DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 03/03/2026, addressing claims 1-5 and 7-14 rejection from the non-final office action (01/02/2026), by amending claims 1, 9, and 11, cancelling claim 2, and adding new claims 15-16 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a substrate transport device“, as there is no description of what s substrate transport device 31 is, it is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) below.
On the other hand, The “a loading and unloading system” in claim 1 is not considered under 112(f) as it is further structurally modified by “including a loader”.
Also, the “a load mechanism including an elevator“, “a gas supply system including an off-valve“, and “an exhaust system including a vacuum pump“ are structurally modified.
The “a substrate transport system“ of claim 1 is not considered under 112(f) as it is further structurally modified by “the substrate transport system includes a substrate transport device“.
The “a plurality of batch processing units” in claim 1 is not considered under 112(f) as it is further structurally modified.
Claim 1 recites “a loading and unloading system … having a first side surface through which a container accommodating a plurality of substrates is loaded and unloaded, …
a processing container … configured to accommodate and process a plurality of substrates”, the container corresponds to the cassette C, or FOUP, and is a different structure than “a processing container” (411).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The previously added limitation “a substrate transport system including a substrate transport device” raises antecedent issue with “wherein the substrate transport system includes a substrate transport device configured” later in claim 1.
Furthermore, there is no description of what the substrate transport device 31 is, it is not clear what is the metes and bounds of this limitation.
Claim 1 will be examined inclusive BRI of “a substrate transport device”.
Claim 9 recites “a second maintenance area configured to provide the operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units”, while claim 1 includes “a first maintenance area, formed between the exhaust system and the load mechanism, and configured to provide an operator access“, (note the operator access is a structure related to door and passage), claim 9 raises antecedent issue with claim 1.
Claim 9 will be examined inclusive “a second maintenance area configured to provide a second operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units”.
Claim 11 recites “a third maintenance area, formed above the exhaust system, and configured to provide the operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units” which raises antecedent issue with claim 1.
Claim 9 will be examined inclusive “a third maintenance area, formed above the exhaust system, and configured to provide a third operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units”.
The newly added limitation “wherein the first maintenance area is configured to provide the operator access to maintenance of the gas supply system and the exhaust system” of claim 15, it is not clear how the first maintenance area B1 is configured to provide maintenance of the gas supply system 43 as it is separated from maintenance area B1 by the exhaust system 44 in between.
Claim 15 will be examined inclusive operator reaches around the exhaust system for maintenance of the gas supply system.
The newly added limitation “wherein the first door and the second door rotate in identical directions to the respective open positions when forming the wall surfaces that define the passage, respectively” of claim 16, it is not clear what is the “identical directions”. Claim 1 describes “the loading and unloading system includes a first door rotatable around a first rotation axis … and a second door rotatable around a second rotation axis”, these two rotation axes are different. Fig. 8 shows the front door 252 and rear door 253 are rotated along Y-direction but offset from each other (parallel to each other), but this should be “rotated into an identical direction”.
Claim 16 will be examined inclusive either rotation axis direction being identical or the initial or the final directions of the doors being parallel.
Dependent claims 3-5 and 7-16 are also rejected under USC 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadobe et al. (US 20200227293, hereafter ‘293), in view of Takeshita et al. (US 20080236488, hereafter ‘488), Okajima et al. (US 20220349061, hereafter ‘061) and Soraoka et al. (US 5855726, hereafter ‘726).
