DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed 12/31/2025 in which claims 1, 2, 7, 10-12, 16, and 18 were amended and claim 3 was cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-14, 16, and 18-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US 2021/0399122 and Cheng hereinafter) in view of Okamoto (US 2019/0051740 and Okamoto hereinafter).
As to claims 1 and 2: Cheng discloses [claim 1] a wide band gap transistor (Figs. 10a-10c), comprising: a semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 23, and 24; [0028] and [0029]) including: a substrate (1; [0028]); a channel layer (23; [0029]) of gallium nitride (GaN) (GaN; [0029]) on the substrate (1); and a barrier layer (24; [0029]) of a material selected from a group of materials including aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN), ternary alloys of aluminum and gallium, and quaternary alloys of aluminum and gallium (AlGaN; [0029]); a trench (Fig. 5a; 3; [0037]-[0039]) extending into a surface (extends into a top surface) of the barrier layer (24); an insulating gate structure (5; [0049]-[0050]) on the surface (top surface) of the barrier layer (24) and in the trench (3), the insulating gate structure (5) including a first opening (Figs. 10a and 10b; opening in which 6 is formed; [0052]) exposing the barrier layer (24) and a second opening (Figs. 10a and 10b; opening in which 8 is formed; [0052]) exposing the barrier layer (top surface of 24); a gate electrode (7; [0051]) on the insulating gate structure (5), in the trench (3), and separated from the barrier layer (24) by the insulating gate structure (5); a source electrode (6; [0052]) on the surface (top surface) of the barrier layer (24) and in the first opening (opening in which 6 is formed) such that portions of the insulating gate structure (5) are on opposite sides of the source electrode (see Fig. 10a where 5 surrounds 6); and a drain electrode (8; [0052]) on the surface (top surface) of the barrier layer (24) and in the second opening (opening in which 8 is formed) such that portions of the insulating gate structure (5) are on opposite sides of the drain electrode (see Fig. 10a where 5 surrounds 8); [claim 2] wherein the semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 23, and 24) includes a heterostructure including: a heterojunction (consisting of a junction between GaN (23) and AlGaN (24); [0029]) being formed at an interface between the channel layer (23) and the barrier layer (24).
Cheng fails to expressly disclose where [claim 1] the insulating gate structure including a mixture of aluminum, hafnium, and oxygen.
Cheng discloses a HEMT comprising III-nitride compounds where the insulating gate structure can be one of or a combination of SiO2 and SiN ([0049]).
Okamoto discloses a HEMT comprising III-nitride compounds where [claim 1] the insulating gate structure (GI; [0138]) including a mixture of aluminum, hafnium, and oxygen (GI can be hafnium aluminate, which is HfAlO; [0138]).
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art because, as stated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing a hafnium aluminate from the list of Okamoto instead of SiO2 and SiN as in Cheng; if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case a material that provides a desired level of electrical isolation between the gate electrode and the underlying semiconductor structure, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Okamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fenwick et al (US 2021/0123143 and Fenwick hereinafter).
As to claims 4-6: Although the structure disclosed by Cheng in view of Wang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 8 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
[claim 4] wherein the insulating gate structure is at least partially layered with a plurality of first regions including aluminum oxide (Al2O3) and a plurality of second regions including hafnium oxide (HfO2) that are alternated with the first regions; [claim 5] wherein each of the first regions and each of the second regions has a thickness comprised between 1 nm and 5 nm; [claim 6] wherein the insulating gate structure is amorphous.
Cheng in view of Okamoto discloses a GaN HEMT with a HfAlO gate insulator.
Fenwick discloses a method of forming a HfAlO layer on a buffer layer ([0078]), such as a layer comprising aluminum and nitrogen, [claim 4] wherein the insulating gate structure (Fig. 2C; hafnium aluminate, HfAlO; [0068] and [0077]) is at least partially layered with a plurality of first regions (239; [0068]-[0069]) including aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (can be aluminum oxide; [0069]) and a plurality of second regions (233; [0071]-[0072]) including hafnium oxide (HfO2) (can be hafnium oxide) that are alternated with the first regions (239); [claim 5] wherein each of the first regions (239) and each of the second regions (233) has a thickness comprised between 1 nm and 5 nm (239 and 233 can each be between 1 nm and 1000 nm; [0070] and [0073]); [claim 6] wherein the insulating gate structure is amorphous ([0098]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to form the transistor device of Cheng in view of Okamoto with the hafnium aluminate dielectric of Okamoto using the method of forming HfAlO taught by Fenwick since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, namely an HfAlO layer for use in a transistor that is formed within the claimed thicknesses to provide a dielectric layer that is amorphous, uniform, continuous, conformal, and free of porosity ([0098]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (CN 108987277 and Sun hereinafter; a machine translation is used as an English language equivalent) in view of Sato (US 2017/0125568 and Sato hereinafter) in view of Okamoto.
