DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 11, 12, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(l) as
being anticipated by Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 Al).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Wakayanagi et al. teach a plasma source, comprising: a housing (12),
wherein a fluidic channel passes from a first end to a second end of the housing along a
horizontal direction, the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along
the horizontal direction; and an applicator intersecting the fluidic channel, wherein the applicator
comprises: a dielectric body (Fig. 5 - items 24, 32, 41, 51); and a pin (Figs. - item 16)
inserted in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical direction, wherein the dielectric body intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis (See Fig. 5 – where the dielectric body 51 intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis) (Also see Paragraphs 0065, 066 – [0065] According to the present embodiment, the target portion can be easily replaced without affecting the plasma generation state. 5 shows an example in which the outer diameter of the target 51 is made larger than the outer diameter of the antenna 16, the outer diameter of the antenna 16 is made smaller so that the outer diameter of the target 51 is a cylindrical rod-shaped inner conductor. It is also possible to make it equal to the outer diameter of 20.
[0066] Even when a dielectric is used as the material of the target 51, it is possible to generate plasma on the surface of the target 51 by electromagnetic waves propagated by the antenna 16.)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the sidewalls of the dielectric body 51 are spaced away from the sidewalls of the fluidic channel by a gap. (See Fig. 5; Paragraphs 0065, 0066)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
Regarding claim 4, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein a bottom of the dielectric body
Paragraph 0066) Even when a dielectric is used as the material of the target 51 is spaced
away from a bottom of the fluidic channel by a gap. (See Fig. 5)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
Regarding clam 6, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the dielectric body is cylindrical.
(Paragraph 0028, 0030 - coaxial to the rod; Also paragraphs 0064-0066 - diameter)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Wakayanagi et al. teach further comprising: a gas inlet at the first
end of the housing; and an exhaust at the second end of the housing. (See Fig. 1 for example)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Regarding claim 11, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the exhaust is fluidically coupled to
a processing chamber. (See Fig. 1 for example)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
Regarding claim 12, Wakayanagi et al. teach a semiconductor processing tool,
comprising: a processing chamber 12; and a plasma source fluidically coupled to the processing
chamber, wherein the plasma source comprises: a housing with a first end and a second end
along a horizontal direction., the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal
axis along the horizontal direction; a dielectric body at least partially within the housing between
the first end and the second end; and a pin in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical
direction, wherein the dielectric body intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis (See Fig. 5 – where the dielectric body 51 intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis) (See Figs. 5; Paragraphs 0065,0066)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
Regarding claim 15, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein sidewall surfaces of the dielectric
body and a bottom surf ace of the dielectric body are spaced away from internal surfaces of the
housing by a gap. (See Fig. 5)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Wakayanagi et al. teach a semiconductor processing tool,
comprising: a processing chamber; and a plasma source coupled to the processing chamber,
wherein the remote plasma source comprises: a housing with a fluidic path along a horizontal
direction, wherein a gas inlet is provided at a first end of the fluidic path, and an exhaust is
provided at a second end of the fluidic path, the second end overlapping with the first end along
a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction, wherein the exhaust is coupled to the
processing chamber; and a microwave applicator intersecting the fluidic path, wherein the
remote plasma source is configured to flow a gas through the fluidic path around the microwave
applicator, the microwave applicator having a pin along a vertical direction wherein the dielectric body intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis (See Fig. 5 – where the dielectric body 51 intersects the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis) (Also see Paragraphs 0065, 066
DEPENDENT CLAIM 19:
Regarding claim 19, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the microwave applicator
comprises a cylinder with the pin inserted in an axial center of the cylinder, wherein the cylinder
is a dielectric. (See Fig. 1 - item 24; Fig. 5 - item 51)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 Al) in view of Wang et al. (CN 110993479 B).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 3, 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the sidewalls of the dielectric body are separated from the sidewalls of the fluidic channel by a gap of approximately 10 mm or less.
Wang et al. teach "in one embodiment of the application, as shown in FIG. 1, the microwave antenna 2 is a cylindrical structure made of good conductor material. Specifically, the microwave antenna 2 can be made of aluminum and copper and other good conductor material, the specific structure can be cylindrical structure. Alternatively, the total length of the microwave antenna 2 can be 200 mm to 500 mm, the diameter of the microwave antenna 2 can be 10 mm to 40 mm the length of the first end 21 of the microwave antenna 2 into the waveguide 4 may be from O mm to 50 mm. Because the microwave antenna 2 corresponding to the length of the generating cavity 3 is set, so the inner diameter of the cavity 3 can be 100 millimeters to 200 millimeters, the cavity 3 of the axial length can be 300 millimeters to 60 millimeters. Adopting said design, it can make the embodiment application be applied to different processing technique, so as to effectively improve the application range of the embodiment application.".
Regarding claims 3, 16, Wang et al. suggest the a gap of approximately 10 mm using these numbers. (See Machine Translation)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the bottom of the dielectric body is spaced
away from a bottom of the fluidic channel by a gap of 10 mm or less.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teach the gap to be approximately 10 mm. (See Machine
Translation)
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cylinder is spaced away from an interior
surface of the housing by a gap that is approximately 10 mm or less.
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. suggest the a gap of approximately IO mm using these
numbers. (See Machine Translation)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Wang et al. is that it allows increasing plasma
process density for improving the process. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Wang et al.
because it allows for increasing plasma process density for improving the process.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U. S.C. I 03 as being unpatentable over
Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 Al) in view of Kasai (U.S. PGPUB. 2006/0137613 Al).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 9, 17:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the housing comprises aluminum.
Regarding claims 9, 17, Kasai teaches wherein the housing comprises aluminum.
(Paragraph 0044)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kasai is that it allows for containing the
plasma. (Paragraph 0045)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Kasia
because it allows for containing the plasma.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13, 14 are rejected under 3 5 U.S.C. I 03 as being unpatentable over
Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 Al) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,297,594),
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a dielectric liner is provided along interior
surfaces of the fluidic channel.
Regarding claim 7, Sakai et al. teach a dielectric liner is provided along interior surfaces
of the fluidic channel. (Column 4 lines 32-36 - Item 24)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the dielectric liner comprises a ceramic.
Regarding claim 8, Sakai et al. teach wherein the dielectric liner comprises a ceramic.
(Column 4 lines 32-36 - alumina)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is a lining on an interior surface of the housing is not
discussed.
Regarding claim 13, Sakai et al. teach a lining on an interior surface of the housing.
(Column 4 lines 32-36 - Item 24)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the lining comprises a dielectric ceramic
material.
Regarding claim 14, Sakai et al teach wherein the lining comprises a dielectric ceramic
material. (Column 4 lines 32-36 - alumina)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Sakai et al. is that it allows for preventing
heavy metal contamination. (Column 4 lines 32-36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Sakai et al.
because it allows for preventing heavy metal contamination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument that the prior art of record does not teach a dielectric body intersecting the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis along the horizontal axis, and a pin inserted in a hole in the dielectric, it is argued that Wakayanagi et al. teach in Fig. 5 a dielectric body intersecting the fluidic channel along the horizontal axis along the horizontal axis, and a pin inserted in a hole in the dielectric. (See Discussions above and Fig. 5)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
July 29, 2026