Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “first metal connection pillars” in line 22. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 6 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “first metal connection pillars” is found to be a typographical error and is believed to be equivalent to “the first metal connection pillars” based on antecedence for this term in line 12; however, no actual change to the claim language has been applied during examination of the instant set of claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “third rewiring layer” in line 46. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 6 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “third rewiring layer” is found to be a typographical error and is believed to be equivalent to “the third rewiring layer” based on antecedence for this term in line 40; however, no actual change to the claim language has been applied during examination of the instant set of claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 (and dependent claims 7-10 dependent therefrom) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, “the exposed second end of the second metal connection pillars” in line 48 is unclear whether it is referring to the same portion of the pillars recited in line or some other portion. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 6 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “the exposed second end of the second metal connection pillars” in line 48 is equivalent to “the exposed top surfaces of the second metal connection pillars”; based on antecedence for this term in line 36; however, no actual change has been made to the claim language in the instant Office action This interpretation is to be confirmed by applicant in next office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference (or combination of references), but are disclosed or rendered obvious by secondary references or remarks.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20210098380 A1) in view of Fang (US 20170186737 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a package-on-package (POP) structure (Fig. 22), comprising:
a first package unit (350), wherein the first package unit comprises a three-dimensional fan-out memory device ([0077]: “stacked memory dies” are included within 350); and
a system-in-package (SiP) package unit, wherein the SIP package unit (200) comprises a two-dimensional fan-out peripheral circuit ([0047]: “integrated fan-out (InFO) packages”);
wherein the three-dimensional fan-out memory device comprises:
at least two memory chips (310A, 310B) laminated stacked in a stepped configuration having one step surface for each of the at least two memory chips (See annotated figure below, at least one step is shown, thus encompassing “one step surface”), wherein each of the at least two memory chips is provided with one bonding pad (See annotated figure below, where bonding wires interface with the chips) arranged on said one step surface of the stepped configuration;
first metal connection pillars, wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is formed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad in one-to-one correspondence;
a first encapsulating layer (314), which encapsulates the at least two memory chips (fully encapsulates) and the first metal connection pillars, wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer (314-S1);
a first rewiring layer (302) having a first surface (302-S1) and a second surface (302-S2), wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (directly on), wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the top surfaces of first metal connection pillars (electrical connection is shown with bonding wires 312 instead of pillars, See additional remarks below); and
first metal bumps (252), formed on the first surface of the first rewiring layer;
wherein the two-dimensional fan-out peripheral circuit comprises:
a second rewiring layer (222) having a first surface (222-S1) and a second surface (222-S2);
at least one peripheral circuit chip (50/100), arranged in two dimensions (into/out of the page dimension and lateral dimension) and electrically connected with the first surface of the second rewiring layer (connected at least by 46/130);
second metal connection pillars (216), disposed outside of the at least one peripheral circuit chip (pillars 216 are not within chips 50/100), wherein each of the second metal connection pillars has a first end (216-E1) electrically connected with the first surface of the second rewiring layer (directly connected);
a second encapsulating layer (220), encapsulating the at least one peripheral circuit chip and the second metal connection pillars (fully encapsulating), wherein a second end of the second metal connection pillars (216-TS) are exposed from a top surface of the second encapsulating layer (“exposed” at 220-TS; exposure is shown occurring at the method step of Chen: Fig. 12 which is consistent with “exposed” in Applicant’s disclosure: [0039]: “grinding”); and
second metal bumps (250), formed on the second surface of the second rewiring layer (directly on); and
a third rewiring layer (206) having a first surface (206-S1) and a second surface (206-S2);
wherein the first package unit and the SiP package unit are bonded together by the third rewiring layer (units 350 and 200 are “bonded together” by the third rewiring layer 206 because 206 includes bonding/attaching sites for bumps 252. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: 3rd layer 203 and bumps 108) to form the POP structure, wherein the first surface of the third rewiring laver connects to the first metal bumps (surface 206-S1 directly “connects to” bumps 252. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: first surface of 3rd layer 203 and bumps 108), and the second surface of the third rewiring layer is electrically connected to the exposed second end of the second metal connection pillars (surface 206-S2 directly “connects to” ends of pillars 216-E2. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: second surface of 3rd layer 203 and pillars 206), and as well as bonds to the at least one peripheral circuit chip (“bonds to” chips 50/100 by adhesive 218. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: second surface of 3rd layer 203 and chips 202 by adhesive 208).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 22 of Chen.