‘293 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: A processing apparatus includes: a plurality of process modules concatenated with one another; and a loader module configured to receive a carrier accommodating a plurality of substrates to be processed by the plurality of process modules, wherein each of the plurality of process modules includes: a heat treatment unit including a processing container configured to accommodate the plurality of substrates and perform a heat treatment on the plurality of substrates (abstract, includes the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus comprising”):
As illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 4, the processing apparatus 1 includes a loader module 20 and a processing module 30 ([0019]), The loader module 20 is a region via which a carrier C accommodating a semiconductor wafer (hereinafter, referred to as “wafer W”) as an example of a substrate is transferred among elements in the processing apparatus 1 ([0020], 2nd sentence), The processing module 30 takes out wafers W from carriers C in the loader modules 20-1 and 20-2 and performs various processes on the wafers W ([0046], includes the claimed “a loading and unloading system including a loader and having a first side surface through which a container accommodating a plurality of substrates is loaded and unloaded, and a second side surface opposite to the first side surface”, note the loader is capable of unloading by reversing operation steps);
The wafer transfer module 50 is an example of a substrate transfer module, and a single wafer transfer module 50 is provided in common for the plurality of process modules 40. In other words, the plurality of process modules 40 has a common wafer transfer module 50 … A wafer transfer mechanism 51, which is an example of a substrate transfer mechanism, is provided in the wafer transfer module 50 ([0038], the wafer transfer mechanism 51 is the same drawing as the substrate transport device 31 of instant application, includes the claimed “a substrate transport system extending along a longitudinal direction thereof in a first horizontal direction perpendicular to the second surface; a plurality of batch processing units adjacent to one another along the longitudinal direction of the substrate transport system, wherein the substrate transport system includes a substrate transport device configured to transport the plurality of substrates between the loading and unloading system and each batch processing unit of the plurality of batch processing units”),
The processing module 30 has four process modules 40 and a wafer transfer module 50. The process modules 40 are concatenated with one another in the front-rear direction. Each of the process modules 40 includes a heat treatment unit 41, a load unit 42, a gas supply unit 43, an exhaust duct 44 ([0024]-[0025]), The heat treatment furnace 411 includes a processing container 412 and a heater 413. The processing container 412 accommodates a wafer boat 414, which is an example of a substrate holder. The wafer boat 414 has a cylindrical shape and is formed of quartz, for example, and holds the wafers W in multiple stages. A gas introduction port 412a and an exhaust port 412b are provided in the processing container 412 ([0027]-[0028]), includes the claimed “and each batch processing unit of the plurality of batch processing units includes a processing container, including an inlet port, an exhaust port, and a holder that holds a plurality of substrates, and configured to accommodate and process the plurality of substrates contained inside the processing chamber”),
The lid 417 is supported by an elevation mechanism (not illustrated), and the wafer boat 414 is loaded into and unloaded from the processing container 412 by the elevation mechanism. ([0032], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “a load mechanism including an elevator provided below the processing container and configured to transport the plurality of substrates accommodated in the processing container to and from the substrate transport system“),
The gas supply unit 43 includes a pressure adjustor, a mass flow controller, a valve, and the like, which are configured to supply a processing gas or a purge gas into the processing container 412 at a desired flow rate ([0033], 2nd sentence), The gas introduction port 412a may be arranged at a side of the gas supply unit 43 ([0029], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “a gas supply system including an off-valve and configured to supply a gas into the processing container via the inlet port”),
The exhaust duct 44 faces the gas supply unit 43 with the heat treatment unit 41 interposed therebetween. The exhaust duct 44 includes an exhaust pipe connecting the interior of the processing container 412 and a vacuum pump (not illustrated) ([0034]), The exhaust port 412b may be disposed at a side of the exhaust duct 44 ([0030], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “an exhaust system including a vacuum pump and configured to exhaust the gas inside the processing container to an outside of the processing container via the exhaust port”),
In addition, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the process modules 40. Specifically, since a space is secured above the wafer transfer module 50, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the gas supply unit 43 from a side of the wafer transfer module 50. In addition, since a relatively large space can be secured at a side of the exhaust duct 44, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the heat treatment unit 41 ([0040], last three sentences, includes the claimed “a first maintenance area, formed between the exhaust system and the load mechanism, and configured to provide an operator access to maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units“, and : the processing container has a first side adjacent to the substrate transport system, and a second side opposite to the first side” is a definition).
‘293 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) a passage connected to the first maintenance area and penetrating the loading and unloading system to communicate the first surface and the second surface of the loading and unloading system and enable the operator to enter and exit the first maintenance area through a side of the first surface of the loading and unloading system, wherein:
(1B) the gas supply system and the exhaust system are adjacent to the second side of the processing container,
(1C) the loading and unloading system includes a first door rotatable around a first rotation axis and opening a portion of the first surface in an open position of the first door, and a second door rotatable around a second rotation axis and opening a portion of the second surface in an open position of the second door, and
the first door in the open position and the second door in the open position forming wall surfaces that define the passage, respectively.