As to claims 7 and 8: Sun discloses [claim 7] a process for manufacturing a wide band gap transistor (Figs. 14-22; [0080]), the process comprising: forming a semiconductor structure (Fig. 15; comprising 2, 3, and 4; [0043] and [0080]) including at least one wide band gap semiconductor layer of gallium nitride (GaN) or silicon carbide (SiC) (3 can be GaN; [0043] and [0080]); forming an insulating gate structure (Fig. 15; 6; [0051]-[0053] and [0081]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 2, 3, and 4); forming a first opening (Fig. 16; “C”; [0086]) and a second opening (“D”; [0086]) in the insulating gate structure (6); forming a source electrode (Figs. 17, 18, and 21; 81; [0090] and [0097]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 2, 3, and 4) and in the first opening (“C”); forming a drain electrode (Figs. 17, 18, and 21; 82; [0090] and [0097]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 2, 3, and 4) and in the second opening (“D”); performing a first annealing (Fig. 18; high-temperature alloy process; [0066], [0080], and [0091]) at a first temperature ([0066] and [0091]) of the insulating gate structure (6), the source electrode (81), and the drain electrode (82); forming, subsequent to the performing of the first annealing ([0080]), a gate electrode (Figs. 19-21; 9; [0094]-[0097]) on the insulating gate structure (6); [claim 8] wherein forming the semiconductor structure (Fig. 15; comprising 2, 3, and 4) includes: forming a heterostructure (between 3 and 4; [0043] and [0086]) including: a channel layer (3) of gallium nitride (GaN) ([0043] and [0080]); and a barrier layer (4) of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) ([0043] and [0086]), a heterojunction (inherently present due to the materials of the layers of 3 and 4) being formed at an interface between the channel layer (3) and the barrier layer (4).
Sun fails to expressly disclose [claim 7] performing a second annealing at a second temperature of the gate electrode.
Sato discloses a HEMT on a GaN structure that comprises a method of forming the transistor by forming the source 212 and drain 213 electrodes and the gate insulating layer 205 prior to forming the gate electrode, see Figs. 4A-4C and [0049]-[0051]. After the gate electrode 211 is formed in Fig. 4F, an annealing step/heat treatment is performed, see [0054].
Given the teachings of Sato, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Sun by employing the well-known or conventional features of HEMT fabrication, such as displayed by Sato, by employing an annealing step after forming the gate electrode in order to relax stress, enable low-resistance wiring, and reduce contact resistance ([0054]).
Sun in view of Sato fails to expressly disclose where [claim 7] the insulating gate structure including a mixture of aluminum, hafnium, and oxygen.
Sun in view of Sato discloses a HEMT with a gate insulating layer comprising Si3N4, SiO2, Al2O3, HfO2, TiO2, MgO, or Sc2O3 can be used, see [0052].
Okamoto discloses a HEMT comprising III-nitride compounds where [claim 7] the insulating gate structure (GI; [0138]) including a mixture of aluminum, hafnium, and oxygen (GI can be hafnium aluminate, which is HfAlO; [0138]).
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art because, as stated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing a hafnium aluminate from the list of Okamoto instead of the materials listed in Sun; if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case a material that provides a desired level of electrical isolation between the gate electrode and the underlying semiconductor structure, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Baringhaus et al (US 2024/0055528 and Baringhaus hereinafter) in view of Fiorenza et al (US 2020/0373398 and Fiorenza hereinafter).
Although the method disclosed by Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 12 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
wherein forming the semiconductor structure includes: forming a substrate of silicon carbide (SiC) having a conductivity type and a first doping level; and forming an epitaxial layer of silicon carbide (SiC) having the conductivity type and a second doping level lower than the first doping level.
Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto discloses forming a transistor comprising GaN and III-nitride materials.
Baringhaus discloses that processes for forming a transistor as a GaN/III-nitride based structure can apply to SiC based structures, see [0024].
Therefore, Baringhaus discloses wherein forming the semiconductor structure (Fig. 2; comprising 202 and 204; [0024]) includes: forming a substrate (202) of silicon carbide (SiC) (SiC; [0024]); and forming an layer (204; [0024]) of silicon carbide (SiC) (SiC; [0024]) having the conductivity type (n-type; [0024]) and a second doping level (weak n-type doped; [0024]).
