Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10-13, 15-16, 18, 20-24, 42, and 59-72 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
While it was agreed upon that amendments which further limit the carrier’s leadframe to be for external connection would overcome the rejection, after further consideration of the reference, the reference Kim does teach an embodiment in which the second carrier substrate is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12, paragraph 25). Some of the external connection leads (106) are attached, and some are not attached to element 104. However, all leads are a part of leadframe 104. The cross-section (11) of Figure 13 just happens to be taken at a detached lead (106) from Figure 12. Therefore, the U.S.C 102 rejection is not withdrawn. However, in an effort to advance prosecution, reference Broll et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0063259) is being introduced to teach the amended limitations as set forth in the rejection below. Applicant also argues that Kim does not teach the power semiconductor package to not include any wire bonds. These arguments are persuasive, and therefore reference Broll is also used to teach this feature below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-13, 15-16, 18, 20-24, 42, and 59-72 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17, 19, 26, 28-29, 31, 58, and 75-79 of copending Application No. 18/456,782 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely seeks to broaden the claims by describing the source, drain, and gate contacts found in dependent claims of the instant application as first, second, and third contacts. Regarding independent claim 1, the reference application teaches a first carrier, a second carrier, and a semiconductor die coupled to the carriers. Regarding independent claim 42, applicant merely claims a method of coupling a semiconductor die to first and second carriers. Therefore, the reference application anticipates the instant application since the reference application fully encompasses the scope of the claims in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-13, 15-16, 18, 20, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a power semiconductor package (Figure 1), comprising:
a first carrier substrate (112), the first carrier substrate (112) comprising one or more conductive pads (114/116)
a second carrier substrate (104), the second carrier substrate (104) comprising one or more conductive leads (802), wherein the second carrier substrate is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12; paragraph 25)
and a power semiconductor die (102) having a first surface (134) and an opposing second surface (139)
wherein the first surface (134) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112)
wherein the second surface (139) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104)
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a first contact (125) on the first surface (134) and a second contact (138) on the second surface (139), wherein the first contact (125) is directly coupled to at least one of the one or more conductive pads (114) of the first carrier substrate (116), wherein the second contact (138) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104) (Figure 13).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die comprises a third contact (125 right) on the first surface, wherein the one or more conductive pads of the first carrier substrate comprises a first conductive pad (114) and a second conductive pad (116), wherein the first contact (125 left) is directly coupled to the first conductive pad (114) and the third contact (125 right) is directly coupled to the second conductive pad (116).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) is coupled to one or more second conductive leads (125) of the power semiconductor package (102).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112) in a flip chip configuration (The active side of 102 is facing up, and is therefore flipped).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate comprises a direct bonded copper (DBC) substrate or an active metal brazed (AMB) substrate (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the second carrier substrate (104) comprises a lead frame (108) for the power semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) comprises a first surface (115) and an opposing second surface (113), wherein the one or more conductive pads (114/116) are on the first surface (115) of the first carrier substrate (112), wherein the first carrier substrate (112) comprises a thermally conductive cooling layer (118) on the second surface (113).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the thermally conductive cooling layer (118) is exposed through an encapsulating portion (120) of the power semiconductor package (Figure 17).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the thermally conductive cooling layer (118) is covered by an encapsulating portion (120) of the power semiconductor package (Encapsulant 120 at least partially covers the cooling layer 118).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses an insulating layer (112) on the first contact (125) of the power semiconductor die (102), wherein the insulating layer comprises a first dielectric material (paragraph 27, Element 112 can be interpreted to be both the carrier and insulating layer since it is a dielectric ceramic layer).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses an encapsulating portion (120), the encapsulating portion comprising a second dielectric material (paragraph 30, plastic).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the first dielectric material (112) is different from the second dielectric material (120) such that the first dielectric material has a first dielectric constant, and the second dielectric material has a second dielectric constant, the first dielectric constant being different from the second dielectric constant (Paragraphs 27 and 30 show different materials, and therefore different dielectric constant materials).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the first dielectric material is the same as the second dielectric material (Paragraphs 27 and 30 describe the dielectric materials can both be ceramic).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a wide band gap semiconductor (paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 42, Kim discloses a method of fabricating a power semiconductor package, the method comprising:
directly coupling a power semiconductor die (102) to a first carrier substrate (104) to form a first assembly (Figure 10)
directly coupling the first assembly (102/104) to a second carrier substrate (110), the second carrier substrate comprising one or more conductive leads (114), wherein the second carrier substrate is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12; paragraph 25)
encapsulating (120) at least a portion of the first carrier substrate (104), the second carrier substrate (110), and the power semiconductor die (102) to form an encapsulating portion (Figure 17)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-13, 15-16, 18, 20, 22, 42, and 59-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Broll et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0063259).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a power semiconductor package (Figure 1), comprising:
a first carrier substrate (112), the first carrier substrate (112) comprising one or more conductive pads (114/116)