Claim 7: wherein the first door in a closed position of the first door and the second door in a closed position of the second door close the passage, respectively.
Claim 13: wherein: the first door rotates around the first rotation axis toward an inside of the loading and unloading system when opening to the open position of the first door, and
the second door rotates around the first rotation axis toward the inside of the loading and unloading system when opening to the open position of the second door.
‘488 is analogous art in the field of Substrate Processing Apparatus And Manufacturing Method For A Semiconductor Device (title), a batch vertical hot wall decompression CVD apparatus ([0049]), The sizes required for maintenance are reduced and an occupying floor area is reduced (abstract). ’488 teaches that a FOUP (front opening unified pod, hereafter, called pod) 2 as the carrier that stores and transports wafers 1 ([0050]), A pod stage 17 is constructed in front of the pod carry-in/out opening 16 of the front wall 12 ([0055], the pod stage 17 corresponding to the loader module 20 of ‘293), Offsetting the pod transfer device 18 to the left side in this way, allows forming a maintenance passage 19 on the right section of the space on the front side of the case 11 (Fig. 1, [0058]), when performing maintenance in the transfer chamber 24, the first front maintenance door 14a swivels horizontally forward centering on the hinge 15a so that the right side of the front maintenance opening 13 is opened ([0121]), The task of replacing the tweezers 25a of the wafer transfer device 25 in the transfer chamber 24 is then performed via the front maintenance opening 13, the maintenance passage 19 and the transfer chamber maintenance opening 27 ([0123], see also [0124]). Note the door 14a and opening 16 read into “to communicate the first surface and the second surface of the loading and unloading system“.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a front maintenance door 14a of ‘488 to the front of the loader module to access the maintenance area below the exhaust duct 44 of ‘293 (the limitations of 1A), as taught by ‘488, for the purpose of reducing floor area, as taught by ‘488 (abstract) and access of maintenance area.
‘061 is analogous art in the field of Substrate Processing Apparatus (title), a vertical type substrate processing apparatus ([0004]). ’061 teaches that A reference numeral 150 indicates a gas supply structure through which the gas such as the source gas and the reactive gas is supplied into the inner tube 130 (Fig. 1A, [0023]), The gas discharged from the inside of the inner tube 130 toward the reaction tube 120 through the slit 132 is discharged to an outside of the reaction tube 120 by an exhaust structure (not shown) through an exhaust pipe 121 ([0026], Fig. 1A shows the exhaust pipe 121 is at the same side of the reactor tube 120 as the gas supply structure 150).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the gas supply unit 43 to the same side as the exhaust duct 44 of ‘293 (exchanging position with the branch duct 46) (as both 43 and 44 are on the opposite side of the wafer transfer mechanism 51, reads into the limitation of 1B), as taught by ‘061. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Note it is not possible to move the exhaust duct to the gas supply unit side because the space is occupied by the transfer module 50.
In case Applicants argue that the loader module 20 of ‘293 is not necessarily an unloader, ‘061 clearly teaches loading/unloading port ([0060]).
‘726 is analogous art in the field of Vacuum Processing Apparatus And Semiconductor Manufacturing Line Using The Same (title), a cassette block and a vacuum processing block (abstract), The vacuum block has a load lock chamber in the loading side, a load lock chamber in the unloading side, a processing chamber, a post treating chamber, a vacuum pump and a robot operating under a vacuum environment (col. 1, lines 21-25), the vacuum processing apparatus require maintenance (col. 1, lines 63-64). ’726 teaches that by opening the doors 214, the load lock chamber 5, the post treating chamber 7, the vacuum transfer robot 10 and the various kinds of pipes and devices can be inspected and repaired (Fig. 8, col. 14, lines 37-40, similar to ‘488’s door rotating out), FIG. 6A is a view showing the part of a flow of a sample 3 in an embodiment of a semiconductor manufacturing line in accordance with the present invention. At the entrance portion of each of the bay areas 200, there are provided an inspection apparatus 206 and a bay stoker 208 (col. 7, lines 30-34, Fig. 6A shows some both sides of the bay areas 200 have doors, and some doors are rotating inward), for the purpose of better maintainability (col. 4, line 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added doors at both sides of the maintenance area of ‘293, using doors that rotate inward (the limitations of 1C, 7, and 13), as taught by Fig. 6A of ‘726, for the purpose of better maintainability (col. 4, line 4) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. As such, the doors, when rotated inward, define the maintenance passage.