Baringhaus fails to expressly disclose where the substrate having a conductivity type and a first doping level, the layer 204 is formed by epitaxial deposition, and the second doping level is lower than the first doping level.
Fiorenza discloses in Fig. 1 a silicon carbide-based transistor where the substrate 36 having a conductivity type (n-type; [0013]) and a first doping level (n+; [0013]), the layer 204 is formed by epitaxial deposition (38 is formed epitaxially and is analogous to Baringhaus 204; [0013]), and the second doping level (n-; [0013]) is lower than the first doping level (n+).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found the claim obvious because, as stated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the substitution for one known element (in this case SiC based materials) for another (in this case III-nitride based materials) would have yielded predictable results (in this case a well-studied material that has a high value of thermal conductivity, high operating frequencies, and a high saturation velocity that can be used as a base material for a wide bandgap transistor; [0002]-[0003] of Fiorenza) to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fenwick.
As to claims 10-14: Sun combined with Sato and Okamoto [claim 11] wherein performing the first annealing includes heating the insulating gate structure, the source electrode, and the drain electrode ([0091]-[0092]) to the first temperature (850°C; [0065]-[0066]) for an annealing duration (45 seconds; [0065]-[0066]); [claim 12] wherein the first temperature is between 500 °C and 950 °C (850°C; [0065]-[0066]), and the annealing duration is between 30 seconds and 600 seconds (45 seconds; [0065]-[0066]).
Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto fail to expressly disclose [claim 10] wherein forming the insulating gate structure includes: depositing, in alternated succession, a plurality of aluminum oxide layers and a plurality of hafnium oxide layers, forming a gate stack, performing the first annealing includes diffusing aluminum oxide of the plurality of aluminum oxide layers and hafnium oxide of the plurality of hafnium oxide layers at interfaces between adjacent aluminum oxide layers and hafnium oxide layers and mix; [claim 13] wherein depositing in alternated succession include depositing by Atomic Layer Deposition; [claim 14] wherein each of the plurality of aluminum oxide layers and each of the plurality of hafnium oxide layers have a thickness comprised between 0.5 nm and 10 nm.
Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto discloses a GaN HEMT with a HfAlO gate insulator.
Fenwick discloses a method in Fig. 2C of forming a HfAlO layer on a buffer layer ([0078]), such as a layer comprising aluminum and nitrogen, [claim 10] wherein forming the insulating gate structure includes: depositing, in alternated succession, a plurality of aluminum oxide layers (239 can be aluminum oxide; [0068]-[0069]) and a plurality of hafnium oxide layers (233 can be hafnium oxide; [0071]-[0072]), forming a gate stack (gate stack is 245; [0075]), performing the first annealing (annealing; [0089]) includes diffusing aluminum oxide of the plurality of aluminum oxide layers and hafnium oxide of the plurality of hafnium oxide layers at interfaces between adjacent aluminum oxide layers and hafnium oxide layers and mix ([0089]); [claim 13] wherein depositing in alternated succession include depositing by Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD is used; [0068]-[0072]); [claim 14] wherein each of the plurality of aluminum oxide layers (239) and each of the plurality of hafnium oxide layers (233) have a thickness comprised between 0.5 nm and 10 nm (239 and 233 can each be between 1 nm and 1000 nm; [0070] and [0073]).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to form the transistor device of Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto with the hafnium aluminate dielectric of Okamoto using the method of forming HfAlO taught by Fenwick since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, namely an HfAlO layer for use in a transistor that is formed within the claimed thicknesses and formed using a time and temperature within the claimed respective ranges in an ALD process in order to provide a dielectric layer that is amorphous, uniform, continuous, conformal, and free of porosity ([0098]).
As to [claim 11] the first temperature and the annealing duration are selected so as to prevent the insulating gate structure from crystallizing, Fenwick discloses that the hafnium aluminate layer formed by the method is amorphous ([0098]) and that the annealing of the amorphous hafnium aluminate layer can be performed at temperatures below 1200°C to keep it amorphous, see [0089]. Therefore, when the method of forming the gate dielectric of Fenwick is used in the method of forming the HEMT of Sun in view of Sato in view of Okamoto, the first annealing of Sun, which occurs at 850°C and for 45 seconds, is within the claimed and disclosed ranges of the instant application and below the temperature to keep amorphous as in Fenwick, the method of Sun will keep the gate dielectric amorphous.
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Okamoto in view of Fenwick in view of Sato.
