DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed 12/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 10-16 and 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference Wei et al. (US 2022/013991 A1). Regarding claims 10-16 the combination of Wei et al. (US 2022/013991 A1) with Lee et al. (KR 2023-0108565) meet the limitations of claims 10-16 as presented below. Regarding claims 21-22 the combination of Wei et al. (US 2022/013991 A1) with Morrow et al. (US 2018/0248012 A1) meet the limitations of claims 21-22 as presented below. Regarding claim 23 the combination of Wei et al. (US 2022/013991 A1) with Morrow et al. (US 2018/0248012 A1) and Lee et al. (KR 2023-0108565) meet the limitations of claims 23 as presented below. Regarding claim 24 the combination of Wei et al. (US 2022/013991 A1) with Morrow et al. (US 2018/0248012 A1) and Chu et al. (US 2021/0391421 A1) meet the limitations of claims 24 as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 2022/0139911 A1, hereinafter Wei ‘911).
With respect to Claim 1 Wei ‘911 discloses a method (Fig 1-8) for manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming (disclosed in Para [0066]) a fin (359, Fig 3C, Para [0066]) over a substrate (350, Fig 3C, Para [0066]) in a third direction (z direction as shown in Fig 3C), wherein the fin (359) comprises first semiconductor layers (356, FIG 3B, Para [0063]) and second semiconductor layers (354, Fig 3B, Para [0063]) alternately stacked (disclosed in Para [0063])(Fig 3C discloses fin 359 comprising 354 and 356);
forming (disclosed in Para [0068]) a dummy gate structure (361, Fig 3C, Para [0068]) extending in a second direction (x direction as shown in Fig 3C) and over the fin (359)(361 over 359 disclosed in Fig 3C);
forming (disclosed in Para [0089]) a first source/drain feature (left 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) and a second source/drain feature (right 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) on opposite sides of the dummy gate structure (361) in a first direction (y direction as shown in Fig 3I)(Fig 3I discloses first and second source/drain features on opposite sides of 361);
removing (disclosed in Para [0095] and Fig 3K) the dummy gate structure (361) and the first semiconductor layers (356)(Para [0095] discloses removing 356) in the fin (359) to form a gate trench (gate trench is not numbered in Figures, but Para [0095] discloses removing the dummy gate structure (361) and semiconductor layers (356) leaves an opening, hereinafter referred to as GT);
forming (disclosed in Para [0095]) a gate structure (371, Fig 3K, Para [0095]) in the gate trench (GT), wherein the gate structure (371) wraps around the second semiconductor layers (354)(Para [0096] discloses gate stack 371 wraps around 354, “…a portion of the first semiconductor material 354 of the nanoribbon 375-1 that is wrapped (at least partially) by the gate stack 371-2”); and
forming a via (364/383, Fig 3P, Para [0108]) in contact with a bottom surface (bottom of left 366 as shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911) of the first source/drain feature (left 366), wherein the bottom surface (bottom of left 366 as shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911) of the first source/drain feature (left 366) is a first distance (first distance as shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911, hereinafter fd) from the substrate (350), a bottom surface (bottom of right 366 as shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911) of the second source/drain feature (right 366) is a second distance (second distance as shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911, hereinafter sd) from the substrate (350), and the first distance (fd) is greater than the second distance (sd)(annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911 discloses fd is greater than sd).
With respect to Claim 2 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Wei ‘911 discloses further wherein a ratio of a width (385, Fig 3S, Para [0115]) of the via (364/383) in the first direction (y direction) to a thickness (387-2, Fig 3S, Para [0115]) of the via (364/383) in the third direction (z direction) is greater than 1 (Fig 3S discloses 385 as larger than 387-2 therefore the ratio of 385:387-2 is greater than 1).
With respect to Claim 3 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, wherein the via (364/383) extends directly under the gate structure (371) in the third direction (z direction)(Fig 3S discloses 364/383 extending directly under gate spacers 362).
With respect to Claim 4 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein the formation of the via (364/383) comprises:
performing a chemical mechanical polishing process (Para [0102] discloses a CMP process to thin substrate) to thin the substrate (350);
removing the substrate (350) directly under the first source/drain feature (left 366) and a portion (one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the etch process to create the opening 379 (disclosed in Para [0106]) will remove at least a small amount, Å or more) of the first source/drain (left 366) feature to form an opening (379, Fig 3O, Para 0106]); and depositing a conductive material (378, Fig 3O, Para [0108]) in the opening (379) to form the via (364/383).
