DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20220278063 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of Shih et al (US 10049877 B1, hereinafter Shih)
With regards to claim 1, Hu discloses a semiconductor structure (FIGS. 4-7A) comprising:
a substrate; (substrate 100, see FIG. 4)
a plurality of first pads (pads 122) disposed on the substrate and separated from each other; (see FIG. 7A, which is an alternate embodiment of the base structure shown in FIG. 4) and
a plurality of second pads (pads 121) disposed on the substrate and separated from each other, wherein each of the first pads is separated from each of the second pads, (see FIG. 7A, showing the separations)
a top-view shape of the each of the first pads is different from a top-view shape of the each of the second pads, (see FIG. 7A, where the first pads are rectangular, and the second pads are square) and
a portion of the first pads surrounds the same second pad, (See FIG. 7A, showing the surrounding of pads 121 via pads 122).
However, Hu does not explicitly teach the first pads of the portion of the first pads are arranged in a circular ring-shape to enclose only one of the second pads.
Shih teaches the first pads (layers 126) of the portion of the first pads are arranged in a circular ring-shape to enclose only one of the second pads. (layer 106, see FIG. 11A where the layers 126 only surround the layers 106)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of hu to have the placement of the pads as recited in Shih, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that the shape can be used to reduce the patterned size and the spacing between the patterns. (see Col. 7, ll. 10-20)
With regards to claim 3, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1.
Hu further teaches wherein the first pads and the second pads are arranged in a first direction (up and down the page of FIG. 7A) and a second direction, (left and right of the page of FIG. 7A) and the first direction intersects with the second direction. (See FIG. 7A)
With regards to claim 4, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 3.
Hu further teaches wherein two of the first pads are between adjacent two of the second pads arranged in the first direction. (see FIG. 7A, where the middle pads 122 are between two adjacent pads 121 that are in the innermost and outermost portions of the device)
With regards to claim 5, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 3.
Hu further teaches, wherein a virtual straight line passing through a center point of adjacent two of the first pads arranged in the second direction does not pass through any one of the second pads. (See FIG. 7A, where a line drawn through the center of two pads does not pass through any other pad, as there is a large gap contained between every pad)
With regards to claim 6, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 3.
Hu further teaches wherein a virtual straight line passing through a center point of adjacent two of the second pads arranged in the second direction does not pass through any one of the first pads. (See FIG. 7A, where a line drawn through the center of two pads does not pass through any other pad, as there is a large gap contained between every pad)
With regards to claim 7, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1.
Hu further teaches wherein the first pads and the second pads are derived from the same material layer.(See Paragraphs [0025]-[0026], where the first and second pads are made of the same material, metal)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20220278063 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of Shih et al (US 10049877 B1, hereinafter Shih)
With regards to claim 2, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1.
However, while Hu teaches teach wherein the first pads have the same top-view shape, the second pads have the same top-view shape, (see FIG. 7A), Hu does not explicitly the top-view shape of the first pads is approximately triangular, and the top-view shape of the second pads is approximately circular.
Hu does teach circular pads (see FIGS. 5-6, showing different circular shapes), which suggests a motivation to try different shapes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hu to have the differently shaped pads, such as circles and triangles, as Hu has a direct suggestion that other shapes can be used (see Hu Paragraph [0032]).
It should also be noted that the court held that the configuration of the claimed [device] was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed [device] was significant.). (See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Changes in Shape) In the instant case, the current device would not perform differently with the relative dimensions than the prior art device, and thus is not patentably distinct.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hu to have the shape as recited in the above recited claim.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20220278063 A1, hereinafter Hu) in view of Shih et al (US 10049877 B1, hereinafter Shih), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Gwak (US 20140273471 A1, hereinafter Gwak)
With regards to claim 8, Hu in view of Shih teaches the semiconductor structure according to claim 1.
However, Hu does not explicitly teach further comprising:
a plurality of contact structures;
a bit line structure disposed between adjacent two of the contact structures; and
a plurality of capacitor structures, wherein the contact structures are closer to the substrate than the capacitor structures,
the each of the first pads is located between a corresponding one of the contact structures and a corresponding one of the capacitor structures, and is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the contact structures and the corresponding one of the capacitor structures, and
the each of the second pads is located between a corresponding one of the contact structures and a corresponding one of the capacitor structures, and is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the contact structures and the corresponding one of the capacitor structures.
Gwak teaches a plurality of contact structures; (bit contacts BC)
a bit line structure (bit line BL) disposed between adjacent two of the contact structures; and
a plurality of capacitor structures, (capacitor 190) wherein the contact structures are closer to the substrate than the capacitor structures, (see FIG. 20, where the bit contacts BC directly contact the substrate 100/103)
the each of the first pads (middle pads CP) is located between a corresponding one of the contact structures and a corresponding one of the capacitor structures, and is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the contact structures and the corresponding one of the capacitor structures, (see FIG. 20, showing the electrical connection) and
the each of the second pads (outermost pads CP) is located between a corresponding one of the contact structures and a corresponding one of the capacitor structures, and is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the contact structures and the corresponding one of the capacitor structures. (see FIG. 20, showing the electrical connection)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hu to have the memory structure of Gwak, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that using Gwak with hu has the benefit of forming fine patterns for better lithography in memory devices (see Gwak paragraph [0003]-[0004])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot, as Examiner is using a new reference, Shih, to teach the circular surrounding shape.
Conclusion
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812