CTNF 18/156,618 CTNF 83642 Detailed Correspondence Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/24/2026 has been entered. Response to Amendment Applicants’ submission, filed on 04/24/2026, in response to claims 1-12 rejection from the final office action (01/30/2026), by amending claim 1 and cancelling claim 5 is entered and will be addressed below. The examiner notices Applicants incorporated the cancelled claim 5 into claim 1. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretations The previously added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window” of claim 1, Applicants’ Specification describes “The permittivity of the second dielectric is greater than that of the first dielectric. Accordingly, the transmissive window 112 functions to confine the electromagnetic field of microwaves inside the second dielectric when transmitting the microwaves therethrough. For example, the first dielectric may be alumina (Al 2 O 3 ) having a permittivity of about 9.6, or quartz having a permittivity of about 3.7 to 4, and the second dielectric may be a high permittivity material such as zirconia having a permittivity of 30. Ranges of a radius and an available permittivity of the second dielectric will be described later” ([0027]). As a result, when “a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity”, it will lead to this portion of amended claim. The previously added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, Applicants’ Specification describes “in the present embodiment, the transmissive window 112 of a high permittivity material is fitted into the opening of the ceiling plate 111 . FIG. 5 B is an enlarged view of the periphery of the ceiling plate 111 according to an embodiment. With such a configuration, it is possible to locally generate plasma at a location where the electric field is to be concentrated immediately below the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 (antenna modules 41 )” ([0045]). In other words, it is a result of the electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 aligned with window 112 in a one to one relationship. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJINO et al. (US 20120247676, hereafter ‘676), in view of Chen (US 5580387, hereafter ‘387), Liu et al. (US 20240162010, hereafter ‘010), and Zhang et al. (CN 1425555, hereafter ‘555) . ‘676 teaches some limitations of: Claim 1: FIG. 1 is a sectional view showing schematic configuration of a plasma processing apparatus ([0035], includes the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”): The plasma processing apparatus 1 includes a process chamber 2 which accommodates a wafer W as a target object ([0036], includes the claimed “a processing container”); The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13. The ceiling 11 has a plurality of openings ([0038], includes the claimed “a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container … has an opening”), The microwave transmitting plate 73 is fitted into the openings of the ceiling 11 which is the conductive member of the microwave introduction device 5 ([0064], 2 nd last sentence), Examples of the dielectric material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 may include quartz, ceramic and so on ([0067], includes the claimed “at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric” and “wherein the at least one transmissive window is configured such that the electromagnetic waves are transmitted into the processing container through the at least one transmissive window”), As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “at least one electromagnetic wave supplier configured to supply electromagnetic waves toward the at least one transmissive window”). ‘676 does not teach the other limitations of: Claim 1: (1A) (a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container), is formed of a first dielectric, and (has an opening) formed in the first dielectric; (1B) (at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric) having a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity of the first dielectric; (1C) wherein when an effective wavelength of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric is [Symbol font/0x6C], the at least one transmissive window is further configured such that a radius r of a surface of the second dielectric exposed to a plasma generation space falls within a range of [Symbol font/0x6C]/2≤r≤3[Symbol font/0x6C]/2 so as to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window. ‘387 is analogous art in the field of Corrugated Waveguide For A Microwave Plasma Applicator (title), semiconductor fabrication processes (col. 1, line 18). ’387 teaches that applicator 28 embraces a bell jar shape quartz chamber 30 serving for burning a plasma (col. 4, lines 15-16, Fig. 3 shows entire chamber, including ceiling, is made of quartz). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the material of the ceiling 11 from metal to quartz, (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘387, for its suitability as processing chamber with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. ‘010 is analogous art in the field of ADJUSTABLE DIELECTRIC CONSTANT CERAMIC WINDOW (title), an inductively coupled plasma chamber, and more specifically to a dielectric window having multiple materials that are configured to vary the dielectric constant, and thereby the RF coupling efficiency, across the dielectric window ([0001]). ’010 teaches that the dielectric window 100 is composed of two portions, including a disc-shaped body 102, and an annular portion 104. The disc-shaped body 102 is formed from a first dielectric material (e.g. quartz, ceramic, or materials having a similar dielectric constant and similar coefficient of thermal expansion), and the annular portion 104 is formed from a second dielectric material having a different dielectric constant than that of the first dielectric material. In some implementations, the dielectric constant of the second material (for the annular portion 104) is greater than the dielectric constant of the first material (for the disc-shaped body 102) (Fig. 1, [0049], see also various other figures, particularly Fig. 4B and 6B in which each coil is attenuated), A non-exhaustive list of possible materials is provided below at Table 1, from which the