DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the co-pending application and prior art of Jung HK fails to teach a plurality of first orifices, a plurality of second orifices, and a controller configured to performed the steps recited in claims 1, 11, and 20. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach “any geometry in which two different sets of orifices are arranged in an alternating pattern or in which orifices of one set are at least partially surrounded by orifices of another set. Jung does not teach or suggest a spatial configuration that produces such an interleaving relationship between distinct orifice groups. Moreover, Jung fails to teach the injection of different gases from separate, distinct groups of orifices” see Remarks page 8 second full paragraph . Note the claims do not specially recite two “different” sets of orifices nor do the claims specifically recite that the first and orifices are not the same in terms of size or are not located along the same plane (such that one is up while the other is down). It is noted that Figs. 6 and 8 of the present invention illustrate that the orifices “differ in size”. The claims were interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation where there are a plurality of orifices where all are located at different radial positions, see in Fig. 4 of Jung K H (KR 2009-117470) where the first orifices [401, 403, 404, 406] and second orifices [402. 405] are illustrated. In terms of Fig. 1B of Shono et al (US 2020/0240014) a plurality of orifices 151 are illustrated and delineated by the examiner below where the order is first orifice-second orifice-first orifice..
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending Application No.18/442679 henceforth referred to as the co-pending application in view of Jung K H (KR 2009-117470 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1: The co-pending application in claims 12-14 recite a process chamber, a hydroxide radical (see claims 13, 14), and a controller that is configured to introduce an oxidation radical (inject a first gas), heat the chamber (see baking step in claim 12), and introduce a second gas (bake gas).
The co-pending application fails to recite a substrate support and a plurality of first orifices and a plurality of second orifices.
The prior art of Jung KH teaches a high density plasma CVD apparatus with a substrate support 200 see Figs. 1 and 3 and the plurality of first and second orifices (see side nozzles 401-406 and 441-443 located on a first gas injection ring 420) see Figs. 2 and 4-7 located in a process chamber 100. The motivation to provide a substrate support and a plurality of first and second orifices is that is improves uniformity of the process by enhancing gas distribution and the support of the wafer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a substrate support and orifices as suggested by the prior art of the KR patent held to Jung KH in the claims of the co-pending application.
Fig. 1 of Jung K H (KR 2009-117470)
Fig. 4 of Jung K H (KR 2009-117470)
Or another interpretation
Regarding claims 4-10 and 12-14 and the first/second/third location of the orifices. Recall the co-pending application fails to recite a substrate support and a plurality of first orifices and a plurality of second orifices.
See the prior art of KR patent held to Jung KH wherein the location of the orifices is illustrated at central opening of the chamber, an edge of the substrate support, and half a radius of the processing chamber see Figs. of KR patent held to Jung KH. The location of the orifices are oriented is a matter of design choice as their location affects the gas flow path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus derived from the co-pending application with the teachings of the prior art of KR patent held to Jung KH would have designed the orifices to be oriented as claimed in order to optimize the gas flow distribution path and enhance the uniformity of overall distribution of process gases.
Regarding claims 2 and 3: The co-pending application fails to claim the actual number of orifices. The patent held to Jung KH illustrates in the Figures that the number of orifices fall within the claimed ranges. Note further that the number of orifices is a matter of design choice that could be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention. The number of orifices is also a matter of optimization without a showing of criticality that would have been determined by one of ordinary skill in the art without undue routine experimentation. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus resulting from the claims of the co-pending application to enhance process gas distribution and uniformity of processing of the wafer as suggested by KR patent held to Jung KH.
Regarding claim 11: See claim 1 of the co-pending application wherein the step of introducing a first gas via plurality of first and second orifices and producing an oxidation radical is recited. See also claims 9-11 and 19 of the co-pending application and the cycling of method steps which insinuates repetition and adjustable time periods of process steps. The method of the co-pending application fails to recite performing a second oxidation process. See also the prior art of KR patent held to Jung KH where in the number of times the oxidation process takes place is adjustable and a matter of optimization as the prior art of Jung KH teaches the gas is introduced at various times throughout the process and oxidation occurs with introduction of the gas. See Fig. 2 of Jung KH illustrates the plurality of the first orifices and a plurality of second orifices where the plurality of second orifices are oriented in an alternating pattern such that second orifice of the plurality of second orifices is at least partially surrounded by the at least a first orifice of the plurality of first orifices to promote mixing of the first gas and the second gas: and producing a radical as a function of the first gas and the second gas while heating the chamber. Recall the co-pending application in claims 12-14 a hydroxide radical (see claims 13, 14).