Chen fails to teach “first metal connection pillars” because Chen teaches an alternative exemplary embodiment using bonding wires (Fig. 22: bonding wires 312 on 310B/310A). Thus, Chen fails to teach the claimed configuration:
“first metal connection pillars, wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is formed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad in one-to-one correspondence;
a first encapsulating layer, which encapsulates the at least two memory chips and the first metal connection pillars, wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer;
a first rewiring layer having a first surface and a second surface, wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer, wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the top surfaces of first metal connection pillars; and “
Fang discloses:
first metal connection pillars (Fig. 1: 122/129), wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is formed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad (113) in one-to-one correspondence;
a first encapsulating layer (130), which encapsulates the at least two memory chips (fully encapsulates memory chips 111; [0016]: “memory”) and the first metal connection pillars (fully encapsulates), wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars (Top Surfaces, See annotated figure) are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer (exposed at 130-S1; exposure occurring at the method step of Fig. 2E which is consistent with “grinding” in [0036] of Applicant’s disclosure);
a first rewiring layer (140) having a first surface (140-S1) and a second surface (140-S2), wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (directly on), wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the top surfaces of first metal connection pillars (directly connected);
Modifying the structural configuration of the first package unit (of Chen) by incorporating the first metal connection pillars (of Fang) in the same way would arrive at the claimed first metal connection pillar configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because: 1) in each situation chips (Chen: chips 310B/310A, bonded by wires, to rewiring layer 302; Fang: Fig. 1: chips 111, bonded by pillars 122/129, to rewiring layer 140) are electrically connected to a rewiring layer; and 2) Chen teaches the electrical connections may be varied beyond the exemplary bonding wires (Chen: [0082]: “wire bonds… although other connections may be used”). Fang provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the first metal connection pillars in that it would reduce manufacturing defects induced by the first encapsulating layer (Abstract: “the package has better resistance against mold flow impact to effectively reduce the risk of wire sweeping”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first metal connection pillar configuration because it would reduce manufacturing defects. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 1 of Fang.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Fang discloses the POP structure according to claim 1, wherein a material of the first metal connection pillars comprises at least one of gold, silver, aluminum, and copper (Fang: [0017]; “metals with high conductivity such as copper or gold”); and wherein a material of the second metal connection pillars comprises at least one of gold, silver, aluminum, and copper (Chen: [0055]: “a metal, like copper, titanium, tungsten, aluminum, or the like”).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Fang discloses the POP structure according to claim 1, wherein a material of the bonding pad comprises metallic aluminum, a material of the first encapsulating layer comprises one of polyimide, silicone, and epoxy resin (Chen: [0082]: “epoxy”; similarly Fang: [0018]: “epoxy”), and a material of the second encapsulating layer comprises one of polyimide, silicone, and epoxy resin (Chen: [0059]: “epoxy”).
Chen in view of Fang teaches the bonding pad but Chen fails to teach materials specifically for this pad. Thus the combination of references as applied fails to teach “a material of the bonding pad comprises metallic aluminum”. However, Chen teaches a finite selection of materials useful for other bonding pads, and this finite selection “comprises metallic aluminum” (Chen: [0018]: “aluminum pads”). Modifying the material of the bonding pad by choosing metallic aluminum from the finite selection of materials known useful for pads would arrive at the claimed bonding pad configuration.