inserts may be composed ([0116], last sentence). PNG media_image1.png 372 504 media_image1.png Greyscale Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted greater dielectric constant material as the material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 of the combined apparatus of ‘676 and ‘387 (material 11 being quartz), as taught by ‘010, for the purpose of RF coupling efficiency, as taught by ‘010 ([0001]). As a result of greater dielectric constant of the microwave transmitting plate 73 than the quartz 11, it would have the property of “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window“ (the limitation of 1B, see claim interpretation above). ‘555 is analogous art in the field of The invention through multiple reflections and resonance enhancement effect of quantum well effect so that the electromagnetic wave in the reflection wave band at the same time, reflecting all other longer wavelength of electromagnetic wave as the window material or transparent material of each window, while transmitting the electromagnetic wave to the wave band of infrared, microwave, radio wave or ultraviolet also can be used for making related device of metal semiconductor photoelectric detector (abstract). ’555 teaches that window material of each window. if the selected titania or zirconia to strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have specifically adopted titania or zirconia as the dielectric material as window, as taught by ‘555, as the material of window 73 of ‘676, for the purpose of strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2) while transmitting microwave, as taught by ‘555. Note the diameter of the plane shape of the microwave transmitting plates 73 and 273 is within a range of, for example, 90 to 200 mm (‘676, [0133], Applicants’ Specification describes zirconia window would have λ = 63.7 mm, [0058], therefore, overlapping the range of radius requirement 63.7/2≤r≤3x(63.7)λ/2). The examiner considers that as titania (or CaTi) having much greater dielectric constant and various materials MgSi to MgTi having dielectric constant between quartz and Zirconia, it would have been obvious some of these material overlapping with the radius range 63.7/2≤r≤3x(63.7)λ/2. ‘676 further teaches the limitations of: Claim 2: The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13 ([0038], includes the claimed “wherein the processing container and the ceiling plate define a plasma generation space”, and Fig. 1 shows the claimed “wherein a surface of the second dielectric exposed to the plasma generation space is flush with a surface of the first dielectric that is adjacent to the second dielectric and is exposed to the plasma generation space” after replacing the ceiling 11 to quartz as taught by ‘387). Claim 3: a plurality of microwave introduction mechanisms 63 includes seven microwave introduction mechanisms 63 ([0084], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier includes a plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers”), the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows, and the number of the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers and the number of the plurality of transmissive windows are identical to each other”). Claim 4: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier and the at least one transmissive window are provided in at least one of a central portion or an outer peripheral portion of the ceiling plate”). Claim 9: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows”), Fig. 1 shows the claimed “and wherein the first dielectric is interposed between a plurality of second dielectrics forming the plurality of transmissive windows”. Claim 12: As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, see claim interpretations above). The combination of ‘676, ‘387, ‘010, and ’555 also teaches the limitations of: Claims 6-8 and 10: the permittivity ration between zirconia (imported by ‘010 and ‘555) and quartz (ceiling 11 imported by ‘387) would have the limitations of “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 6, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 10 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 7, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 4 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 8, and “wherein the second dielectric is a high permittivity material having the second permittivity of 30 or more and 100 or less” of claim 10. (Again, Table I of ‘010 have many more choices that fit requirement of claims 6-8 and 10) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘676, ‘387, ‘010, and ‘555, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Komatsu et al. (US 9991097, hereafter ‘097) . ‘676 further teaches some limitations of: Claim 11: as shown in FIG. 7, a plurality of nozzles 16 of the gas introduction unit 15 is arranged to surround the microwave transmitting plate 73G between the microwave transmitting plates 73A to 73F and the microwave transmitting plate 73G ([0084], last sentence, Fig. 1 shows these are through-holes, including the claimed “wherein the first dielectric has a plurality of through-holes, wherein the plasma processing apparatus comprises a plurality of gas supply pipes disposed respectively in the plurality of through-holes”). ‘676 is silent on the material of the nozzle. The combination of ‘676, ‘387, ‘010, and ‘555 does not teach the limitations of: Claim 11: and wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is formed of a hollow third dielectric having a third permittivity smaller than the second permittivity of the second dielectric and is configured to flow a gas through the third dielectric. ‘097 is analogous art in the field of Plasma Processing Apparatus (title), a plasma source configured to introduce microwaves into the chamber through a ceiling wall (abstract), for performing plasma processing on a target object such as a semiconductor wafer (col. 1, lines 13-14), for performing a predetermined plasma process on an object such as a semiconductor wafer ([0003]), a dielectric window 63 provided at a bottom surface of the planar antenna 61 (col. 6, lines 47-49). ’097 teaches that the nozzles 110 may be subjected to spraying of ceramic such as Y 2 O 3 or the like, alumite treatment (anodic oxidation), blast processing or the like in order to control contamination. The nozzles 110 may be made of a dielectric material as long as abnormal discharge does not occur (col. 8, lines 35-39), Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted yttria, as the nozzle 16 of ‘676, as taught by ‘097, for its suitability for gas introduction in microwave system with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Note yttria has much lower permittivity than zirconia . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-5 and 9 over Fujino ‘676 in view of Chen ‘387 and Liu ‘010 and Zhang ‘555, Applicants argue that the rejection is impermissible hindsight because ‘676 teaches the diameter of the microwave transmitting plates 73,273 is based on material of quartz and ceramic,, ‘676 fails to specifically teach that zirconia is used to form dielectric material of the microwave transmitting plate 73, and does not provide microwave power required for stable plasma ignition and discharging, see pages 8 and 9. This argument is found not persuasive . 07-37-13 AIA In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection is based on ‘676 in view of ‘387 and ‘010 (and ‘555). ‘676 teaches a ceiling 11 and microwave windows 73. ‘676 teaches that “the microwave transmitting plate 73 may include quartz, ceramic and so on ”. ‘676 has never restricted the diameter of 90-200 mm of the microwave transmitting plate 73 is exclusively quartz. ‘387 teaches microwave with quartz ceiling. By using quartz ceiling, the combination of ‘676 and ‘387 does not read into the “a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity of the first dielectric”. Again, ‘676 does not exclude material other than quartz as the microwave transmitting plate 73. ‘010 teaches that The disc-shaped body 102 is formed from a first dielectric material (e.g. quartz, ceramic, or materials having a similar dielectric constant and similar coefficient of thermal expansion), and the annular portion 104 is formed from a second dielectric material having a different dielectric constant than that of the first dielectric material. In some implementations, the dielectric constant of the second material (for the annular portion 104) is greater than the dielectric constant of the first material (for the disc-shaped body 102) and furthermore “the various parameters of the annular channels can be tailored to achieve a desired effect on the RF coupling efficiency, such as local reduction/dampening/attenuation. Such parameters can include, by way of example without limitation, the number of channels, radial placement, vertical placement (within the overall thickness of the dielectric window 409), radial width, thickness, cross-sectional shape, etc. These parameters can be adjusted or tuned to achieve a desired RF coupling efficiency profile, and/or a desired plasma density profile in the plasma produced in the process chamber” ([0093]), a person of ordinary skill would have known such tuning is applicable to microwave as one of the RF energy. The examiner also notices a list of material in Table I of ‘010 that are possible “ceramic and so on” of the microwave transmitting plate 73 of ‘676. The examiner further provides a reference CN 1425555 specifically teaches using zirconia or titania as microwave window, with a very large permittivity ratio relative to quartz. US 20040183453, previous applied but now redundant in view of ‘555, has the same microwave windows arrangement same as Applicants’ Fig. 5B and having different dielectric constant ([0059]). This clearly support the tuning taught by ‘010 is applicable to microwave applicator/waveguide. As to why zirconia is chosen for rejection, it is merely available to effective wavelength of the electromagnetic waves of zirconia by Applicants. The examiner consider many of the material in Table I of ‘010 reads into the claimed relationship. Applicants clearly possess the effective wavelength of the electromagnetic waves to various materials. Applicants are invited to provide such data and demonstrate none of the other material fit into the radius requirement of [Symbol font/0x6C]/2≤r≤3[Symbol font/0x6C]/2, therefore zirconia is unique and provides an unexpected results. Applicants reemphasis the result of Fig. 8A and 8B as significant. The examiner notices that the variation of electric field (vertical axis) is a range selected arbitrarily. For example, Fig. 8A shows radius at 120 mm is above the same as radius at 40. It seems [Symbol font/0x6C]/2≤r≤3[Symbol font/0x6C]/2 is merely a subjective decision by an engineer at the time. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 3659512 is cited for “the thickness of the microwave transmissive member with respect to the traveling direction of the microwave is preferably designed in consideration of the dielectric constant of the material to be used so that the reflection of the microwave here is minimized. If it is a flat plate, it is preferable to make it approximately equal to half the wavelength of the microwave” ([0062]) . US 20160234924 is cited for quartz is relatively stable to oxygen and chlorine plasmas ([0057], 2 nd sentence). Newly submitted IDS JP 2002519845 is cited for high dielectric constant plug portion 302 at window 300 (Figs. 3-5). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEATH T CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1870. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh can be reached at 571-272-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 2 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 3 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 4 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 5 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 6 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 7 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 8 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 9 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 10 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 11 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 12 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 13 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 14 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 15 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 16 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/156,618 Page 17 Art Unit: 1716