DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 1/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11, 13, 21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190006455 A1 (Ku).
Re claim 8, Ku teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming an inductive component (inductor structure 1/1a) over a substrate (substrate 100), comprising:
depositing a first inorganic layer (insulating layer 115 [0043]) over the substrate;
forming a first stack of magnetic layers (magnetic stack 124) over the first inorganic layer (Fig. 4A);
patterning the first stack of magnetic layers such that a sidewall of the first stack of magnetic layers forms a stairstep pattern (Fig. 4C-4F);
forming a first organic layer (polymer layer 130) over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate, wherein the first organic layer is in physical contact with the stairstep pattern (Fig. 4G);
forming a first conductive feature (second metal layer 132) over the first organic layer (Fig. 4H);
forming a second organic layer (polymer layer 134) over the first organic layer and the first conductive feature (Fig. 4H); and
forming a second inorganic layer (UBM 138) over the second organic layer and the first organic layer (Fig. 5).
Re claim 9, Ku teaches a first vertical height between a topmost surface of the first organic layer and a bottommost point of all top surfaces of the first organic layer is smaller than a second vertical height between a topmost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers and a bottommost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers ([0031-0033]).
Re claim 10, Ku teaches wherein the second organic layer and the first organic layer comprise polymers (both layers are polymer layers [0043-0044]).
Re claim 11, Ku teaches wherein forming the first organic layer comprises using a spin-coating process to deposit the first organic layer over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate ([0043]).
Re claim 13, Ku teaches wherein a first thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a topmost step of the stairstep pattern is smaller than a second thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a bottommost step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 4H).
Re claim 21, Ku teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a first insulation layer (insulating layer 115 [0043]) over a substrate (substrate 100);
forming a first stack of magnetic layers (magnetic stack 124) over the first insulation layer, wherein a sidewall of the first stack of magnetic layers forms a stairstep pattern (Fig. 4C-4F);
depositing a first polymer layer (polymer layer 130) over the first stack of magnetic layers, the first insulation layer, and the substrate (Fig. 4G);
forming a first conductive feature and a second conductive feature (right and left second metal layer 132) over the first polymer layer and the first stack of magnetic layers; and
depositing a second polymer layer (polymer layer 134) over the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature, wherein the second polymer layer surrounds each of the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature (Fig. 4H).
Re claim 25, Ku teaches wherein the first stack of magnetic layers and the second magnetic layer each comprise cobalt zirconium tantalum (CoZrTa) ([0039]).
Claim(s) 8-14, 21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200075448 A1 (Chen).
Re claim 8, Chen teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming an inductive component (magnetic element 109) over a substrate (semiconductor substrate 100), comprising:
depositing a first inorganic layer (protective layer 104 [0019]) over the substrate;
forming a first stack of magnetic layers (magnetic layers 108) over the first inorganic layer (Fig. 1A);
patterning the first stack of magnetic layers such that a sidewall of the first stack of magnetic layers forms a stairstep pattern (Fig. 1B-1D);
forming a first organic layer (isolation layer 806 [0037]) over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate, wherein the first organic layer is in physical contact with the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1E);
forming a first conductive feature (seed layer 808 [0049]) over the first organic layer (Fig. 1I);
forming a second organic layer (patterned mask layer 810 [0050]) over the first organic layer and the first conductive feature (Fig. 1I); and
forming a second inorganic layer (conductive line 814) over the second organic layer and the first organic layer (Fig. 1I, 2, 3).
Re claim 9, Chen teaches a first vertical height between a topmost surface of the first organic layer and a bottommost point of all top surfaces of the first organic layer is smaller than a second vertical height between a topmost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers and a bottommost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers (Fig. 1I).
Re claim 10, Chen teaches wherein the second organic layer and the first organic layer comprise polymers (both layers are polymer layers [0037, 0050]).
Re claim 11, Chen teaches wherein forming the first organic layer comprises using a spin-coating process to deposit the first organic layer over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate ([0037]).
