Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in “Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” on 10/16/2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections of claim 1 by Polomoff 172 and Polomoff 464 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that both of the references fails to teach or disclose the limitations of claim 1 because both Polomoff 172 and Polomoff 464 fail to teach or disclose a dielectric moisture barrier.
Examiner notes that “dielectric moisture barrier” does not have a generally accepted definition in the prior art, however, it is reasonable to understand that the dielectric moisture barrier would be some structure in the semiconductor device that will act as a barrier to prevent the movement of moisture. This does not mean that the primary focus of that structure has to be to prevent moisture movement, but just that the structure is capable of doing the action of preventing movement of moisture.
In response to applicant's argument that that the structures of Polomoff 172 and Polomoff 464 do not contain a “dielectric moisture barrier”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
While the structures from both Polomoff 172 and Polomoff 464 are not directly labeled in the prior art as “dielectric moisture barrier”, because the structures are layered stacks of dielectric and metal, both materials that generally prevent the flow of moisture, it is reasonable to consider the structures as “dielectric moisture barrier”. Thus, the 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections of Claim 1 by Polomoff 172 and Polomoff 464 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polomoff et al. (US 20210305172 A1; Polomoff 172).
Regarding Claim 1, Polomoff 172 discloses a structure 10, comprising:
an integrated circuit (IC) chip (20) including a substrate (13);
an input/output (I/O) opening (26-28) extending inwardly from an edge of the IC chip; and a dielectric moisture barrier (18) including:
a first moisture barrier portion (36) extending along a side of the I/O opening (Fig. 1, where moisture barrier portion 36 is extending inward along with I/O opening),
a second moisture barrier portion (34) extending along the edge (16) of the IC chip (Para 22, “The guard ring 18 includes segments 34 that extend parallel to and adjacent to the side edge 16”), and
a third moisture barrier portion (38) coupling the first moisture barrier portion to the second moisture barrier portion to complete the moisture barrier between the edge of the IC chip and the I/O opening (Para 25, Lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 2, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 1, and further wherein the third moisture barrier portion extends linearly at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the edge of the IC chip (See Fig. 1, where third moisture barrier portion 38 is extending at an angle relative to the edge 16 of the IC chip).
Regarding Claim 3, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 1, wherein the third moisture barrier portion includes at least one right angle therein (See Fig. 3, where third moisture barrier portion 38, is also attached to plate 41 and via 43 to form a right angle with them).
Regarding Claim 4, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 1, and further comprising a first crack stop (14) extending around an outer periphery of the moisture barrier (Fig. 1, Where Crack stop 14 is disposed on the outer periphery of moisture barrier 18).
Regarding Claim 15, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 1, and further wherein the I/O opening includes a plurality of adjacent I/O openings (26-28), each extending inwardly from the edge of the IC chip (Fig. 1, where each of the I/O openings are all extending inwardly into the IC chip from an IC chip edge), and wherein each of the plurality of adjacent I/O openings includes the dielectric moisture barrier (18) including the first moisture barrier portion extending along the side of a respective I/O opening (36) and the third moisture barrier portion (38) coupling the first moisture barrier portion to the second moisture barrier portion (34) to complete the moisture barrier between the edge of the IC chip and the respective I/O opening (See Fig. 1, where each of the I/O ports individually include the first, second, and third, moisture barrier portions as described above).
Regarding Claim 16, Polomoff 172 discloses a structure, comprising:
an integrated circuit (IC) chip (20) including a substrate (13);
an input/output (I/O) opening (26-28) extending inwardly from an edge of the IC chip; and a dielectric moisture barrier (18) including:
a first moisture barrier (36) portion extending along a side of the I/O opening (Fig. 1, where moisture barrier portion 36 is extending inward along with I/O opening),
a second moisture barrier portion (34) extending along an entirety of the edge (16) of the IC chip except at the I/O opening (Para 22, “The guard ring 18 includes segments 34 that extend parallel to and adjacent to the side edge 16”, Fig. 1, where the moisture barrier extends along the whole edge other than at the I/O openings),
a third moisture barrier portion (38) coupling an end of the second moisture barrier portion at a distance from the I/O opening to a location between ends of the first moisture barrier portion extending along the side of the I/O opening (Para 25, Lines 1-6), and
wherein the second moisture barrier portion includes a chamfer portion at each outer corner of the IC chip (Fig. 6, where the second moisture barrier portion has a chamfered edge at the point where the I/O opening and IC chip edge meet).
Regarding Claim 17, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 16, wherein the third moisture barrier portion extends linearly at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the edge of the IC chip (See Fig. 1/6, where third moisture barrier portion 38 is extending at an angle relative to the edge 16 of the IC chip).
Regarding Claim 18, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 16, wherein the third moisture barrier portion includes at least one right angle therein (See Fig. 3, where third moisture barrier portion 38, is also attached to plate 41 and via 43 to form a right angle with them).
Regarding Claim 19, Polomoff 172 discloses the structure of claim 16, further comprising a first crack stop (14) extending around an outer periphery of the moisture barrier (Fig. 1/6, Where Crack stop 14 is disposed on the outer periphery of moisture barrier 18).
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polomoff et al. (US 20220291464 A1; Polomoff 464).
