DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/143,360, application filed on 05/04/2023, and Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/24/2023.
3. In the Preliminary Amendment, claims 1-20 are presented as new. Examiner notes that there do not appear to be any claims presented in the original claim set filed on 05/04/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moloney et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0166464).
7. With respect to independent claim 1, Moloney teaches:
A system-on-a-chip (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151) for an autonomous vehicle (autonomous vehicles using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151) including:
at least one central processing unit (CPU) cluster or CPU complex supporting virtualization (see processors, clusters, para 55-64, 149-151; see CPU, para 52, 92; see virtualization, para 155-164),
wherein the CPU cluster or CPU complex includes multiple CPU cores and associated caches (see processor with cache, para 174),
at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) providing multi-core parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49),
an embedded hardware accelerator cluster (see embedded accelerators, para 67-68), and
at least one memory device interface structured to connect the system-on-a-chip to at least one memory device storing instructions that when executed by the system-on-the-chip (see system on chip, host processors, and associated memory, para 49), configure the system-on-a-chip to operate as an autonomous vehicle controller configured to receive optical sensor data (see camera sensors, plurality of sensors and cameras, working with CPU, GPU, and system-on-chip to operate autonomous vehicle controller, para 50, 91),
wherein the at least one CPU cluster or complex, the at least one GPU providing multi-core parallel processing, and the at least embedded hardware accelerator cluster comprising the system-on-a-chip (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48), interoperate to process at least the received optical sensor data to perform autonomous driving (see camera sensors, plurality of sensors and cameras, working with CPU, GPU, and system-on-chip to operate autonomous vehicle, para 50, 91; operating a vehicle to self-navigate, autonomous navigation, para 93).
8. With respect to independent claim 4, Moloney teaches:
A system-on-a-chip (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151) for use in an autonomous vehicle (autonomous vehicles using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151) including:
at least one central processing unit (CPU) (see processors, clusters, para 55-64, 149-151; see CPU, para 52, 92; see virtualization, para 155-164),
at least one programmable graphics processing unit (GPU) providing parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49) and configured to use a tensor instruction set (see GPU using tensor data, para 91) including mixed-precision processing cores (see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120) partitioned into multiple processing blocks (see processing blocks, para 75-79, 90-95),
at least one programmable vision accelerator and/or at least one deep learning accelerator (see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48), and
at least one memory device interface structured to connect the system-on-a-chip to at least one memory device storing program code that when executed by system-on-the-chip (see system on chip, host processors, and associated memory, para 49), configures the system-on-a-chip to operate as an autonomous vehicle controller configured to receive optical sensor data (see camera sensors, plurality of sensors and cameras, working with CPU, GPU, and system-on-chip to operate autonomous vehicle controller, para 50, 91),
wherein the at least one CPU, the at least one GPU, and the at least one programmable vision accelerator and/or the at least one deep learning accelerator (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48), interoperate to process the optical sensor data and a trajectory estimation and/or route plan to provide autonomous driving control of an automobile (see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
9. With respect to claim 7, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 4 wherein the at least one GPU providing parallel processing is programmable and the deep learning accelerator comprises a tensor processing unit configured to execute the neural networks based on a tensor instruction set (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
10. With respect to claim 8, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 4 wherein the at least one GPU is power-optimized for performance in automotive embedded use applications (see reduction of power dissipation, para 60, 71, 74).
11. With respect to claim 9, Moloney teaches:
9. The system-on-a-chip of claim 4 wherein the at least one GPU is fabricated on a FinFET (Fin field effect transistor) high-performance manufacturing process (see FINFET technology, para 160).
