DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 and 12 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection. Claim 1-9 and 13-23 are no longer considered allowable due to new interpretation of the claims, current prior art and newly found prior are.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one transducer comprises at least one speaker not in mechanical communication with either the first substrate support or the second substrate support” and “a first substrate comprising first microelectronic elements and the second element comprises a second substrate comprising second microelectronic elements” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the first element and the second element" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 23 recites the limitation "that at least one of the first and second elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner is taking claims 22 and 23 to be dependent upon claim 1 or claim 10.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “a first substrate support to hold a first substrate; a second substrate support to hold a second substrate and to controllably release the second substrate, at least one of the first substrate support and the second substrate support to move at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate to contact one another to initiate a bonding process of the first substrate to the second substrate, at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate undergoing first vibrations during the bonding process; and at least one transducer to controllably generate and transmit second vibrations to at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process, the second vibrations to reduce vibration-induced distortions of the at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the Applicant seems to be relying on functional/intended use language. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
If the Applicant’s choose to invoke 112(f) the claim should probably read as “a (first) means [referring to a first substrate support in the specification] to hold a first substrate; another (a second) means [referring to a second substrate support in the specification] to hold a second substrate and to controllably release the second substrate, at least one of the first and second/another means to move at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate to contact one another to initiate a bonding process of the first substrate to the second substrate, at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate undergoing first vibrations during the bonding process; and a third means [referring to at least one transducer in the specification] to controllably generate and transmit second vibrations to at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process, the second vibrations to reduce vibration-induced distortions of the at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 14-23 inherit the deficiencies due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 2007/0065985 A1 now US 7,523,775 B2) in view of MA et al. (MA) (CN 114836615 A) as evidenced by or in view of Luechinger et al. (Luechinger) (US 2013/0042960 A1).
In regards to claim 10, Matsumura (claim 1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) discloses a method comprising: bonding a first element (items 4 or 6) to a second element (items 4 or 6) in a bond initiation region (where items 10 and 11 or 10a, 10b, 11a, and 11b reside), the bond initiation region having first vibrations (20, 25 or 30 KHz); and externally applying predetermined second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz) to at least one of the first and second elements (items 4 and 6) during said bonding, the second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz) configured to reduce distortions from the first vibrations, but does not specifically disclose the second vibrations counteracting the first vibrations so as to reduce distortions from the first vibrations.
MA (Background) discloses a double frequency transducer to output ultrasonic vibration of two different frequencies for ultrasonic bonding.
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MA for the purpose of controlling and adjusting amplitude value of the ultrasonic driving signal with different frequencies, so as to adapt to different application requirements.
Therefore Matsumura as modified by MA (Background) discloses externally applying predetermined second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA) to at least one of the first and second elements (items 4 and 6) during said bonding, the second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA) (out of phase with the first vibration in the bond initiation region and) counteracting the first vibrations so as to reduce distortions from the first vibrations (20, 25 or 30 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA).
Matsumura as modified by MA does not specifically disclose the second vibrations are out of phase with the first vibrations.
As evidenced by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text), in-phase and out-of-phase ultrasonic bonding (Figs. 2D and 2E) can be performed, thus wherein the second vibrations (item 266) are out of phase with the first vibrations (item 244).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Luechinger for the purpose of improving bond formation (paragraph 31).
In regards to claim 12, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) and Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses hybrid bonding (paragraph 55).
In regards to claim 22, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) and Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the first element and the second element has a thickness in a range of 10 μm to 300 μm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include at least one of the first element and the second element having a thickness in a range of 10 μm to 300 μm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
In regards to claim 23, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) and Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one transducer (not shown, paragraph 30) is centrally located with respect to the at least one of the first and second elements (items 4 and 6, Matsumura).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 2007/0065985 A1 now US 7,523,775 B2) in view of MA et al. (MA) (CN 114836615 A) as evidenced by or in view of Luechinger et al. (Luechinger) (US 2013/0042960 A1), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Molnar et al. (Molnar) (US 2023/0187407 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) and Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) does not specifically disclose wherein said bonding comprises direct hybrid bonding.
