Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-12, claim 1 includes the limitation on lines 4-5 “forming a first gate structure and a second gate structure on the MV region and a second gate structure on the LV region;” introducing two different ‘second gate structures’ in different regions. It appears, based on the specification and figures this should read “… and a third
Claims 2-12 further limit claim 1, therefore are rejected for the same reasoning.
Regarding claims 9, 12, 15, and 18, the phrasing that the bottom surface of the gate dielectric layer is “greater than [claims 9 and 15]” and “equal to [claims 12 and 18]” the top surface of the dielectric layer is indefinite for “greater” needs a reference to be compared to. It is unclear if it means the top surface is higher, greater density, length, width, or some other form of measurement. In the current rejection, it is taken that “greater” means a portion of the bottom surface is “over” or “physically higher” than a portion of the top surface.
These claims below are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20230059628 A1) in view of Zang et al (US 10629694 B1).
Kim et al teaches
[claim 1] A method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate comprising a medium-voltage (MV) region and a low-voltage (LV) region (paragraphs 0045 and 0048, figures 1-2A, where element 12 is the medium voltage region, element 11 is the low voltage region all formed on a substrate [element 21]),
forming a first gate structure and a second gate structure on the MV region and a second gate structure on the LV region (paragraph 0059, figure 2D, where element 45 and 47 are the formed first and second gate structure in the medium voltage region [region 12], and element 43 is the second gate structure formed in the low voltage region [region 11]);
However, Kim et al does not specifically disclose
[claim 1] forming a patterned mask on the MV region, wherein the patterned mask covers the first gate structure and the second gate structure and exposes the substrate between the first gate structure and the second gate structure; and forming a first epitaxial layer between the first gate structure and the second gate structure.
However, Zang et al does teach
[claim 1] forming a patterned mask on the MV region, wherein the patterned mask covers the first gate structure and the second gate structure and exposes the substrate between the first gate structure and the second gate structure (col 6 lines 3-13, figure 7A, where elements 24 and 26 are the first and second gate structures in place of the first and second gate structures of Kim et al in the medium voltage area, and element 58 is the mask which covers the gate structures but leaves a vacancy to the substrate);
and forming a first epitaxial layer between the first gate structure and the second gate structure (col 4 lines 37-43, figure 7A, where element 44 is situated between elements 24 and 26 and is an epitaxial layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Kim et al to incorporate the teachings of Zang et al in order to create a self-aligning transistor by putting the mask only over the gate electrode and not over the source and drain regions to increase precision of the gate and reducing any potential parasitic capacitance between the source and drain and the gate.
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20230059628 A1), and Zang et al (US 10629694 B1) in further view of Yamaguchi et al (US 20110037103 A1).
Kim et al as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 1, and Kim et al further teaches
[claim 2] The method of claim 1, wherein the LV region comprises a first transistor region and a second transistor region (paragraph 0059, figure 2D, section 11 is the LV region comprising a first transistor region which contains elements 41 and 31, and a second transistor region containing elements 43 and 33),
the method comprising: forming a third gate structure on the first transistor region and a fourth gate structure on the second transistor region (paragraph 0059, figure 2D, where elements 41 and 43 are the third and fourth gate structure, respectively, in the first and second transistor region.
However, Kim et al as modified does not specifically disclose
[claim 2] forming the patterned mask on the MV region and the second transistor region; forming the first epitaxial layer on the MV region and a second epitaxial layer adjacent to the third gate structure; and forming a third epitaxial layer adjacent to the fourth gate structure.
[claim 3] wherein the patterned mask covers the MV region and the second transistor region while exposing the first transistor region.
[claim 4] wherein the patterned mask covers the second transistor region completely.
[claim 5] wherein the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer comprise same conductive type.
[claim 6] wherein the first epitaxial layer and the third epitaxial layer comprise different conductive type.
[claim 7] wherein the first gate structure comprises: a first gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the first gate dielectric layer comprises a curve; and a first gate electrode on the first gate dielectric layer.
[claim 9] wherein a bottom surface of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a top surface of the first gate dielectric layer.
[claim 10] wherein the third gate structure comprises: a third gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the third gate dielectric layer comprises a vertical surface; and a third gate electrode on the third gate dielectric layer.
[claim 11] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the vertical surface is equal to 90.