‘293 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 14: A wafer transfer mechanism 51, which is an example of a substrate transfer mechanism, is provided in the wafer transfer module 50. The wafer transfer mechanism 51 delivers the wafers W between the interior of the carrier C placed on the FIMS port and the wafer boat 414 placed on the load unit 42 of the process module 40. The wafer transfer mechanism 51 has, for example, a plurality of forks to simultaneously transfer the plurality of wafers W ([0038], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the substrate transport device is configured to simultaneously transport the plurality of substrates between the loading and unloading system and each batch processing unit of the plurality of batch processing units”).
The combination of ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, and ‘726 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 3: Fig. 1A of ‘061 shows the gas structure 150 is higher than the exhaust pipe 121 (includes the claimed “wherein the gas supply system and the exhaust system are provided at different height positions”).
Claim 4: Fig. 2 or 6 of ‘293 shows the claimed “wherein an upper surface of the substrate transport system and an upper surface of the exhaust system are located at identical height positions”.
Claim 5: Fig. 4 also shows the claimed “wherein the exhaust system has an inverted L shape in a plan view viewed in the first horizontal direction”,
since a relatively large space can be secured at a side of the exhaust duct 44, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the heat treatment unit 41 ([0040], last sentence, includes the claimed “to form the first maintenance area between the exhaust and system the load mechanism”).
Claim 15: the combined apparatus has the same structure as instant application, and operator is able to reach the gas supply unit 43 passing exhaust duct 44 (includes the claimed “wherein the first maintenance area is configured to provide the operator access to maintenance of the gas supply system and the exhaust system”, see 112 (b) rejection above).
Claim 16: with numerous doors in Fig. 6A of ‘726, some of the doors read into the claimed “wherein the first door and the second door rotate in identical directions to the respective open positions when forming the wall surfaces that define the passage, respectively”, see 112 (b) rejection above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, and ‘726 as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Duer et al. (US 20100158642, hereafter ‘642).
The combination of ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, and ‘726 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 8: further comprising: a fence provided on the exhaust system and extending above an upper surface of the exhaust system.
‘642 is analogous art in the field of a vacuum processing system includes a plurality of processing chambers coupled to a vacuum transfer chamber suitable to accommodate a large area substrate and a least one horizontal platform disposed between adjacent processing chambers. The vacuum transfer chamber has a robot disposed therein. The platform is coupled to a base supporting one of the adjacent processing chambers (abstract). ‘642 criticizes The limited access and crowded area creates a hazard to technicians working on and servicing the system ([0006]). ’642 teaches that A plurality of platforms 120 are coupled between adjacent chambers 100, 132. The platforms 120 are elevated from the floor 102 to provide extra space around the processing system, leaving ample space below the platforms for system utilities ([0032]), The space below and interstitial to the machine base 104 is utilized for the system utilities, such as such as power sources, controller, pumps, gas panels and the like (Figs. 1-4, [0028], last sentence, i.e. exhaust system), A safety rail 160 is provided on an outer edge 162 of the platform 120 to prevent technicians from falling ([0042], i.e. safety rail is above utility including pump line).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a safety rail 160, above the exhaust duct 44 of ‘293, for the purpose of preventing technicians from falling, as taught by ‘642 ([0042]).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, and ‘762 as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of MOTEGI et al. (US 20210057243, hereafter ‘243) and ‘642.
‘293 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 9: In addition, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the process modules 40. Specifically, since a space is secured above the wafer transfer module 50, it is possible to easily perform maintenance of the gas supply unit 43 from a side of the wafer transfer module 50 ([0040], includes the claimed “a second maintenance area configured to provide the operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units”, see 112b rejection above).