Since the other bonding pads of Chen are performing the same function as the bonding pads, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have readily recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for pad material selection. These predictable solutions include “metallic aluminum” as this may be chosen from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (Chen: [0018]). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try using a different material for the bonding pad. Thus, the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technique grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). MPEP 2143 (1)(E).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Fang discloses the POP structure according to claim 1, wherein each of the first rewiring layer, the second rewiring layer, and the third rewiring layer comprises a dielectric layer (Fang: Fig. 1: 142; Chen: Fig. 22: 224; Chen: Fig. 22: 208; respectively) and a metal wiring layer (Fang: Fig. 1: 141; Chen: Fig. 22: 226; Chen: Fig. 22: 210; respectively); wherein a material of the dielectric layer comprises one or a combination of two or more of epoxy resin, silicone, polyimide (PI), polybenzoxazole (PBO), benzocyclobutene (BCB), silicon oxide, phosphorosilicate glass, and fluorine-containing glass (Fang: [0019]: “polyimide”; Chen: [0062]: “polyimide”; Chen: [0051]: “polyimide”), and a material of the metal wiring layer comprises one or a combination of two or more of copper, aluminum, nickel, gold, silver, and titanium (Fang: [0019]: “titanium/copper/copper/nickel/gold”; Chen: [0063]: “a metal, like copper, titanium, tungsten, aluminum, or the like”; Chen: [0052]: “a metal, like copper, titanium, tungsten, aluminum, or the like”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Fang discloses the POP structure according to claim 1, wherein one of the first metal bumps or one of the second metal bumps comprises a connecting structure, which includes a solder ball, or a metal pillar, or a solder ball formed on the metal pillar (Chen: [0075]: “a similar material as the conductive connectors 250”; [0070]: “metal pillars…metal cap layer” being “a solder ball formed on the metal pillar”), wherein the solder ball comprises one of a gold-tin solder ball, a silver-tin solder ball, and a copper-tin solder ball (Chen: [0070]: “tin…gold, silver…the like, or a combination thereof”).
Regarding independent claim 6, Chen discloses a method of packaging a package-on-package (POP) structure (Fig. 22), comprising:
forming a first package unit (350) comprising a three-dimensional fan-out memory device ([0077]: “stacked memory dies” are included within 350); and forming a system-in-package (SiP) package unit (200) comprising a two-dimensional fan-out peripheral circuit ([0047]: “integrated fan-out (InFO) packages”);
wherein forming the first package unit of the three-dimensional fan-out memory device comprises:
providing at least two memory chips (310A, 310B) laminated in a stepped configuration having one step surface for each of the at least two memory chips (at least one step is shown, thus encompassing “one step surface”), wherein each of the at least two memory chips is provided with one of bonding pads (See annotated figure below, where bonding wires interface with the chips) arranged on one of step surfaces of the stepped configuration;
forming first metal connection pillars, wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is disposed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad in one-to-one correspondence;
forming a first encapsulating layer (314), wherein the first encapsulating layer encapsulates the at least two memory chips (fully encapsulates) and the first metal connection pillars, wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer (314-S1);
forming a first rewiring layer (302) having a first surface (302-S1) and a second surface (302-S2), wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (directly on), and wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the first metal connection pillars (electrical connection is shown with bonding wires 312 instead of pillars, See additional remarks below); and
forming first metal bumps (252) on the first surface of the first rewiring layer;
wherein forming the SiP package unit of the two-dimensional fan-out peripheral circuit comprises:
forming a second rewiring layer (222) having a first surface (222-S1) and a second surface (222-S2);
providing at least one peripheral circuit chip (50/100), wherein the at least one peripheral circuit chip is arranged in two dimensions (into/out of the page dimension and lateral dimension) and electrically connected with the first surface of the second rewiring layer (connected at least by 46/130);
forming second metal connection pillars (216), wherein the second metal connection pillars are disposed outside of the at least one peripheral circuit chip (pillars 216 are not within chips 50/100), wherein each of the second metal connection pillars has a first end (216-E1) electrically connected with the first surface of the second rewiring layer (directly connected);
forming a second encapsulating layer (220), wherein the second encapsulating layer encapsulates the at least one peripheral circuit chip and the second metal connection pillars (fully encapsulating), wherein top surfaces of the second metal connection pillars (216-TS) are exposed from the second encapsulating layer (“exposed” at 220-TS; exposure is shown occurring at the method step of Chen: Fig. 12 which is consistent with “exposed” in Applicant’s disclosure: [0039]: “grinding”);
forming second metal bumps (250), wherein the second metal bumps are disposed on the second surface of the second rewiring layer (directly on);
forming a third rewiring layer (206) having a first surface (206-S1) and a second surface (206-S2); and
attaching the first package unit and the SiP package unit to form the POP structure by bonding the first surface of third rewiring layer to the first metal bumps of the first package (units 350 and 200 are attached and bonded by the third rewiring layer 206 and bumps 252. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: 3rd layer 203 and bumps 108), electrically connecting the second surface of the third rewiring layer to the exposed second end of the second metal connection pillars (surface 206-S2 directly connects to ends of pillars 216-E2. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: second surface of 3rd layer 203 and pillars 206), as well as bonding the second surface to the at least one peripheral circuit chip (“bonding” chips 50/100 by adhesive 218. This is consistent with at least Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4: second surface of 3rd layer 203 and chips 202 by adhesive 208).
