DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to Amendment filed on December 16, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a substrate” having graphene layer deposited on as shown in FIGs. 3A-3Q, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: a space is missing for this term “208acan” in the second to last line of the paragraph (¶) [0049]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Both Claims 29 and 32 recite the limitation “the second via conductor and the first conductive layer comprising a same material”. The Specification lacks direct description of which different features having the same material, but certain manufacturing steps describe the possibility of having the same material because they are formed together. However, the Examiner cannot find the possibility that the second via conductor located in the second dielectric layer on a first conductive layer which is on the graphene layer, can have the same material as the first conductive layer in the Specification.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the first conductive feature" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the second conductive feature" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Akimoto et al. (Akimoto hereinafter) (US 8,169,085).
Regarding Claims 24-38:
Akimoto (see FIG. 5) teaches {24} a semiconductor structure 300, comprising: a first connection structure over a substrate, comprising: a first dielectric layer 31A; and a first via conductor 34C/35C disposed in the first dielectric layer; a graphene layer 321A disposed over the first connection structure, comprising a lower surface; and an upper surface opposite to the lower surface; a second connection structure over the graphene layer, comprising: a second dielectric layer 31B over the graphene layer; and a second via conductor 34A/35A in the second dielectric layer; and a first conductive layer 320B disposed between the second dielectric layer and the graphene layer, wherein the upper surface of the graphene layer is separated from the second dielectric layer by the first conductive layer, and a width span of the first conductive layer is equal to or greater than a width span of the graphene layer; {25} the width span of the first conductive layer 320B is greater than a width span of the second via conductor 34A/35A; {26} a bottom surface of the second via conductor is coupled to the first conductive layer; {27} the second via conductor has a first sidewall coupled to the second dielectric layer; {28} the second via conductor has a second sidewall coupled to the graphene layer; {29} the second via conductor and the first conductive layer comprise a same material; {30} a second conductive layer 320A separating the graphene layer from the first dielectric layer; {31} the first via conductor has a first sidewall coupled to the second conductive layer, a second sidewall coupled to the graphene layer, and a third sidewall coupled to the first conductive layer; {32} the first via conductor and the second conductive layer comprise a same material, and the second via conductor and the first conductive layer comprise a same material; {33} a semiconductor structure 300, comprising: a first dielectric layer 31A; a first via conductor 34C/35C disposed in the first dielectric layer; a first conductive layer 320A over the first via conductor and the first dielectric layer; a graphene layer 321A disposed over and coupled to the first conductive layer; a second conductive layer 320B disposed over and coupled to the graphene layer; a second dielectric layer 31B disposed over the second conductive layer; and a second via conductor 34A/35A in the second dielectric layer, wherein a width span of the second conductive layer is equal to or greater than a width span of the graphene layer; {34} a sidewall of the graphene layer is in coupled to the first via conductor; {35} a sidewall of the graphene layer is coupled to the second via conductor; {36} a first sidewall of the graphene layer is coupled to the first via conductor, and a second sidewall of the graphene layer is coupled to the second via conductor; {37} the first conductive layer and the first via conductor comprise a same material; and {38} the graphene layer is wrapped by the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, the first conductive feature and the second conductive feature.
Akimoto (see col.2/ll.24-41, col.3/ll.8-45, col.6/ll.15-37, col.7/ll.3-23, col.8/ll.47-50) teaches “the semiconductor device 100 has an insulating film 10A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The catalyst layers 120 and 130 are made of catalyst material … Co, Ni, Ru, Fe or a compound containing these metals is used”; “The via 14 is made of e.g., metal such as W, Cu or Al … the catalyst layer 120 may have a multilayer structure composed of a base layer 120C, a co-catalyst layer 120B and a surface layer 120A … made of Co, Ni, Ru or Fe … co-catalyst layer 120B is made of Ti … base layer 120C is made of TaN, TiN, RuN, WN, Ta, Ti, Ru or W”; “the semiconductor device 200 has an insulating film 10A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The catalyst layers 220A, 220B, 230A and 230B have the same characteristics as the catalyst layers 120 and 130 in the first embodiment”; “the semiconductor device 300 has an insulating film 31A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The vias 34A, 34B and 34C are made of the same material as the via 14 in the first embodiment”; “Material films of the catalyst layers 320A, 320B … are formed in the same manner as the catalyst film 101 … in the first embodiment”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto et al. (Akimoto hereinafter) (US 8,169,085).
Regarding Claim 17, 19-21, and 23:
Akimoto (see FIGs. 5-6G) teaches {17} a method for forming a semiconductor structure, comprising: receiving a substrate; forming a first dielectric layer 31A over the substrate; forming a first conductive layer 320A over the first dielectric layer; forming a graphene layer 321A over the first conductive layer and the first dielectric layer, wherein a bottom surface of the graphene layer is aligned with a topmost surface of the first conductive layer; forming a first conductive feature 34C/35C in the graphene layer, wherein a sidewall of the graphene layer is coupled to the first conductive feature; forming a second dielectric layer 31B over the graphene layer; and forming a second via conductor 34A/35A in the second dielectric layer, wherein the first via conductor and the second via conductor are opposite to each other; {19} forming a second conductive feature 34A/35A in the graphene layer after the forming of the second dielectric layer, wherein a sidewall of the second conductive feature is coupled to the graphene layer; {20} the first via conductor and the first conductive layer comprise a same material; {21} forming a second conductive layer 320B over the graphene layer prior to the forming of the second dielectric layer; and {23} the first conductive feature and the first via conductor comprise a same material.
Akimoto (see col.2/ll.24-41, col.3/ll.8-45, col.6/ll.15-37, col.7/ll.3-23, col.8/ll.47-50) teaches “the semiconductor device 100 has an insulating film 10A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The catalyst layers 120 and 130 are made of catalyst material … Co, Ni, Ru, Fe or a compound containing these metals is used”; “The via 14 is made of e.g., metal such as W, Cu or Al … the catalyst layer 120 may have a multilayer structure composed of a base layer 120C, a co-catalyst layer 120B and a surface layer 120A … made of Co, Ni, Ru or Fe … co-catalyst layer 120B is made of Ti … base layer 120C is made of TaN, TiN, RuN, WN, Ta, Ti, Ru or W”; “the semiconductor device 200 has an insulating film 10A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The catalyst layers 220A, 220B, 230A and 230B have the same characteristics as the catalyst layers 120 and 130 in the first embodiment”; “the semiconductor device 300 has an insulating film 31A formed above a non-illustrated semiconductor substrate … The vias 34A, 34B and 34C are made of the same material as the via 14 in the first embodiment”; “Material films of the catalyst layers 320A, 320B … are formed in the same manner as the catalyst film 101 … in the first embodiment”.
However, Akimoto does not explicitly teach {17} forming a first via conductor in the first dielectric layer prior to forming a first conductive layer; nor forming a first conductive layer over the first via conductor; nor forming a graphene layer 321A over the first via conductor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Akimoto to arrange the formation of the first via conductor in the first dielectric layer at different manufacturing steps or at the same step to meet the design requirements.
The differences in when the first via conductor being formed will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such when the first via conductor being formed are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the instant claim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to alter the manufacturing steps to form the first via conductors in the dielectric layer either before or after the formation of first conductive layer and graphene layer.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed invention or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936s (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Correspondence
/ALICE W TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814