DETAILED ACTION
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 4-6, 9, 11, 14, 21 and 24-25 in the Applicant’s response dated 10 February 2026. The claim amendments have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the addition of new claims 27-30 in the Applicant’s response dated 10 February 2026. The new claims have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 2-3, 10 and 23 in the Applicant’s response dated 10 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chewn-Pu Jou et al. (US 2016/0147088 A1; hereinafter “Jou”) in view of Wen-Shiang Liao et al. (US 2019/0103680 A1; hereinafter “Liao”).
Regarding Claim 9, Jou teaches a method comprising:
depositing an encapsulant (612, Fig. 13, para [0049] describes dispensing a molding compound 612 using a liquid encapsulating material) over a carrier (601, Fig. 13, para [0047] describes a package 500 including a carrier 601) to surround a first device (611B, Fig. 13, para [0047] describes a receiver die 611B), a second device (611A, Fig. 13, para [0047] describes a driver die 611A), and a set of conductive pillars extending vertically from the carrier (609, Fig. 13, para [0046] describes a set of conductive vias 609 extending vertically from the carrier 601 wherein the encapsulant 612 surrounds the first device 611B, second device 611A and conductive pillars 609);
planarizing the encapsulant to level upper surfaces of the encapsulant, conductive pillars, first device, and second device (Fig. 14, para [0050] describes performing a CMP process resulting in the encapsulant 612, first device 611B, second device 611A and conductive pillars 609 having a planar upper surface as shown in Fig. 14);
depositing a first dielectric layer over the encapsulant (613, Fig. 15, para [0053] describes forming a polymer layer 613 that may comprise dielectric materials over the encapsulant 612);
depositing a first metallization over the first dielectric layer (106 and 110, Fig. 15, para [0017] describes a metal interconnect layer), the first metallization including a first metal grate disposed over a free region of the encapsulant (110, Fig. 15, para [0021] describes forming a first receiver electrode 110 which may include metal micro-strips such as found in a metal grate wherein the metal grate 110 is located over a region free of devices 611A and 611B) and a first antenna coupled to the second device (106, Fig. 15, para [0021] describes forming a first transmission electrode 106 wherein first antenna 106 is coupled to the second device 611A through conductive pillar 609 and conductive feature 6041);
forming a high-k dielectric layer over an upper surface of the first antenna to form a high-k zone (614, Fig. 16, para [0056] describes forming a waveguide dielectric material 614 which may comprise a high-k polymer over the first antenna 106);
after forming the high-k dielectric layer, depositing a second dielectric layer over the first metallization (615, Fig. 20, para [0062] describes forming a second patterned polymer layer 615 comprising dielectric materials over the first metallization comprising the first metal grate 110), wherein the second dielectric layer contacts an upper surface of the first metal grate (615 and 110, Fig. 20 depicts second dielectric layer 615 contacting an upper surface of a portion of the first metal grate 110) and a sidewall of the high-k zone (615 and 101, Fig. 20 depicts second dielectric layer 615 contacting a sidewall of the high-k zone 101 comprising high-k dielectric 614); and
after depositing the second dielectric layer, depositing a second metallization over the second dielectric layer (104 and 108, Fig. 20, para [0024] describes depositing a second metal structure including upper transmitting electrode 104 and upper receiving electrode 108).
Jou fails to explicitly disclose the second metallization including a second metal grate disposed over the first antenna and a second antenna disposed over the first metal grate.
