DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1 AND CLAIMS DEPENDENT THEREON:
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2015/0211125 A1) in view of Tian et al. (WO 2007/091672 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa et al. teach an applicator (Fig. 1 – items 41, 42, 43, 44), comprising: a resonator body (Fig. 1 – item 43) with a hole into an axial center of the resonator body (Fig. 1 – item 43), wherein the resonator body comprises a first dielectric material (Paragraph 0040 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride); a pin inserted into the hole (Fig. 1 – item 51; Paragraph 0042), wherein the pin is an electrically conductive material (Paragraph 0047 – inner conductor); and a plate under the resonator body (Fig. 1 – item 41), wherein the plate comprises a second dielectric material that is different than the first dielectric material (Paragraph 0038 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride), wherein no additional resonator bodies are over the plate (Fig. 1), and wherein the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body such that a perimeter of the plate is concentric with a perimeter of the resonator body (Fig. 1; Fig. 2).
The difference between claim 1 and Yoshikawa et al. is that selecting the materials to be different materials is not discussed (Claim 1) and the plate being concentric with the resonator is not discussed (Claim 1).
Regarding selecting the materials to be different materials (Claim 1), since the list of materials encompass the possibility of selecting different materials from known materials it would be obvious to select the materials from a known list of materials for optimization for best result.
Regarding the plate being concentric with the resonator (Claim 1), it appears from Yoshikawa et al. teach the plate is concentric with the resonator. However further in support thereof Tian et al. teach that the plate should be concentric with a resonator. (See Figs. 1-3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the first dielectric material comprises Al₂O₃.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshikawa et al. teach wherein the first dielectric material comprises Al₂O₃. (Paragraph 0040 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the second dielectric material comprises quartz, alumina, sapphire, MgF₂, yttrium aluminum garnet, YF₃, Y₂O₃, Y₄Al₂O₉, Y₃Al₅O₁₂, Y₅O₄F₇, MgO, calcium fluoride, barium fluoride, lithium fluoride, fused silica, borosilicate glass, Er₂O₃, Er₃Al₅O₁₂, Er₄Al₂O₉, Gd₂O₃, Gd4A1O₃, Gd₃Al₅O₁₂, Nd4Al₂O, NdAIO₃, Nd₂O₃, a rare earth oxyfluoride, or a solid solution of Y₂O₃ and one or more of ZrO₂, CaF₂, SrF₂, AIF₃, ErF₃, LaF₃, NdF₃, ScF₃, CeF4, and ZrF4.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshikawa et al. teach utilizing quartz or alumina. (Paragraph 0038 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Tian e al. is that it allows for utilizing microwaves to processing a semiconductor wafer. (Paragraph 0001)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Yoshikawa et al. by utilizing the features of Tian et al. because it allows for plasma processing semiconductor wafers.
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. in view of Chen et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. (KR 102097436 B1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is where the coating is "on" the plate.
Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. teaches that quartz coated with yttria can be utilized and quartz is the material of the cover plate. (Paragraph 0080)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
The difference not yet discussed is the coating covers all surfaces of the plate.
Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. teaches that quartz coated with yttria on the surface can be utilized and quartz is the material of the cover plate. (Paragraph 0080)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the coating is over the surface of the plate opposite from the resonator body.
Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. teaches that quartz coated with yttria can be utilized and quartz is the material of the cover plate. (Paragraph 0080) Applying this teaching the quartz coated with yttria on the surface as the cover plate would be opposite from the resonator body.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the coating has a thickness of approximately 1,000 microns or less.
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. teach that the coating should be up to 2 microns. (Paragraph 0051)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. is that it allows for preventing contamination. (Paragraph 0080)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. because it allows for preventing contamination.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. in view of Chen et al. and further in view of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. as applied to claims 1, 2 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2018/0327899 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the coating comprises MgF₂, YF₃, CaF₂, BaF₂, LiF or NiF₂.
Regarding 6, Wu et al. teach coating surfaces exposed to plasma with a coating comprising YF3. (See Paragraph 0164 - FIG. 14 illustrates an energy dispersive electroscopy (EDS) line scan showing the material composition of a YF.sub.3 1405 coating. As shown, the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 includes approximately 25-30 at. % Y 1425 and about 60-70 at. % F 1440. The YF.sub.3 coating additionally includes about 3-6 at. % F 1420 and about 2-10 at. % C 1422. The YF.sub.3 coating was deposited by IAD and has a thickness of about 5 µm. Paragraphs 0165 - FIG. 15 illustrates an EDS line scan showing the material composition of the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 of FIG. 14 after an oxidation process, where the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 includes a Y-O-F layer, according to an embodiment. The oxidation process was performed at processing conditions of a microwave 0 plasma at 50 W of plasma power and at about 350° C. The O plasma was flowed with Ar at a ratio of 1:1. As shown, the oxidation process converted about the top 500 nm of the YF.sub.3 into a Y-O-F layer. The concentration of O 1520 in the Y-O-F layer is about 10-30 at. % and the concentration of F 1540 is about 30-50 mol. %, with a higher 0 concentration at the surface of the YF.sub.3 coating 1405. The concentration of C 1522 is approximately unchanged.