Regarding claim 15: See claims 2 and 8 of the claims of the co-pending application.
Regarding claim 16-18: See claim 16 of the co-pending application and the range of pressure in Torr.
Regarding claim 19: See claims 2, 3, 17, and 18 of the co-pending application and the range of temperatures of the oxidation process.
Regarding claim 20: See claim 20 of the co-pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shono et al (US 2020/0240014) in view of Mukai et al (US 2003/0017267).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Shono eta l teaches a process chamber 100 for hydroxyl driven combustion (see [0003], [0024], [0031], [0032], [0038] the mention of oxygen and hydrogen based gas and hydrogen and oxygen radicals) , comprising: a substrate support 138; a plurality of alternating orifices (injecting holes 151) see Fig. 1A and 1B below, wherein the plurality of alternating orifices includes: a plurality of first orifices positioned along a first side of the chamber and oriented towards a first location of the chamber; and a plurality of second orifices positioned along the first side of the chamber and oriented towards the first location of the chamber, wherein the plurality of first orifices and the plurality of second orifices are oriented in an alternating pattern such that each second orifice of the plurality of second orifices is at least partially surrounded by at least a first orifice of the plurality of first orifices; and a controller 107 configured to: heat (via lamp source 108) the processing chamber; inject a first gas 153 from the plurality of first orifices; inject a second gas 154 from the plurality of second orifices; and produce a radical as a function of the heat, the first gas, and the second gas.
The prior art of Shono et al briefly teaches controller 107 and mentions in [0019] that the controller controls the heating source 108.
The prior art of Shono et al fails to teach that the controller controls the injection of process gas.
The prior art of Mukai et al teaches a system controller 20 that controls all activities of the substrate processing system see [0022] and [0023]. According to [0023] of Mukai et al the controller controls the heat via the lamp power levels, injection of the process gases including the timing. The motivation to substitute the controller of Shono et al with the controller of Mukai et al is that it extends the capacity of the controller to automatically and autonomously control the entire process/method steps with little human operator intervention which increases throughput and improves efficiency and quality of the process result. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus Shono et al with the controller of Mukai et al.
Regarding claim 2. The chamber of claim 1, wherein the plurality of alternating orifices comprise a range of about 1 to about 15 orifices per side of the chamber. See Fig. 1B of Shono et al which illustrates the orifices.
Regarding claim 3. The chamber of claim 2, wherein the plurality of alternating orifices is about 3 to about 8 orifices per side of the chamber. See Fig. 1B of Shono et al which illustrates the orifices
Regarding claim 4. The chamber of claim 1, wherein the first location comprises a central opening of the chamber. See Fig. 1B of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 5. The chamber of claim 1, wherein the first location comprises an edge of the substrate support. See Fig. 1B of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 6. The chamber of claim 1, wherein the first location comprises half a radius of the processing chamber. See Fig. 1B of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 7. The chamber of claim 1, further comprising: the plurality of first orifices positioned along a first side of the chamber and oriented towards a second location of the chamber; and the plurality of second orifices positioned along the first side of the chamber and oriented towards the second location of the chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A of Shono et al and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al
Regarding claim 8. The chamber of claim 7, wherein the second location is selected from: a central opening of the chamber, an edge of the substrate support, or half a radius of the processing chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 9. The chamber of claim 1, further comprising: the plurality of first orifices positioned along a first side of the chamber and oriented towards a third location of the chamber; and the plurality of second orifices positioned along the first side of the chamber and oriented towards the third location of the chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al
Regarding claim 10. The chamber of claim 9, wherein the third location is selected from: a central opening of the chamber, an edge of the substrate support, or half a radius of the processing chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A of and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 11. Shono et al teaches a method of hydroxyl driven combustion, comprising; introducing a first gas 153, via a controller 107, using at least a first orifice positioned along a first side of the chamber and oriented towards a first location of the chamber into a processing chamber having a substrate support; introducing a second gas 154, via the controller, into the processing chamber 100 using a plurality of second orifices positioned along a second side of the chamber and oriented towards the first location, wherein the plurality of first orifices and the plurality of second orifices are oriented in an alternating pattern such that each second orifice of the plurality of second orifices is at least partially surrounded by the at least a first orifice of the plurality of first orifices to promote mixing of the first gas and the second gas: and producing a radical as a function of the first gas and the second gas while heating the chamber (see [0003] of Shono et al and the mention of oxygen and hydrogen based gas and hydrogen and oxygen radicals). See Fig. 1B of Shono et al above.