As to claims 16 and 18-20: Sun discloses [claim 16] a method (Figs. 14-22), comprising: forming a semiconductor structure (Fig. 15; comprising 1, 2, 3, and 4; [0043]) including gallium nitride (GaN) or silicon carbide (SiC) (3 can be GaN; [0043]); forming an insulating gate structure (Fig. 15; 6; [0052] and [0081]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 2, 3, and 4), forming a source electrode (Figs. 17, 18, and 21; 81; [0088] and [0097]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 2, 3, and 4); forming a drain electrode (Figs. 17, 18, and 21; 82; [0088] and [0097]) on the semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 2, 3, and 4); performing a first annealing (high-temperature alloying; [0066] and [0091]) at a first temperature (850°C; [0066]) of the insulating gate structure (6), the source electrode (82), and the drain electrode (81); and forming, subsequent to the performing of the first annealing, a gate electrode (Figs. 20 and 21; 9; [0091]-[0095] and [0097]) on the insulating gate structure (6); [claim 18] wherein the first annealing (high-temperature alloying) is performed at the first temperature (850°C; [0065]-[0066]) for an annealing duration (45 seconds; [0065]-[0066]); [claim 20] wherein forming the semiconductor structure (comprising 1, 2, 3, and 4) includes forming a channel layer (Fig. 15; 3; [0043]) on a substrate (1; [0043]), and forming a barrier layer (4; [0043]) on the channel layer (3).
Sun fails to expressly disclose where [claim 16] the forming of the insulating gate structure including: forming a first plurality of layers of aluminum oxide (Al2O3); and forming a second plurality of layers of hafnium oxide (HfO2); [claim 19] wherein each of the first plurality of layers is spaced from another layer of the first plurality of layers by a layer of the second plurality of layers.
Sun discloses a HEMT with a gate insulating layer comprising Si3N4, SiO2, Al2O3, HfO2, TiO2, MgO, or Sc2O3, see [0052].
Okamoto discloses a HEMT comprising III-nitride compounds where the insulating gate structure (GI; [0138]) can be HfAlO, ([0138]).
Fenwick discloses a method in Fig. 2C of forming a HfAlO layer on a buffer layer ([0078]), such as a layer comprising aluminum and nitrogen, where [claim 16] the forming of the insulating gate structure including: forming a first plurality of layers of aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (Fig. 2C; 239 can be aluminum oxide; [0068]-[0069]); and forming a second plurality of layers of hafnium oxide (HfO2) (233 can be hafnium oxide; [0071]-[0072]); [claim 19] wherein each of the first plurality of layers (239) is spaced from another layer of the first plurality of layers (239) by a layer of the second plurality of layers (233).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to form the transistor device of Sun with the hafnium aluminate dielectric of Okamoto using the method of forming HfAlO taught by Fenwick since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results, namely an HfAlO layer for use in a transistor that is formed within the claimed thicknesses and formed using a time and temperature within the claimed respective ranges in an ALD process in order to provide a dielectric layer that is amorphous, uniform, continuous, conformal, and free of porosity ([0098]) and provides a desired level of electrical isolation between the gate electrode and the underlying semiconductor structure.
As to where [claim 16] the first annealing is performed on the first plurality of layers and the second plurality of layers, when the method of forming the HfAlO layer of Fenwick is used in the method of forming the HEMT of Sun, the layers 239 and 233 will be subjected to the first annealing in [0066] and [0091] of Sun.
Sun in view of Okamoto in view of Fenwick fails to expressly disclose [claim 16] performing a second annealing at a second temperature of the gate electrode.
Sato discloses a HEMT on a GaN structure that comprises a method of forming the transistor by forming the source 212 and drain 213 electrodes and the gate insulating layer 205 prior to forming the gate electrode, see Figs. 4A-4C and [0049]-[0051]. After the gate electrode 211 is formed in Fig. 4F, an annealing step/heat treatment is performed, see [0054].
Given the teachings of Sato, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Sun in view of Okamoto in view of Fenwick by employing the well-known or conventional features of HEMT fabrication, such as displayed by Sato, by employing an annealing step after forming the gate electrode in order to relax stress, enable low-resistance wiring, and reduce contact resistance ([0054]).
As to [claim 18] where the first temperature and the annealing duration are selected to prevent the insulating gate structure from crystallizing, Fenwick discloses that the hafnium aluminate layer formed by the method is amorphous ([0098]) and that the annealing of the amorphous hafnium aluminate layer can be performed at temperatures below 1200°C to keep it amorphous, see [0089]. Therefore, when the method of forming the gate dielectric of Fenwick is used in the method of forming the HEMT of Sun in view of Okamoto, the first annealing of Sun, which occurs at 850°C and for 45 seconds, is within the disclosed ranges of the instant application and below the temperature to keep amorphous as in Fenwick, the method of Sun will keep the gate dielectric amorphous.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14, 16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
1/21/2026