a second carrier substrate (104), the second carrier substrate (104) comprising one or more conductive leads (802), wherein the second carrier substrate is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12; paragraph 25)
and a power semiconductor die (102) having a first surface (134) and an opposing second surface (139)
wherein the first surface (134) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112)
wherein the second surface (139) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104)
Kim does not explicitly disclose the second carrier is a lead frame for connection to external components. However, Broll discloses a carrier structure (102) is a metal lead frame for external connection (142) (paragraph 46; Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to include a lead frame as the carrier for external connection, since it can allow for a variety of electrical connection configurations, therefore improving versatility of the device (paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a first contact (125) on the first surface (134) and a second contact (138) on the second surface (139), wherein the first contact (125) is directly coupled to at least one of the one or more conductive pads (114) of the first carrier substrate (116), wherein the second contact (138) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104) (Figure 13).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die comprises a third contact (125 right) on the first surface, wherein the one or more conductive pads of the first carrier substrate comprises a first conductive pad (114) and a second conductive pad (116), wherein the first contact (125 left) is directly coupled to the first conductive pad (114) and the third contact (125 right) is directly coupled to the second conductive pad (116).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) is coupled to one or more second conductive leads (125) of the power semiconductor package (102).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112) in a flip chip configuration (The active side of 102 is facing up, and is therefore flipped).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate comprises a direct bonded copper (DBC) substrate or an active metal brazed (AMB) substrate (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the second carrier substrate (104) comprises a lead frame (108) for the power semiconductor package.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) comprises a first surface (115) and an opposing second surface (113), wherein the one or more conductive pads (114/116) are on the first surface (115) of the first carrier substrate (112), wherein the first carrier substrate (112) comprises a thermally conductive cooling layer (118) on the second surface (113).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the thermally conductive cooling layer (118) is exposed through an encapsulating portion (120) of the power semiconductor package (Figure 17).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the thermally conductive cooling layer (118) is covered by an encapsulating portion (120) of the power semiconductor package (Encapsulant 120 at least partially covers the cooling layer 118).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses an insulating layer (112) on the first contact (125) of the power semiconductor die (102), wherein the insulating layer comprises a first dielectric material (paragraph 27, Element 112 can be interpreted to be both the carrier and insulating layer since it is a dielectric ceramic layer).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses an encapsulating portion (120), the encapsulating portion comprising a second dielectric material (paragraph 30, plastic).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the first dielectric material (112) is different from the second dielectric material (120) such that the first dielectric material has a first dielectric constant, and the second dielectric material has a second dielectric constant, the first dielectric constant being different from the second dielectric constant (Paragraphs 27 and 30 show different materials, and therefore different dielectric constant materials).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the first dielectric material is the same as the second dielectric material (Paragraphs 27 and 30 describe the dielectric materials can both be ceramic).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a wide band gap semiconductor (paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 42, Kim discloses a method of fabricating a power semiconductor package, the method comprising:
directly coupling a power semiconductor die (102) to a first carrier substrate (104) to form a first assembly (Figure 10)
directly coupling the first assembly (102/104) to a second carrier substrate (110), the second carrier substrate comprising one or more conductive leads (114), wherein the second carrier substrate is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12; paragraph 25)
encapsulating (120) at least a portion of the first carrier substrate (104), the second carrier substrate (110), and the power semiconductor die (102) to form an encapsulating portion (Figure 17)
Kim does not explicitly disclose the second carrier is a lead frame for connection to external components. However, Broll discloses a carrier structure (102) is a metal lead frame for external connection (142) (paragraph 46; Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to include a lead frame as the carrier for external connection, since it can allow for a variety of electrical connection configurations, therefore improving versatility of the device (paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose the power semiconductor package does not include any wire bonds. However, Broll discloses optionally using wire bonds or metal clips (paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to avoid using wire bonds, as taught by Broll, since it can improve current carrying capacity to use metal clips or bond pads (paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 59, Kim discloses a power semiconductor package, comprising:
a first carrier substrate 112), the first carrier substrate (112) comprising one or more conductive pads (114/116)
a second carrier substrate (104), the second carrier substrate (104) comprising one or more conductive leads (802)
a power semiconductor die (102) having a first surface (134) and an opposing second surface (139)
wherein the first surface (134) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112)
wherein the second surface (139) of the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104)
wherein the power semiconductor package does not include any wire bonds
Kim does not disclose the power semiconductor package does not include any wire bonds. However, Broll discloses optionally using wire bonds or metal clips (paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the package of Kim to avoid using wire bonds, as taught by Broll, since it can improve current carrying capacity to use metal clips or bond pads (paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 60, Kim discloses the second carrier substrate (104) is a lead frame for connection to external components (Figure 12; paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 61, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a first contact (125) on the first surface (134) and a second contact (138) on the second surface (139), wherein the first contact (125) is directly coupled to at least one of the one or more conductive pads (114) of the first carrier substrate (116), wherein the second contact (138) is directly coupled to the second carrier substrate (104) (Figure 13).
