DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 11, 12, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Wakayanagi et al. teach a plasma source, comprising: a housing (12), wherein a fluidic channel passes from a first end to a second end of the housing along a horizontal direction, the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction; and an applicator intersecting the fluidic channel, wherein the applicator comprises: a dielectric body (Figs 1, 3, 4, 5 – items 24, 32, 41, 51); and a pin (Figs. – item 16) inserted in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical direction.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the sidewalls of the dielectric body are spaced away from the sidewalls of the fluidic channel by a gap. (See Fig. 5)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
Regarding claim 4, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein a bottom of the dielectric body Paragraph 0066) Even when a dielectric is used as the material of the target 51 is spaced away from a bottom of the fluidic channel by a gap. (See Fig. 5)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
Regarding clam 6, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the dielectric body is cylindrical. (Paragraph 0028, 0030 – coaxial to the rod; Also paragraphs 0064-0066 - diameter)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Wakayanagi et al. teach further comprising: a gas inlet at the first end of the housing; and an exhaust at the second end of the housing. (See Fig. 1 for example)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Regarding claim 11, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the exhaust is fluidically coupled to a processing chamber. (See Fig. 1 for example)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
Regarding claim 12, Wakayanagi et al. teach a semiconductor processing tool, comprising: a processing chamber; and a plasma source fluidically coupled to the processing chamber, wherein the plasma source comprises: a housing with a first end and a second end along a horizontal direction., the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction; a dielectric body at least partially within the housing between the first end and the second end; and a pin in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical direction. (See Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
Regarding claim 15, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein sidewall surfaces of the dielectric body and a bottom surf ace of the dielectric body are spaced away from internal surfaces of the housing by a gap. (See Fig. 5)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Wakayanagi et al. teach a semiconductor processing tool, comprising: a processing chamber; and a plasma source coupled to the processing chamber, wherein the remote plasma source comprises: a housing with a fluidic path along a horizontal direction, wherein a gas inlet is provided at a first end of the fluidic path, and an exhaust is provided at a second end of the fluidic path, the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction, wherein the exhaust is coupled to the
processing chamber; and a microwave applicator intersecting the fluidic path, wherein the remote plasma source is configured to flow a gas through the fluidic path around the microwave applicator, the microwave applicator having a pin along a vertical direction. (See Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 19:
Regarding claim 19, Wakayanagi et al. teach wherein the microwave applicator comprises a cylinder with the pin inserted in an axial center of the cylinder, wherein the cylinder is a dielectric. (See Fig. 1 – item 24; Fig. 5 – item 51)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 A1) in view of Wang et al. (CN 110993479 B).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 3, 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wl1erein the sidewalls of the dielectric body are
separated from the sidewalls of the fluidic channel by a gap of approximately 10 mm or less.
Wang et al. teach "in one embodiment of the application, as shown in FIG. 1, the
microwave antenna 2 is a cylindrical structure made of good conductor material.
Specifically, the microwave antenna 2 can be made of aluminum and copper and other
good conductor material, the specific structure can be cylindrical structure. Alternatively, the
total length of the microwave antenna 2 can be 200 mm to 500 mm, the diameter of the
microwave antenna 2 can be 10 mm to 40 mm The lengtl1 of the first end 21 of the
microwave antenna 2 into the waveguide 4 may be from 0 mm to 50 mm. Because the
microwave antenna 2 corresponding to the length of the generating cavity 3 is set, so t11e
inner diameter of the cavity 3 can be 100 millimeters to 200 millimeters, the cavity 3 of the
axial length can be 300 millimeters to 60 millimeters. Adopting said design, it can make the
embodiment application be applied to different processing technique, so as to effectively
improve the application range of the embodiment application.". Regarding claims 3, 16, Wang et
al. suggest the a gap of approximately 10 mm using these numbers. (See Machine Translation)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the bottom of the dielectric body is spaced
away from a bottom of the fluidic channel by a gap of 10 mm or less.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teach the gap to be approximately 10 mm. (See Machine
Translation)
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cylinder is spaced away from an interior
surface of the housing by a gap that is approximately 10 mm or less.
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. suggest the a gap of approximately 10 mm using these
numbers. (See Machine Translation)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Wang et al. is that it allows increasing plasma
process density for improving the process. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Wang et al.
because it allows for increasing plasma process density for improving the process.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U. S.C. I 03 as being unpatentable over Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 A1) in view of Kasai (U.S. PGPUB. 2006/0137613 Al).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 9, 17:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the housing comprises aluminum.
Regarding claims 9, 17, Kasai teaches wherein the housing comprises aluminum. (Paragraph 0044)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kasai is that it allows for containing the
plasma. (Paragraph 0045)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Kasia because it allows for containing the plasma.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13, 14 are rejected under 3 5 U.S.C. I 03 as being unpatentable over Wakayanagi et al. (JP 2005-082849 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,297,594),
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a dielectric liner is provided along interior
surfaces of the fluidic channel.
Regarding claim 7, Sakai et al. teach a dielectric liner is provided along interior surfaces
of the fluidic channel. (Column 4 lines 32-36 - Item 24)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the dielectric liner comprises a ceramic.
Regarding claim 8, Sakai et al. teach wherein the dielectric liner comprises a ceramic.
(Column 4 lines 32-36 - alumina)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is a lining on an interior surface of the housing is not
discussed.
Regarding claim 13, Sakai et al. teach a lining on an interior surface of the housing.
(Column 4 lines 32-36 - Item 24)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the lining comprises a dielectric ceramic
material.
Regarding claim 14, Sakai et al teach wherein the lining comprises a dielectric ceramic
material. (Column 4 lines 32-36 - alumina)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Sakai et al. is that it allows for preventing
heavy metal contamination. (Column 4 lines 32-36)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Wakayanagi et al. by utilizing the features of Sakai et al. because it allows for preventing heavy metal contamination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument that the prior art does not teach a plasma source including a housing, wherein a fluidic channel passes from a first end to a second end of the housing along a horizontal direction, the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction, and an applicator intersecting the fluidic channel, wherein the applicator comprises a pin inserted in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical direction, it is argued that Wakayanagi et al. teach a plasma source including a housing, wherein a fluidic channel passes from a first end to a second end of the housing along a horizontal direction, the second end overlapping with the first end along a horizontal axis along the horizontal direction, and an applicator intersecting the fluidic channel, wherein the applicator comprises a pin inserted in a hole in the dielectric body, the pin along a vertical direction. (See Figs. 1, 5)
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
March 3, 2026