Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 08/28/2026, in response to claims 1-4 and 6-12 rejection from the non-final office action (06/03/2026), by amending claim 1 and cancelling claim 11 is entered and will be addressed below.
The examiner notices Applicants incorporated the cancelled claim 11 into claim 1.
Claim Interpretations
The previously added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window” of claim 1, Applicants’ Specification describes “The permittivity of the second dielectric is greater than that of the first dielectric. Accordingly, the transmissive window 112 functions to confine the electromagnetic field of microwaves inside the second dielectric when transmitting the microwaves therethrough. For example, the first dielectric may be alumina (Al2O3) having a permittivity of about 9.6, or quartz having a permittivity of about 3.7 to 4, and the second dielectric may be a high permittivity material such as zirconia having a permittivity of 30. Ranges of a radius and an available permittivity of the second dielectric will be described later” ([0027]). As a result, when “a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity”, it will lead to this portion of amended claim.
The previously added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, Applicants’ Specification describes “in the present embodiment, the transmissive window 112 of a high permittivity material is fitted into the opening of the ceiling plate 111. FIG. 5B is an enlarged view of the periphery of the ceiling plate 111 according to an embodiment. With such a configuration, it is possible to locally generate plasma at a location where the electric field is to be concentrated immediately below the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 (antenna modules 41)” ([0045]). In other words, it is a result of the electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 aligned with window 112 in a one to one relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The newly added limitation “wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is formed of a hollow third dielectric having a third permittivity smaller than the second permittivity of the second dielectric so as to confine the electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window, and is configured to flow a gas through the third dielectric” does not have support in Applicants’ Specification.
Applicants’ assert that the new limitation of claim 1 is supported by cancelled claim 11 and paragraphs [0039] and [0042]. However, the cancelled 11 only supports the plain underlined portion but does not support the bold-faced portion. The bold-faced portion, by the way, was recited earlier in claim 1 and discussed in the claim interpretation above. Nowhere in [0039] and [0042] describe the confinement of the electromagnetic wave due to the third permittivity of the gas supply pipes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJINO et al. (US 20120247676, hereafter ‘676), in view of Chen (US 5580387, hereafter ‘387), Liu et al. (US 20240162010, hereafter ‘010), Zhang et al. (CN 1425555, hereafter ‘555), and Komatsu et al. (US 9991097, hereafter ‘097).
‘676 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 1 is a sectional view showing schematic configuration of a plasma processing apparatus ([0035], includes the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”):
The plasma processing apparatus 1 includes a process chamber 2 which accommodates a wafer W as a target object ([0036], includes the claimed “a processing container”);
The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13. The ceiling 11 has a plurality of openings ([0038], includes the claimed “a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container … has an opening”),
The microwave transmitting plate 73 is fitted into the openings of the ceiling 11 which is the conductive member of the microwave introduction device 5 ([0064], 2nd last sentence), Examples of the dielectric material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 may include quartz, ceramic and so on ([0067], includes the claimed “at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric” and “wherein the at least one transmissive window is configured such that the electromagnetic waves are transmitted into the processing container through the at least one transmissive window”),
As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “at least one electromagnetic wave supplier configured to supply electromagnetic waves toward the at least one transmissive window”),
as shown in FIG. 7, a plurality of nozzles 16 of the gas introduction unit 15 is arranged to surround the microwave transmitting plate 73G between the microwave transmitting plates 73A to 73F and the microwave transmitting plate 73G ([0084], last sentence, Fig. 1 shows these are through-holes, including the claimed “wherein the ceiling plate has a plurality of through-holes, wherein the plasma processing apparatus comprises a plurality of gas supply pipes disposed respectively in the plurality of through-holes”).