With respect to Claim 5 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein the via (364/383) has a substantially flat surface (Fig 3P discloses 364/383 has a flat surface as it contacts the first source/drain) in contact with the bottom surface (bottom of left 366 as shown in Fig 3P) of the first source/drain feature (left 366).
With respect to Claim 6 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein the formation of the first source/drain feature (left 366) and the second source/drain feature (right 366) comprises:
etching a first region (region of 367-1, Fig 3D, Para [0073]) of the fin (359) to form a first source/drain trench (367-1, Fig 3D, Para [0073]) in the first region (region of 367-1);
etching a second region (region of 367-2, Fig 3D, Para [0073]) of the fin (359) to form a second source/drain trench (367-2, Fig 3D, Para [0073]) in the second region (region of 367-2); and
forming (forming first and second source/drain features in trenches disclosed in Para [0089]) the first source/drain feature (left 366) in the first source/drain trench (367-1) and the second source/drain feature (right 366) in the second source/drain trench (367-2).
With respect to Claim 7 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein a length of the via (364/383) in the second direction (x direction) is greater than a length of the first source/drain feature (left 366) in the second direction (x direction)(upper image of 3O discloses left 366 does not extend the entire length of liner 364 in the x direction and the upper image of Fig 3R shows 364/383 extends the entire length of the x direction so length of 364/383 in the x direction is greater than a length of left 366 in the x direction).
With respect to Claim 8 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, wherein a distance from the bottom surface of the first source/drain feature (bottom of opening 353, Fig 3A, Para [0061] is the bottom of left 366) to the bottom surface of the second source/drain feature (top of opening 353, Fig 3A, Para [0061] is the bottom of right 366) in the third direction (z direction) is in a range from about 10 nm to about 50 nm.
Wei ‘911 teaches (dimension 355, Fig 3A, Para [0061] is the dimension of opening 353 in the z direction. Para [0061] discloses 355 ranges from 2nm to 50 nm therefore the distance, in the z direction, from bottom of left 366 to the bottom of right 366 covers the range of 10nm to 50nm). The instant application paragraph 0062 does not disclose any criticality to the claimed depth range. Wei ‘911 in paragraph 0115 teaches the dimensions are critical in the fabrication process of the via to connect to the source/drain feature. The entire range of 10-50nm would perform the same function of fabricating a via to connect to the source/drain feature. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence demonstrating a difference across the range, Wei ‘911 discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei ‘911 in view of Lee et al. (KR 2023-0108565, hereinafter Lee ‘565) in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 9 Wei ‘911 discloses all limitations of the method of claim 1, and but Wei ‘911 fails to explicitly disclose comprising:
forming a source/drain contact over and electrically connected to the first source/drain feature.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-20b of Lee ‘565), Lee ‘565 teaches forming (formation of 195 disclosed in Para [0142] of Lee ‘565) a source/drain contact (195, Fig 19a of Lee ‘565, Para [0142]) over (disclosed in Fig 19a) and electrically connected to (Para [0142] of Lee ‘565 discloses making a conductive connection between 195 and 150A) the source/drain feature (150A, Fig 14a, Para [0121])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Lee ‘565’s teaching forming a source/drain contact over and electrically connected to the first source/drain feature into Wei ‘911’s method. Wei ‘911 teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device and teaches methods to form contacts to that device but it is silent on the formation of a via over the source/drain feature. Lee ‘565 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device and further teaches the formation of vias over the source/drain features. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wei ‘911 in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Lee ‘565 teaches in Para [0066] these vias enable signals to be sent to the source/drain areas which would increase the functionality of the device.
As incorporated, the teaching of forming a via over source/drain (150A) of Lee ‘565 would be used to form a source/drain contact over the first source/drain feature (left 366) in the method of Wei ‘911.
