Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 12/31/2025, in response to claims 1-11 rejection from the non-final office action (10/07/2025), by amending claims 1 and 9 and adding new claim 12 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
The newly added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window” of claim 1, Applicants’ Specification describes “The permittivity of the second dielectric is greater than that of the first dielectric. Accordingly, the transmissive window 112 functions to confine the electromagnetic field of microwaves inside the second dielectric when transmitting the microwaves therethrough. For example, the first dielectric may be alumina (Al2O3) having a permittivity of about 9.6, or quartz having a permittivity of about 3.7 to 4, and the second dielectric may be a high permittivity material such as zirconia having a permittivity of 30. Ranges of a radius and an available permittivity of the second dielectric will be described later” ([0027]). As a result, when “a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity”, it will lead to this portion of amended claim.
The newly added limitation “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, Applicants’ Specification describes “in the present embodiment, the transmissive window 112 of a high permittivity material is fitted into the opening of the ceiling plate 111. FIG. 5B is an enlarged view of the periphery of the ceiling plate 111 according to an embodiment. With such a configuration, it is possible to locally generate plasma at a location where the electric field is to be concentrated immediately below the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 (antenna modules 41)” ([0045]). In other words, it is a result of the electromagnetic wave suppliers 43 aligned with window 112 in a one to one relationship.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJINO et al. (US 20120247676, hereafter ‘676), in view of Chen (US 5580387, hereafter ‘387) and Liu et al. (US 20240162010, hereafter ‘010).
‘676 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 1 is a sectional view showing schematic configuration of a plasma processing apparatus ([0035], includes the claimed “A plasma processing apparatus comprising”):
The plasma processing apparatus 1 includes a process chamber 2 which accommodates a wafer W as a target object ([0036], includes the claimed “a processing container”);
The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13. The ceiling 11 has a plurality of openings ([0038], includes the claimed “a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container … has an opening”),
The microwave transmitting plate 73 is fitted into the openings of the ceiling 11 which is the conductive member of the microwave introduction device 5 ([0064], 2nd last sentence), Examples of the dielectric material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 may include quartz, ceramic and so on ([0067], includes the claimed “at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric” and “wherein the at least one transmissive window is configured such that the electromagnetic waves are transmitted into the processing container through the at least one transmissive window”),
As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “at least one electromagnetic wave supplier configured to supply electromagnetic waves toward the at least one transmissive window”).
‘676 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) (a ceiling plate that constitutes a ceiling wall of the processing container), is formed of a first dielectric, and (has an opening) formed in the first dielectric;
(1B) (at least one transmissive window disposed in the opening and formed of a second dielectric) having a second permittivity greater than a first permittivity of the first dielectric;
wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window.
‘387 is analogous art in the field of Corrugated Waveguide For A Microwave Plasma Applicator (title), semiconductor fabrication processes (col. 1, line 18). ’387 teaches that applicator 28 embraces a bell jar shape quartz chamber 30 serving for burning a plasma (col. 4, lines 15-16, Fig. 3 shows entire chamber, including ceiling, is made of quartz).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the material of the ceiling 11 from metal to quartz, (the limitation of 1A), as taught by ‘387, for its suitability as processing chamber with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘010 is analogous art in the field of ADJUSTABLE DIELECTRIC CONSTANT CERAMIC WINDOW (title), an inductively coupled plasma chamber, and more specifically to a dielectric window having multiple materials that are configured to vary the dielectric constant, and thereby the RF coupling efficiency, across the dielectric window ([0001]). ’010 teaches that the dielectric window 100 is composed of two portions, including a disc-shaped body 102, and an annular portion 104. The disc-shaped body 102 is formed from a first dielectric material (e.g. quartz, ceramic, or materials having a similar dielectric constant and similar coefficient of thermal expansion), and the annular portion 104 is formed from a second dielectric material having a different dielectric constant than that of the first dielectric material. In some implementations, the dielectric constant of the second material (for the annular portion 104) is greater than the dielectric constant of the first material (for the disc-shaped body 102) (Fig. 1, [0049], see also various other figures, particularly Fig. 4B and 6B in which each coil is attenuated).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted greater dielectric constant as the material of the microwave transmitting plate 73 of the combined apparatus of ‘676 and ‘387 (material 11 being quartz), as taught by ‘010, for the purpose of RF coupling efficiency, as taught by ‘010 ([0001]). As a result of greater dielectric constant of the microwave transmitting plate 73 than the quartz 11, it would have the property of “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window“ (the limitation of 1B, see claim interpretation above).