Regarding claim 62, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die comprises a third contact (125 right) on the first surface, wherein the one or more conductive pads of the first carrier substrate comprises a first conductive pad (114) and a second conductive pad (116), wherein the first contact (125 left) is directly coupled to the first conductive pad (114) and the third contact (125 right) is directly coupled to the second conductive pad (116).
Regarding claim 63, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) is coupled to one or more second conductive leads (125) of the power semiconductor package (102).
Regarding claim 64, Kim discloses the power semiconductor die (102) is directly coupled to the first carrier substrate (112) in a flip chip configuration (The active side of 102 is facing up, and is therefore flipped).
Regarding claim 65, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate comprises a direct bonded copper (DBC) substrate or an active metal brazed (AMB) substrate (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 66, Kim discloses an insulating layer (112) on the first contact (125) of the power semiconductor die (102), wherein the insulating layer comprises a first dielectric material (paragraph 27, Element 112 can be interpreted to be both the carrier and insulating layer since it is a dielectric ceramic layer); and an encapsulating portion (120), the encapsulating portion comprising a second dielectric material (paragraph 30, plastic).
Regarding claim 67, Kim discloses the thermally conductive cooling layer (118) is exposed through an encapsulating portion (120) of the power semiconductor package (Figure 17).
Regarding claim 68, Kim discloses the first carrier substrate (112) comprises a thermally conductive cooling layer (118) that is covered (laterally covered) by the encapsulating portion (120).
Regarding claim 69, Kim discloses the first dielectric material (112) is different from the second dielectric material (120) (Paragraphs 27 and 30 show different materials, and therefore different dielectric constant materials).
Regarding claim 70, Kim discloses the first dielectric material is the same as the second dielectric material (Paragraphs 27 and 30 describe the dielectric materials can both be ceramic).
Claims 21, 23, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Broll et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0063259), and further in view of Stella et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0199563).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim is silent regarding the wide band gap semiconductor is silicon carbide. However, Stella discloses a wide band gap semiconductor that is silicon carbide (paragraph 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the semiconductor die of Kim to be made of silicon carbide, as taught by Stella, since for their use in high voltage/high power applications that can allow for fast power conversion and rapid switching (paragraphs 2-3).
Regarding claim 23, Stella discloses the power semiconductor die comprises a silicon carbide-based MOSFET (paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 71, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 59 above. Kim also discloses the power semiconductor die (102) comprises a wide band gap semiconductor (paragraph 1). Kim is silent regarding the wide band gap semiconductor is silicon carbide. However, Stella discloses a wide band gap semiconductor that is silicon carbide (paragraph 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the semiconductor die of Kim to be made of silicon carbide, as taught by Stella, since for their use in high voltage/high power applications that can allow for fast power conversion and rapid switching (paragraphs 2-3).
Claims 24 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0357729) in view of Broll et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0063259), and further in view of Seal et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0238426).
Regarding claim 24, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim is silent regarding the power semiconductor die comprises a silicon carbide-based Schottky diode. However, Seal discloses a silicon carbide-based Schottky diode (paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the semiconductor die of Kim to comprise a SiC Schottky diode, as taught by Seal, for its high reliability and wide applications in high voltage devices (paragraphs 2-5).
Regarding claim 72, Kim discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 59 above. Kim is silent regarding the power semiconductor die comprises a silicon carbide-based MOSFET or Schottky diode. However, Seal discloses a silicon carbide-based Schottky diode (paragraph 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the semiconductor die of Kim to comprise a SiC MOSFET or Schottky diode, as taught by Seal, for its high reliability and wide applications in high voltage devices (paragraphs 2-5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.P/ 2/23/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897