of the monovalent aromatic heterocyclic group having 5 to 30 nuclear atoms containing at least one sulfur atom represented by A as a ring-constituting atom include groups represented by the following formulae (1a) to (1j) [0023] such as the following formula (1a):
[0024] and examples of the substituent that the aromatic heterocyclic group may have include a halogen atom such as a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom, and an iodine atom [0027] and examples of the structural unit (I) include structural units represented by the following formulae (1-1) to (1-17) [0037] such as the following formula (1-4):
[0038] wherein R is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group [0012] such that when formula (1-4) is substituted with a halogen atom it is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (3) of instant claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 17, and 18 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, X is a sulfur atom, and o is 1-3 where R3 is a halogen atom. Asano et al. also teaches the content ratio of the structural unit (I) is preferably 5 mol % to 80 mol %, more preferably 7 mol % to 60 mol %, still more preferably 10 mol % to 40 mol %, and particularly preferably 10 mol % to 30 mol % with respect to all structural units constituting the polymer [A]. When the content ratio of the structural unit (I) is within the above range, the resolution of the photoresist composition, the rectangularity of the pattern shape, and the scum suppression property can be improved. When the content ratio of the structural unit (I) is less than the lower limit, the pattern formability may decrease. When the content ratio of the structural unit (I) exceeds the upper limit, the adhesion of the resist pattern formed from the photoresist composition to the substrate may decrease [0041] (claim 9). Asano et al. further teaches the structural unit (II) is a structural unit represented by formula (2). The polymer [A] has the above-described structural unit (I) as a structural unit having an acid-dissociable group, and is not necessarily required, but may have a structural unit (II) [0046] and examples of the structural unit represented by the structural unit (II) or the structural units (II-1) to (II-4) include structural units represented by the following formula [0052]:
[0053] wherein RA s a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group [0048] which is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (4) of instant claim 5 when R11 is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, R12 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, and R13 and R14 form an alicyclic hydrocarbon group having 10 carbon atoms. Asano et al. also teaches the structural unit (V) is a structural unit represented by the following formula (5). Since the polymer [A] has a structural unit (V), solubility in the developer can be adjusted, and as a result, the photoresist composition can improve resolution and the like. In addition, since the polymer [A] has a structural unit (V), the photoresist composition can be suitably used for KrF exposure or electron beam exposure [0074]:
[0074] wherein R D is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group. R an is a monovalent organic group. P is an integer of 0 to 3. When there are a plurality of R a, the plurality of R a may be the same or different. Q is an integer of 1 to 3. Here, p and q satisfy p + q ≤ 5 [0075] which is equivalent to a structural unit having a phenolic hydroxy group of instant claim 6. Asano et al. further teaches a method for forming a resist pattern according to the present invention includes: (1) a step of forming a resist film using the photoresist composition (hereinafter, also referred to as "step (1)"), (2) a step of exposing the resist film (hereinafter, also referred to as "step (2)"), (3) A step of developing the exposed resist film (hereinafter, also referred to as "step (3)") [0178] and examples of the exposure light include electromagnetic waves such as visible light, ultraviolet rays, far ultraviolet rays, X-rays, gamma rays, EUV (extreme ultraviolet rays), and charged particle beams such as electron beams and alpha rays according to the line width of the target pattern [0181] (claims 10 and 11). Asano et al. also teaches the present invention will be more specifically described by way of examples, but the present invention is not limited to these examples [0191] and it is possible to form a resist pattern having high resolution, excellent rectangularity, and less scum generation while exhibiting a wide depth of focus. In addition, the polymer of the present invention can be suitably used as a polymer component of the photoresist composition, and the compound of the present invention can be suitably used as a monomer that provides the polymer. Therefore, the photoresist composition, the resist pattern forming method, the polymer, and the compound of the present invention can be suitably used in the field of processing such as the manufacture of a semiconductor device in which further miniaturization is required [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Asano et al. to include a halogen-substituted compound of formula (1-4) together with the above compounds and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable variables for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum resolution, rectangularity, and depth of focus.
