DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17, 19-33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ok et al. (9,595,592 B1) (“Ok”), in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0105593 A1) (“Wu”), in view of Wang et al. (US 8,823,065 B2) (“Wang”), in view of Yamazaki (US 2016/0247928 A1) (“Yamazaki”).
Regarding claim 15, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
forming a channel layer (106) that includes a semiconductor material (106 is a semiconductor layer);
forming a gate stack (detailed below; hereinafter “A”) including a gate electrode (306) and a gate dielectric (310) such that the gate dielectric (310) is disposed between the gate electrode (306) and the channel layer (106);
Forming source/drain contacts (1102).
Ok does not teach:
forming blocking layers on the channel layer such that the blocking layers are spaced apart from each other;
forming buffer layers on the blocking layers, the buffer layers including a material that receives hydrogen; and
forming source/drain contacts respectively on the buffer layers,
wherein the semiconductor material includes indium zinc oxide, indium gallium oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, tungsten-doped indium oxide, tungsten-doped indium zinc oxide, indium gallium zinc tin oxide, zinc oxide, indium tin oxide, gallium oxide, indium oxide, or combinations thereof, and
wherein a lower surface of one of the source/drain contacts is higher than a level of a topmost surface of the gate dielectric.
Wu teaches at least in figures 1-2G, and Examiner figure 1 below:
forming blocking layers (300/410) on the channel layer (120/140) such that the blocking layers (300/410) are spaced apart from each other (they are so spaced);
forming buffer layers (500) on the blocking layers (300/410), the buffer layers including a material that receives hydrogen (¶ 0042-43, where 500 is reacted with oxygen, and then can absorb hydrogen); and
forming source/drain contacts (700) respectively on the buffer layers (500), and
Regarding the limitation,
wherein a lower surface of one of the source/drain contacts is higher than a level of a topmost surface of the gate dielectric.
Wu teaches in Examiner figure 1 above:
wherein a lower surface of one of the source/drain contacts (bottom of 700) is located at a level (dashed line in Examiner figure 1) higher than a level of an upper surface of the gate dielectric (as shown in Examiner figure 1 “an upper surface” of 172 is below the dashed line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ok with Wu because Wu teaches a means to improve the operating characteristics of conductors (i.e. source/drain contacts) especially at ultra small cross-sectional area. ¶ 0015. This means that Wu teaches a means for further miniaturization of the semiconductor devices.
However, Ok and Wu do not teach:
wherein a lower surface of one of the source/drain contacts is higher than a level of a topmost surface of the gate dielectric.
Wang teaches at least in figure 12, and Examiner’s figure 2 below:
wherein a lower surface of one of the source/drain contacts (232, Z) is higher than a level of a topmost surface of the gate dielectric (212; Z).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the relative dimensions of Wu as this relative dimensionality between the source/drain contacts and the topmost surface of the gate dielectric produces no unexpected results that the device of Wu would perform differently with said relative dimensions. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Thus, this limitation does not render the claim patentably distinct. Further, based upon Wang, it appears that this is an obvious variation of the style of gate structure and/or style of the source/drain contacts. For all the above reasons the limitation above does not render the claim patentably distinct.
The combination of Ok and Wu do not teach:
wherein the semiconductor material includes indium zinc oxide, indium gallium oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, tungsten-doped indium oxide, tungsten-doped indium zinc oxide, indium gallium zinc tin oxide, zinc oxide, indium tin oxide, gallium oxide, indium oxide, or combinations thereof.
Yamazaki teaches:
wherein the semiconductor material includes indium zinc oxide, indium gallium oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, tungsten-doped indium oxide, tungsten-doped indium zinc oxide, indium gallium zinc tin oxide, zinc oxide, indium tin oxide, gallium oxide, indium oxide, or combinations thereof (¶¶ 0007-11, where one can replace the silicon semiconductor layer with an IGZO semiconductor layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the silicon semiconductor layer with the IGZO semiconductor of Yamazaki as Yamazaki teaches that IGZO can be a replacement for silicon, ¶¶ 0007-08, and by replacing silicon for IGZO one can gain the benefit of extremely low leakage current in an off state, and be able to obtain a high-field effect mobility transistor, ¶ 0011. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace one material for a functionally equivalent material and to gain benefits in the swapping of said materials.
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches at least in figures 1-2G:
wherein the blocking layers (300/410) include titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, titanium, nickel, aluminum, ruthenium, or combinations thereof (¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches at least in figures 1-2G:
The prior art does not teach the material of the claim.