12. With respect to independent claim 10, Moloney teaches:
A system-on-a-chip for an autonomous vehicle (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151; autonomous vehicles using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151) including:
at least one central processing unit (CPU) (see processors, clusters, para 55-64, 149-151; see CPU, para 52, 92; see virtualization, para 155-164),
at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) providing parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49),
a cache available to both the at least one CPU and the at least one GPU (see processors with cache, para 174),
an embedded hardware accelerator cluster comprising at least one hardware-based accelerator configured to accelerate neural networks and/or accelerate programmable vision (see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48); and
at least one memory device interface structured to connect the system-on-a-chip to at least one memory device storing code that when executed by the system-on-the-chip (see system on chip, host processors, and associated memory, para 49), configures the system-on-a-chip to operate as an autonomous vehicle controller configured to receive sensor data (see camera sensors, plurality of sensors and cameras, working with CPU, GPU, and system-on-chip to operate autonomous vehicle controller, para 50, 91),
wherein the at least one CPU, the at least one GPU providing parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49), and
the at least one hardware-based accelerator (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48) interoperate to process the received sensor data to perform autonomous driving (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
13. With respect to independent claim 11, Moloney teaches:
A system-on-a-chip for an autonomous vehicle (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151; autonomous vehicles using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151) including:
at least one central processing unit (CPU) (see processors, clusters, para 55-64, 149-151; see CPU, para 52, 92; see virtualization, para 155-164),
at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) providing parallel processing cores (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49),
an embedded hardware accelerator cluster comprising at least one hardware-based accelerator (see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48), and
at least one memory device interface structured to connect the system-on-a-chip (see system on chip, host processors, and associated memory, para 49) to at least one memory device storing program instructions that when executed by the system-on-the-chip, configure the system-on-a-chip to operate as an autonomous vehicle controller configured to receive sensor data (see camera sensors, plurality of sensors and cameras, working with CPU, GPU, and system-on-chip to operate autonomous vehicle controller, para 50, 91),
wherein the at least one CPU, the at least one GPU providing parallel processing cores, and the at least one hardware-based accelerator (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48) interoperate to process at least the received sensor data to perform autonomous driving of an automobile (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
14. With respect to claim 12, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 11 wherein the at least hardware-based accelerator includes one or more tensor processing units (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
15. With respect to claim 14, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 11 wherein the at least one accelerator is configured to accelerate computer vision algorithms for autonomous driving (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
16. With respect to claim 15, Moloney teaches:
15. The system-on-a-chip of claim 11 wherein the at least one GPU is power-optimized for performance in automotive embedded use applications (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
17. With respect to claim 16, Moloney teaches:
16. The system-on-a-chip of claim 11 wherein the at least one GPU is fabricated on a FinFET (Fin field effect transistor) high-performance manufacturing process (see FINFET technology, para 160).
18. With respect to independent claim 17, Moloney teaches:
A system-on-a-chip for an autonomous vehicle (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151; autonomous vehicles using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151) including:
at least one central processing unit (CPU) supporting virtualization (see processors, clusters, para 55-64, 149-151; see CPU, para 52, 92; see virtualization, para 155-164),
at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) providing parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49),
a cache memory available to both the at least one CPU and the at least one GPU (see processors with cache, para 174),
at least one accelerator (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48), and
at least one memory device interface structured to connect the system-on-a-chip (see system on chip, host processors, and associated memory, para 49) to at least one memory device storing instructions that when executed by the system-on-the-chip, configure the system-on-a-chip to operate as an autonomous vehicle controller configured to receive LIDAR sensor data (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120),
wherein the at least one CPU, the at least one GPU providing parallel processing (see parallel processing GPUs, para 49), and
the at least one accelerator (see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48) interoperate to process the LIDAR sensor data and a trajectory estimation and/or route planning to provide autonomous driving (see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
19. With respect to claim 18, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 17 wherein the accelerator is configured to accelerate computer vision algorithms for autonomous driving (machine-learning accelerator, para 92; see embedded accelerators, para 67-68; see hardware accelerator for computer vision and graphics, para 46-48; see depth and vision processing, camera sensors and GPU output, scene geometry and maps, para 50; see different precisions, para 78; see precision measurements from 2D and 3D volumetric shapes using embedded devices, LIDAR, resulting maps, para 120).