‘676 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 2: The process chamber 2 includes a plate-like ceiling 11, a bottom 13, and a side wall 12 connecting the ceiling 11 and the bottom 13 ([0038], includes the claimed “wherein the processing container and the ceiling plate define a plasma generation space”, and Fig. 1 shows the claimed “wherein a surface of the second dielectric exposed to the plasma generation space is flush with a surface of the first dielectric that is adjacent to the second dielectric and is exposed to the plasma generation space” after replacing the ceiling 11 to quartz as taught by ‘387).
Claim 3: a plurality of microwave introduction mechanisms 63 includes seven microwave introduction mechanisms 63 ([0084], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier includes a plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers”),
the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows, and the number of the plurality of electromagnetic wave suppliers and the number of the plurality of transmissive windows are identical to each other”).
Claim 4: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075]), the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier and the at least one transmissive window are provided in at least one of a central portion or an outer peripheral portion of the ceiling plate”).
Claim 9: the microwave transmitting plates 73 include seven microwave transmitting plates 73 arranged with a hexagonal closest packing structure ([0075], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window includes a plurality of transmissive windows”),
Fig. 1 shows the claimed “and wherein the first dielectric is interposed between a plurality of second dielectrics forming the plurality of transmissive windows”.
Claim 12: As shown in FIG. 4, the microwave introduction mechanism 63 has an integral structure including the microwave transmitting plates 73 ([0084], includes the claimed “wherein the at least one transmissive window is provided for the at least one electromagnetic wave supplier at a location where an electric field of the electromagnetic waves is to be concentrated in the ceiling plate”, see claim interpretations above).
The combination of ‘676, ‘387, and ‘010 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 5: the diameter of the plane shape of the microwave transmitting plates 73 and 273 is within a range of, for example, 90 to 200 mm ([0133], Applicants’ Specification describes zirconia window would have λ = 63.7 mm, [0058], therefore, 63.7/2≤r≤3x(63.7)λ/2, including the claimed “wherein an effective wavelength of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric is λ, and the at least one transmissive window is configured such that a radius r of a surface of the second dielectric exposed to a plasma generation space falls within a range of λ/2≤r≤3λ/2”, note some other dielectric materials also overlaps with this relationship).
Claims 6-8 and 10, and alternatively claims 1-5, 9, and 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘676, in view of ‘387, ‘010, and Zhang et al. (CN 1425555, hereafter ‘555).
In case Applicants argue that “wherein the at least one transmissive window is further configured to confine an electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic waves in the second dielectric when the electromagnetic waves are transmitted through the at least one transmissive window“ of claim 1 has to have a very large difference or ratio between the first dielectric and the second dielectric.
‘555 is analogous art in the field of The invention through multiple reflections and resonance enhancement effect of quantum well effect so that the electromagnetic wave in the reflection wave band at the same time, reflecting all other longer wavelength of electromagnetic wave as the window material or transparent material of each window, while transmitting the electromagnetic wave to the wave band of infrared, microwave, radio wave or ultraviolet also can be used for making related device of metal semiconductor photoelectric detector (abstract). ’555 teaches that window material of each window. if the selected titania or zirconia to strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have specifically adopted titania or zirconia as the dielectric material as window, as taught by ‘555, as the material of window 73 of ‘676, for the purpose of strongly absorb ultraviolet (bottom of P2) while transmitting microwave, as taught by ‘555.
The combination of ‘676, ‘387, ‘010, and ’55 also teaches the limitations of:
Claims 6-8 and 10: the permittivity ration between zirconia (imported by ‘555) and quartz (imported by ‘387) would have the limitations of “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 6, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 10 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 7, “wherein the second permittivity of the second dielectric is 3 times or more and 4 times or less than the first permittivity of the first dielectric” of claim 8, and “wherein the second dielectric is a high permittivity material having the second permittivity of 30 or more and 100 or less” of claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘676, ‘387, and ‘010 (optionally with ‘555), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Komatsu et al. (US 9991097, hereafter ‘097).