However, the prior art teaches a material suitable to perform the same function as the claimed material. See claim 1. Under MPEP 2144.07, because the prior art teaches a material capable of performing the same function it would be suitable for the same intended purpose as the claimed material. Under Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) this supports a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches at least in figures 1-2G:
wherein the blocking layers (300/410), the buffer layers (500) and the source/drain contacts (700) are formed, after forming the channel layer (120/140), by:
forming a dielectric layer (Wu 160/200; Ok 402) on the channel layer (120/140);
forming trenches in the dielectric layer to expose the channel layer (shown in figure 2A);
forming blocking layers respectively in the trenches; forming buffer layers respectively on the blocking layers and respectively in the trenches (shown in figure 2D); and
forming the source/drain contacts (Wu 500, shown at least in figure 2G) respectively in the trenches so as to permit each of the source/drain contacts (Wu 500) to be surrounded by a respective one of the buffer layers (Wu 410) and a respective one of the blocking layers (Wu 500) (this is shown in figure 2G).
Regarding claim 20, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
wherein the gate stack is formed, after forming the channel layer (figure 2 the channel layer is formed; figure 3 the gate stack is formed), by:
forming a gate dielectric material layer on the channel layer; forming a gate material layer on the gate dielectric material layer; and conducting a patterning process on the gate material layer and the gate dielectric material layer so as to form the gate electrode and the gate dielectric (Col 5 at lines 20-35; This is the tried-and-true, well-known, basic process taught in college, way to form a gate stack for a planar device).
Regarding claim 21, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
Claim 21 is different from claim 15 in that the channel layer is formed on a first dielectric layer, and arguably the channel layer interfaces the blocking layer.
Ok teaches:
forming a first dielectric layer (104);
forming a channel layer (106) on the first dielectric layer (104).
Therefore, the prior art teaches claim 21.
Wu does not expressly teach:
The channel layer (120,140,400) directly interfaces the blocking layer (at least 410 of 300/410).
However, claim 21 based upon the comprising language allows for the channel layer to comprise multiple parts. Here the multiple parts of the channel layer include 140 and 400 as they are source/drain regions of the channel layer, and/or they can be considered parts which comprise the channel region.
Regarding claim 22, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
wherein formation of the channel layer (120,140,400) includes:
forming a channel material layer on the dielectric layer, and patterning the channel material layer, so as to form the channel layer (Co. 4 at lines 17-53).
Regarding claim 23, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
Claim 23 contains the same subject matter as claim 20 above, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 20 above.
Regarding claim 24, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
Claim 24 contains the subject matter that reads on claim 19 above, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 19 above.
Regarding claims 25-27, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
The limitations of claims 25-27 are shown in figures 2B-2G.
Regarding claims 28-29, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
wherein the portions of the metal layer, the portions of the buffer material layer, and the portions of the blocking material layer are removed simultaneously (¶ 0057, where CMP is used to remove all the layers in figure 2G at the same time. Further, CMP is a planarization technique as already known to Applicant, and disclosed in Wu.).
Regarding claim 30,
Claim 30 is different from claim 21 in that claim 30 requires a first dielectric material layer, and a second dielectric material layer. As Examiner understand it the first dielectric material layer is the supplemental dielectric layer 27 shown in Applicant’s figures, and the second dielectric material layer is element 28.
Ok teaches:
forming a first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) on the first dielectric layer (104),
the first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) laterally covering the channel layer (106),
wherein the first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) has a side surface (A), and
the channel layer (106) has a side surface which interfaces (A) the side surface of the first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) and (the and here refers to the channel layer and not the interface) [the channel layer] (106) which has a height (C/D) the same as a height of the side surface of the first dielectric material layer (B/D) (See Examiner figure 2); and
forming a second dielectric material layer (402) on the channel layer (106),
the first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) and the gate stack (A),
wherein the second dielectric material layer (402) is formed after formation of the first dielectric material layer (206/208/210) (the second dielectric material layer is formed after the first dielectric material layer as it is formed on top of it).
Wu teaches:
Wherein the channel layer (120 which may include 140 and 400) adjoins (the term adjoins does not require direct contact. The term adjoins can be directly next to or adjacent to. Adjacent to can mean nearby or close proximity) the blocking layers (410).
Therefore, the prior art in teaches the limitations of claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
Claim 31 contains the same subject matter as claim 20 above, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 20 above.
Regarding claim 32, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
Claim 32 contains the subject matter that reads on claim 19 above, and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 19 above.
The amendments to claim 32 are shown in figures 3-5.
Regarding claim 33, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
The limitations of claim 33 are shown in figures 2B-2G.
Regarding claim 34, Ok teaches at least in figures 1-11:
wherein the second dielectric material layer (402) interfaces the channel layer (A) (this is shown in at least figure 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated July 22, 2026 have been considered, and are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 15,
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous grounds of rejection, but not the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Regarding claim 21,
Applicant’s amendments have not overcome the art of record as Examiner has redefined the channel layer based upon the comprising language of the channel layer.
Regarding claim 30,
Applicant’s amendments have not overcome the art of record as Examiner has redefined the channel layer based upon the comprising language of the channel layer, and the term adjacent does not inherently require a direct contact.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898