Regarding Claim 1, Polomoff 464 discloses a structure (10), comprising:
an integrated circuit (IC) chip (Photonics Chip not labeled) including a substrate (23);
an input/output (I/O) opening extending inwardly from an edge of the IC chip (Figs. 5 and 6, where the chip has a I/O not labeled that allows for optical fiber 44 to be connected); and a dielectric moisture barrier including (20 – Inner ring with curved parts in Figs. 5/6)):
a first moisture barrier portion extending along a side of the I/O opening (Fig. 5, Portion of 20 extending inward with I/O opening),
a second moisture barrier portion extending along the edge of the IC chip (Fig. 5, Portion of 20 extending around the edge of the chip), and
a third moisture barrier portion coupling the first moisture barrier portion to the second moisture barrier portion to complete the moisture barrier between the edge of the IC chip and the I/O opening (Fig. 5, Portion of 20 that curved at the edge of the edge of the chip and the I/O opening).
Regarding Claim 4, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 1, and further comprising a first crack stop (16) extending around an outer periphery of the moisture barrier (Fig. 5/6, Where Crack stop 16 is disposed on the outer periphery of moisture barrier 18).
Regarding Claim 5, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 4, wherein the first crack stop (16) includes a first portion parallel to the third moisture barrier portion (The third moisture barrier has a portion that is curved against the flat strut portion of crack stop 16 where the die edge and the I/O opening meet. In this portion at least one part of the curved third moisture barrier portion will be parallel to crack stop 16), and a second portion and a third portion forming a triangle with the first portion, the triangle in a corner of the IC chip adjacent the I/O opening (Figs 5/6, where crack stop 16 forms triangles are at where the die edge and the I/O opening meet).
Regarding Claim 7, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 5, and further comprising a second crack stop (14) extending around an outer periphery of the first crack stop, the second crack stop including a portion parallel to the I/O opening (Figs. 5/6 where second crack stop 14 are on the outside of crack stop 16 and extend around the die and includes a portion parallel to the I/O opening).
Regarding Claim 8, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 4, further comprising a second crack stop (14) extending around an inner periphery of the moisture barrier (The crack stop extends around the inner periphery of the moisture barrier, regardless of if it is disposed within that inner periphery), the second crack stop including a portion parallel to the third moisture barrier portion (The portion where the curved parts of the third moisture barrier portion ends its curved part, it will be in parallel with second crack stop 14 as it is on the edge).
Regarding Claim 9, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 8, wherein the third moisture barrier portion and the portion of the second crack stop each include at least one right angle therein (The second crack stop 14 has right angles at each corner of the IC in Fig. 5/6, The third moisture barrier portion makes a right angle with the top surface of the IC 21 as in Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 10, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 9, wherein the first crack stop includes a first portion parallel to the third moisture barrier portion (First portion will be the struts from first crack stop 16 as seen in Figs. 5/6. The third moisture barrier is curved against those struts and will at some point be parallel with the first portion of the first crack stop), and a second portion and a third portion forming a triangle with the first portion, the triangle in a corner of the IC chip adjacent the I/O opening (Figs. 5/6, Second and third portions of the first crack stop can be seen as the portions disposed along the IC edge and the portions that run parallel to the I/O opening).
Regarding Claim 12, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 4, and further discloses wherein the moisture barrier and the first crack stop include parallel chamfers at outer corners of the IC chip (Fig. 5/6 where the first crack stop 16 has diagonal corners at each corner of the IC and moisture barrier 20 is curved along the same corners. The curve means at some point they will be parallel at each corner to each other).
Regarding Claim 13, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the moisture barrier includes chamfers at outer corners of the IC chip (Fig. 5/6, where the curved portions of moisture barrier 20 could be considered chamfered portions).
Regarding Claim 14, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 13, and further comprising a first crack stop (16) extending around an outer periphery of the moisture barrier (Fig. 5/6 where first crack stop is extending around the outer periphery of moisture barrier 20 [not labeled in figure]), the first crack stop having four right angle corners at corners of the IC chip and a strut portion spanning each right-angle corner (Fig. 5/6, where crack stop 16 at each corner of the IC chip has a right angle turn and a strut at each corner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polomoff 464 in view of Baek et al. (US 20170345773 A1; Baek).
Regarding Claim 6, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 5, however, Polomoff 464 fails to disclose wherein the first crack stop includes an L-shaped portion within the triangle in the corner of the IC chip adjacent the I/O opening.
In a similar field of endeavor, Baek discloses an IC chip where the corners of the IC chip have features to prevent the dispersion of cracks or ‘crack stops.’ These features are set in the corner as a triangle (Baek: CF) and create an L-shaped portion (Baek: 210 and L1-4) within (See Fig. 3, where 212 L1-4 and L4 212-218 make an L portion).
In view of the disclosure of Baek, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosure of Baek to Polomoff 464 at the time the instant application was filed to make a first crack stop layer with L-shaped portions within the triangle in the corner of the IC chip adjacent to the opening. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make the modification because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the advantages that supporting the corners of an IC with further structures such as L-shaped portions within the context of the triangular portions in the corners. Motivation can be found directly in Para. 29 of the specification of Baek.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polomoff 464 in view of Matumoto et al. (US 20040150073 A1; Matumoto).
Regarding Claim 11, Polomoff 464 discloses the structure of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the first crack stop includes a square portion having two sides that parallel the third moisture barrier portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Matumoto discloses where a crack stop (seal ring 12) at the location of the corner of the IC chip, will have the shape of a squares or squares (Fig. 3 and 4, Para. 27).
Furthermore, because the third moisture barrier in Polomoff 464 is a 90 curve, it will be parallel in two points to any square crack stop regardless of the location of the square.
In view of the disclosure of Matumoto, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosure of Matumoto to Polomoff 464 at the time the instant application was filed to make the first crack stop square in shape and have it have two sides that are parallel to the third moisture barrier portion. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make the modification because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the advantages that having a square crack stop at the corner of the IC provide such as further crack protection beyond traditional means in highly vulnerable areas like the corners (Matumoto: Para. 6)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899