‘676 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container), is formed of a first dielectric, and (has an opening) formed in the first dielectric;
(1B) (at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric) having a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity of the first dielectric;
(1C) wherein when an effective wavelength of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric is [Symbol font/0x6C], the at least one transmissive window is further configured such that a radius r of a surface of the second dielectric exposed to a plasma generation space falls within a range of [Symbol font/0x6C]/2≤r≤3[Symbol font/0x6C]/2 so as to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window,
(1D) (wherein) the first dielectric (has a plurality of through-holes,
wherein the plasma processing apparatus comprises a plurality of gas supply pipes fitted respectively into the plurality of through-holes), and
wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is formed of a hollow third dielectric having a third permittivity smaller than the second permittivity of the second dielectric so as to confine the electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window, and is configured to flow a gas through the third dielectric.
‘387 is analogous art in the field of Corrugated Waveguide For A Microwave Plasma Applicator (title), semiconductor fabrication processes (col. 1, line 18). ’387 teaches that applicator 28 embraces a bell jar shape quartz chamber 30 serving for burning a plasma (col. 4, lines 15-16, Fig. 3 shows entire chamber, including ceiling, is made of quartz).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the material of the ceiling 11 from metal to quartz, (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘387, for its suitability as processing chamber with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘010 is analogous art in the field of ADJUSTABLE DIELECTRIC CONSTANT CERAMIC WINDOW (title), an inductively coupled plasma chamber, and more specifically to a dielectric window having multiple materials that are configured to vary the dielectric constant, and thereby the RF coupling efficiency, across the dielectric window ([0001]). ’010 teaches that the dielectric window 100 is composed of two portions, including a disc-shaped body 102, and an annular portion 104. The disc-shaped body 102 is formed from a first dielectric material (e.g. quartz, ceramic, or materials having a similar dielectric constant and similar coefficient of thermal expansion), and the annular portion 104 is formed from a second dielectric material having a different dielectric constant than that of the first dielectric material. In some implementations, the dielectric constant of the second material (for the annular portion 104) is greater than the dielectric constant of the first material (for the disc-shaped body 102) (Fig. 1, [0049], see also various other figures, particularly Fig. 4B and 6B in which each coil is attenuated), A non-exhaustive list of possible materials is provided below at Table 1, from which the inserts may be composed ([0116], last sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted greater dielectric constant material as the material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 of the combined apparatus of ‘676 and ‘387 (material 11 being quartz), as taught by ‘010, for the purpose of RF coupling efficiency, as taught by ‘010 ([0001]). As a result of greater dielectric constant of the microwave transmitting plate 73 than the quartz 11, it would have the property of “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window“ (the limitation of 1B, see claim interpretation above).
‘555 is analogous art in the field of The invention through multiple reflections and resonance enhancement effect of quantum well effect so that the electromagnetic wave in the reflection wave band at the same time, reflecting all other longer wavelength of electromagnetic wave as the window material or transparent material of each window, while transmitting the electromagnetic wave to the wave band of infrared, microwave, radio wave or ultraviolet also can be used for making related device of metal semiconductor photoelectric detector (abstract). ’555 teaches that window material of each window. if the selected titania or zirconia to strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have specifically adopted titania or zirconia as the dielectric material as window, as taught by ‘555, as the material of window 73 of ‘676, for the purpose of strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2) while transmitting microwave, as taught by ‘555.
Note the diameter of the plane shape of the microwave transmitting plates 73 and 273 is within a range of, for example, 90 to 200 mm (‘676, [0133], Applicants’ Specification describes zirconia window would have λ = 63.7 mm, [0058], therefore, overlapping the range of radius requirement 63.7/2≤r≤3x(63.7)λ/2).
The examiner considers that as titania (or CaTi) having much greater dielectric constant and various materials MgSi to MgTi having dielectric constant between quartz and Zirconia, it would have been obvious some of these material overlapping with the radius range 63.7/2≤r≤3x(63.7)λ/2.
