Attorney Docket Number: 18506-2369
Filling Date: 1/13/2023
Inventor: Chou et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horikoshi (US 2005/0052938 A1).
Regarding clam 1, Horikoshi discloses a semiconductor structure 82 (Fig. 5), comprising: a first substrate 71 (Para. 140), having a top surface; a first conductive layer101 (Para. 128), vertically inserted into the first substrate 71 from the top surface of the first substrate; a first magnetic layer 83 (Para. 123), disposed in the first substrate 71 and surrounding the first conductive layer 101; a second magnetic layer 2 (Para. 142), disposed over the first conductive layer 101 and the first magnetic layer 83; and a first dielectric material 108 (Para. 42) separating the second magnetic layer 2 at a location vertically overlapping the first conductive layer 101.
Regarding clam 2, Horikoshi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: a second substrate 110, bonded to the first substrate 71 over the top surface of the first substrate 71; a second conductive layer 113, vertically inserted into the second substrate 110 and aligned with the first conductive layer 101; and a third magnetic layer 115, disposed in the second substrate 110 and surrounding (surrounding two sides) the second conductive layer 113.
Regarding clam 3, Horikoshi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the second magnetic layer 2 is disposed between the first conductive layer 101 and the second conductive layer 113.
Regarding clam 4, Horikoshi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising a second dielectric material 3 (Para. 142) between the first magnetic layer 83 and the second magnetic layer 2.
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webb (US 2013/0093032 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Webb discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 2), comprising: a first substrate 110 (Para. 24), having a top surface (top surface); a first conductive layer 125 (Para. 47), vertically inserted into the first substrate 110 from the top surface of the first substrate 110; a first magnetic layer 123 (Para. 33), disposed in the first substrate 110 and surrounding the first conductive layer 125; and a second magnetic layer 164 (Para. 47), disposed over the first conductive layer 125 and the first magnetic layer 123; and a first dielectric material 162 (Para. 47) separating the second magnetic layer 164 at a location vertically overlapping the first conductive layer 125.
Regarding clam 5, Webb discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising a dielectric layer 162 (Para. 47) separating the first magnetic layer 123 from the first conductive layer 125.
Regarding claim 6, Webb discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein the dielectric layer 162 further separates the first magnetic layer 123 from the second magnetic layer 164.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb (US 2013/0093032 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Webb does not explicitly disclose in the embodiment of figure 2, the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a portion of the first conductive layer protrudes from the top surface of the first substrate.
However, Webb discloses in the embodiment of figure 5, a portion of the first conductive layer 225 (Paras. 39, 40) protrudes from the top surface of the first substrate 210 (Para. 48).
Webb teaches the above modification is used to increase storage energy density of the device (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute Webb Fig. 2 first conductive layer with Webb Fig. 5 first conductive layer as suggested above to increase storage energy density of the device (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 and 20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817