DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (US 20210091161 A1), hereinafter Baek, in view of Kim et. al. (US 20210132424 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Baek teaches a display apparatus (Fig 1 display device 1, [0054]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 2 substrate 110, [0059]) including a display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]) and a peripheral area (Fig 1 non display area NDA, [0054]) outside (Fig 1, [0037]) the display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]); a display element (Fig 1 pixel PX, [055]) arranged in the display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]); a transistor (Fig 5 transistor TRR, [0115]) including a semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]) and a gate electrode (Fig 5 gate electrode GEL, [0121]); and a connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) electrically connected ([0140]) to the transistor (Fig 5 transistor TRR, [0115]) and having a multi- layered structure (Fig 5), wherein the connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) includes: a main metal layer (Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) including a first metal element (Cu, [0131]); and a protective layer (Fig 5 capping layers 142 and 143, [0133]) disposed on the main metal layer (Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) and a second metal element (Ti, [0133]) different from the first metal element (Cu, [0131]).
Baek fails to teach a protective layer including the first metal element and a second metal element different from the first metal element.
However, Kim teaches a protective layer (Fig 2 upper layer UL, [0065] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 capping layers 142 and 143, [0133]) including the first metal element (Cu, [0066] corresponds to Baek: titanium alloy with Cu, [0065]) and a second metal element (Ti, [0066]) different from the first metal element (Cu, [0066] corresponds to Baek: intermediate layer ML Cu, [0065]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek to incorporate the teachings of Kim by having the protective layer be a titanium alloy. This would reduce the reflectance of light incident on the protective layer ([0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0131]) includes at least one of copper (Cu) (Baek: Cu, [0131]), aluminum (AI), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag), gold (Au), and nickel (Ni).
Regarding claim 3, Baek as modified in claim 2 teaches the second metal element (Baek: Ti, [0133]) includes at least one of titanium (Ti) (Baek: Ti, [0133]), molybdenum (Mo), and tungsten (W).
Regarding claim 4, Baek as modified in claim 3 teaches the protective layer (Baek: Fig 5 capping layer 142, [0133]) includes an alloy of copper (Cu) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]) and titanium (Ti) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
Regarding claim 6, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches an auxiliary layer (Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) disposed under (Baek: Fig 5) the main metal layer (Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]).
Regarding claim 7, Baek as modified in claim 6 teaches the auxiliary layer (Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) includes the second metal element (Baek: titanium, [0130]).
Regarding claim 9, Baek as modified in claim 7 fails to teach the auxiliary layer further includes the first metal element.
However, Kim teaches the auxiliary layer (Fig 2 lower layer LL, [0065] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) further includes the first metal element (lower layer LL may include a titanium alloy, [0065]; the titanium alloy may include titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek to incorporate the teachings of Kim by having the auxiliary layer also having the first metal layer. This would be a different type of adhesion layer ([0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]) is disposed on the substrate (Fig 5 substrate 110, [0059]), the gate electrode (Fig 5 gate electrode GEL, [0121]) is disposed on a gate insulating layer (Fig 5 gate insulating film 162, [0116]; figure does not point directly to transistor gate insulating layer) disposed on the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]), and the connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) is electrically connected (Fig 5) to the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]).
Regarding claim 11, Baek teaches a display apparatus (Fig 1 display device 1, [0054]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 2 substrate 110, [0059]) including a display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]) and a peripheral area (Fig 1 non display area NDA, [0054]) outside (Fig 1, [0037]) the display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]); a display element (Fig 1 pixel PX, [055]) arranged in the display area (Fig 1 display area DPA, [0054]); a transistor (Fig 5 transistor TRR, [0115]) including a semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]) and a gate electrode (Fig 5 gate electrode GEL, [0121]); and a connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) electrically connected ([0140]) to the transistor (Fig 5 transistor TRR, [0115]) and having a multi- layered structure (Fig 5), wherein the connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) includes: a main metal layer (Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) including a first metal element (Cu, [0131]); and a first protective layer (Fig 5 capping layer 143, [0133]) disposed over the main metal layer (Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) and including the first metal element (Cu, [0134]); and a second protective layer (Fig 5 capping layer 142, [0133]) disposed between the main metal layer (Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) and the first protective layer (Fig 5 capping layer 143, [0133]) and including a second metal element (Ti, [0133]).
Baek fails to teach a first protective layer a second metal element different from the first metal element.
However, Kim teaches a protective layer (Fig 2 upper layer UL, [0065] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 capping layer 143, [0133]) including a second metal element (Ti, [0066]) different from the first metal element (Cu, [0066] corresponds to Baek: intermediate layer ML Cu, [0065]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek to incorporate the teachings of Kim by having the protective layer be a titanium alloy. This would reduce the reflectance of light incident on the protective layer ([0068]).
Regarding claim 12, Baek as modified in claim 11 teaches the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0131]) includes at least one of copper (Cu) (Baek: Cu, [0131]), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag), gold (Au), and nickel (Ni).