‘097 is analogous art in the field of Plasma Processing Apparatus (title), a plasma source configured to introduce microwaves into the chamber through a ceiling wall (abstract), for performing plasma processing on a target object such as a semiconductor wafer (col. 1, lines 13-14), for performing a predetermined plasma process on an object such as a semiconductor wafer ([0003]), a dielectric window 63 provided at a bottom surface of the planar antenna 61 (col. 6, lines 47-49). ’097 teaches that the nozzles 110 may be subjected to spraying of ceramic such as Y2O3 or the like, alumite treatment (anodic oxidation), blast processing or the like in order to control contamination. The nozzles 110 may be made of a dielectric material as long as abnormal discharge does not occur (col. 8, lines 35-39),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted yttria, as the nozzle 16 of ‘676 (the limitation of 1D), as taught by ‘097, for its suitability for gas introduction in microwave system with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Note yttria has much lower permittivity than zirconia.
‘676 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13 ([0038], includes the claimed “wherein the processing container and the ceiling plate define a plasma generation space”, and Fig. 1 shows the claimed “wherein a surface of the second dielectric exposed to the plasma generation space is flush with a surface of the first dielectric that is adjacent to the second dielectric and is exposed to the plasma generation space” after replacing the ceiling 11 to quartz as taught by ‘387).
Claim 3: a plurality of microwave introduction mechanisms 63 includes seven microwave introduction mechanisms 63 ([0084], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier includes a plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers”),
the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows, and the number of the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers and the number of the plurality of transmissive windows are identical to each other”).
Claim 4: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier and the at least one transmissive window are provided in at least one of a central portion or an outer peripheral portion of the ceiling plate”).
Claim 9: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows”),
Fig. 1 shows the claimed “and wherein the first dielectric is interposed between a plurality of second dielectrics forming the plurality of transmissive windows”.
Claim 12: As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, see claim interpretations above).
The combination of ‘676, ‘387, ‘010, ’555, and ‘097 also teaches the limitations of:
Claims 6-8 and 10: the permittivity ration between zirconia (imported by ‘010 and ‘555) and quartz (ceiling 11 imported by ‘387) would have the limitations of “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 6, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 10 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 7, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 4 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 8, and “wherein the second dielectric is a high permittivity material having the second permittivity of 30 or more and 100 or less” of claim 10. (Again, Table I of ‘010 have many more choices that fit requirement of claims 6-8 and 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection of amended claim 1 (previous claim 11), Applicants argue that Komatsu ‘097 nozzles 110 extend from the ceiling wall 10a in a vertical direction, is not fitted in the ceiling wall 10a, consequently ‘097 does not teach “wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is formed of a hollow third dielectric having a third permittivity smaller than the second permittivity of the second dielectric so as to confine the electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window“, see the bottom of page 8 to the top of page 10.
This argument is found not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The rejection is based on ‘676 in view of (‘387, ‘010, ‘555), and ‘097. ‘676 teaches gas introduction unit 15 provided in the ceiling 11 and microwave windows 73. ‘676 teaches that “a gas introduction unit 15 provided in the ceiling 11 of the process chamber 11. The gas introduction unit 15 has a plurality of cylindrical nozzles 16” ([0043]) but is silent on the material of the nozzles 16.
‘097 is relied upon the material of the gas introduction nozzles.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted yttria, as the nozzle 16 of ‘676.
Note also that ’555 already teaches adopting titania as the material for the window of ‘676, and ‘010 even suggested CaTi. Both have extremely high dielectric constant and typical dielectric material for the nozzle has much lower dielectric constant than these materials as window of ‘676.
New reference US 20240059616 is also cited for gas nozzle comprising YAG (Fig. 13A, [0436]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240059616 is cited for gas nozzle comprising YAG (Fig. 13A, [0436]).
JP 3659512 is cited for “the thickness of the microwave transmissive member with respect to the traveling direction of the microwave is preferably designed in consideration of the dielectric constant of the material to be used so that the reflection of the microwave here is minimized. If it is a flat plate, it is preferable to make it approximately equal to half the wavelength of the microwave” ([0062]).
US 20160234924 is cited for quartz is relatively stable to oxygen and chlorine plasmas ([0057], 2nd sentence). Newly submitted IDS JP 2002519845 is cited for high dielectric constant plug portion 302 at window 300 (Figs. 3-5).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716