The response of the application has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection which they are directed to.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Maruyama et al. 20200399128.
Maruyama et al. 20200399128 in example 1 describes SWCNT which are vertically aligned on a substrate using alcohol catalyzed CVD, followed by coating with BNNT [0231-0244]. In example 2, a layer of randomly oriented CNTs are then coated with BNNT (BN is a two dimensional material). Images are shown in figure 4 [0244-0252]. In example 3, an oriented layer of SWCNTs are coated with BNNT [0253-0258] (see figure 5). In example 5, the thermal stability of the film formed in example 3 is heated and found to be stable up to about 700 degrees C. These were heated to almost 800 degrees C (in air) SWCNTs without the coated are shown to burn/decompose at about 450 degrees C in air (see figure 7). Example 7 is similar to example 3, but forms MoS2 nanotubes over the aligned CNTs. Example 8 is similar to example 2, but forms a BNNT over randomly oriented CNTs and then a MoS2 (which is a two dimensional material) layer/coating.
A structure comprising a 1st single-walled carbon nanotube is coated with a 2nd layer at least one selected from a first boron nitride, a first transition metal dichalcogenide, a second carbon, a first black phosphorus, and a first silicon. a 3rd layer, preferably a tubular 3rd layer, more preferably a tubular 3rd layer that is substantially coaxial with the 1st single-walled carbon nanotube, layered on the 2nd layer or the 2′nd layer, wherein the 3rd layer may be made of at least one selected from the group B consisting of a second boron nitride, a second transition metal dichalcogenide, a third carbon, a second black phosphorus, and a second silicon, where the transition metal dichalcogenide is The transition metal dichalcogenide is a compound represented by “MCh2” where M represents a transition metal such as Mo, W, Ti, Zr, Hf, Nb, and Ta, and Ch represents a chalcogen element, S, Se, and Te, and examples thereof include MoS.sub.2, WSe.sub.2 [0027,0031-0032,0117]
The testing by heating (in air) in example 5 evidences the decomposition evidences the decomposition of the aligned CNTs at temperatures above 700 degrees C which is held to result in a layer BN nanotubes without carbon nanotubes.
In the response of 02/24/2026, the applicant argues that Maruyama et al. 20200399128 does not teach the formation of two dimensional layers over the (outer) nanotube layer. The applicant cites Maruyama et al. 20200399128 (example 1, ) where the CNTs are vertically aligned. The examiner agrees that the example 1 does not meet the claims that require the interconnection between adjacent BN tubes.. Claims 1-10 do not require this. The examiner holds the position that example 1 which forms the BNNT and pyrolyzes the CNTs for 30 minutes forms a multilayered BNNT.
Claims 1-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Wang et al. CN 109706550.
Wang et al. CN 109706550 (machine translation attached) in example 1 describes the dispersing CNTs in a solution of deionized water, melamine and boric acid, putting these in a microwave synthesis and heating to 100 degrees C. These are washed repeatedly and then put in an oven in a nitrogen atmosphere and heated at 400 degrees C and then heated at 800 degrees C the presence of air for 1 hour to yield hexagonal boron nitride fibers [0016]. Examples 2-6 are similar, but use different heating temperatures and times. Example 6 heats the nanotubes at 900 degrees C for 5 hours [0017-0021].
The heating described in the examples is considered sufficient to remove the carbon nanotubes.
In the response of 2/24/2026, the applicant argues that Wang et al. CN 109706550 does not teach the formation of two dimensional layers over the (outer) nanotube layer The position of the examiner is that the treatment forms a multilayer two dimensional boron nitride coating over the randomly oriented CNTs which surrounds where CNTs touch in the randomly oriented CNT structure when these are heated in the oven.
Claims 1-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Bi et al. CN 101259960.
Bi et al. CN 101259960 (machine translation attached) teaches in embodiment 2, the coating of carbon nanotube/nanowires with boron nitride (see figure 3), followed by the heating of the BN/CNT to 800 degrees C in the presence of air to remove the carbon (oxidation treatment) to yield the hollow/interconnected BN tubes shown in figure 4 (see page 5).
The heating described in the example is considered sufficient to remove the carbon nanotubes.
In the response of 2/24/2026, the applicant argues that Wang et al. CN 109706550 does not teach the formation of two dimensional layers over the (outer) nanotube layer The position of the examiner is that the treatment forms a multilayer two dimensional boron nitride coating over the randomly oriented CNTs which surrounds where CNTs touch in the randomly oriented CNT structure illustrated in figures 3 and 4 of Bi et al. CN 101259960.
Claims 1-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al. 20200399128.
Maruyama et al. 20200399128 does not exemplify the testing of the embodiments where the coating is a transition metal dichalcogenide and the CNT is removed by heating or the case where random CNTs are used as the template and then removed by heating.
