DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 13 recites “The resist composition of claim 1 which forms a resist film having a dissolution rate in over-exposed region”. That is, the dissolution rate is only obtained after exposing the resist film while claim 1 is directed to a composition. Thus, claim 13 is considered a product-by-process claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (JP2006030232). Translation provided by Applicant.
Sasaki et al. teaches a resist composition in Example 18 comprising resin A-18, acid generator B-1, basic compound N-3, surfactant D-3, and solvent S-1 [0190] (claims 1, 10, and 11) wherein resin A-18 is the following:
[0181] in which the aromatic ring-containing repeat units account for 100 mol% (claim 1) wherein the middle repeating unit is equivalent to formula (A1) of instant claim 1, specifically formula (A1-1) of instant claim 2 when RA is hydrogen and a2 is 1; the left repeating unit is equivalent to formula (A2) of instant claim 1, specifically formula (A2-1) of instant claim 3 when RA is methyl, X2 is a single bond, RB and RC are C1 hydrocarbyl groups, b1 is 1, b2 is 0, and b3 is 0; and the right repeating unit is equivalent to formula (B3) of instant claim 7 when RA is hydrogen, X4 is a single bond, A4 is a single bond, g is 0, and f is 0; acid generator B-1 is the following:
[0193] (claim 12). Sasaki et al. also teaches the positive resist solutions were applied to a silicon wafer treated with hexamethyldisilizane by using a spin coater, dried by heating at 120 C for 90 seconds, the film was subjected to electron-beam irradiation, baked at 110 C for 90 seconds, and dipped in a 2.38% by mass aqueous solution of tetramethylammonium hydroxide for 60 seconds, rinsed with water for 30 seconds, and dried [0185] (claims 14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (JP2006030232).
With regard to claim 4, Sasaki et al. teaches the above resin A-18 when b21 is 0.
Sasaki et al. does not teach when b2 is 1 and R2 is fluorine, trifluoromethyl or trifluoromethoxy.
However, Sasaki et al. teaches the acid-decomposable resin (A) for use in the present invention has a group capable of decomposing by the action of an acid to form an alkali-soluble group and a leaving group having a group represented by the following formula (A) [0036]:
[0037] wherein R1a represents hydrogen, halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), alkyl, cycloalkyl, aralkyl, or aryl. X represents a hydrogen atom or an organic group. The organic group may be an acid-decomposable group is a non-acid decomposable group. When a plurality of Xs are present, each X may be the same as or different from every other X, and it is preferred that at least one X is a hydrogen atom and at least one X is an acid-decomposable group, n1 represents an integer of 1 to 5, n2 represents an integer of 0 to 4. Here, n1 + n2 = 5 [0039] such that when n1 is 1 and X is hydrogen, and n2 is 1 and Ra1 is F it is equivalent to a repeat unit represented by formula (A2) when b2 is 1 and R2 is fluorine of instant claim 4. Sasaki et al. also teaches the present invention will be described in more detail with reference to Examples, but the content of the present invention is not limited thereto [0154]. Sasaki et al. further teaches the photosensitive composition of the present invention can realize sufficiently good sensitivity, contrast, resolving power and line edge roughness particularly under irradiation with an electron beam or EUV, and can form a fine pattern particularly as a positive resist composition [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Sasaki et al. to include the above repeating unit and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to achieve optimum sensitivity, contrast, resolving pattern and line edge roughness.
With regard to claims 5 and 6, Sasaki et al. teaches the above resin A-18.
Sasaki et al. does not teach a repeat unit represented by formula (A3), specifically (A3-1).
However, Sasaki et al. teaches it is preferred that the resin (A) further contains at least one repeating unit selected from repeating units represented by formulae (III) and (IV) [0078] in which specific examples of the repeating units represented by formula (III) includes the following:
[0088] which is equivalent to formula (A3) of instant claim 5, specifically formula (A3-1) of instant claim 6 when RA is hydrogen and R6 is an acid labile group having C6 alicyclic hydrocarbon moiety. Sasaki et al. also teaches the present invention will be described in more detail with reference to Examples, but the content of the present invention is not limited thereto [0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific teachings of Sasaki et al. to include the above repeating unit and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 13, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. [MPEP 2112.01 In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)]. The obtained film of Sasaki et al. is the same as the instantly claimed film.