The prior art of Shono et al briefly teaches controller 107 and mentions in [0019] that the controller controls the heating source 108 but not specifically the control of the injection or flow of gas.
The prior art of Mukai et al teaches a system controller 20 that controls all activities of the substrate processing system see [0022] and [0023]. According to [0023] of Mukai et al the controller controls the heat via the lamp power levels, injection of the process gases including the timing. The motivation to substitute the controller of Shono et al with the controller of Mukai et al is that it extends the capacity of the controller to automatically and autonomously control the entire process/method steps with little human operator intervention which increases throughput and improves efficiency and quality of the process result. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the controller of Shono et al with the controller of Mukai et al.
Regarding claim 12. The method of claim 11, wherein the first location comprises a central opening of the chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A of and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 13. The method of claim 11, wherein the first location comprises an edge of the substrate support. . See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A of and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 14. The method of claim 11, wherein the first location comprises half a radius of the processing chamber. See Figs. 1A, 1B, and 3A of and [0032] and [0036] -[0039] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 15. The method of claim 11, wherein the first gas and the second gas are each independently injected at a volumetric flow of about 5 slm to about 40 slm. See [0024] which teaches of the volumetric flow of Shono et al .
Regarding claim 16. The method of claim 11, wherein the first gas and the second gas are each independently injected at a velocity of 1 m/s to about 20 m/s at a pressure of greater than about 50 Torr. See [0025], [0027], and [0031] of which teach the velocity and pressure ranges of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 17. The method of claim 16, wherein the first gas is injected at a velocity of 10 m/s at a pressure of greater than about 50 Torr. See [0025], [0027], and [0031] which teach the velocity and pressure range of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 18. The method of claim 16, wherein the second gas is injected at a velocity of 10 m/s at a pressure of greater than about 50 Torr. See [0025], [0027], and [0031] which teach the velocity and pressure ranges of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 19. The method of claim 11, further comprising heating the processing chamber to a temperature of about 700 °C to about 1,000 C. See [0025] of Shono et al.
Regarding claim 20: The prior art of Shono et al fails to teach a computer readable medium. See the rejections of claims 1 and 11 above regarding the processing steps and structure used to perform them. The prior art of Mukai et al teaches a computer readable medium such as memory 22. See there is a plurality of first orifices positioned along a first side of the chamber and oriented towards a first location of the chamber into a processing chamber having a substrate support; introduce a second gas, via the controller, into the processing chamber using a plurality of second orifices positioned along a second side of the chamber and oriented towards the first location, wherein the plurality of first orifices and the plurality of second orifices are oriented in an alternating pattern such that each second orifice of the plurality of second orifices is surrounded by the at least a first orifice of the plurality of first orifices to promote mixing of the first gas and the second gas: and produce a radical as a function of the first gas and the second gas while heating the chamber. See Fig. 2 of Mukai et al above. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the controller of Shono et al to use a computer readable medium as suggested by Mukai et al is that medium provides repeatable well-articulated steps that can be automated and performed efficiency by the system controller of Shono et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lubomirsky et al (US 2007/0281106) teaches short nozzles 404 and long nozzles 402 which can be interpreted as orifice nozzles see Figs. 4A and 4B.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716