20. With respect to claim 19, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 17 wherein the accelerator is configured for deep neural network acceleration (see neural network acceleration, para 56).
21. With respect to claim 20, Moloney teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 17 wherein the system-on-a-chip is configured to comprise at least a part of an autonomous vehicle controller (on-chip network, para 49; system on a chip SoC, para 151; autonomous vehicle control using system-on-chip SoC processors, para 148-151).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
23. Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moloney et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0166464) in view of CRUESOT (US PG Pub No. 2017/0242436).
24. With respect to claim 2, while Moloney appears to be silent regarding the limitations recited in claim 2, CREUSOT teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 1 wherein the system-on-a-chip is configured to enable the autonomous vehicle controller to be substantially compliant with level 5 full autonomous driving as defined by SAE specification J3016 (SAE 3016 Standard, level 5 automation, para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated CRUESOT’s SAE J3016 standard into the autonomous system controller of Moloney for at least the following reason(s): CRUESOT provides a standard for autonomous vehicle control that can accommodate for road construction, which would be a desirable improvement int the art.
25. With respect to claim 6, while Moloney appears to be silent regarding the limitations recited in claim 2, CREUSOT teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 4 wherein the system-on-a-chip includes at least one memory device connected to the system-on-a-chip, the memory device storing instructions that when executed by the CPU and/or the GPU provides autonomous vehicle control that is substantially compliant with level 5 full autonomous driving as defined by SAE specification J3016 (SAE 3016 Standard, level 5 automation, para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated CRUESOT’s SAE J3016 standard into the autonomous system controller of Moloney for at least the following reason(s): CRUESOT provides a standard for autonomous vehicle control that can accommodate for road construction, which would be a desirable improvement int the art.
26. Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moloney et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0166464) in view of Habel et al. (US PG Pub No. 2015/0033357).
27. With respect to claim 3, while Moloney appears to be silent regarding the limitations recited in claim 3, Habel teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 1 wherein the system-on-a-chip is configured to enable the autonomous vehicle controller to be substantially compliant with integrity level “D” defined by ISO Standard 26262 (autonomous control, ISO 26262, level D, para 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Habel’s ISO 26262 standard into the autonomous system controller of Moloney for at least the following reason(s): as described in Habel, it was well known to utilize standards such as ISO 26262 to provide a focus on safety and stabilization of acceleration in autonomous vehicle control into autonomous control systems such as those described in both Moloney and Habel.
28. With respect to claim 5, while Moloney appears to be silent regarding the limitations recited in claim 5, Habel teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 4 wherein the at least one CPU, the at least one GPU, and the at least one programmable vision accelerator and/or the at least one deep learning accelerator are structured and interconnected to be substantially compliant with integrity level “D” defined by Standard 26262 of the International Organization for Standardization (autonomous control, ISO 26262, level D, para 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Habel’s ISO 26262 standard into the autonomous system controller of Moloney for at least the following reason(s): as described in Habel, it was well known to utilize standards such as ISO 26262 to provide a focus on safety and stabilization of acceleration in autonomous vehicle control into autonomous control systems such as those described in both Moloney and Habel.
29. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moloney et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0166464) in view of KUNDU et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0314940).
30. With respect to claim 13, while Moloney appears to be silent regarding the limitations recited in claim 5, KUNDU teaches:
The system-on-a-chip of claim 12 wherein the one or more tensor processing units are configured for supporting INT8/INT16/FP16 data type for both features and weights (see tensor weights, INT8, INT16, para 170-179; 215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated KUNU’s tensor weights at INT8/INT16 standard into the autonomous system controller of Moloney for at least the following reason(s): KUNDU illustrates that conversion to weight tensors that improve precision can reduce loss accumulation across layers of parallel computation, which may improve the GPU computational model of Moloney and improve processing speeds in an autonomous vehicle control unit.
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851