Re claim 12, Chen teaches wherein after forming the first organic layer, a first portion of the first organic layer that overlaps the stairstep pattern of the first stack of magnetic layers has a sloping top surface (Fig. 1G).
Re claim 13, Chen teaches wherein a first thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a topmost step of the stairstep pattern is smaller than a second thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a bottommost step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1G).
Re claim 14, Chen teaches wherein the first organic layer has a third thickness directly above a center point of the stairstep pattern of the first stack of magnetic layers, wherein the third thickness is greater than the first thickness, and wherein the third thickness is smaller than the second thickness (Fig. 1G).
Re claim 21, Ku teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a first insulation layer (protective layer 104 [0019]) over a substrate (substrate 100);
forming a first stack of magnetic layers (magnetic layers 108) over the first insulation layer, wherein a sidewall of the first stack of magnetic layers forms a stairstep pattern (Fig. 1A-1D);
depositing a first polymer layer (isolation layer 806 [0037]) over the first stack of magnetic layers, the first insulation layer, and the substrate (Fig. 1E);
forming a first conductive feature and a second conductive feature (seed layer 808/conductive line 814 [0049] Figs. 1I, 2, 3) over the first polymer layer and the first stack of magnetic layers; and
depositing a second polymer layer (patterned mask layer 810 [0050]) over the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature, wherein the second polymer layer surrounds each of the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature (Fig. 4H).
Re claim 25, Chen teaches wherein the first stack of magnetic layers and the second magnetic layer each comprise cobalt zirconium tantalum (CoZrTa) ([0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20190006455 A1 (Ku).
Re claim 26, Ku teaches the method of claim 21, and further comprising: prior to forming the first insulation layer, forming an adhesion layer (first metal layer 113) over the substrate ([0028-0029]). However, Ku is completely silent regarding materials of first metal layer 113.
Ku teaches forming other metal layers in the device wherein these metal layers can include titanium such as pure titanium or titanium nitride ([0038]).
Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed material is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well known materials that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 1-4, 8-14, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2023/02908089 A1 (Lee) further in view of US 20200075448 A1 (Chen).
The applied reference has a common assignee and several authors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Re claim 1, Lee teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a first insulation layer (insulation layer 123 [0020]) over a substrate (substrate 101) (Fig. 2);
depositing a first magnetic layer (magnetic film 125) over the first insulation layer (Fig. 2);
etching the first magnetic layer (Fig. 2);
forming a first photosensitive layer (polymer layer 127 [0025]) over the first stack of magnetic layers, the first insulation layer, and the substrate (Fig. 2);
forming a first conductive feature (first conductive feature 131A) over the first photosensitive layer (Fig. 2);
depositing a second insulation layer (insulation layer 135) over the first photosensitive layer and the first conductive feature (Fig. 7A); and
depositing a second magnetic layer (magnetic film 137) over the second insulation layer (Fig. 7A).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic inductor feature is formed from stacked magnetic films with a stairstep edge nor wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern.
Chen teaches forming an inductor from stacked magnetic layers having a stairstep structure wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1G [0046-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the invention of Chen, including forming a stack inductor wherein the staircase structure forms a 3D inductor, to the invention of Lee.
The motivation to do so is that a 3D printed inductor provides the predictable result of having more windings which allows for higher power applications as using the vertical dimension allows for more windings.
Re claim 2, Lee further teaches wherein the first stack of magnetic layers and the second magnetic layer each comprise cobalt zirconium tantalum (CoZrTa) ([0020]).
Re claim 3, Lee further teaches wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon nitride ([0020, 0043]).
Re claim 4, Lee further teaches wherein the first photosensitive layer comprises a polymer ([0025]).
