DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on October 21, 2025 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, “mode filed diameter” is misspelled should be changed to “mode field diameter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-12, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagayama et al. (US 2002/0044753 A1) in view of Bickham et al. (US 8,315,495 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Nagayama discloses an optical fiber (Fig. 7), comprising: a core region (600) defined by a core relative refractive index; and a cladding region surrounding the core region (700), wherein the cladding region is down-doped with only a down-dopant for the entire radial cladding thickness (paragraph 0134); wherein the cladding region comprises an inner cladding region (701) and an outer cladding region (702), the inner cladding region is defined by an inner cladding relative refractive index, the outer cladding region is defined by an outer cladding relative refractive index, wherein the inner cladding relative refractive index is less than the outer cladding relative refractive index (Fig. 7; paragraphs 0130, 0134); and wherein the optical fiber is an ultra-low loss optical fiber (see abstract).
Still regarding claim 1, Nagayama teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the core relative refractive index is in a range of -0.06% to +0.06% and the outer cladding relative refractive index is in a range of -0.25% to -0.28%. However, Nagayama discloses the core average relative refractive index difference is in a range of 0.01% to 0.12% (paragraph 0137) and the outer cladding average relative refractive index difference is ≥ -0.26% (paragraph 0136). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed relative refractive index ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, Nagayama teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the core radius and mode field diameter. Bickham discloses an optical fiber comprising a core region (Figs. 1A, 1B, 3 and 15) with a radius between 6.1 µm and 6.5 µm (Table 1, Example 2), and wherein the optical fiber has a mode field diameter (MFD) of 12.5±0.5 nm wavelength (Table 2A, Example 2). Since both inventions relate to optical fibers, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use the core radius and mode field diameter as disclosed by Bickham in the fiber of Nagayama for the purpose of increasing the effective area of the optical fiber. Further, Bickham discloses a cable cutoff wavelength of 1537 nm in Table 2A, but states that the effective fiber cutoff is lower than the theoretical cutoff and the cable cutoff wavelength is typically lower than the measured fiber cutoff due to higher levels of bending and mechanical pressure in the cable environment (column 4, lines 25-53). As such, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to arrive at the claimed cable cutoff wavelength of 1530 nm in order to control the propagation of desired modes, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the macro-bend loss. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed macro-bend loss in order to minimize transmission losses, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 7-9, Nagayama discloses the inner cladding region (701) has a first fluorinated (paragraph 0134) region T1 defined by a thickness r2 – r1, which is a difference between an inner cladding radius and a core radius, the outer cladding region (702) has a second fluorinated region T2 defined by a thickness r3 - r2, which is a difference between an outer cladding radius and the inner cladding radius, and wherein the thickness of the first fluorinated region T1 is less than the thickness of the second fluorinated region T2 in Fig. 7.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the inner and outer cladding radii. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed inner cladding radius and outer cladding radius, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the relative refractive index of the inner cladding. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed relative refractive index of the inner cladding, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the attenuation. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed attenuation in order to minimize transmission losses, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the macro-bend loss. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed macro-bend loss in order to minimize transmission losses, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, the proposed combination of Nagayama and Bickham teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the dispersion slope. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed dispersion slope in order to arrive at a higher capacity waveguide with a larger effective area, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.id crystal moleculesand specifically stating the exposure voltage greater than a
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed October 21, 2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 February 5, 2026