Therefore, the film of Sasaki et al. is expected to have a dissolution rate in over-exposed region of at least 50 nm/sec, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (JP2006030232) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kotake et al. (U.S. 2018/0180992).
With regard to claim 8, Sasaki et al. teaches the above resin A-18.
Sasaki et al. does not teach a repeat unit represented by any one of formulae (C1) to (C8).
However, Kotake et al. teaches a positive tone resist composition comprising (A) a sulfonium compound and (B) a base polymer adapted to be decomposed under the action of acid to increase its solubility in alkaline developer [0052] wherein the base polymer comprises recurring units having the formula (B1) [0068]:
[0068] wherein RA is hydrogen, fluorine, methyl or trifluoromethyl. R11 is each independently halogen, an optionally halogenated C2-C8 straight, branched or cyclic acyloxy group, optionally halogenated C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group, or optionally halogenated C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkoxy group. A1 is a single bond or a C1-C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene group in which an ether bond may intervene in a carbon-carbon bond, v is 0 or 1, w is an integer of 0 to 2, a is an integer in the range: 0≤a≤5+2w−b, and b is an integer of 1 to 3 [0069] such that when RA is methyl, v is 1, A1 is a C3 branched alkyl, w is 0, a is 0 or 1 where R11 is halogen, and b is 1 it is equivalent to Applicant’s formula (A2) and Sasaki et al. left repeating unit is resin A-18. Kotake et al. also teaches The polymer may further comprise recurring units of at least one type selected from recurring units having formulae (B6) to (B13). Notably these recurring units are simply referred to as recurring units (B6) to (B13), respectively. Incorporation of any of these units is effective for suppressing acid diffusion, improving resolution, and forming a pattern with reduced LER [0091]:
[0091] wherein RB is each independently hydrogen or methyl Z1 is a single bond, phenylene group, —O—Z12—, or —C(═O)—Z11—Z12—, wherein Z11 is —O— or —NH—, Z12 is a C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene, C2-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkenylene or phenylene group, which may contain a carbonyl, ester, ether or hydroxy moiety. Z2 is a single bond or Z21—C(═O)—O—, wherein Z21 is a C1-C20 straight, branched or cyclic divalent hydrocarbon group which may contain a heteroatom-containing moiety. Z3 is a single bond, methylene, ethylene, phenylene, fluorinated phenylene, —O—Z32—, or —C(O)—Z31—Z32— wherein Z31 is —O— or —NH—, Z32 is a C1-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkylene, C2-C6 straight, branched or cyclic alkenylene or phenylene group, which may contain a carbonyl, ester, ether or hydroxy moiety. Z4 is a single bond or a C1-C30 straight, branched or cyclic divalent hydrocarbon group which may contain a heteroatom, u is 0 or 1, with the proviso that u is 0 when Z4 is a single bond, R21 to R38 are each independently a C1-C20 straight, branched or cyclic monovalent hydrocarbon group in which at least one hydrogen atom may be replaced by a moiety containing a heteroatom such as oxygen, sulfur, nitrogen or halogen, or in which at least one carbon atom may be replaced by a moiety containing a heteroatom such as oxygen, sulfur or nitrogen, so that the group may contain a hydroxy, cyano, carbonyl, ether bond, ester bond, sulfonic acid ester bond, carbonate bond, lactone ring, sultone ring, carboxylic anhydride, or haloalkyl moiety. R21 and R22 may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached, any two of R23, R24 and R25, any two of R26, R27 and R28, or any two of R29, R30 and R31 may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached. “A” is hydrogen or trifluoromethyl. M− is a non-nucleophilic counter ion. In formulae (B7) and (B11) wherein Z2 is —Z21—C(O)—O—, Z21 is a divalent hydrocarbon group which may contain a heteroatom-containing moiety [0092-0094] which are equivalent to repeat units represented by formulae (C1) to (C8) of instant claim 8 respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sasaki et al. to further include an acid generator repeat unit as taught by Kotake et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention in order to suppress acid diffusion, improve resolution, and form a pattern with reduced LER.
With regard to claim 9, Sasaki et al. teaches the above composition. Sasaki et al. also teaches other components the photosensitive composition of the present invention may further contain a dye, a photobase generator, and the like, if necessary [0143].