With respect to Claim 10 Wei ‘911 discloses a method (Fig 1-8) for manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming (disclosed in Para [0066]) fins (359, Fig 3C, Para [0066] discloses a plurality of 359) over a substrate (350, Fig 3C, Para [0066]) in a third direction (z direction as shown in Fig 3C), wherein each of the fins (359) comprises first semiconductor layers (356, FIG 3B, Para [0063]) and second semiconductor layers (354, Fig 3B, Para [0063]) alternately stacked (disclosed in Para [0063])(Fig 3C discloses fin 359 comprising 354 and 356;
forming (disclosed in Para [0068]) a dummy gate structure (361, Fig 3C, Para [0068]) extending in a second direction (x direction as shown in Fig 3C) and over the fins (359)(361 over 359 disclosed in Fig 3C);
forming (disclosed in Para [0089]) first source/drain features (left 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) and second source/drain features (right 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) in the fins (359) (Fig 3C-3I discloses forming first and second source/drain features in fins 359), wherein a thickness (thickness of first source/drain from top to bottom as shown in annotated Fig 3I of Wei ‘911, hereinafter tfsd) of the first source/drain features (left 366) is greater than a thickness (thickness of second source/drain from top to bottom as shown in annotated Fig 3I of Wei ‘911, hereinafter tssd) of the second source/drain features (right 366)(thickness of first source/drain greater than thickness of second source/drain shown in annotated Fig 3I of Wei ‘911 and disclosed in Para [0075]);
removing (disclosed in Para [0095] and Fig 3K) the dummy gate structure (361) and the first semiconductor layers (356)(Para [0095] discloses removing 356) in the fins (359) to expose (Para [0095] discloses354 exposed during process) the second semiconductor layers (354);
forming (disclosed in Para [0095]) a gate structure (371, Fig 3K, Para [0095]) wrapping around the second semiconductor layers (354)(Para [0096] discloses gate stack 371 wraps around 354, “…a portion of the first semiconductor material 354 of the nanoribbon 375-1 that is wrapped (at least partially) by the gate stack 371-2”); and
forming vias (364/383, Fig 3P, Para [0108]) in contact with the first source/drain features (left 366 as shown in Fig 3P), wherein a width (a width of 364/383 in y direction is shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911) of the vias (364/383) in a first direction (y direction as shown in Fig 3P) is greater than a thickness (a thickness of 364/383 in a direction is shown in annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911) of the vias (364/383) in the third direction (z direction as shown in Fig 3P)(annotated Fig 3P of Wei ‘911 discloses width of 364/383 in first direction is greater than a thickness of 364/383 in third direction).
But Wei ‘911 fails to explicitly disclose forming an isolation structure between the fins; the dummy gate structure extending in a second direction and over the isolation structure and forming vias in contact with the first source/drain features and the isolation structure.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-20b of Lee ‘565), Lee ‘565 teaches forming an isolation structure (110, Fig 2b of Lee ‘565, Para [0025]) between the fins (105/140/120/121, Fig 9b of Lee ‘565, Para [0100], hereinafter FINS)(Fig 2b of Lee ‘565 discloses 110 between FINS); the dummy gate (200, Fig 13a of Lee ‘565, Para [0116]) structure extending in a second direction (x direction as shown in Fig 13b of Lee ‘565) and over the isolation structure (110)(dummy gate 200 over 110 and FINS disclosed in Fig 13b of Lee ‘565) and forming vias (182/185, Fig 20a of Lee ‘565, Para [0148]) (Para [0145–0148] of Lee ‘565 disclose making an opening (via) OP and subsequently filling the via) in contact with the source/drain features (150, Fig 14A of Lee ‘565, Para [0121]) and the isolation structure (110)(arrangement disclosed in Fig 20a and 20b of Lee ‘565),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Lee ‘565’s teachings of forming an isolation structure between the fins; the dummy gate structure extending in a second direction and over the isolation structure and forming vias in contact with the first source/drain features and the isolation structure into Lee ‘565’s device. Wei ‘911 teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device and teaches the substrate upon which the device is built can have different forms, including a silicon-on-insulator structure (Para [0039], but Wei’995 is silent on the details of those substrate compositions. Lee ‘565 teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device and further teaches the formation of insolation structures within the device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee ‘565 in the manner set forth above, at least, because including the isolation layer on the substrate would provide additional dielectric protection for the device against parasitic capacitance.
As incorporated, the isolation structure (110) of Lee ‘565 would be formed between the fins (359 of Wei ‘911) so that the dummy gate structure (361 of Wei ‘911) extending in a second direction and over the isolation structure (359 of Wei ‘911) and therefore the vias (364/383 of Wei ‘911) would be in contact with the first source/drain features (left 366) and the isolation structure (110 of Lee ‘565) as incorporated in the device Wei ‘911.
With respect to Claim 11 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 10, and Wei ‘911 discloses further wherein forming the vias (364/383) results in the first source/drain features (left 366) having substantially flat bottom surfaces (Fig 3P discloses 364/383 has a flat surface as it contacts the flat surface of first source/drain, left 366).
With respect to Claim 12 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 10, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein forming the vias (364/383) comprises forming a first via (364/383, Fig 3P, Para [0108]) extending from the gate structure (371) to an adjacent gate structure (center gate 371 as shown in Fig 3R)(Fig 3R discloses via 364/383 extend from gate spacer of left 371 to gate spacer of center 371).