The motivation for utilizing the features of Wu et al. is that it allows for protecting chamber components. (Paragraph 0008)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Wu et al. because it allows for protecting chamber components.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. in view of Tian et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2006/0071607 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the plate has a thickness that is approximately 10mm or less.
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al. teach the plate has a thickness of approximately 10 mm or less. (Paragraph 0051 - a quartz cover plate that is 1 to 5 mm in thickness.)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Chen et al. is that it allows for protecting the resonator plate. (Paragraph 0050)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Chen et al. because it allows for protecting the resonator plate.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 11 AND CLAIMS DEPENDENT THEREON:
Claim(s) 11, 14, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai (U.S. PGPUB. 2010/0224324 A1) in view of Yoshikawa et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2015/0211125 A1) and Tian et al. (WO 2007/091672 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Regarding claim 11, Kasai teaches a remote plasma source comprising a resonator body, wherein the resonator body comprises a first dielectric material; a housing around the resonator body, wherein the housing comprises a volume in which a plasma can be formed. (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041 - alumina for example as the resonator material)
The difference not yet discussed is a plate between the resonator body and the volume is not discussed (Claim 11), wherein the plate comprises a second dielectric material that is different than the first dielectric material is not discussed (Claim 11) and wherein the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body is not discussed (Claim 11) and the plate being concentric with the resonator is not discussed (Claim 11).
Regarding a plate between the resonator body and the volume (Claim 11), Yoshikawa et al. teach utilizing a plate between the resonator body and a volume. (Fig. 1 – item 41; Paragraph 0038)
Regarding wherein the plate comprises a second dielectric material that is different than the first dielectric material (Claim 11), since the list of materials encompass the possibility of selecting different materials from known materials it would be obvious to select the materials from a known list of materials for optimization for best result.
Regarding wherein the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body (Claim 11), Yoshikawa et al. teach the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body. (Fig. 1)
Regarding the plate being concentric with the resonator (Claim 11), it appears from Yoshikawa et al. teach the plate is concentric with the resonator. However further in support thereof Tian et al. teach that the plate should be concentric with a resonator. (See Figs. 1-3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the first dielectric material comprises Al₂O₃.
Regarding claim 14, Kasai teaches alumina as the first dielectric material. (Paragraph 0041) Chen et al. teach utilizing alumina. (Paragraph 0049)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the second dielectric material comprises quartz, alumina, sapphire, MgF₂, yttrium aluminum garnet, YF₃, Y₂O₃, Y₄Al₂O₉, Y₃Al₅O₁₂, Y₅O₄F₇, MgO, calcium fluoride, barium fluoride, lithium fluoride, fused silica, borosilicate glass, Er₂O₃, Er₃Al₅O₁₂, Er₄Al₂O₉, Gd₂O₃, Gd4A1O₃, Gd₃Al₅O₁₂, Nd4Al₂O, NdAIO₃, Nd₂O₃, a rare earth oxyfluoride, or a solid solution of Y₂O₃ and one or more of ZrO₂, CaF₂, SrF₂, AIF₃, ErF₃, LaF₃, NdF₃, ScF₃, CeF4, and ZrF4.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshikawa et al. teach utilizing quartz or alumina. (Paragraph 0038 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising: an exhaust in the housing, wherein a radial center of the exhaust is aligned with a radial center of the resonator body.
Regarding claim 16, Kasai teaches an exhaust in the housing, wherein a radial center of the exhaust is aligned with a radial center of the resonator body. (See Fig. 1 - 23a; Paragraph 0045)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Yoshikawa et al. is that it allows plasma processing a workpiece. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Tian et al. is that it allows for utilizing microwaves to processing a semiconductor wafer. (Paragraph 0001)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kasai by utilizing the features of Yoshikawa et al. and Tian et al. because it allows for plasma processing a workpiece.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai in view of Yoshikawa et al. and Tian et al. as applied to claims 11, 14, 15, 16 above, and further in view of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. (KR 102097436 B1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
The difference not yet discussed is where the coating is "on" the plate.
Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. teaches that quartz coated with yttria can be utilized and quartz is the material of the cover plate. (Paragraph 0080)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. is that it allows for preventing contamination. (Paragraph 0080)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. because it allows for preventing contamination.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai in view of Yoshikawa et al. and Tian et al. and further in view of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. as applied to claims 11, 12 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2018/0327899 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the coating comprises MgF₂, YF₃, CaF₂, BaF₂, LiF or NiF₂.
