DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ response of 12/04/2025 has been considered and entered in the record. The rejections of the previous Office action are withdrawn in view Applicants’ amendments and arguments. The following new rejection is made. Applicants’ arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al (US 2016/0322462) in view of Lin et al (US 2013/0207122).
With respect to Claim 1, Chou et al discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device (Figures 5A-8B) comprising: forming a fin (Figure 5A, 312) over a semiconductor substrate (Figure 5A, 302); forming a precursor film (Figure 5A, 314) over the fin (Figure 5A, 312) and the semiconductor substrate(Figure 5A, 302); treating (Figure 7C-7D, plasma 702, 712) the precursor film, wherein the treating the precursor film forms a first dielectric material (Figures 7C -7D, 314 outside of H area) from a first portion of the precursor film and forms a second dielectric material (Figures 7C -7D, 314 inside of H area) from a second portion of the precursor film, wherein the first dielectric material has a first density and the second dielectric material has a second density, the first density being different from the second density (inherent as dopant concentrations vary) ; and removing the second dielectric material (Figure 8A) wherein after the removing the second dielectric material an isolation structure (Figure 8B, 316a and 316b) is formed comprising the first dielectric material over the semiconductor substrate and adjacent to the fin. See Figures 5A – 8B and paragraphs 42-61.
However, Chou et al do not disclose that the precursor film is treated “with an anisotropic plasma process”.
Lin et al is relied upon to disclose to disclose the use of anisotropic plasma processes to change the etch selectivity of a material in the formation of fin structures. See Figures 2-6 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 10 and 19-23.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use anisotropic plasma process in the process of Chou et al, for its known benefit of changing the etch selectivity of materials as disclosed by Lin et al. The use of a known process for its known benefit would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 2, Chou et al discloses wherein the removing the second dielectric material the isolation structure has a convex profile. See Figure 8A and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 3, Chou et al does not explicitly disclose “wherein the convex profile has a first profile angle, the first profile angle being in a range of 35 degrees to 50 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed angles, as changes in shape are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicants argue that the claimed limitations are not disclosed by the Chou et al reference. The Examiner notes that the rejection as discussed above addresses all of the claimed limitations.
Applicants argue that the withdrawal of Claims 21-27 is improper as the mechanism is only available after an action on the merits. The Examiner notes that Applicants have received an Office action on the merits and have constructively elected Claims drawn to deposition of a precursor (silicon) and its treatment with plasma. The elected Claims are mutually exclusive from Claims drawn to the deposition of two dielectric layers. Rejoinder issues will be addressed upon indication of allowability of the Claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art known to the Examiner is listed on the PTO 892 and IDS forms of record.
With respect to Claims 15-20 the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious inter alia “depositing a layer of silicon over the first semiconductor fin and over the substrate adjacent to the first semiconductor fin; applying an anisotropic plasma to the layer of silicon with an element, wherein the applying the anisotropic plasma forms a first dielectric material from horizontal portions of the layer of silicon and forms a second dielectric material from vertical portions of the layer of silicon, the first dielectric material having a first concentration of the element and the second dielectric material having a second concentration of the element”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AGG
February 10, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812