With respect to claims 1-10, it would have been would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 5 by using the heating to test the thermal stability of embodiments where the BN coating is replaced with a transition metal dichalcogenide is a compound represented by “MCh2” where M represents a transition metal such as Mo, W, Ti, Zr, Hf, Nb, and Ta, and Ch represents a chalcogen element, S, Se, and Te, and examples thereof include MoS.sub.2 and WSe.sub.2. with a reasonable expectation of determining the thermal stability of resulting nanotubes.
With respect to claims 1-10, it would have been would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 7 heating to remove the CNT templates as in example 5 with a reasonable expectation of determining the thermal stability of resulting MoS2 nanotubes.
With respect to claims 1-14 and 17, it would have been would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 2 by using the heating of example 5 to test the thermal stability of embodiments where randomly oriented CNTs are used as the template with a reasonable expectation of determining the thermal stability of resulting nanotubes.
With respect to claims 1-14 and 17-18, it would have been would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of examples 2 or 7 by using the heating of example 5 to test the thermal stability of embodiments where randomly oriented CNTs are used as the template and the coating is replaced with a transition metal dichalcogenide is a compound represented by “MCh2” where M represents a transition metal such as Mo, W, Ti, Zr, Hf, Nb, and Ta, and Ch represents a chalcogen element, S, Se, and Te, and examples thereof include MoS.sub.2 and WSe.sub.2. with a reasonable expectation of determining the thermal stability of resulting nanotubes.
With respect to claims 1-14 and 17-18, it would have been would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of example 7 by using the heating of example 5 to test the thermal stability of embodiments where randomly oriented CNTs are used as the template with a reasonable expectation of determining the thermal stability of resulting nanotubes.
The argued position does not apply to example 2, where random CNTs are used as the template for the BNNT, which takes place for 3 hours. The diameters of the BNNT is 4-7 nm (~1.5 nm thick) and a BNNT overcoat which is 7-15 nm (4 nm thick) . The random orientation, which is evidenced in the figures, clearly will include places where the CNT template nanotubes as in contact and the boron nitride forms around this intersection to form the bridged structure required by claims 11-14 and 17 (which are not rejected under this heading as the heating to remove the CNT template is not exemplified.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chatterjee et al. 20200272047, in view of Maruyama et al. 20200399128 and Jung et al. 20170038676.
Chatterjee et al. 20200272047 teaches pellicle formed of planar sheets of CNTs with h-BN coated upon them (see figure 4B) [0044]. FIG. 3C illustrates the planar sheet of CNTs coated with boron nitride (BN) 312 and BN nanotubes (BNNTs) 314 forming a CNT-BN-BNNT nanocomposite pellicle 300. The coating of BN on the BN coated CNTs 312 may occur simultaneously as the BNNTs 314 grow. The BN coating on the BN coated CNTs 312 may have a thickness of about 2-5 nm. The CNT-BN-BNNT nanocomposite pellicle 300 may have a total thickness of about 30 nm or less and a length and width of about 30 nm. Each BN coated CNT 312 may be spaced from adjacent BN coated CNTs 312 or adjacent BNNTs 314. As such, the pellicle 300 may have spaces or gaps therethrough [0038] CNTs are etched by hydrogen radicals [0004]. BN is unreactive with hydrogen radicals. The BN coated CNTs 312 and the BNNTs 314 are transparent in UV light, and may have an EUV transmission of about 90% or greater. The pellicle 300 has increased thermomechanical strength [0040].
Jung et al. 20170038676 teaches the formation of pellicles of nanowires of silicon (Si), carbon (C), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), ruthenium (Ru), indium phosphide (InP), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4), silicon dioxide (SiO2), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium barium copper oxide (YBCO), and silicon carbide (SiC), and a combination thereof [0016]. The pellicle membrane may further include a capping layer, the capping layer covering at least one surface of the porous thin film. In some example embodiments, the capping layer may cover the first surface of the porous film and a second surface of the porous film, and the first surface of the porous film and the second surface on opposing sides of the porous film. In some example embodiments, the capping layer may include a first material, and the porous film includes a second material, wherein the first material is different from the second material. The capping layer may include a first material selected from the group consisting of silicon carbide (SiC), silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4), silicon oxynitride (SiON), yttrium oxide (Y2O3), yttrium nitride (YN), barium carbide (BaC.sub.2), barium nitride (Ba(NO.sub.3).sub.2), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), and rhodium (Rh), and a combination thereof [0020].
