DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-12 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 2007/0065985 A1 now US 7,523,775 B2) in view of MA et al. (MA) (CN 114836615 A).
In regards to claim 10, Matsumura (claim 1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) discloses a method comprising: bonding a first element (items 4 or 6) to a second element (items 4 or 6) in a bond initiation region (where items 10 and 11 or 10a, 10b, 11a, and 11b reside), the bond initiation region having first vibrations (20, 25 or 30 KHz); and externally applying predetermined second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz) to at least one of the first and second elements (items 4 and 6) during said bonding, the second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz) configured to reduce distortions from the first vibrations, but does not specifically disclose the second vibrations counteracting the first vibrations so as to reduce distortions from the first vibrations.
MA (Background) discloses a double frequency transducer to output ultrasonic vibration of two different frequencies for ultrasonic bonding.
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MA for the purpose of controlling and adjusting amplitude value of the ultrasonic driving signal with different frequencies, so as to adapt to different application requirements.
Therefore Matsumura as modified by MA (Background) discloses externally applying predetermined second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA) to at least one of the first and second elements (items 4 and 6) during said bonding, the second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA) counteracting the first vibrations so as to reduce distortions from the first vibrations (20, 25 or 30 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA).
In regards to claim 11, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) discloses wherein the second vibrations (40, 50 or 60 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA) are out of phase with the first vibrations (20, 25 or 30 KHz, Matsumura as modified by MA).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US 2007/0065985 A1 now US 7,523,775 B2) in view of MA et al. (MA) (CN 114836615 A) as applied to claims 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Molnar et al. (Molnar) (US 2023/0187407 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Matsumura (claim1, paragraph 20, Figs. 1-3 and associated text) as modified by MA (Background) does not specifically disclose wherein said bonding comprises direct hybrid bonding.
Molnar (paragraph 115) discloses hybrid bonding.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Molnar for the purpose of direct bond and low pitch interconnection (paragraph 115).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 13-23 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 December 9, 2025