‘676 further teaches some limitations of:
Claim 11: as shown in FIG. 7, a plurality of nozzles 16 of the gas introduction unit 15 is arranged to surround the microwave transmitting plate 73G between the microwave transmitting plates 73A to 73F and the microwave transmitting plate 73G ([0084], last sentence, Fig. 1 shows these are through-holes, including the claimed “wherein the first dielectric has a plurality of through-holes, wherein the plasma processing apparatus comprises a plurality of gas supply pipes disposed respectively in the plurality of through-holes”).
‘676 is silent on the material of the nozzle.
The combination of ‘676, ‘387, and ‘010 (optionally with ‘555) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 11: and wherein each of the plurality of gas supply pipes is formed of a hollow third dielectric having a third permittivity smaller than the second permittivity of the second dielectric and is configured to flow a gas through the third dielectric.
‘097 is analogous art in the field of Plasma Processing Apparatus (title), a plasma source configured to introduce microwaves into the chamber through a ceiling wall (abstract), for performing plasma processing on a target object such as a semiconductor wafer (col. 1, lines 13-14), for performing a predetermined plasma process on an object such as a semiconductor wafer ([0003]), a dielectric window 63 provided at a bottom surface of the planar antenna 61 (col. 6, lines 47-49). ’097 teaches that the nozzles 110 may be subjected to spraying of ceramic such as Y2O3 or the like, alumite treatment (anodic oxidation), blast processing or the like in order to control contamination. The nozzles 110 may be made of a dielectric material as long as abnormal discharge does not occur (col. 8, lines 35-39),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted yttria, as the nozzle 16 of ‘676, as taught by ‘097, for its suitability for gas introduction in microwave system with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Note yttria has much lower permittivity than zirconia.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding 112(b) rejection of claim 9, see the middle of page 5, Applicants’ amendment overcomes the rejection.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-5 and 9 over Fujino ‘676 in view of Chen ‘387 and Liu ‘010, Applicants argue that ‘010 is an inducted coupled plasma, does not teach to confine microwave transmission, see the bottom of page 8 to the top of page 8.
This argument is found not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The rejection is based on ‘676 in view of ‘387 and ‘010. ‘676 teaches a ceiling 11 and quartz microwave windows 73. ‘387 teaches microwave with quartz ceiling. ‘010 teaches that The disc-shaped body 102 is formed from a first dielectric material (e.g. quartz, ceramic, or materials having a similar dielectric constant and similar coefficient of thermal expansion), and the annular portion 104 is formed from a second dielectric material having a different dielectric constant than that of the first dielectric material. In some implementations, the dielectric constant of the second material (for the annular portion 104) is greater than the dielectric constant of the first material (for the disc-shaped body 102) and furthermore “the various parameters of the annular channels can be tailored to achieve a desired effect on the RF coupling efficiency, such as local reduction/dampening/attenuation. Such parameters can include, by way of example without limitation, the number of channels, radial placement, vertical placement (within the overall thickness of the dielectric window 409), radial width, thickness, cross-sectional shape, etc. These parameters can be adjusted or tuned to achieve a desired RF coupling efficiency profile, and/or a desired plasma density profile in the plasma produced in the process chamber” ([0093]), a person of ordinary skill would have known such tuning is applicable to microwave as one of the RF energy.
The examiner further provides a new reference CN 1425555 specifically teaches using zirconia or titania as microwave window as an alternative rejection.
US 20040183453, previous applied but now redundant in view of ‘555, has the same microwave windows arrangement same as Applicants’ Fig. 5B and having different dielectric constant ([0059]). This clearly support the tuning taught by ‘010 is applicable to microwave applicator/waveguide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160234924 is cited for quartz is relatively stable to oxygen and chlorine plasmas ([0057], 2nd sentence). Newly submitted IDS JP 2002519845 is cited for high dielectric constant plug portion 302 at window 300 (Figs. 3-5).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716