Molnar (paragraph 115) discloses hybrid bonding.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Molnar for the purpose of direct bond and low pitch interconnection (paragraph 115).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 13-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2021/0104405 A1) in view of Luechinger et al. (Luechinger) (US 2013/0042960 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) discloses a method comprising: supporting a first element (item S1); supporting a second element (item S2) spaced from the first element (item S1); moving at least one of the first element (item S1) and the second element (item S2) to contact first regions (central regions of items S1 and S2) of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2) with one another while second regions (peripheral regions of items S1 and S2) of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2) are not in contact with one another, the first regions (central region of items S1 and S2) directly bonding to one another to form a bond interface without adhesive; directly bonding the second regions (peripheral regions of items S1 and S2) of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2) to one another without adhesive by controllably releasing one of the first element and the second element (items S1 and S2) such that the bond interface and a boundary between the bond interface and the second regions (peripheral regions of items S1 and S2) not in contact with one another expands radially away from the first regions (central region of items S1 and S2), the second regions (peripheral regions of items S1 and S2) having first vibrations within a bond initiation region bordering the boundary; and externally applying second vibrations (buy way of item 230, paragraph 38) to at least one of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2) during said directly bonding, but does not specifically disclose second vibrations in antiphase with the first vibrations in the bond initiation region.
Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses in-phase and out-of-phase ultrasonic bonding (Figs. 2D and 2E), thus the second vibrations (item 266) in antiphase with the first vibrations (item 244) in the bond initiation region.
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Luechinger for the purpose of improving bond formation (paragraph 31).
In regard to claim 2, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) discloses wherein the first element (item S1) comprises a first substrate (item S1) comprising first microelectronic elements (not shown) and the second element (item S2) comprises a second substrate (item S2) comprising second microelectronic elements (not shown). Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art the substrates can comprise microelectronics on and/or within the substrate.
In regard to claim 3, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) discloses wherein the first element (item S1) comprises a first bonding surface (upper surface of item S1) and the second element (item S2) comprises a second bonding surface (bottom surface of item S2), wherein said directly bonding directly bonds the first bonding surface (upper surface of item S1) to the second bonding surface (bottom surface of item S2) to one another without the adhesive between the first and second bonding surfaces (upper surface of item S1 and bottom surface of item S2).
In regard to claim 4, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the second vibrations reduce vibrational distortions of at least one of the first and second bonding surfaces during said directly bonding as compared to directly bonding the first bonding surface to the second bonding surface to one another without said externally applying the second vibrations to the at least one of the first and second elements during said directly bonding.
In regard to claim 6, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses further comprising receiving information indicative of the first vibrations (by way of vibration sensor, item 310), in response to the information, generating the second vibrations (paragraphs 36, 38).
In regard to claim 7, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein said receiving the information comprises calculating, prior to initiating said directly bonding, the first vibrations within the bond initiation region as a function of time (paragraphs 34-41).
In regard to claim 8, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein said calculating is performed using information selected from the group consisting of: sizes, thicknesses, and/or materials of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2); dimensions and other properties of an apparatus supporting the first and second elements (items S1 and S2); temperature or other environmental conditions of the first and second elements (items S1 and S2).
In regard to claim 9, Kim (Fig. 1, 3A-3E, 6A-6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28, 31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses further comprising receiving feedback information from at least one sensor (item 310), the feedback information indicative of conditions during said directly bonding, and in response to said feedback information, dynamically modifying the second vibrations (by way of item 230).
