DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 12/5/2025, has been entered.
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US Pub. No. 2011/0084379 A1).
As to claim 1, Sato discloses an electronic packaging structure (fig 6, structure 2), comprising:
one or more chips (30, 20), a substrate (10), and a heat sink cover (50);
wherein the one or more chips (30, 20) are mounted on the substrate (10), wherein the one or more chips comprise at least one high-power-density chip (20; [0038]);
wherein the heat sink cover (50) includes a side supporting part (51) and a top cover (50), wherein a bottom of the side supporting part (51) is bonded to the substrate (10) and the side supporting part (51) surrounds the one or more chips (30, 20);
wherein the top cover (50) is disposed above the one or more chips (20, 30) and supported by the side supporting part (51);
wherein a first window (see annotated figs below; opening in 50c-f overlapping 20) is formed in the top cover (50) of the heat sink cover (50/51), the first window exposes an entire upper surface of the high-power-density chip (top surface of 20 is exposed through the opening in 50 which is the window formed in cover 50 and the top surface of chip 20 is exposed to heat transfer through window material 40, thus allowing for the top surface of chip 20 to be exposed to a transfer of thermal energy); and
wherein a second window (see annotated figures below) is formed to replace a piece of the side supporting part (the replacing step is a product by process limitation that does not affect the structure of the device, as the second window is located at the side supporting part), wherein the second window is arranged to be next to the high-power-density chip (20) to expose side surfaces of the high-power-density chip so as to further cool down the high-power-density chip (exposed sides of 20 from the sides of 50), and wherein the second window is not parallel to the top cover of the heat sink cover (second window adjacent to sidewalls of chip 20 are not parallel to the top cover of the heat sink cover 50).
The embodiment of figure 6 of Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cover comprises slits, wherein the slits have positions aligned to gaps between the one or more chips.
Nonetheless, the embodiment of figure 4 of Sato discloses wherein a top cover (50c-f) comprises slits (slits located between each quadrant of 50c-f), wherein the slits have positions aligned to gaps between the one or more chips (30, 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the slits of embodiment shown in figure 4 in the structure of the embodiment shown in figure 6 since this will more effectively prevent heat transfer between chips.
As to claim 3, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein an area of the first window is greater than or equal to an area of the upper surface of the high-power-density chip (opening in 50c-f is shown with greater area than chip 20).
As to claim 5, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a total area of the slits is less than or equal to a total area of the gaps between the one or more chips (fig 4, area of slits are less than gaps between chips (30, 20).
As to claim 7, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a first thermal interface material layer (fig 6, 52), wherein the top cover (50) is adhered to upper surfaces of the one or more chips (30) through the first thermal interface material layer (52).
As to claim 9, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the side supporting part (51) is bonded to the substrate (10) by a sealant (54).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Hung et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0066612 A1), hereafter referred to as Hung.
As to claim 6, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Sato does not disclose wherein each of the slits comprises sub-slits, and wherein each of the sub-slits is arranged in an array.
Nonetheless, Hung discloses a similar electronic package structure including either a continuous slit (fig 2, continuous slit 40H separating chips) or wherein the slit structure comprises sub-slits (fig 4, sub-slits 40H), and wherein each of the sub-slits is arranged in an array (fig 4, 40H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the continuous slit structure of Sato into a plurality of sub-slits arranged in an array as taught by Hung since Hung teaches that this alternative embodiment would provide improved heat dissipation.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Patel et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0012878 A1), hereafter referred to as Patel.
As to claim 8, Sato discloses the electronic packaging structure according to claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Sato does not disclose a second thermal interface material layer.
Nonetheless, Patel discloses a second thermal interface material layer (219), wherein the top cover (211) is adhered to an external heat sink (217) through the second thermal interface material layer (219).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to form the second thermal interface material layer and external heat sink to the top cover of Sato as taught by Patel since this will more effectively disperse heat from the chips.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Sato does not disclose different openings and thus does not disclose the claimed windows.
Examiner disagrees because windows may be opened or closed. Furthermore, windows may be made of different materials. Applicant has not argued that the material 40 cannot be considered to be a window material. Examiner maintains that the window opening in structure 50 that incudes window material 40 is properly considered to be a first window, especially, because the window material 40 exposes the entire top surface of chip 20 to thermal cooling.
Applicant has made arguments that Sato does not disclose the claimed windows, however, the Applicant has not made it clear what materials qualify as window material and what materials do not qualify as window materials. Examiner maintains that structure 40 in the opening of structure 50 includes window material 40 surrounded by a frame area of the window.
Applicant argued that Sato does not disclose the claimed second window because the only window openings between structure 50 are between chips and do not expose the side surface of the chips.
Examiner disagrees because the structure shown in cross sectional view of Sato’s figure 6 shows that there is no structural material 50 located on the sidewalls of chip 20, as such, the appears to be no structural difference between the window structure of Sato and the second window structure 6 as claimed and shown in figure 6 of the Application.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0301971A1; US 2013/0043581A1; US 2020/0350229A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 5/27/2026