Sasaki et al. does not teach a fluorinated polymer comprising repeat units of at least one type represented by any of formulae (D1) to (D4) and optionally (D5) or (D6).
However, Kotake et al. teaches the resist composition may further comprise (C) a fluorinated polymer comprising recurring units having the formula (C1) and recurring units of at least one type selected from recurring units having the formulae (C2), (C3), (C4), and (C5), for the purposes of enhancing contrast, preventing chemical flare of acid upon exposure to high-energy radiation, preventing mixing of acid from an anti-charging film in the step of coating an anti-charging film-forming material on a resist film, and suppressing unexpected unnecessary pattern degradation. Since the fluorinated polymer also has a surface active function, it can prevent insoluble residues from re-depositing onto the substrate during the development step and is thus effective for preventing development defects [0105]:
[0105] wherein RB is each independently hydrogen or methyl. RC is each independently hydrogen, fluorine, methyl or trifluoromethyl. R41 is hydrogen or a C1-C5 straight or branched monovalent hydrocarbon group in which a heteroatom may intervene in a carbon-carbon bond. R42 is a C1-C5 straight or branched monovalent hydrocarbon group in which a heteroatom may intervene in a carbon-carbon bond. R43a, R43b, R45a and R45b are each independently hydrogen or a C1-C10 straight, branched or cyclic alkyl group. R44, R46, R47 and R48 are each independently hydrogen, a C1-C15 straight, branched or cyclic monovalent hydrocarbon group or monovalent fluorinated hydrocarbon group, or an acid labile group, with the proviso that an ether or carbonyl moiety may intervene in a carbon-carbon bond in the monovalent hydrocarbon groups or monovalent fluorinated hydrocarbon groups represented by R44, R46, R47 and R48. The subscript x is an integer of 1 to 3, y is an integer satisfying: 0≤y≤5+2z−x, z is 0 or 1, m is an integer of 1 to 3. X1 is a single bond, —C(═O)—O— or —C(═O)—NH—. X2 is a C1-C20 straight, branched or cyclic (m+1)-valent hydrocarbon group or fluorinated hydrocarbon group [0106] which are equivalent to repeat units having formula (D5) and (D1) to (D4) of instant claim 9 respectively.
With regard to claims 17 and 18, Sasaki et al. teaches in the process of forming a pattern on a photosensitive film in the production of a precision integrated circuit element or the like, the photosensitive composition of the present invention is applied onto a substrate (e.g. a silicon/silicon dioxide-coated substrate, a glass substrate, an ITO substrate, a quartz/chromium oxide-coated substrate, or the like) [0151].
Sakaki et al. does not teach the substrate is a mask blank, i.e. a mask blank which is coated with the composition.
However, Kotake et al. teaches a resist pattern forming process comprising the steps of applying the resist composition defined above onto a processable substrate to form a resist film thereon, exposing the resist film patternwise to high-energy radiation, and developing the resist film in an alkaline developer to form a resist pattern. Pattern formation using the resist composition of the invention may be performed by well-known lithography processes. In general, the resist composition is first applied onto a processable substrate such as a substrate for IC fabrication (e.g., Si, SiO, SiO2, SiN, SiON, TiN, WSi, BPSG, SOG, organic antireflective coating, etc.) or a substrate for mask circuit fabrication (e.g., Cr, CrO, CrON, MoSi2, Si, SiO, SiO2, etc.) by a suitable coating technique such as spin coating [0129-0130] and the resist composition is effectively applicable to a processable substrate, specifically a substrate having a surface layer of material to which a resist film is less adherent and which is likely to invite pattern stripping or pattern collapse, and particularly a substrate having sputter deposited thereon metallic chromium or a chromium compound containing at least one light element selected from oxygen, nitrogen and carbon or a substrate having an outermost surface layer of SiOx. The invention is especially effective for pattern formation on a photomask blank as the substrate [0133] (claims 17 and 18). Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, the use of a resist composition various substrates such as on a mask blank is well known in the art as taught by Kotake.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sasaki et al. to include other known substrates such as those taught by Kotake et al. and arrive at the instant claims through routine experimentation of substituting equally suitable components for the sought invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP2002156761, U.S. 2003/0003392, WO2022024929 (U.S. 2023/0185192), U.S. 2022/0334476, and U.S. 2021/0389669.
/Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737