The combination of ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, and ‘726 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 9: further comprising:
a scaffold provided on the substrate transport system; and
(a second maintenance area configured to provide the operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units), wherein:
the scaffold includes a support member, a floor plate supported on the support member, and a fence provided on the support member and located at a position above the floor plate,
the fence extends upwards from an upper surface of the substrate transport system, and
the second maintenance area is formed by an area above the floor plate together with an area above the substrate transport system.
‘243 is analogous art in the field of The substrate processing system includes a substrate transfer module, a supporting table including a top plate disposed separately from the floor face, a plurality of substrate processing modules disposed on the top plate and coupled to the substrate transfer module along a lateral side of the substrate transfer module, and a plurality of power units disposed below the top plate (abstract), in a semiconductor manufacturing factory ([0003]). ‘243 criticizes an increase of an installation area ([0004]). ’243 teaches that The rail 55 and the frame 56 are disposed at a position outside of the processing module 11 at the other end in the X direction, which may cause interference when moving an object. Therefore, the support columns 57 are configured to be removable … FIG. 7 shows a state in which the rail 55 and the frame 56 are unfolded for maintenance work in the substrate processing system 10 according to the first embodiment ([0048], 1st -5th sentences).
‘642 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added foldable rail 55, frame 56, removable support column 57 of ‘243 and to have added a safety rail 160 of ‘642, above the exhaust duct 44 of ‘293, for the purpose of reducing installation area, as taught by ‘243 ([0004]) and preventing technicians from falling, as taught by ‘642 ([0042]).
The combination of ‘293, ‘488, ‘061, ‘726, ‘243, and ‘642 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 10: Figs. 2-3 of ‘293 shows the top surface of the exhaust duct 44 is at the same height as the top surface of the wafer transfer module 50 (therefore, the claimed “wherein an upper surface of the floor plate coincides with the upper surface of the substrate transport system”).
Claims 11-12: Figs. 2-3 of ‘293 also shows both the top surface of the exhaust duct 44 and the top surface of the transfer module 50 access some process module 40 (includes the claimed “further comprising: a third maintenance area, formed above the exhaust system, and configured to provide the operator access for maintenance of the plurality of batch processing units” of claim 11 and “A system comprising: a plurality of substrate processing apparatuses arranged adjacent to one another along a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, wherein: each substrate processing apparatus of the plurality of substrate processing apparatuses is configured according to claim 11, and the second maintenance area and the third upper maintenance area are shared between two adjacent substrate processing apparatuses among the plurality of substrate processing apparatuses”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regarding to claim interpretation and 112(b) rejection, Applicants’ assert the amendment avoid the 112(f) interpretation of the “a substrate transport device” of claim 1, see the middle of P7.
This argument is not persuasive.
Applicants remove one instance of “a substrate transport device” while leaving another one in the claim.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-5, 7, 13, and 14 over Kadobe ‘293, Takeshita ‘488, Okajima ‘061, and Soraoka ‘726, Applicants’ argue that only the exhaust duct 44 is provided on the side opposite the side of the processing container 412 and the wafer transfer module 50 and the gas supply unit 43 is adjacent to the processing container 412, and the other references are not related to this feature, see the 1st and 2nd completer paragraph of page 8.
This argument is not persuasive.
The feature “the gas supply system and the exhaust system are adjacent to the second side of the processing container” of amended claim 1 or previously “the gas supply system and the exhaust system are provided on one side of the processing container” of claim 1 is the limitation of 1B which is rejected by the combination of ‘293 in view of ‘061. Fig. 1A of ‘061 shows the exhaust pipe 121 is at the same side of the reactor tube 120 as the gas supply structure 150. it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the gas supply unit 43 to the same side as the exhaust duct 44 of ‘293 (exchanging position with the branch duct 46) (the limitation of 1B), as taught by ‘061.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20010010307 is cited for gas inlet 24 and exhaust 25 at the same side of a vertical reactor (Fig. 1, “26” is mislabel of “25”). US 20160265107 is cited for gas inlet 94 and exhaust port 104 at the same side of a vertical reactor (Fig. 1).
US 20080257260 is cited for pumping port is below the gas delivery and both are at the same side of the process chamber 201 (Fig. 4).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716