With respect to Claim 13 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 10, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein forming the first source/drain features (left 366) and the second source/drain features (right 366) comprises forming the first source/drain features (left 366) and the second source/drain features (right 366) each having at least two sidewalls (left and right sides of left 366 and right 366) in contact with respective gate spacers (362 of gates 371)(Fig 3R discloses left and right sides of left 366 and right 366 contact two sidewalls (spacers 362) of gates 371).
With respect to Claim 14 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 13, wherein forming the vias comprises forming the vias (vias 364/383) that extend beyond the respective gate spacers (right spacer 362 of leftmost gate structure 371 and left spacer 362 of center gate structure 371) there above along the second direction (x direction)(upper image of Fig 3R discloses via 364/383 extends in second direction x and the lower image of Fig 3R shows that via 364/383 extends over the right spacer 362 of the leftmost 371 and the right spacer 362 of the center 371).
With respect to Claim 15 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 10, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein forming the vias comprises forming the vias (364/383) having square profile in a top view (upper image of Fig 3R)(upper image of Fig 3R discloses 364/383 as having a square profile),
But Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 fails to explicitly disclose the width of the vias being in a range from about 6 nm to about 200 nm.
Nevertheless, Wei ‘911 does teach, in Para [0115], provides teachings for the dimensions of the via (364/383) to enable a connection to source/drain feature.
However, Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed the width of the vias being in a range from about 6 nm to about 200 nm is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed range). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (MPEP 2144.04 IV)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, absent unexpected results to use the width of the vias being in a range from about 6 nm to about 200 nm is critical to the overall claimed invention. As stated above, Wei ‘911 teaches that the via should be of sufficiently small diameter to connect the source bottom surface. Therefore the width of the via being in a range from about 6 nm to about 200 nm would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a result of routine experimentation to use the width of the via to from a sufficiently small diameter to connect the source bottom surface as taught by the method of Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565.
As described above, the width of the via as being between 6 nm to 200 nm would be incorporated in the width of via 185 in the method of as modified by Lee ‘565.
With respect to Claim 16 Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 10, and Wei ‘911 as modified by Lee ‘565 further discloses wherein the formation of the vias comprises:
removing the substrate (350) (Para [0102] discloses a CMP process to remove substrate 350); and
forming the vias (formation of 364/383 disclosed in Para [0108]) in the substrate (350) and in contact with (Fig 3P and Para [0108] discloses 364/383 in contact with left 366) the first source/drain features (left 366) and the isolation structure (110 of Lee ‘565 as incorporated in Wei ‘911)(as incorporated the isolation structure would be over the substrate, therefore the vias 364/383 would be in contact with that isolation structure).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei ‘911 in view of Morrow et al. (US 2018/0248012 A1, hereinafter Morrow ‘012) in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 21 Wei ‘911 discloses a method (Fig 1-8), comprising:
forming a stack (357, Fig 3B, Para [0063]) comprising alternately stacked first nanostructures (356, Fig 3B, Para [0063]) and second nanostructures (354, Fig 3B, Para [0063])(Para [0018 and 0063] disclose stack comprised of nanoribbons);
forming (disclosed in Para [0089]) a first source/drain trench (367-1, Fig 3D, Para [0073]) adjacent the stack (357)(357 adjacent to 367-1 shown in Fig 3D), the first source/drain trench (367-1) extending to a first depth (first depth of 367-1 shown in annotated Fig 3D of Wei ‘911, hereinafter fd);
after forming the first source/drain trench (367-1), forming a second source/drain trench (367-2, Fig 3D, Para [0073])(367-2 formed after 367-1 disclosed in Para [0073]) adjacent the stack (357)(357 adjacent to 367-2 shown in Fig 3D) opposite the first source/drain trench (367-1)(Fig 3D shows 367-2 opposite 367-1 relative to 357) relative to the stack (357), the second source/drain trench (367-2) extending to a second depth (second depth of 367-1 shown in annotated Fig 3D of Wei ‘911, hereinafter sd) different than the first depth (annotated Fig 3D of Wei ‘911 discloses fd and sd are different);
forming a first source/drain feature (left 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) in the first source/drain trench (367-1) and a second source/drain feature (right 366, Fig 3I, Para [0089]) in the second source/drain trench (367-2);
forming (disclosed in Para [0095]) a gate structure (371, Fig 3K, Para [0095]) wrapping around the second nanostructures (354)(Para [0096] discloses gate stack 371 wraps around 354, “…a portion of the first semiconductor material 354 of the nanoribbon 375-1 that is wrapped (at least partially) by the gate stack 371-2”);
forming a via opening (379, Fig 3N, Para [0105]) exposing a bottom surface (bottom of left 366 as shown in Fig 3N) of the first source/drain feature (left 366);and
forming a second via (364/383, Fig 3P, Para [0108]) in the opening (379).
