DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 1/28/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (US Pub. No. 2001/0054725 A1).
As to claim 7, Nagai discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (figs 7-12 and [0033]-[0038]), comprising:
forming a first MOS device (fig 8, MOS device 9B [0069]) and a second MOS device (fig 8, MOS device 9A; [0069]) on a substrate (1);
forming a first dielectric layer (4; [0074]) beside the first MOS device and the second MOS device (MOS devices 9A and 9B);
forming a first stop layer (fig 9, 15) on the first dielectric layer (4);
removing at least part of the first stop layer to form an opening in the first stop layer (opening in 15 corresponding to region B), wherein the opening corresponds to the first MOS device (9B in region B), and the second MOS device is not exposed by the first stop layer (9A is not exposed by 15);
performing a sintering process ([0078]); and
forming a second dielectric layer (19; [0078]) covering the stop layer (15).
As to claim 9, Nagai discloses the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device according to claim 7 (paragraphs above).
Nagai further discloses wherein the formed second dielectric layer is further filled in the opening (fig 12, 19 is filled in the opening in 15 in region B).
As to claim 10, Nagai discloses the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device according to claim 7 (paragraphs above).
Nagai further discloses forming a second stop layer (19 is considered to be a dielectric stop layer) on the first stop layer (15) and filling the second stop layer in the opening (19 fills the opening in 15 in region B).
As to claim 11, Nagai discloses the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device according to claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Nagai further discloses wherein at least part of the first stop layer is removed, and a bottom of the opening exposes the first stop layer (fig 9, 15 is removed from region B and bottom of opening exposes 15 at an angle).
As to claim 12, Nagai discloses the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device according to claim 7 (paragraphs above).
Nagai further discloses wherein at least part of the first stop layer is removed, and a bottom of the opening exposes the first MOS device (fig 9, 15 is removed in region B and bottom exposes first MOS device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai in view of Isogai et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0004690 A1), hereafter referred to as Isogai.
As to claim 8, Nagai discloses the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device according to claim 7 (paragraphs above).
Nagai does not disclose wherein a gas used in the sintering process comprises hydrogen.
Nonetheless, Isogai discloses wherein a gas used in a sintering process comprises hydrogen ([0003] and [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to perform the sintering process comprising hydrogen as taught by Isogai in the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device of Nagai since this will improve the interface level density by terminating dangling bond by stabilizing with hydrogen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 on pages 6-7 of the remarks received 1/28/2026 are persuasive. Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are allowable because of their dependence from one of allowable claims 1 or 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 6,787,417 B2; and US Pub. No. 2005/0263825 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 2/23/2026