With regard to claim 13, Asano et al. teaches the compound of the present invention is represented by the following formula (i) [0014]:
[0014] wherein R is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group. A is a monovalent aromatic heterocyclic group having 5 to 30 nuclear atoms and containing at least one sulfur atom as a ring-constituting atom. Some or all of the hydrogen atoms of the aromatic heterocyclic group may be substituted. R1 and R2 are each independently a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a cycloalkyl group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms, an aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, an aralkyl group having 7 to 30 carbon atoms, or a monovalent heterocyclic group having 3 to 30 nuclear atoms. Some or all of the hydrogen atoms of the alkyl group, the cycloalkyl group, the aryl group, the aralkyl group, and the heterocyclic group may be substituted. R1 and R2 or R2 and A may be bonded to each other to form a cyclic structure together with the carbon atoms to which they are attached. However, both R1 and R2 are not hydrogen atoms [0014] and a specific example includes the following formula (i-2):
[0199] such that when formula (i-2) is defined as formula (1-4) above, i.e. substituted with a halogen atom, it is equivalent to a compound represented by formula (6) of instant claim 13 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, X is a sulfur atom, and o is 1-3 where R3 is a halogen atom. Asano et al. also teaches the present invention will be more specifically described by way of examples, but the present invention is not limited to these examples [0191] and it is possible to form a resist pattern having high resolution, excellent rectangularity, and less scum generation while exhibiting a wide depth of focus. In addition, the polymer of the present invention can be suitably used as a polymer component of the photoresist composition, and the compound of the present invention can be suitably used as a monomer that provides the polymer. Therefore, the photoresist composition, the resist pattern forming method, the polymer, and the compound of the present invention can be suitably used in the field of processing such as the manufacture of a semiconductor device in which further miniaturization is required [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Asano et al. to include a halogen-substituted compound and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable variables for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum resolution, rectangularity, and depth of focus.
Claims 1, 3-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP2015161823). Translation attached.
Kawabata et al. teaches an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition (i) or (ii): (i) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition containing a resin having a repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by the action of an acid to generate a polar group, and a repeating unit having a partial structure having a monovalent iodine atom that is not desorbed by irradiation with actinic rays or radiation; (ii) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition containing (A2) a resin having a repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by the action of an acid to generate a polar group, and (AD) a compound having a monovalent iodine atom [0008] wherein the resin (A1) contained in the composition (i) and the resin (A2) contained in the composition (ii) have a repeating unit which is commonly decomposed by the action of an acid and has a group that generates a polar group. The resin (A) corresponds to the resin (A2), and the resin (A) has a repeating unit (hereinafter, also referred to as a "repeating unit (s)") having a partial structure having a monovalent iodine atom that is not desorbed by irradiation with actinic rays or radiation, and corresponds to the resin (A1) [0011] (claims 1 and 12) such that in resin (A1), a specific example of the repeating unit (s) includes the following [0259]:
[0261] which is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (2) of instant claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 14, and 15 when R1 is a methyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom and is the polymerized form of a compound represented by formula (5) of instant claims 13, 16, and 19 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, L1 is a single bond, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom. Kawabata et al. also teaches the content of the repeating unit (s) in the resin (A1) (in the case of containing a plurality of types) is preferably 0.1 to 80 mol %, more preferably 0.1 to 50 mol %, and still more preferably 1 to 30 mol % with respect to all the repeating units in the resin (A1) [0262] (claim 9). Kawabata et al. further teaches the resin (A1) contained in the composition (i) is a resin having a repeating unit (s) having a monovalent iodine atom, and is preferably a resin having a repeating unit (s) in the resin (A) described above. In this case, the resin (A1) is the same as the resin (A) described above for points other than the repeating unit (s) [0240] and the resin (A) preferably has, for example, a repeating unit (a) having an acid-decomposable group on both the main chain or the side chain of the resin or both the main chain and the side chain. The repeating unit (a) is more preferably a repeating unit represented by the following general formula (V) [0015] and a specific example of the repeating unit (a) represented by the general formula (V) includes the following:
[0025] wherein Rx and Xa1 represent a hydrogen atom, CH3, CF3, or CH2OH. Rxa and Rxb each independently represent an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, an aryl group having 6 to 18 carbon atoms, or an aralkyl group having 7 to 19 carbon atoms. Z represents a substituent. P represents 0 or a positive integer, preferably 0 to 2, and more preferably 0 or 1 [0024] such that when p is 0, it is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (4) of instant claim 5 when R11 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, R12 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1-4 carbon atoms, and R13 and R14 form an alicyclic hydrocarbon group having 10 carbon atoms. Kawabata et al. also teaches (b) a repeating unit represented by General Formula (1). The resin (A) is preferably a resin having a repeating unit represented by general formula (1) [0132] and specific examples of the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) are shown below, but the present invention is not limited thereto. In the formula, a represents 1 or 2 [0142]:
[0143] which is equivalent to a structural unit having a phenolic hydroxy group of instant claim 6. Kawabata et al. further teaches (c) a repeating unit having a polar group other than the repeating unit represented by General Formula (1).The resin (A) preferably includes a repeating unit (c) having a polar group. By including the repeating unit (c), for example, the sensitivity of the composition containing the resin can be improved [0147] and the "polar group" that may include the repeating unit (c) is preferably at least one selected from the group consisting of (I) a hydroxy group, (II) a cyano group, (III) a lactone group or a sultone group (cyclic sulfonic acid ester), (IV) a carboxylic acid group or a sulfonic acid group, (V) a group corresponding to an amide group, a sulfonamide group, or a derivative thereof, (VI) an ammonium group or a sulfonium group, and a group obtained by combining two or more thereof [0150] (claim 7). Kawabata et al. also teaches (B) a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation. The composition of the present invention preferably contains a compound (hereinafter, also referred to as an "acid generator") that normally generates an acid upon irradiation with active rays or radiation [0276] and (C) a resist solvent (coating solvent) [0324] (claim 1). Kawabata et al. further teaches (3) a basic compound. The actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition of the present invention may further contain a basic compound [0327] and (4) ammonium salt. As the basic compound, an ammonium salt can also be used as appropriate, and a quaternary ammonium salt is preferable. The cation of the ammonium salt is preferably a tetraalkylammonium cation in which an alkyl group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms is substituted, more preferably a tetramethylammonium cation, a tetraethylammonium cation, a tetra (n-propyl) ammonium cation, a tetra (i-propyl) ammonium cation, a tetra (n-butyl) ammonium cation, a tetra (n-heptyl) ammonium cation, a tetra (n-octyl) ammonium cation, a dimethylhexadecylammonium cation, a benzyltrimethyl cation, or the like, and most preferably a tetra (n-butyl) ammonium cation. Examples of the anion of the ammonium salt include a hydroxide, a carboxylate, a halide, a sulfonate, a borate, and a phosphate [0340] which is equivalent to a photodegradable base of instant claim 4. Kawabata et al. also teaches a pattern forming method according to an embodiment of the present invention is a method of forming a pattern according to an embodiment of the present invention, (a) forming a film (resist film) using the composition (i) or the composition (ii) described above; (b) exposing the film; and (c) a step of forming a pattern by removing an exposed portion of the exposed film using an alkali developing solution (developing step) or an organic solvent [0406-0407] wherein examples of the active ray or radiation include infrared light, visible light, ultraviolet light, far ultraviolet light, X-ray, and electron beam [0413] (claims 10 and 11). Kawabata et al. further teaches the present invention will be more specifically described by way of examples, but the present invention is not limited to the following examples [0434] and an object of the present invention is to provide a pattern forming method capable of achieving high sensitivity and high resolution, a method for manufacturing an electronic device using the same, an electronic device, an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition, and a resist film using the same [0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Kawabata et al. to include the above components together in a composition and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum sensitivity and resolution.
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka et al. (U.S. 2013/0130178).