But Wei ‘911 fails to explicitly disclose forming a first via on an upper surface of the first source/drain feature;
Nevertheless in a related endeavor (Fig 1-2p of Morrow ‘012), Morrow ‘012 teaches forming a first via (220, Fig 2iA of Morrow ‘012, Para [0029]) on an upper surface of the first source/drain feature (218, Fig 2iA of Morrow ‘012, Para [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Morrow ‘012’s teachings of forming a first via on an upper surface of the first source/drain feature into Lee ‘565’s method. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the taught method of Morrow ‘012 of forming a via on an upper surface of the first source/drain in the method of Lee ‘565 in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Morrow ‘012 teaches in Para [0020] “The …contacts of the embodiments herein provide interconnect structures for both above and below a device layer, within the footprint of the device”, thereby providing a proven way to integrate the device and providing additional electrical connects to the device which would also ease its’ integration into a larger device.
As incorporated, the forming an upper via (220 of Morrow ‘012) would be used above the first source/drain (left 266 of Wei ‘911).
With respect to Claim 22 Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 21, and Wei ‘911 further discloses wherein forming the second source/drain trench (367-2) results in a difference between the second depth (sd) and the first depth (fd) being in a range of about 10 nm to about 50 nm.
Wei ‘911 teaches (dimension 355, Fig 3A, Para [0061] discloses the additional depth of the first depth (fd). Para [0061] discloses 355 ranges from 2nm to 50 nm the difference between fd and sd covers the range of 10nm to 50nm). The instant application paragraph 0062 does not disclose any criticality to the claimed depth range. Wei ‘911 in paragraph 0115 teaches the dimensions are critical in the fabrication process of the via. The entire range of 10-50nm would perform the same function of fabricating a via. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence demonstrating a difference across the range, Wei ‘911 discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei ‘911 in view of Morrow ‘012, in further view of Lee ‘565, in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 23 Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 21, and Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 further discloses wherein forming the second via comprises forming the second via (364/383) having a first sidewall taper (sidewall taper of 364/383 as shown in Fig 3P)
But Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 fails to explicitly disclose that is different than a second sidewall taper of the first via.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-20b of Lee ‘565), Lee ‘565 teaches a second sidewall taper (Para [0066] of Lee ‘565 teaches a sidewall inclined to decrease in width toward the source drain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Lee ‘565’s teaching of a second sidewall taper for the first via in the method of Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using a sidewall inclined to decrease in width toward the source drain would prevent unwanted contact of the via with other structures thereby increasing the yield and/or reliability of the device.
As incorporated, the sidewall inclined to decrease in width toward the source drain taught by Lee ‘565 would be used as the shape of the first via (220 of Morrow ‘012 as incorporated in Wei ‘911) and that shape is different than the straight sides of the second via 364/383 of Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei ‘911 in view of Morrow ‘012, in further view of Chu et al. (US 2021/0391421 A1, hereinafter Chu ‘421), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 24 Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 discloses all limitation of the method of claim 21, but Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 fails to explicitly disclose further discloses wherein forming the second via comprises forming the second via extending into the first source/drain feature by a second distance less than a first distance to which the first via extends into the first source/drain feature.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 21B of Chu ‘421), Chu ‘421 teaches comprises forming the second via (282, Fig 21B of Chu ‘421, Para [0052] extending into the first source/drain feature (260’, Fig 21B of Chu ‘421, Para [0050] by a second distance less than a first distance to which the first via (275, Fig 20C and Fig 21B of Chu ‘421, Para [0041]) extends into the first source/drain feature (260’)(Fig 21B of Chu ‘421 discloses contact 275 penetrates into the source/drain 260’ deeper that the contact 282 penetrates into 260’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chu ‘421’s teachings the second via extending into the first source/drain feature by a second distance less than a first distance to which the first via extends into the first source/drain feature into Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012’s method. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the second via extending into the first source/drain feature by a second distance less than a first distance to which the first via extends into the first source/drain feature as taught by Chu ‘421 in the method of Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using the via connections taught by Chu ‘421 present a proven method to make an electrical interconnection “beneficially reducing the contact resistance” as taught in Para [0051] of Chu ‘421.
As incorporated, the teaching of Chu ‘421 wherein the second via (282 of Chu ‘421) extension into the first source/drain is less than the first via (275 of Chu ‘421) extension into the first source/drain would be incorporated in the first (220 of Morrow ‘012 as incorporated in Wei ‘911 as described above) and second via (364/383 or Wei ‘911) connections into the first source/drain feature (left 366) of Wei ‘911 as modified by Morrow ‘012.
Conclusion
/PAUL A BERRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898