DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, subspecies A2 relating to claims 1, 2, 4, 7, and 8 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2023 and 10/16/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claimed removing step is drawn to Figs. 14 and 15 wherein the “face side” of the wafer faces upwardly (Figs. 14, 15 and Applicant’s Specification para. 0068). There is not support for the combination of the claimed removing step wherein the “face side” of the wafer faces downwardly.
The Examiner suggests cancellation of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (KR2019-0085273A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jeong teaches a method of manufacturing a wafer (para. 0030+), comprising:
a wafer (Fig. 1: PCB board (10)) preparing step of preparing a wafer including a plurality of semiconductor devices (1) joined to a substrate by respective adhesive layers (2) (Fig. 1; para. 0031);
a determining step of determining whether each of the semiconductor devices joined to the substrate is defective or non-defective (para. 0030, 0032);
a laser beam applying step (S20) of applying a laser beam to heat one of the adhesive layers by which one of the semiconductor devices that has been determined as defective is bonded to the substrate, thereby melting the adhesive layer in an area of the wafer that is irradiated with the laser beam (para.0030); and
a treating step (S30, S40) of treating the semiconductor device released from a bonded state due to the adhesive layer being melted in the laser beam applying step, wherein the treating step is a removing step of removing the semiconductor device from the substrate (para. 0030), and
wherein the removing step includes:
a step of providing a removing unit (jig (20)) having a receptacle (receiving space (23)) and a suction blower mechanism (air blower tube (30)/suction tube (40)) attached to the receptacle (Figs. 3, 4); a step of positioning the receptacle over the semiconductor device (1) (Fig. 4), the receptacle being sized to receive at least one semiconductor device through a lower opening thereof (para. 0040); a step of applying the laser beam (L) through the receptacle to release the semiconductor device from the bonded state (S30); a step of ejecting a gas from the suction blower mechanism toward the semiconductor device released from the bonded state to lift the semiconductor device off the substrate (S40), and a step of attracting the lifted semiconductor device under suction into the receptacle to remove the semiconductor device from the substrate (S40) (abstract; para. 0030).
Re claim 2, Jeong teaches wherein the laser beam is applied to the adhesive layer through the semiconductor device (Jeong Fig. 4).
Re claim 8, Jeong teaches a non-defective semiconductor device bonding step (S50), after the removing step, of bonding a semiconductor device having same functions as those of the semiconductor device determined as defective to an area from which the semiconductor device determined as defective has been removed (para. 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (KR2019-0085273A) in view of You et al. (US Pub. 2021/0193894) and further in view of Vaupel et al. (US Pub. 2013/0084658).
Re claim 9, Jeong teaches wherein, in the wafer preparing step, the wafer is placed on the “repair dedicated device” (para. 0037) without further explanation and is silent with respect to the limitations of wherein “the wafer is attached to tape that is attached to a frame”.
You teaches (Fig. 5A) wherein the wafer (210) is attached to a frame (stage and clamp) (para. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to look to You to provide that which was missing from Jeong; that is, specifics regarding a “repair dedicated device” such that the wafer to Jeong was attached to the frame of Jeong for the purpose of stabilizing the wafer.
The combination of Jeong and You is silent with respect to tape; that is, Jeong used a clamp for attachment purposes instead of tape.
Vaupel teaches that tape is known in the art to use tape for wafer attachment purposes in Fig. 3 where tape layer (35) is used to attach to a wafer (10) to a carrier (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute tape as taught by Vaupel for the clamp(s) of You to provide the predictable result of attaching the wafer to the frame with a reasonable expectation of success. It is considered obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143, I, B).
Re claim 11, Jeong in view of You and Vaupel teaches wherein the wafer is attached to the tape so that a face side of the wafer faces upwardly (Jeong Fig. 4; You Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and its corresponding dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOLLY K REIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2899