Iizuka et al. teaches an actinic-ray- or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising a resin (B) containing at least either a fluorine atom or a silicon atom, the resin (B) containing any of repeating units of general formulae (I-1) and (I-2) [hereinafter also respectively referred to as repeating unit (R-1) and repeating unit (R-2)] [0018] in which formula (I-1) is the following:
[0047] wherein R1 represents a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group or a halogen atom. X1 represents a bivalent organic group. Ar1 represents a monovalent aromatic ring group. L represents a single bond or a bivalent organic group [0048] in which the bivalent organic group represented by X1 is preferably, for example, an optionally substituted hydrocarbon group or a group containing a heteroatom [0051], the hydrocarbon group may be an aliphatic hydrocarbon group or an aromatic hydrocarbon group. The aliphatic hydrocarbon group may be saturated or unsaturated. In particular, as the aliphatic hydrocarbon group, there can be mentioned a linear or branched-chain aliphatic hydrocarbon group, an aliphatic hydrocarbon group containing a ring in its structure, or the like [0053-0054] the linear-chain aliphatic hydrocarbon group is preferably a linear-chain alkylene group. As such, there can be mentioned, for example, a methylene group [--CH2--] [0056] and the branched-chain aliphatic hydrocarbon group is preferably a branched-chain alkylene group, for example, an alkylalkylene group. As the alkylalkylene group, there can be mentioned, for example, an alkylmethylene group, such as --CH(CH3)-- [0057], the bivalent organic group represented by L is, for example, any of those set forth above in connection with X1 and X2 [0078], the aromatic ring group represented by Ar1 preferably has 6 to 30 carbon atoms. As such an aromatic ring, there can be mentioned, for example, a benzene ring, a pyrrole ring, a furan ring, and a thiophene ring [0070], and A substituent may be introduced in the aromatic ring group represented by Ar1. The substituent is preferably an electron withdrawing group. As the electron withdrawing group, there can be mentioned, for example, a halogen atom [0071] such that when X1 is a methylene group, L is -CH(CH3)-, Ar1 is a halogen-substituted benzene ring, pyrrole ring, furan ring, and/or thiophene ring is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (2) of instant claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 14, 15, and 20 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a fluorine atom, L1 is -COO-L- where L is a unsubstituted alkanediyl group, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom and/or a structural unit represented by formula (3) of instant claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 17, and 18 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a fluorine atom, a fluorine atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, L1 is -COO-L- where L is a unsubstituted alkanediyl group, R2 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, X is -NH-, an oxygen atom, or a sulfur atom, and o is 1-3 where R3 is a halogen atom respectively; and formula (I-1) is the polymerized form of a compound represented by formula (5) of instant claims 13, 16, 19, and 21 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a fluorine atom, L1 is -COO-L- where L is a unsubstituted alkanediyl group, R2 is a monovalent straight saturated hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, m is 0, and p is 1 where R3 is an iodine atom and/or a structural unit represented by formula (6) of instant claim 13 when R1 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a fluorine atom, L1 is -COO-L- where L is a unsubstituted alkanediyl group, R2 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 carbon atom, L2 is a single bond, X is -NH-, an oxygen atom, or a sulfur atom, and o is 1-3 where R3 is a halogen atom respectively. Iizuka et al. also teaches the content of repeating units (R-1) and (R-2) is preferably in the range of 5 to 100 mol %, more preferably 10 to 90 mol % and further more preferably 15 to 80 mol % based on all the repeating units [0092] (claim 9). Iizuka et al. further teaches it is preferred for the resin (B) to be a copolymer comprising any of the repeating units (R-1) and (R-2) and one or more other repeating units. Enhanced immersion-liquid tracking properties can be attained by using this copolymer as compared with those realized by using homopolymers each comprising any of the repeating units constituting the copolymer alone [0125], it is especially preferred for the repeating unit to be combined with the repeating units (R-1) and (R-2) to be a repeating unit (S) containing at least one group selected from the group consisting of the following groups (x) to (z) [0126] in which (x) an alkali-soluble group, (y) a group that is decomposed by the action of an alkali developer to thereby increase its solubility in the alkali developer (polarity conversion group), and (z) a group that is decomposed by the action of an acid to thereby increase its solubility in an alkali developer [0128-0130]. Iizuka et al. also teaches specific examples of the repeating units having an alkali-soluble group (x) include the following [0136]:
[0136] which is equivalent to a structural unit having a phenolic hydroxy group of instant claim 6; as the polarity conversion group (y), there can be mentioned, for example, a lactone group, a carboxylic ester group (--COO--), an acid anhydride group (--C(O)OC(O)--), an acid imido group (--NHCONH--), a carboxylic thioester group (--COS--), a carbonic ester group (--OC(O)O--), a sulfuric ester group (--OSO2O--), a sulfonic ester group (--SO2O--) or the like. A lactone group is particularly preferred [0138] (claim 7); and preferred examples of the repeating unit containing an acid-decomposable group will be shown below, which however in no way limit the scope of the present invention. In the specific examples, Rx and Xa1 each represents a hydrogen atom, CH3, CF3, or CH2OH. Each of Rxa and Rxb represents an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms. Z or each of Zs independently represents a substituent containing a polar group. P represents 0 or positive integer [0343-0344]:
[0344] such that when p is 0, it is equivalent to a structural unit represented by formula (4) of instant claim 5 when R11 is a hydrogen atom, a methyl group, or a trifluoromethyl group, R12 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1-4 carbon atoms, and R13 and R14 form an alicyclic hydrocarbon group having 10 carbon atoms. Iizuka et al. further teaches the composition of the present invention contains a compound that when exposed to actinic rays or radiation, generates an acid (hereinafter referred to as an "acid generator") [0456] and may further contain a solvent [0637] (claim 1). Iizuka et al. also teaches the composition according to the present invention may further contain a carboxylic acid onium salt. Preferred carboxylic acid onium salt is a sulfonium salt and an iodonium salt. A preferred anion moiety thereof is a linear, branched, monocyclic or polycyclic alkylcarboxylate anion having 1 to 30 carbon atoms. A more preferred anion moiety is an anion of carboxylic acid wherein the alkyl group is partially or wholly fluorinated. The alkyl chain may contain an oxygen atom. If so, the transparency to light of wavelength 220 nm or shorter can be ensured, the sensitivity and resolving power can be enhanced, and the iso/dense bias and exposure margin can also be enhanced [0664] which is equivalent to a photodegradable base of instant claim 4. Iizuka et al. further teaches the actinic-ray- or radiation-sensitive resin composition is applied onto a substrate, such as one for use in the production of precision integrated circuit elements (e.g., silicon/silicon dioxide coating), by appropriate application means, such as a spinner or coater, and dried to thereby form a film. The obtained film is exposed through a given mask to actinic rays or radiation, preferably baked (heated), developed and rinsed. Thus, a desirable pattern can be obtained. As the actinic rays or radiation, infrared rays, visible light, ultraviolet rays, far ultraviolet rays, extreme ultraviolet rays (EUV), X-rays, and electron beams can be exemplified [0681-0683] (claims 10 and 11). Iizuka et al. also teaches embodiments of the present invention will be described in greater detail below by way of Examples thereof. The scope of the present invention is in no way limited to these Examples [0700] and an object of the present invention to provide an actinic-ray- or radiation-sensitive resin composition that simultaneously achieves excellent developability and excellent immersion-liquid tracking properties. It is another object of the present invention to provide a method of forming a pattern in which the above composition is used [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Iizuka et al. to include the above defined components and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable variables for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum developability and immersion-liquid tracking properties.
Response to Arguments
Due to the amendment filed February 17, 2026 of instant claims 1, 12, and 13, the 102(a)(1) rejections over Olson, Feyverneki, Masuyama, and Nihashi and 103 rejections over Masuyama and Nihashi have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with regard to these rejections have been considered but are moot due to the amendment of instant claims 1, 12, and 13.
Due to the amendment of instant claim 11, the objection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 2012/0003590, U.S. 2008/0050675, U.S. 2007/0218406, U.S. 2004/0242724, U.S. 2018/0362752, and U.S. 2022/0119336.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737