DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are drawn to data/information only. Specifically, claim 1 only recites “A structure comprising: a first parameterized cell (Pcell) label generated based on a customer label corresponding to a customer design on a customer network and which comprises a real- time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network.” While “a structure” usually connotates either a machine or a composition of matter, in this case it is “a first parameterized cell (Pcell) label … which comprises a real-time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network.” As shown in Figure 1A, 14, and described in paragraph [0016], this is merely data/information containing a list of parameter names and values. As such the structure of claim 1 is a list of parameter names and values which is data/information only, and does not fall into at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Dependent claims 7 and 8 do not rectify this problem and are rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 2 further comprises an intellectual property (IP) tool configured to compare the first Pcell label with the second Pcell label to perform the real-time transaction validation of the first Pcell label. This makes the structure of claims 1 and 2 a machine which is a one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Incorporating claim 2 into claim 1 would therefore overcome the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckett, US Patent No. 11,334,697 B1 in view of Lau et al., US PGPUB No. 2021/0342822 A1.
In reference to claim 1, Beckett teaches a first parameterized cell (Pcell) label (Fig. 3D, 314D, column 20, lines 48-54, label) generated based on a customer label (Fig. 3D, 302D, column 19, lines 42-56, set of parameters) corresponding to a customer design (Column 20, line 1, electronic design) on a customer network (Column 29, lines 30-31, computer networks).
Beckett does not teach wherein the label comprises a real-time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network. Lau teaches a real-time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network for sensitive data (Paragraph [0055]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Lau for real-time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network for sensitive data into the first parameterized cell (Pcell) label of Beckett because the label would be processed and accessible in such a manner that it is secure and is not needed to be stored in more than one location.
In reference to claim 7, the timing of the real-time transaction validation has no bearing of the structure of the first parameterized cell (Pcell) label and therefore carries no patentable weight. The first parameterized cell (Pcell) label of Beckett in view of Lau could be validated at any time including to prior to a final graphic design system (GDS) is provide to a client.
In reference to claim 8, Beckett teaches wherein the customer label comprises a list of parameter names and values uniquely defining a design instance (Column 19, line 57-column 20, line 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art of record does not teach or clearly suggest a structure comprising a first parameterized cell (Pcell) label generated based on a customer label corresponding to a customer design on a customer network and which comprises a real-time transaction validation for a smart contract on a blockchain network; a second Pcell label generated based on the customer design on the customer network; and an intellectual property (IP) tool configured to compare the first Pcell label with the second Pcell label to perform the real-time transaction validation of the first Pcell label.
Conclusion
/B.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851