In regards to claim 13. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) discloses an apparatus comprising: a first substrate support (item 100) configured to hold a first substrate (item S1); a second substrate support (item 200) to hold a second substrate (item S2) and to controllably release the second substrate (item S2), at least one of the first substrate support (item 100) and the second substrate support (item 200) to move at least one of the first substrate (item S1) and the second substrate (item S2) to contact one another to initiate a bonding process of the first substrate (item S1) to the second substrate (item S2), at least one of the first substrate (item S1) and the second substrate (item S2) undergoing first vibrations during the bonding process; and at least one (transducer) pressurization device (item 230, paragraph 38) controllably generate and transmit second vibrations to at least one of the first substrate (item S1) and the second substrate (item S2) during the bonding process, the second vibrations configured to reduce vibration-induced distortions of the at least one of the first substrate (item S1) and the second substrate (item S2) during the bonding process. Examiner notes that “to hold a first substrate…to hold a second substrate and to controllably release the second substrate…to move at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate to contact one another to initiate a bonding process of the first substrate to the second substrate, at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate undergoing first vibrations during the bonding process…to controllably generate and transmit second vibrations to at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process, the second vibrations to reduce vibration-induced distortions of the at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate during the bonding process” is intended use language.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiated the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Mashim, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Kim does not specifically disclose a transducer.
Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses an upper and lower transducer or a common transducer (not shown, paragraph 30).
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Luechinger for the purpose of improving bond formation (paragraph 31) and applying various vibrations.
In regards to claim 14. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) is in mechanical communication with at least one of the first substrate support (item 100, Kim) and the second substrate support (item 200, Kim), the second vibrations propagating from the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) to at least one of the first substrate (item S1, Kim) and the second substrate (item S2, Kim).
In regards to claim 15. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) is in direct contact with the at least one of the first substrate (item S1, Kim)and the second substrate (item S2, Kim) such that the second vibrations propagate from the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) directly to the at least one of the first substrate (item S1, Kim) and the second substrate (item S2, Kim).
In regards to claim 16. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the second vibrations propagate from the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ), through at least a portion of the at least one of the first substrate support (item 100, Kim) and the second substrate support (item 200, Kim), to the at least one of the first substrate (item S1, Kim) and the second substrate (item S1, Kim).
In regards to claim 17. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) comprises at least one speaker not in mechanical communication with either the first substrate support (item 100, Kim) or the second substrate support (item 200, Kim), the at least one speaker configured to generate and transmit sonic vibrations through air to at least one of the first substrate (item S1, Kim) and the second substrate (item S2, Kim), the sonic vibrations configured to generate the second vibrations.
In regards to claim 18. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one transducer (item 230, Kim, upper and lower or common transducers mentioned, not shown, Luechinger ) comprises at least one piezoelectric transducer.
In regards to claim 19. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the second vibrations are configured to destructively interfere with the first vibrations in a bond initiation region during the bonding process.
In regards to claim 20. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the first vibrations have a predetermined first modal distribution as a function of time during the bonding process and the second vibrations have a second modal distribution as a function of time during the bonding process, at least a portion of the second modal distribution in antiphase to at least a portion of the first modal distribution.
In regards to claim 21. Kim (Fig. 1, 3E, 6E and associated text) as modified by Luechinger (paragraphs 28-31, Figs. 2D, 2E and associated text) discloses wherein the first modal distribution as a function of time comprises a first linear superposition of a plurality of vibration modes, each vibration mode having a corresponding amplitude and phase as a function of time and the second modal distribution F.sub.2(t) can comprise a second linear superposition of the plurality of vibrational modes of the first vibrations, but with each vibration mode having substantially equal amplitudes and substantially opposite phases as those of the first vibrations.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2021/0104405 A1) in view of Luechinger et al. (Luechinger) (US 2013/0042960 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9 and 13-21 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Gao) (US 2019/0385966 A1).
In regard to claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the first element comprises a first substrate comprising first microelectronic elements and the second element comprises a second substrate comprising second microelectronic elements.
In regard to claim 2, Gao (paragraph 7, Fig. 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first element (item 102 at the top or bottom) comprises a first substrate (item 104) comprising first microelectronic elements (items 110, 112, 114) and the second element (item 102 at the top or bottom) comprises a second substrate (item 104) comprising second microelectronic elements (items 110, 112, 114).
In regard to claim 5, Gao (paragraph 7, Fig. 2 and associated text) discloses wherein said directly bonding comprises direct hybrid bonding (paragraph 8, 43).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gao for the purpose of device density and a reliable bond.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 15, 2026