[claim 12] wherein a bottom surface of the third gate dielectric layer is equal to a top surface of the third gate dielectric layer.
However, Yamaguchi et al teaches
[claim 2] forming the patterned mask on the MV region and the second transistor region (figure 5, paragraphs 0066-0067, where elements 1C and 1D map onto the medium voltage region of Kim et al, and element 1A maps onto the second transistor region in the low voltage region, and element 1B maps onto the fourth transistor in the low voltage region, and element PR1 is the mask formed over the MV region and the second transistor region);
forming the first epitaxial layer on the MV region and a second epitaxial layer adjacent to the third gate structure; and forming a third epitaxial layer adjacent to the fourth gate structure (figures 5-7, paragraph 0069, where the third gate structure is element BE1, and the second epitaxial layer adjacent to the third gate structure is element 10 [the one left of element GE2], and the third epitaxial layer is eleent 10 to the right of element GE2, which is the fourth gate structure).
[claim 3] wherein the patterned mask covers the MV region and the second transistor region while exposing the first transistor region (paragraph 0184, figure 28, where the first transistor region is region 1C in the MV, and the second transistor region includes element 1D in the MV region, where element PR2 is the mask over the second transistor region but not over the first transistor region).
[claim 4] wherein the patterned mask covers the second transistor region completely (figure 5, paragraphs 0066-0067, where element PR1 is the mask and covers the entire second transistor region which comprises sections 1D of the MV region and element 1A of the LV region).
[claim 5] wherein the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer comprise same conductive type (paragraph 0081, figure 7, element 10 [left hand side] is the second epitaxial layer, and the first epitaxial layer [imported from Kim et al, paragraph 0061, figure 1, element 11P in section LV, is p-type]).
[claim 6] wherein the first epitaxial layer and the third epitaxial layer comprise different conductive type (paragraph 0081, figure 7, where element 10 [both the left hand and right hand element 10] are of p-type and are the second and third epitaxial layers).
[claim 7] wherein the first gate structure comprises: a first gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the first gate dielectric layer comprises a curve; and a first gate electrode on the first gate dielectric layer (figure 5, paragraphs 0064-0065, where element 7 is the gate dielectric layer [silicon oxide is a dielectric layer], and the first dielectric layer surrounds the first gate structure [element GE3] and comprises a curve [as it goes around element GE3] and the first gate electrode [element GE3] is on the dielectric layer).
[claim 9] wherein a bottom surface of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a top surface of the first gate dielectric layer (figure 5, element 7 has a portion [located over the gate electrode GE3] where the bottom surface of said layer is greater, or physically higher, than a top surface of element 7 which is not above element GE3 but below and to the side).
[claim 10] wherein the third gate structure comprises: a third gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the third gate dielectric layer comprises a vertical surface; and a third gate electrode on the third gate dielectric layer (figure 5, paragraphs 0064-0065, where element 7 is the gate dielectric layer [silicon oxide is a dielectric layer], and the third dielectric layer surrounds the third gate structure [element GE1] and comprises a curve [as it goes around element GE1] and the first gate electrode [element GE3] is on the dielectric layer).
[claim 11] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the vertical surface is equal to 90 (figure 5, element 7 over element GE1 is the vertical surface of the gate dielectric layer and is a 90 degree angle with the top surface of the substrate [element 1 of figure 2]).
[claim 12] wherein a bottom surface of the third gate dielectric layer is equal to a top surface of the third gate dielectric layer (figure 5, where element 7 surrounding element GE1 is the third gate dielectric layer, and in the vertical portion they are equal [i.e. in the same horizontal plane]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Kim et al as modified to include the teachings of Yamaguchi et al in order to efficiently deposit layers on each of the regions specifically so as to not waste material but utilize the material only where needed so as to maximize efficiency.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20230059628 A1), Zang et al (US 10629694 B1), and Yamaguchi et al (US 20110037103 A1).
Kim et al as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 7, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 8] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the curve is less than 90 degrees.
However, according to MPEP 2144.04 IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
B. Changes in Shape
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Kim et al as modified to make the curve with respect to the top of the substrate to be less than 90 degrees instead of 90 degrees in order to fulfill a particular configuration of the gate electrode.
Claim(s) 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20230059628 A1) in view of Yamaguchi et al (US 20110037103 A1).