However, Liao teaches a similar method comprising:
depositing a second metallization (1402, Fig. 15, para [0056] describes a second RDL structure 1402) including a second metal grate (1414, Fig. 15, para [0058] describes forming a ground plane 1414) disposed over the first antenna (910, Fig. 15, para [0060] describes forming a conductive layer 910 which may serve as a first antenna plane of an antenna structure) and a second antenna (1412, Fig. 15, para [0059] describes forming a conductive plate 1412 which may serve as a second antenna plane of an antenna structure upon which the second metal grate 1414 is formed over) disposed over the first metal grate (908, Fig. 15, para [0059] describes forming a conductive plate 908 which may serve as a ground plane upon which the second antenna 1412 is formed over).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jou with Liao to further disclose a method of forming an antenna structure comprising a second metallization including a second metal grate disposed over a first antenna and a second antenna disposed over the a metal grate in order to provide the advantage of forming an antenna structure wherein a first antenna structure may radiate electromagnetic waves in an first direction and a second antenna structure may radiate electromagnetic waves in a second direction so as to provide a two-branch antenna that can be integrated to provide enhanced radiation performance in multiple directions (Liao, para [0059] and para [0060]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jou and Liao discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the high-k zone has a portion which extends down a sidewall of the first antenna (Jou, 614, Fig. 20 depicts a portion of the high-k zone 101 and 614 extending down a sidewall of the first antenna 106) and contacts the first dielectric layer (Jou, 614, Fig. 20 depicts a portion of the high-k zone 101 and 614 contacting a sidewall of the first dielectric layer 615).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chewn-Pu Jou et al. (US 2016/0147088 A1; hereinafter “Jou”) in view of Wen-Shiang Liao et al. (US 2019/0103680 A1; hereinafter “Liao”) in further view of Wen-Shiang Liao et al. (US 9711465 B2; hereinafter “Liao II”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Jou and Liao discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
transmitting and/or receiving first radio frequency (RF) signals on the first antenna through the second metal grate (Liao, 1418, Fig. 15, para [0060] describes wherein first antenna 910 may radiate electromagnetic waves upwardly in a direction 1418 which is through the second metal grate 1414); and
transmitting and/or receiving second RF signals on the second antenna through the first metal grate and through the free region of the encapsulant (Liao, 1416, Fig. 15, para [0059] describes wherein a second antenna 1412 may radiate in a downward direction 1416 which is through the first metal grate 908 and free region S of encapsulant 702), the first RF signals being 29 to 38 GHz or 77 to 120 GHz nominal (Liao, para [0053] describes wherein the first antenna structure may be a 28 GHz to 77 GHz antenna, falling within the range of 29 to 38 GHz).
Liao fails to disclose the method of claim 9, further comprising the second RF signals being between 2.4 GHz and 12.4 GHz nominal.
However, Liao II teaches a similar method further comprising the second RF signals being between 2.4 GHz and 12.4 GHz nominal (427, Fig. 31, column 10, lines 41-50 describe wherein a patch antenna 427 efficiently radiates between about 11.5 GHz and 12.8 GHz falling within a range of between 2.4 GHz and 12.4 GHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liao with the teachings of Liao II to further disclose a method wherein an antenna can transmit and/or receive signals in a range between 2.4 GHz and 12.4 GHz in order to provide the advantage for meeting the specifications of 4th generation and 5th generation high frequency RF transceivers in mobile communication applications (Liao II, column 10, lines 41-50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9, 11 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-7, 21-22, 24-25 and 27-30 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art of record, Wen-Shiang Liao et al. (US 2019/0103680 A1; hereinafter “Liao”) discloses, a method comprising: attaching a first device (100a, Fig. 6, para [0031] describes a semiconductor die) and a second device (100b, Fig. 6, para [0031] describes a semiconductor die) to a carrier (Fig. 6, para [0026] describes a carrier wafer on which the semiconductor dies are attached); encapsulating the first device and the second device in an encapsulant (702, Fig. 6, para [0038] describes forming an insulating material over the first and second device); forming a first redistribution structure over the first device and over the second device (RS, annotated Fig. 15 below shows the redistribution structure), comprising: forming a first metal grate (908, Fig. 9, para [0043] describes a conductive layer) and a first antenna (910, Fig. 9, para [0043] describes a conductive layer) from a first metallization disposed over a first dielectric layer (810, Fig. 9, para [0041] describes an inter-metal dielectric material layer), after forming the first antenna, depositing a high-k dielectric layer over the first antenna and over the first dielectric layer (1204, Fig. 12, para [0048] describes forming a high-k laminated dielectric structure over the first antenna); and forming a second metal grate (1414, Fig. 14, para [0057] describes a conductive layer) and a second antenna (1412, Fig. 14, para [0057] describes a conductive layer) from a second metallization disposed over a second dielectric layer (906, Fig. 14, para [0056] describes an inter-metal dielectric material layer), the second metal grate aligned vertically to the first antenna (1414 and 910, Fig. 14, wherein the second metal grate 1414 and first antenna 910 are vertically aligned), the second antenna aligned vertically to the first metal grate (1412 and 908, Fig. 14, wherein the second antenna 1412 and first metal grate 908 are vertically aligned), the second dielectric layer disposed over the first dielectric layer (906 and 810, Fig. 14, wherein the second dielectric layer 906 is seen disposed over the first dielectric layer 810); and forming front-side connectors coupled to the second metallization (1506, Fig. 15, para [0062] describes forming external connectors).