The use of a sacrificial template is taught with respect to figures 12A-E, where a substrate (502) is coated with a sacrificial guide pattern (584/586) . This template is coated with nanowires ((NW) in a solvent) and heated to remove the solvent. The sacrificial layer is removed and the porous film may be attached to a pellicle frame [0157-0167]. FIGS. 3G to 3H, a plurality of nanowires included in the porous thin film 120 of FIG. 1 may have a structure that is equal to and/or similar to at least one selected from the group consisting of, including but not limited to, a nanowire including a nanowire NWG having a crossed structure, and a nanowire NWH having a branched structure, for example, a tetrapod structure. However, example embodiments of inventive concepts are not limited to the examples shown in FIGS. 3A to 3H, and the porous thin film 120 may include nanowires having various shapes [0079].
Chatterjee et al. 20200272047 does not exemplify embodiments where the carbon nanotubes have been removed.
It would have been obvious to modify the formation of the pellicle taught by Chatterjee et al. 20200272047 by using the heating in air taught by Maruyama et al. 20200399128 to remove the carbon nanotubes which are taught by Chatterjee et al. 20200272047 at [0004,0040] as sensitive to degradation by hydrogen radicals, while BN coated CNTs and BNNTs are not with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle membrane which is EUV transparent mounted on a frame, noting that the use of sacrificial templates is known in the pellicle art as evidenced by the teachings of Jung et al. 20170038676 with respect to figures 12A-E.
In the response of 2/24/2026, the applicant argues that Chatterjee et al. uses the BN coating to protect the CNTs. While Chatterjee et al. does not explicitly describe the two dimensional nature of boron nitride, Maruyama et al. 20200399128 and Chatterjee et al. describes the CNT-BN-BNNT where the BNNT is clearly a two dimensional material and Jung et al. 20170038676 and Chatterjee et al. 20200272047 clearly establish the use of BNNT in pellicles and removing the sacrificial template CNTs will increase the transmissivity of the pellicle, because there is less material in the pellicle film. The rejection stands
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/766358 (20250328070). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 recites: A method of manufacturing a pellicle, comprising: forming a membrane comprising a plurality of carbon nanotubes over a filter; attaching the membrane to a frame; forming an inorganic nanotube surrounding each of the carbon nanotubes, wherein the inorganic nanotubes are made of a different material than the carbon nanotubes; and at least partially removing the carbon nanotubes.
Claim 3 recites: The method according to claim 1, wherein the different material includes one or more of boron nitride, hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN), SiC, MoS.sub.2, MoSe.sub.2, WS.sub.2, WSe.sub.2, SnS.sub.2, SnS, ZrO.sub.2, ZrO, and TiO.sub.2.
Claim 4 recites: The method according to claim 1, wherein the carbon nanotubes are at least partially removed by oxidizing the carbon nanotubes.
Claim 5 recites: The method according to claim 4, wherein oxidizing the carbon nanotubes includes heating the carbon nanotubes at a temperature ranging from 500° C. to 700° C.
Claim 6 recites : The method according to claim 4, wherein the carbon nanotubes are completely removed.
Claim 8 recites: A pellicle, comprising: a membrane including a plurality of inorganic nanotube bundles, wherein each of the plurality of inorganic nanotube bundles includes a plurality of first inorganic nanotubes surrounded by a second inorganic nanotube, wherein the first and second inorganic nanotubes independently include one or more of boron nitride, hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN), SiC, MoS.sub.2, MoSe.sub.2, WS.sub.2, WSe.sub.2, SnS.sub.2, SnS, ZrO.sub.2, ZrO, and TiO.sub.2; and a frame disposed over the membrane.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process recited in claim 1 by completely removing the carbon nanotubes as in claim 6 and using two dimensional materials boron nitride, MoS.sub.2, MoSe.sub.2, WS.sub.2, WSe.sub.2, SnS.sub.2, SnSe.sub.2 as in claims 3 and 8 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle. Further, it would have been obvious to use the heating in the presence of oxygen recited in claims 4 and 5 to facilitate that removal with a reasonable expectation of success. Other claims including claim 8 combined with the process claims render the articles claims 19 and 20 of the instant application obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The examiner disagrees, pointing out that in each applicant, CNTs are used as a template for growth of 2D materials such as BN, MoS2, MoSe2, and the like and then the CNTs are removed. This rejection, made to prevent dual ownership in the future, may be withdrawn. The applicant has not pointed out specific differences in the claims of the two applications.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. CN 103803513 (machine translation attached), teaches a MWCNT which is coated with boron nitride to form a BNNT and then the composite is heated at 620 degrees C for 40 hours to remove the carbon nanotube leaving h-BN [0035-0041]. Embodiments 2-4 are similar, [0042-0076]
Hou et al. CN 103193485 (machine translation attached) teaches a carbon fiber which is used as a template for forming BNNT , where the carbon fiber is removed by heating at 550 degrees C for 2 hours and then a flow of nitrogen to yield hexagonal BN [0015-0017]. Examples 2-3 are similar.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 10, 2026