Re claim 8, Lee teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming an inductive component (inductive components Fig. 2 [0029]) over a substrate (substrate 101), comprising:
depositing a first inorganic layer (insulation layer 123 [0020]) over the substrate;
forming a first magnetic layer (magnetic layer 125) over the first inorganic layer (Fig. 2);
patterning the first magnetic layer (Fig. 2);
forming a first organic layer (polymer layer 127 [0025]) over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate, wherein the first organic layer is in physical contact with the stairstep pattern (Fig. 2);
forming a first conductive feature (first conductive feature 131A) over the first organic layer (Fig. 2);
forming a second organic layer (polymer layer 133 [0030]) over the first organic layer and the first conductive feature (Fig. 3); and
forming a second inorganic layer (insulation layer 135 [0020, 0043]) over the second organic layer and the first organic layer (7A).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic inductor feature is formed from stacked magnetic films with a stairstep edge nor wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern.
Chen teaches forming an inductor from stacked magnetic layers having a stairstep structure wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1G [0046-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the invention of Chen, including forming a stack inductor wherein the staircase structure forms a 3D inductor, to the invention of Lee.
The motivation to do so is that a 3D printed inductor provides the predictable result of having more windings which allows for higher power applications as using the vertical dimension allows for more windings.
Re claim 9, Chen further teaches a first vertical height between a topmost surface of the first organic layer and a bottommost point of all top surfaces of the first organic layer is smaller than a second vertical height between a topmost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers and a bottommost surface of the first stack of magnetic layers (Fig. 1I).
Re claim 10, Lee further teaches wherein the second organic layer and the first organic layer comprise polymers ([0025, 0030]).
Re claim 11, Lee teaches wherein forming the first organic layer comprises using a spin-coating process to deposit the first organic layer over the first stack of magnetic layers and the substrate (Lee teaches that polymers like photosensitive 133 are formed by spin-coating [0033]).
Re claim 12, Lee and Chen teach wherein after forming the first organic layer, a first portion of the first organic layer that overlaps the stairstep pattern of the first stack of magnetic layers has a sloping top surface (Fig. 2).
Re claim 13, Chen further teaches wherein a first thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a topmost step of the stairstep pattern is smaller than a second thickness of the first organic layer directly above a top surface of a bottommost step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1G).
Re claim 14, Chen further teaches wherein the first organic layer has a third thickness directly above a center point of the stairstep pattern of the first stack of magnetic layers, wherein the third thickness is greater than the first thickness, and wherein the third thickness is smaller than the second thickness (Fig. 1G).
Re claim 21, Lee teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a first insulation layer (insulation layer 123 [0020]) over a substrate (substrate 101);
forming a first magnetic layer (magnetic layers 125) over the first insulation layer (Fig. 2);
depositing a first polymer layer (polymer layer 127 [0025]) over the first stack of magnetic layers, the first insulation layer, and the substrate (Fig. 2);
forming a first conductive feature and a second conductive feature (first conductive feature 131A and second conductive feature 131B) over the first polymer layer and the first stack of magnetic layers (Fig. 3-6); and
depositing a second polymer layer (polymer layer 133 [0030]) over the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature, wherein the second polymer layer surrounds each of the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature (Fig. 3-6).
Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetic inductor feature is formed from stacked magnetic films with a stairstep edge nor wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern.
Chen teaches forming an inductor from stacked magnetic layers having a stairstep structure wherein a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a first step of the stairstep pattern is different from a thickness of the first photosensitive layer above a center of a second step of the stairstep pattern (Fig. 1G [0046-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the invention of Chen, including forming a stack inductor wherein the staircase structure forms a 3D inductor, to the invention of Lee.
The motivation to do so is that a 3D printed inductor provides the predictable result of having more windings which allows for higher power applications as using the vertical dimension allows for more windings.
Re claim 22, Lee further teaches further depositing a second insulation layer (insulation layer 135) over the second polymer layer, the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature (Fig. 7A).
Re claim 23, Lee further teaches wherein the second insulation layer comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride ([0020, 0043]).
Re claim 24, Lee further teaches depositing a second magnetic layer (magnetic film 137) over the second insulation layer, wherein the second insulation layer physically contacts the first polymer layer (the magnetic film 137 is formed by conformal deposition and then patterned so before patterning it will be in physical contact with the exposed portion of polymer layer 127 [0043-0044] Fig. 7A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896