DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 29, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (US 20200395428 A1), in view of Baek et. al. (US 20210091161 A1), hereinafter Baek2, in further view of Kim et. al. (US 20210132424 A1), hereinafter Kim, with supporting evidence from Hsieh (US 20240237367 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baek teaches a display apparatus (Fig 1 unlabeled display device, [0059]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 7G substrate 100, [0059]) including a display area (Fig 7G display area, DA, [0059]) and a peripheral area (Fig 7G peripheral area, PA, [0059]) outside the display area (Fig 7G display area, DA, [0059]); a display element (Fig 7G light emitting diode OLED, [0060]) arranged in the display area (Fig 7G display area, DA, [0059]); a transistor (Fig 7G transistor comprising semiconductor layer 221, [0101]; gate electrode 222, [0102]; and gate insulating layer 223, [0103]) including a semiconductor layer (Fig 7G semiconductor layer 221, [0101]) and a gate electrode (Fig 7G gate electrode 222, [0102]); and a connection electrode (Fig 7G drain electrode 430, [0116]) electrically connected ([0116]) to the transistor (Fig 7G transistor comprising semiconductor layer 221, [0101]; gate electrode 222, [0102]; and gate insulating layer 223, [0103]) and having a multi-layered structure (Figs 4A and 7G), wherein the connection electrode (Fig 7G drain electrode 430, [0116]) includes: a main metal layer (Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]) including a first metal element (Cu, [0068]); and a first protective layer (Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) disposed over the main metal layer (Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]), wherein a thickness of the first protective layer (Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) is less than 100Å (10Å - 100Å, [0076]); and a second protective layer (Figs 4A and 7G protective layer 402, [0072]) disposed between the main metal layer (Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]) and the first protective layer (Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]).
Baek fails to teach a first protective layer including the first metal element and a second metal element different from the first metal elements; and a second protective layer including the second metal element and does not include the first metal element.
However, Baek teaches the first protective layer (Baek: Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) may include at least one of Cu (Baek: [0074]) or may include Ti (Baek: 0075). Hsieh teaches it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the source/drain metal layer could be made of single layers, multilayer or alloys of metals (Hsieh:[0062]) that were taught by Baek. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted an alloy in the protective layer of Baek, as the metal layers are used in the source/drain metal layer. This would result in a first protective layer including the first metal element and a second metal element different from the first metal elements.
However, Baek teaches the first protective layer (Baek: Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) may include at least one of Cu (Baek: [0074]) or may include Ti (Baek: 0075). Kim teaches an upper layer that may include titanium or a titanium alloy ([0065]). The titanium alloy may include a titanium-zinc-copper alloy ([0066]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the first protective layer of Baek with the titanium-zinc-copper alloy of Kim, since Baek and Kim teach the same materials used and the use of alloys was known in the art. This would aid in reducing manufacturing costs. MPEP 2143 (I)(G)
In doing so, a first protective layer (Baek: Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) including the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0074]; Kim: Cu from Alloy, [0066]) and a second metal element (Baek: Ti [0075] ; Kim: Ti from Alloy, [0066]) different from the first metal elements (Baek: Cu, [0074]; Kim: Cu from Alloy, [0066]).
However, Baek teaches the second protective layer includes a conductive material to protect the metal layer 403 ([0072]). Examples of the conductive material being different transparent conductive oxides such as IZO ([0072]). Baek2 teaches a capping layer to protect a main metal layer 141a ([0132]). Examples of the layer being Ti, ZIO or IZO ([0133]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the transparent conductive oxide of Baek with the Ti of Baek2, since Baek and Baek2 teach using transparent conductive oxides to protect an underlying main metal layer. The difference being Baek2 also teaches using Ti. MPEP 2144.06 (II)
In modifying Baek with Baek2, a second protective layer includes the second metal element (Baek2: Ti, [0133]; Baek: Ti [0075]) and does not include the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0068]) includes at least one of copper (Cu) (Baek: Cu, [0068]), aluminum (Al), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag), gold (Au), and nickel (Ni).
Regarding claim 3, Baek as modified in claim 2 teaches the second metal element (Baek: Ti [0075]) includes at least one of titanium (Ti) (Baek: Ti [0075]), molybdenum (Mo), and tungsten (W).
Regarding claim 4, Baek as modified in claim 3 teaches the first protective layer (Baek: Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) includes an alloy of copper (Cu) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]) and titanium (Ti) (Kim: titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches an oxide metal layer (Baek: Fig 4A oxide metal layer 401a, [0083]) disposed on the first protective layer (Baek: Fig 4A/B sub-layer 401b, [0085]) and including a metal oxide (Baek: the metal oxide includes the same metal as the underlying metal, [0085]) including the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0074]) and the second metal element (Baek: Ti [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches an auxiliary layer (Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 404, [0070]) disposed under (Baek: Fig 7G) the main metal layer (Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Baek as modified in claim 6 teaches the auxiliary layer (Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 404, [0070]) includes the second metal element (Baek: Ti, [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Baek as modified in claim 7 teaches the auxiliary layer further includes the first metal element (Baek: Cu, [0070]).
However, Kim teaches the auxiliary layer(Fig 2 lower layer LL, [0065] corresponds to Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 404, [0070]) further includes the first metal element (lower layer LL may include a titanium alloy, [0065]; the titanium alloy may include titanium-zinc-copper alloy, [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek and Baek2 to incorporate the teachings of Kim by having the auxiliary layer also having the first metal layer. This would aid in improving the adhesion ([0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Baek as modified in claim 1 teaches the semiconductor layer (Baek: Fig 7G semiconductor layer 221, [0101]) is disposed on the substrate (Baek: Fig 7G substrate 100, [0059]), the gate electrode (Fig 7G gate electrode 222, [0102]) is disposed on a gate insulating layer (Fig 7G gate insulating layer 223, [0103]) disposed on the semiconductor layer (Baek: Fig 7G semiconductor layer 221, [0101]), and the connection electrode (Fig 7G drain electrode 430, [0116]) is electrically connected to ([0116]) the semiconductor layer (Baek: Fig 7G semiconductor layer 221, [0101]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (US 20200395428 A1), in view of Baek et. al. (US 20210091161 A1), hereinafter Baek2, in further view of Kim et. al. (US 20210132424 A1), hereinafter Kim, with supporting evidence from Hsieh (US 20240237367 A1), in further view of Chung (US 20170352689 A1).
Baek as modified in claim 7 fails to teach the auxiliary layer includes an auxiliary layer tip further protruding in a lateral direction than the main metal layer at a border between the auxiliary layer and the main metal layer.
However, Chung teaches the auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 404, [0070]) includes an auxiliary layer tip (Fig 1 distance Y, 0031]) further protruding in a lateral direction (Fig 1 left/right direction) than the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]) at a border between (Fig 1) the auxiliary layer (Fig 1 first layer 105b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 404, [0070]) and the main metal layer (Fig 1 second layer 106b, [0031] corresponds to Baek: Figs 4A and 7G metal layer 403, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baek and Baek2 to incorporate the teachings of Chung by having tips on the auxiliary layer. This would as in reducing the diffusion of metal atoms in the main metal layer in the layers underneath the auxiliary layer ([0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, starting at the bottom of page 4, filed May 29, 2026, with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813