Regarding 13, Wu et al. teach coating surfaces exposed to plasma with a coating comprising YF3. (See Paragraph 0164 - FIG. 14 illustrates an energy dispersive electroscopy (EDS) line scan showing the material composition of a YF.sub.3 1405 coating. As shown, the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 includes approximately 25-30 at. % Y 1425 and about 60-70 at. % F 1440. The YF.sub.3 coating additionally includes about 3-6 at. % F 1420 and about 2-10 at. % C 1422. The YF.sub.3 coating was deposited by IAD and has a thickness of about 5 µm. Paragraphs 0165 - FIG. 15 illustrates an EDS line scan showing the material composition of the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 of FIG. 14 after an oxidation process, where the YF.sub.3 coating 1405 includes a Y-O-F layer, according to an embodiment. The oxidation process was performed at processing conditions of a microwave 0 plasma at 50 W of plasma power and at about 350° C. The O plasma was flowed with Ar at a ratio of 1:1. As shown, the oxidation process converted about the top 500 nm of the YF.sub.3 into a Y-O-F layer. The concentration of O 1520 in the Y-O-F layer is about 10-30 at. % and the concentration of F 1540 is about 30-50 mol. %, with a higher 0 concentration at the surface of the YF.sub.3 coating 1405. The concentration of C 1522 is approximately unchanged.
The motivation for utilizing the features of Wu et al. is that it allows for protecting chamber components. (Paragraph 0008)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Wu et al. because it allows for protecting chamber components.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai in view of Yoshikawa et al. and Tian et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Chua et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2020/0402769 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
The difference not yet discussed is a diameter of the plate is approximately 12 cm or smaller.
Regarding claim 17, Chua et al. teach the diameter of the plate to be approximately 12 cm or smaller. (Paragraph 0039 1 to 15 cm)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Chua et al. is that it allows for smaller resonators to be used. (Paragraph 0039)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Chua et al. because it allows for smaller resonators to be used.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18 AND CLAIMS DEPENDENT THEREON:
Claim(s) 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai (U.S. PGPUB. 2010/0224324 A1) in view of Yoshikawa et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2015/0211125 A1) and Tian et al. (WO 2007/091672 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Kasai teaches a semiconductor tool comprising a resonator body, wherein the resonator body comprises a first dielectric material; a housing around the resonator body, wherein the housing comprises a volume in which a plasma can be formed. (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0041 - alumina for example as the resonator material)
The difference not yet discussed is a plate between the resonator body and the volume is not discussed (Claim 18), wherein the plate comprises a second dielectric material that is different than the first dielectric material is not discussed (Claim 18) and wherein the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body is not discussed (Claim 18) and the plate being concentric with the resonator is not discussed (Claim 18).
Regarding a plate between the resonator body and the volume (Claim 18), Yoshikawa et al. teach utilizing a plate between the resonator body and a volume. (Fig. 1 – item 41; Paragraph 0038)
Regarding wherein the plate comprises a second dielectric material that is different than the first dielectric material (Claim 18), since the list of materials encompass the possibility of selecting different materials from known materials it would be obvious to select the materials from a known list of materials for optimization for best result.
Regarding wherein the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body (Claim 18), Yoshikawa et al. teach the plate extends laterally beyond the resonator body. (Fig. 1)
Regarding the plate being concentric with the resonator (Claim 18), it appears from Yoshikawa et al. teach the plate is concentric with the resonator. However further in support thereof Tian et al. teach that the plate should be concentric with a resonator. (See Figs. 1-3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the second dielectric material comprises quartz, alumina, sapphire, MgF₂, yttrium aluminum garnet, YF₃, Y₂O₃, Y₄Al₂O₉, Y₃Al₅O₁₂, Y₅O₄F₇, MgO, calcium fluoride, barium fluoride, lithium fluoride, fused silica, borosilicate glass, Er₂O₃, Er₃Al₅O₁₂, Er₄Al₂O₉, Gd₂O₃, Gd4A1O₃, Gd₃Al₅O₁₂, Nd4Al₂O, NdAIO₃, Nd₂O₃, a rare earth oxyfluoride, or a solid solution of Y₂O₃ and one or more of ZrO₂, CaF₂, SrF₂, AIF₃, ErF₃, LaF₃, NdF₃, ScF₃, CeF4, and ZrF4.
Regarding claim 20, Yoshikawa et al. teach utilizing quartz or alumina. (Paragraph 0038 – quartz, alumina or aluminum nitride)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Yoshikawa et al. is that it allows plasma processing a workpiece. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Tian et al. is that it allows for utilizing microwaves to processing a semiconductor wafer. (Paragraph 0001)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kasai by utilizing the features of Yoshikawa and Tian et al. because it allows for plasma processing a workpiece.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasai in view of Yoshikawa and Tian et al. as applied to claims 18 and 20 above, and further in view of Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. (KR 102097436 B1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 19:
The difference not yet discussed is the coating covers all surfaces of the plate.
Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. teaches that quartz coated with yttria on the surface can be utilized and quartz is the material of the cover plate. (Paragraph 0080)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Bejing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. is that it allows for preventing contamination. (Paragraph 0080)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features Beijing Naura Microelectronics Equipment Co., Ltd. because it allows for preventing contamination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered.
In response to the argument that the prior art does not teach the newly amended claimed subject matter, it is argued that the newly cited references teach the newly amended claimed subject matter as discussed above.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
March 23, 2026