Chen fails to teach the method including “first metal connection pillars” because Chen teaches an alternative exemplary embodiment using bonding wires (Fig. 22: bonding wires 312 on 310B/310A). Thus, Chen fails to teach the claimed method configuration:
“forming first metal connection pillars, wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is disposed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad in one-to-one correspondence;
forming a first encapsulating layer, wherein the first encapsulating layer encapsulates the at least two memory chips and the first metal connection pillars, wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer;
forming a first rewiring layer having a first surface and a second surface, wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer, and wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the first metal connection pillars; and “
Fang discloses a method including:
forming first metal connection pillars (Fig. 1: 122/129), wherein each of the first metal connection pillars is disposed on and electrically connected to said bonding pad (113) in one-to-one correspondence;
forming a first encapsulating layer (130), wherein the first encapsulating layer encapsulates the at least two memory chips (fully encapsulates memory chips 111; [0016]: “memory”) and the first metal connection pillars (fully encapsulates), wherein top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars (Top Surfaces, See annotated figure) are exposed from a first surface of the first encapsulating layer (exposed at 130-S1; exposure occurring at the method step of Fig. 2E which is consistent with “grinding” in [0036] of Applicant’s disclosure);
forming a first rewiring layer (140) having a first surface (140-S1) and a second surface (140-S2), wherein the second surface of the first rewiring layer is formed on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (directly on), and wherein the first rewiring layer is electrically connected to the first metal connection pillars (directly connected);
Modifying the structural configuration of the first package unit (in the method of Chen) by incorporating the first metal connection pillars (of the method of Fang) in the same way would arrive at the claimed first metal connection pillar configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have had a reasonable expectation of success doing so because: 1) in each situation chips (Chen: chips 310B/310A, bonded by wires, to rewiring layer 302; Fang: Fig. 1: chips 111, bonded by pillars 122/129, to rewiring layer 140) are electrically connected to a rewiring layer; and 2) Chen teaches the electrical connections may be varied beyond the exemplary bonding wires (Chen: [0082]: “wire bonds… although other connections may be used”). Fang provides a teaching to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the first metal connection pillars in that it would reduce manufacturing defects induced by the first encapsulating layer (Abstract: “the package has better resistance against mold flow impact to effectively reduce the risk of wire sweeping”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the claimed first metal connection pillar configuration because it would reduce manufacturing defects. MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Fang discloses the method of packaging the POP structure according to claim 6, wherein forming the first package unit of the three-dimensional fan-out memory device comprises:
providing at least two memory chips (Chen: [0077]: “one or more stacked dies” fully encompassing the claimed range) each having one of the bonding pads (Fang: Fig. 1: 113), and laminating the at least two memory chips in the stepped configuration (Fang: [0016]: “stair-like stacking”);
forming the first metal connection pillars on the bonding pads, respectively (Fang: Fig. 2B);
encapsulating the at least two memory chips and the first metal connection pillars by the first encapsulating layer (Fang: Fig. 2D), exposing top surfaces of the first metal connection pillars from the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (Fang: exposure occurring at the method step of Fig. 2E which is consistent with “grinding” in [0036] of Applicant’s disclosure);
forming the first rewiring layer on the first surface of the first encapsulating layer (Fang: Fig. 2G), wherein the first metal connection pillars are electrically connected to the first rewiring layer (Fang: directly connected); and
