DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ranjan et al., US 2020/0058469.
Regarding independent claim 1, Ranjan et al. shows the invention as claimed including a method for processing a substrate comprising: providing a plasma processing apparatus including a plasma processing chamber 210, a substrate support disposed in the plasma processing chamber, a lower electrode 19/819 disposed in the substrate support, and an antenna 915 disposed above the chamber; supplying a pulsed source RF signal 11 (from a RF generator source 1/881) to the antenna, the pulsed source RF signal including a plurality of source cycles, each source cycle having a source operating state during a source operating period and a source non-operating state during a source non-operating period after the source operating period; and
supplying a pulsed bias RF signal 412 (from a bias RF generator source 2/882) to the lower electrode, the pulsed bias RF signal including a plurality of bias cycles having a same pulse frequency as that of the plurality of source cycles, each bias cycle having a bias operating state during a bias operating period and a bias non-operating state during a bias non-operating period after the bias operating period; wherein a transition timing to the bias operating state in each bias cycle is delayed with respect to a transition timing to the source operating state in a corresponding source cycle; the source non-operating period overlaps with the bias non-operating period; and the bias operating period in each bias cycle overlaps with source operating period in a next source cycle; (see, for example, 409 in the timing diagram 400 in Fig. 4). For a complete description of the apparatus, see, for example, Figs. 1-2, 4, 8-9, and 11, and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0034 and 0067, and Figs. 4 and 9, modified Fig. 4 and Fig. 9 are shown below).
With respect to independent claim 15, it should be noted that the claim includes the same limitations as independent claim 1, except that the pulsed source RF signal is supplied to an upper electrode instead of an antenna. It should be noted that Ranjan et al. further discloses that the teachings of the reference can be implemented by various apparatuses, such as those depicted in Figs. 8-11, which include capacitive, inductive and microwave plasma apparatuses, with Fig. 8 being directed to a capacitive apparatus in which the pulsed source RF signal 11 would be supplied to an upper electrode 815 (see, for example, paragraph 0079 and Fig. 8 and its description, Fig 8 is shown below).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Tokashiki et al., US 2010/0130018.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tokashiki et al. shows the invention as claimed including a method for processing a substrate comprising: providing a plasma processing apparatus including a plasma processing chamber, a substrate support 20 disposed in the plasma processing chamber, a lower electrode disposed in the substrate support, and an antenna 10 disposed above the chamber; supplying a pulsed source RF signal (Source RF signal in Fig. 5) from a RF generator source 38 to the antenna, the pulsed source RF signal including a plurality of source cycles, each source cycle having a source operating state during a source operating period and a source non-operating state during a source non-operating period after the source operating period (see, for example, the First Modified Fig. 5 below); and supplying a pulsed bias RF signal (Bias RF signal of mode 10 in Fig. 5) from a bias RF generator source 48 to the lower electrode, the pulsed bias RF signal including a plurality of bias cycles having a same pulse frequency as that of the plurality of source cycles, each bias cycle having a bias operating state during a bias operating period and a bias non-operating state during a bias non-operating period after the bias operating period (see, for example, the First Modified Fig. 5 below); wherein a transition timing to the bias operating state in each bias cycle is delayed with respect to a transition timing to the source operating state in a corresponding source cycle (see, for example, Fig. 5); the source non-operating period overlaps with the bias non-operating period (see, for example, the Second Modified Fig. 5 below); and the bias operating period in each bias cycle overlaps with source operating period in a next source cycle (see, for example, the Second Modified Fig. 5 below). For a complete description of the apparatus, see, for example, Figs. 1 and 5, and their descriptions. A First Modified Fig. 5 and a Second Modified Fig. 5 are shown below for a better understanding of the teachings of the Tokashiki et al. reference).
FIRST MODIFIED FIG. 5 SECOND MODIFIED FIG. 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranjan et al., US 2020/0058469.
Regarding the limitations recited on claims 2-14 and 16-20, Ranjan et al. clearly discloses that power is a plasma process parameter that impacts plasma properties (see, for example, paragraph 0029). Rajan et al. further discloses that a controller 250 is used to set, monitor and/or control plasma process parameters, such as power level for both the source power and the bias power, to control the plasma generated and the delivering of ions to the surface of the substrate (see, for example, paragraph 0063). Rajan et al. further discloses that plasma processing parameters, such as the source power and the bias power, are chosen and vary depending on the specific process characteristic such as gas used (see, for example, paragraphs 0076-0078). Therefore, in view of these teachings, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the source power and the bias power during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired plasma characteristics, and such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 2-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokashiki et al., US 2010/0130018 in view of Ranjan et al., US 2020/0058469.
With respect to independent claim 15, it should be noted that the claim includes the same limitations as independent claim 1, except that the pulsed source RF signal is supplied to an upper electrode instead of an antenna. It should be noted that Tokashiki et al. further discloses that the teachings of the reference can be implemented by various apparatuses, such as capacitive coupling and inductive coupling apparatuses, wherein in the capacitive coupling plasma apparatus the RF power is generated between two parallel plates (see, for example, paragraph 0006 and 0081). Ranjan et al. discloses a method for processing a substrate, wherein the method processing teachings of the reference can be implemented by various apparatuses, such as those depicted in Figs. 8-11, which include capacitive, inductive and microwave plasma apparatuses, with Fig. 8 being directed to a capacitive apparatus in which the pulsed source RF signal 11 would be supplied to an upper electrode 815 (see, for example, paragraph 0079 and Fig. 8 and its description, Fig 8 is shown below). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the invention, to supply the pulsed sourced RF signal to an upper electrode in a capacitive coupling apparatus because such configuration in known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently generate capacitive coupling plasma.
Regarding the limitations recited on claims 2-14 and 16-20, Tokashiki et al. discloses that plurality of pulse modulated RF powers can be supplied in order to provide various operation modes (see, for example, paragraph 0083. Additionally, it is known in the art, as clearly disclosed by Ranjan et al., that power is a plasma process parameter that impacts plasma properties (see, for example, paragraph 0029). Rajan et al. further discloses that the controller 250 is used to set, monitor and/or control plasma process parameters, such as power level for both the source power and the bias power, to control the plasma generated and the delivering of ions to the surface of the substrate (see, for example, paragraph 0063). Rajan et al. further discloses that plasma processing parameters, such as the source power and the bias power, are chosen and vary depending on the specific process characteristic such as gas used (see, for example, paragraphs 0076-0078). Therefore, in view of these teachings, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the source power and the bias power during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired plasma characteristics, and such limitations would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Otsubo et al. (US 4,808,258) is cited because of its teachings of performing a plasma processing method using a source RF generator and a bias RF generator configured to generate a pulse source RF signal and a pulse bias RF signal, respectively.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
April 4, 2026