DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng et al. (US pub 20220108967) in combination with Levy et al. (US pat 12514051).
With respect to claim 1, Jeng et al. teach a package structure, comprising (see figs. 1-14, particularly fig. 1H and associated text):
a first chip structure 160, wherein the first chip structure has a plurality of logic control elements 140 (para 0046); and
a second chip structure directly bonded to the first chip structure through dielectric-to- dielectric bonding 121, 123, 125 and metal-to-metal bonding 120, wherein the second chip structure has a plurality of non-volatile memory elements 210 (para 0065).
Jeng et al. teach the connection 150 between chips is solder type but fail to teach using metal to metal bonding connection.
Levy et al. teach using metal to metal bonding connection to achieve simplified implementation. See col. 11, lines 47-56.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to use metal to metal bonding connection instead of solder connection in Jeng et al. device to achieve the above benefit.
With respect to claim 2, Jeng et al. teach a third chip structure 300 directly bonded to the second chip structure through dielectric-to- dielectric bonding and metal-to-metal bonding R1, wherein the second chip structure 200 is between the third chip structure and the first chip structure (structure under 200), and the third chip structure has a plurality of second non-volatile memory elements. See 1L and associated text.
With respect to claim 3, Jeng et al. teach a through substrate via 190 formed in the second chip structure. See 1H and associated text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeng et al. (US pub 20220108967) in combination with Levy et al. (US pat 12514051).
With respect to claim 10, Jeng et al. fail to teach attaching a heat sink to the first chip structure.
However, the attachment of a heat sink to a chip to allow dissipation of unwanted heat is well-known in semiconductor art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 21-25 are allowed.
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See the above rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897