forming the first metal bumps on the first surface of the first rewiring layer (Fang: [0029]: “After the disposition of the redistribution wiring mechanism 140, a plurality of external terminals 160 are bonded onto the redistribution layer 140”).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Fang discloses the method of packaging the POP structure according to claim 7, wherein the laminating of the at least two memory chips is realized by a surface mount process (surfaces of each 111 are directly mutually mounted, thus a surface mounting process consistent with Fig. 1 of Applicant’s disclosure).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Fang discloses the method of packaging the POP structure according to claim 6, wherein forming the SiP package unit of the two-dimensional fan-out peripheral circuit comprises:
forming the second rewiring layer having the first surface and the second surface (Chen: Fig. 13);
electrically connecting the at least one peripheral circuit chip to the first surface of the second rewiring layer (at least by 46/130);
electrically connecting the second metal connection pillars to the first surface of the second rewiring layer (directly connecting), wherein the second metal connection pillars are formed outside of the at least one peripheral circuit chip (Chen: Fig. 10: 216 is not within 50/100);
encapsulating the at least one peripheral circuit chip and the second metal connection pillars using the second encapsulating layer (Chen: Fig. 11);
forming the third rewiring layer on the at least one peripheral circuit chip and the second metal connection pillars (Chen: Fig. 20: at least some method steps are required to complete 206 after providing 50/100 and 216, as shown by positioning of 252 and the openings formed therefore, thus “forming”), wherein the third rewiring layer is bonded to the at least one peripheral circuit chip (at least by 218), and the second metal connection pillars are electrically connected with the second surface of the third rewiring layer (directly connected); and
forming the second metal bumps on the second surface of the second rewiring layer (Fang: [0029]: “After the disposition of the redistribution wiring mechanism 140, a plurality of external terminals 160 are bonded onto the redistribution layer 140”).
Regarding claim 10: Chen in view of Fang discloses the method of packaging the POP structure according to claim 6, further comprising polishing the top surfaces of the first encapsulating layer and the second encapsulating layer after forming the first encapsulating layer and the second encapsulating layer (Fang: Fig. 2E: [0028]: “a grinding process”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 and 6 that “Chen did not discloses any metal pillars in encapsulating layer and did not discloses a rewiring layer either, instead Chen used wire bonging technique to connect chips to a substrate.”. Remarks at pg. 13.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner has not relied upon Chen to teach the contended “metal pillars” and has relied upon Fang to teach this feature. The examiner has pointed to evidence in Chen and Fang rendering this difference a matter of obviousness.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 and 6 that “Chen did not disclose using the third rewiring layer to bond between first package unit 350 and the second unit 200 to form POP structure. Instead he used metal bumps 252 to connect a substrate 302 from the memory chip unit 350 to the peripheral chips 50/100.”. Remarks at pg. 13.
Examiner’s reply:
The examiner disagrees and finds the contended configuration consistent of Chen mapped to substantially similar features of Applicant’s disclosure: Fig. 4, and these features are configured/arranged in substantially the same way. For example, amended claim 1 requires:
Claim 1 Limitation
Applicant’s Disclosure
Chen reference
Third rewiring layer
Fig. 4: layer 203
Fig. 22: layer 206, See annotated figure.
First metal bumps
Fig. 4: bumps 108
Fig. 22: bumps 252
Second metal connection pillars
Fig. 4: pillars 206
Fig. 22: pillars 216
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained in substantially the same way as before, with adjusted citations and remarks as necessitated by claim amendment, and to promote clarity of the record. MPEP 2111: Claim Interpretation; Broadest Reasonable Interpretation.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claims 1 and 6 that “Fang does not disclose ot teach…third rewiring layer…second metal connection pillars…as recited in claim 1”. Remarks at pg. 14.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Fang has not been relied upon to teach the third rewiring layer or the second metal connection pillars. These features were already known in the Chen reference. Fang is relied upon to teach “first metal connection pillars” and this feature/teaching is separate from the contended layer and pillars.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817