Regarding claim 13, Baek as modified in claim 12 teaches the second metal element (Baek: Ti, [0133]) includes at least one of titanium (Ti) (Baek: Ti, [0133]), molybdenum (Mo), and tungsten (W).
Regarding claim 14, Baek as modified in claim 13 teaches the first protective layer (Baek: Fig 5 capping layer 142, [0133]) includes an alloy of copper (Cu) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]) and titanium (Ti) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Baek as modified in claim 11 teaches an (Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) disposed under (Baek: Fig 5) the main metal layer (Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]).
Regarding claim 17, Baek as modified in claim 16 teaches the auxiliary layer (Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) includes the second metal element (Baek: titanium, [0130]).
Regarding claim 19, Baek as modified in claim 17 fails to teach the auxiliary layer further includes the first metal element.
However, Kim teaches the auxiliary layer (Fig 2 lower layer LL, [0065] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) further includes the first metal element (lower layer LL may include a titanium alloy, [0065]; the titanium alloy may include titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek to incorporate the teachings of Kim by having the auxiliary layer also having the first metal layer. This would be a different type of adhesion layer ([0068]).
Regarding claim 20, Baek as modified in claim 11 teaches the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]) is disposed on the substrate (Fig 5 substrate 110, [0059]), the gate electrode (Fig 5 gate electrode GEL, [0121]) is disposed on a gate insulating layer (Fig 5 gate insulating film 162, [0116]; figure does not point directly to transistor gate insulating layer) disposed on the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]), and the connection electrode (Fig 5 second region 140A, [0140]) is electrically connected (Fig 5) to the semiconductor layer (Fig 5 semiconductor layer 150, [0116]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (US 20210091161 A1), hereinafter Baek, in view of Kim et. al. (US 20210132424 A1), hereinafter Kim, in further view of Baek et. al. (US 20200395428 A1), hereinafter Baek2.
Regarding claim 5, Baek as modified in claim 1 fails to teach an oxide metal layer disposed on the protective layer and including a metal oxide including the first metal element and the second metal element.
Baek2 teaches an oxide layer may be formed when the upper portion a multilayer pad is exposed to atmosphere during production. The metal oxide includes the same metal element as that of the upper portion of the pad structure. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the modified protective layer of Baek and Kim would form an oxide when exposed to atmosphere during production. The metal oxide layer would have a metal oxide of the first and second metal element. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 15, Baek as modified in claim 11 fails to teach an oxide metal layer disposed on the first protective layer and including a metal oxide including the first metal element and the second metal element.
Baek2 teaches an oxide layer may be formed when the upper portion a multilayer pad is exposed to atmosphere during production. The metal oxide includes the same metal element as that of the upper portion of the pad structure. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the modified protective layer of Baek and Kim would form an oxide when exposed to atmosphere during production. The metal oxide layer would have a metal oxide of the first and second metal element. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (US 20210091161 A1), hereinafter Baek, in view of Kim et. al. (US 20210132424 A1), hereinafter Kim, in further view of Chung (US 20170352689 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Baek as modified in claim 7 fails to teach the auxiliary layer includes an auxiliary layer tip further protruding in a lateral direction than the main metal layer at a border between the auxiliary layer and the main metal layer.
However, Chung teaches an auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) includes an auxiliary layer tip (Fig 1 distance Y, [0031]) further protruding in a lateral direction (Fig 1 distance Y, [0031]) than the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) at a border between the auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) and the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Chung by having tips on the auxiliary layer. This would aid in reducing the diffusion of metal atoms in the main metal layer into the layers underneath the auxiliary layer ([0040]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 18, Baek as modified in claim 17 fails to teach the auxiliary layer includes an auxiliary layer tip further protruding in a lateral direction than the main metal layer at a border between the auxiliary layer and the main metal layer.
However, Chung teaches an auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) includes an auxiliary layer tip (Fig 1 distance Y, [0031]) further protruding in a lateral direction (Fig 1 distance Y, [0031]) than the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]) at a border between the auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 base layer 141b, [0130]) and the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Fig 5 main metal layer 141a, [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Chung by having tips on the auxiliary layer. This would aid in reducing the diffusion of metal atoms in the main metal layer into the layers underneath the auxiliary layer ([0040]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section starting on page 7, filed January 30, 2026, with
respect to the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As submitted by Applicant, Baek teaches material selection to prevent or reduce the formation of tips during processing. However, Kim acknowledges tips forming during etching and teaches a method to reduce or remove the tips that form during processing ([0101]-[0109]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use the method of Kim in to overcome the tip formation, as both methods happen during the etch step of the electrode formation and are known by those in the art. This would allow the usage of a titanium-zinc-copper alloy with the advantage of reducing the reflectance of incident light, as taught by Kim, in the structure of Baek.
Applicant has not provided arguments regarding independent claim 11. However, arguments for additional dependent claims 15 and 18, starting on page 8, filed January 30, 2026, refer to the Baek-Kim combination for claim 1. Thus, for reasons similar to claim 1, the rejection for claim 11 stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813