Kim et al teaches
[claim 13] A semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate comprising a medium-voltage (MV) region and a low-voltage (LV) region (figure 1, paragraph 0047, section 11 is the LV region, and element 12 is the MV region);
a first gate structure on the MV region (paragraph 0064, figure 3, element 45 is the first gate structure in the MV region [element 12]).
However, Kim et al does not specifically disclose
[claim 13] wherein the first gate structure comprises: a first gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein the first gate dielectric layer comprises a curve; a first gate electrode on the first gate dielectric layer; and a first epitaxial layer adjacent to the first gate structure.
[claim 15] wherein a bottom surface of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a top surface of the first gate dielectric layer.
[claim 16] further comprising: a second gate structure on the LV region, wherein the second gate structure comprises: a second gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the second gate dielectric layer comprises a vertical surface; and a second gate electrode on the second gate dielectric layer; and a second epitaxial layer adjacent to the second gate structure.
[claim 17] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the vertical surface is equal to 90.
[claim 18] wherein a bottom surface of the second gate dielectric layer is equal to a top surface of the second gate dielectric layer.
However, Yamaguchi et al does teach
[claim 13] wherein the first gate structure comprises: a first gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein the first gate dielectric layer comprises a curve; a first gate electrode on the first gate dielectric layer; and a first epitaxial layer adjacent to the first gate structure (figure 10, paragraphs 0076-0078, where element GE1 in section 1B is the first gate electrode supplanted onto the element 45 of Kim et al in the MV region, and contains a gate dielectric layer [element 7] which curves around the gate electrode [element GE1], and a first epitaxial layer [element 10 on the right-hand side of element GE1 in section 1B] that is adjacent to the first gate structure).
[claim 15] wherein a bottom surface of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a top surface of the first gate dielectric layer (figure 5, element 7 has a portion [located over the gate electrode GE3] where the bottom surface of said layer is greater, or physically higher, than a top surface of element 7 which is not above element GE3 but below and to the side).
[claim 16] further comprising: a second gate structure on the LV region, wherein the second gate structure comprises: a second gate dielectric layer on the substrate, wherein a sidewall of the second gate dielectric layer comprises a vertical surface (figure 10, paragraphs 0076-0078, where section 1A is located in the LV region of Kim et al and element GE1 in section 1A is in place of the gate electrode 43 in Kim et al [maintaining structural similarities between the two], and a second gate dielectric layer [element 7 in section 1A] is on the substrate and creates a sidewall that is vertical up and around the gate electrode [element GE1 in section 1A]);
and a second gate electrode on the second gate dielectric layer; and a second epitaxial layer adjacent to the second gate structure (figure 10, paragraphs 0076-0078 where element GE1 in section 1A is the second gate electrode and element 10 [lefthand side of element GE1 in section 1B] is the second epitaxial layer and adjacent to the second gate electrode).
[claim 17] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the vertical surface is equal to 90 (figure 10, paragraphs 0076-0078, where element 7 in section 1A is vertical and at a 90 degree angle to the substrate in section 1A).
[claim 18] wherein a bottom surface of the second gate dielectric layer is equal to a top surface of the second gate dielectric layer figure 5, where element 7 surrounding element GE1 in section 1A is the second gate dielectric layer, and in the vertical portion they are equal [i.e. in the same horizontal plane]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Kim et al to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi et al in order to maximize efficiency by depositing dielectrics in specific regions so as to not waste material.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20230059628 A1), and Yamaguchi et al (US 20110037103 A1).
Kim et al as modified teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim, claim 7, but does not specifically disclose
[claim 14] wherein an angle included by a top surface of the substrate and the curve is less than 90 degrees.
However, according to MPEP 2144.04 IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
B. Changes in Shape
In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Kim et al as modified to make the curve with respect to the top of the substrate to be less than 90 degrees instead of 90 degrees in order to fulfill a particular configuration of the gate electrode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al (US 20220352345 A1), Tung et al (US 20220181324 A1), Pu et al (US 20210351179 A1), Hsu et al (US 20200105538 A1), Cheng (US 20200066898 A1), Suen et al (US 20190103312 A1), Wang (US 20180350676 A1), Chee (US 20170179145 A1).
/ANDREW ZABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818