The prior art of record Feng Wei Kuo (TW 202036792 A; relying upon US 2022/0368012 A1 for English translation; hereinafter “Kuo”) further discloses, a method further comprising forming a mask over the first antenna (337, Fig. 8, para [0067] describes forming a mask layer 337 over the antenna cavity 315); and etching the high-k dielectric layer free from the mask, a high-k zone remaining over the first antenna (336, Fig. 8, para [0067] describes wherein a portion of the a high-k dielectric layer 336 remains under mask 337 after completion of a manufacturing process); depositing a second dielectric layer over the first dielectric layer and over the high-k zone (Kuo, Fig. 9, para [0056] describes depositing a low-k dielectric material over the high-k dielectric material, upon combining Liao with Kuo the low-k dielectric material would also be deposited on the first dielectric layer of Liao); and planarizing the second dielectric layer to level an upper surface of the second dielectric layer with an upper surface of the high-k zone (Kuo, para [0056] describes planarizing the low-k dielectric material to be level and thus expose an upper portion of the high-k dielectric material),
The prior art of record Chewn-Pu Jou et al. (US 2016/0147088 A1; hereinafter “Jou”) further discloses depositing a high-k dielectric layer over the first metal grate (614, Fig. 16, para [0056] describes forming a waveguide dielectric material 614 which may comprise a high-k polymer over the first metal grate 110).
Allowable subject matter has been indicated because the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the features, “wherein the second dielectric layer contacts an upper surface of the first metal grate after planarizing the second dielectric layer; and the first metal grate being free of the high-k dielectric layer after etching the high-k dielectric layer”.
Claims 4-7 and 29-30 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 21, the prior art of record, Wen-Shiang Liao et al. (US 2019/0103680 A1; hereinafter “Liao”) discloses, a method comprising: attaching a first device (100a, Fig. 6) and a second device (200a, Fig. 6) to a first redistribution structure (202, Fig. 6); forming through vias on the first redistribution structure (404, Fig. 6, para [0029] describes through insulator vias); depositing an encapsulant (702, Fig. 7) over the first redistribution structure, wherein the encapsulant laterally encapsulates the first device, the second device, and the through vias (702, Fig. 7, wherein encapsulant 702 can be seen laterally encapsulating the devices and through vias), wherein a first region of the encapsulant is free of electronic devices and through vias (S, Fig. 7, para [0031] describes a space with no conductive features or dies); and forming a second redistribution structure over the encapsulant (RS, annotated Fig. 15 above), wherein forming the second redistribution structure comprises: forming a first grate over the encapsulant, wherein the first grate is vertically aligned with the first region of the encapsulant (908, Fig. 9 wherein grate 908 can be seen as being aligned vertically over space S); forming a first antenna over the second device (910, Fig. 9); forming a high-k dielectric layer over the first antenna, wherein the high-k dielectric layer does not extend over the first grate (1204, Fig. 12, para [0048] describes forming a laminated dielectric structure that is a high-k dielectric layer over the first antenna 910 and does not extend over the first grate 908); forming a first dielectric layer over the first grate (1202, Fig. 12, para [0048] describes forming a laminated dielectric structure that is a high-k dielectric layer over the first grate 908); forming a second antenna over the first grate, wherein the second antenna is vertically aligned with the first grate (1412, Fig. 14 wherein second antenna 1412 can be seen as being aligned vertically over the first grate 908); and forming a second grate over the first antenna, wherein the second grate is vertically aligned with the first antenna (1414, Fig. 14 wherein second grate 1414 can be seen as being aligned vertically over the first antenna 910).
Allowable subject matter has been indicated because the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the features, “wherein the first dielectric layer does not extend over the first antenna, wherein the high-k dielectric layer is a different material than the first dielectric layer”.
Claims 22, 24-25 and 27-28 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898