DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The formulas in claim 1 are too light to be clearly seen for examination and for printing. Claim 1 should be amended to darken the drawing so that each structure is clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The structures in the abstract, on page 5, 15, 20, 21, 23, 27-39, 43-46, 82-84, 89-96, 106-110, 148-151, 153, 154, Table 2 on page 152, Table 3 on page 155, Table 4 on page 156, Table 5 on page 159, Table 6 on page 160, Table 7 on page 162, Table 8 on page 163, are all very light. Some structures are so light that they are missing lines in phenyl rings or bonds, or the structures and the date in the tables are too light to clearly read.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the structures are too light to be seen. Similar to the claims and specification, there are missing bonds and must be corrected. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasami et al (2020/0218154) in view of Fujii et al (2020/0159118).
Sasami et al disclose a resist composition and polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit similar to that of the instant formula (A-1) having an acid-labile group. In the reference formula (a-1), the group Y is a group falling within the scope of the instant claims, wherein RB and RC join to form a ring, n4 is 0. The reference formula and definitions are broad, and the reference does not specify the suitable substituents for the group.
Fujii et al disclose a resist composition and polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit similar to that of the instant formula (A-1) having an acid-labile group.
In the formula, which is similar in structure to the monomer of Sasami et al discussed above, Rx01 is a structure is (a01-r-2), wherein Xaa is a cyclic group and Ra04 is a benzene, naphthalene, or anthracene (wherein instant n4 is 0-2), and the ring my be substituted by an alkyl group, -OH group, carboxyl group, halogen, or alkoxy ([0134]).The broader teachings of the reference for the substituents include preferably fluorine as the halogen and fluorinated alkyl ([0104]-[0106], [0094]-[0098]).A fluorine or florinated allyl would have been contemplated by one or ordinary skill in the art, and also any of the other of the six total categories, including -OH (instant claims 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Sasami et al, choosing as the ring of the monomer of formula (a-1), choosing as the aromatic ring, that as taught by Fujii et al wherein the ring may be one wherein the instant n4 is 0-2, and wherein at least a -OH substituent is present, give the six types of substituents one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select a -OH group. The resultant monomer would meet the limitations of the instant formula (A-1) and (A-2) (instant claims 1, 2, and 12).
The polymer of Sasami et al further comprises a monomeric unit meeting the limitations of the instant (B-1), (B-2), and (B-4):
Monomers preferred by the reference are preferred and used in the examples of the instant specification.
Wherein the cation includes structures falling within the scope of the instant cation-1 and cation-2, with exemplified cations being used in the instant examples (instant claims 5-8).
Reference monomer (a2) falls within the scope of the additional monomer having an acid-labile group according to the instant formula (a-2), wherein the R9 to R11 do no comprise a fluorine atom or aromatic ring (instant claim 9):
The reference resist further includes a unit (b-1) having a -OH group, wherein ZB may be an ester of single bond as required by the instant formula (C-1) of instant claim 10:
The reference resist further comprises a unit having a lactone group as required by the instant claim 11, instant formula (D-1).
The resist further comprises an organic solvent (see examples; instant claim 13), a photoacid generator (see examples; instant claim 14), a nitrogen-containing compound/ quencher (examples; instant claim 15), and a surfactant ([0094]-[0097]; instant claim 16).
The pattern forming method of the reference includes the steps as set forth by the instant claims 17-19, wherein the composition is coated onto a substrate, dried/ pre-baked, exposed to radiation including KrF and EUV, and developed ([0111]-[0113]).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al in view of Sasami et al.
Fujii et al and Sasami et al have been discussed above.
Fujii et al teach a resist composition capable of begun developed by alkali (TMAH) solution or solvent development. The resist comprises a polymer, acid generator, solvent, surfactant, and a quencher (see examples, claims; instant claims 12-15). The polymer comprises units meeting the limitations of the instant (A-1) as discussed above, and further teaches units of the instant formulas (C-1) and (D-1) ( comprising an aromatic ring with an -OH group, and a lactone; instant claims 10, 11):
The reference further teaches a unit (a1) is included, which comprises a structure of the instant (a-1) of the instant claim 9:
The acid generator disclosed by the reference is broad, and is not particularly limited, and the resin may include additonal units ([0449]-0452]).
The reference further teaches the cations preferably have a strcuture falling within the scope of the instant claims 5-8 ([0518], examples), and more than one may be used ([0547]).
The reference fails to specifically teach the monomer comprising the acid generator as claimed. However, as discusseda bove, Sasami et al teach the inclusion ofone acid generating compound intothe polymer, and an additional acid generator. The aniosn andcation have strucutre meeting the instanmt formulas, and have strucutres falling within the teachings of Fujiiet al. The reference teaches that an improvement in line edge roughness (LER), an decreased acid diffusion ([0050]). The reference includes the acid generator into a polymer having units similar to that of Fujii et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the materials of Fujii et al, choosing as one acid generator, that taught by Sasami et al to improve the uniformity and LER of the resist pattern.
The method of forming a resist includes the steps as claimed, and teaches that either an alkali developing or solvent developing process may be used (instant claims 17-20):
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has submitted an additional copy of the specification, but not the claims. The claimed formulas are still too light to see the bonds clearly to be printed and must be corrected.
In the newly submitted specification, the compounds are still light and it is difficult to clearly see many of the compounds and bonds clearly (especially the rings, the substituents are in a darker print as easier to see). A clearer copy must be submitted prior to allowance.
As an examples, (A-2) on page 8 is clear. The above cited (A-1), (B-1), and (B-2) are on page 5 are not (also [0046]).
Further examples (not all compounds, just a sample of them with light or missing bonds or missing -O-alkyl group) appear below.
Applicant has argued that the cited references fail to teach that the unit of formula (A-1) “comprises one or two hydroxyl groups (that is, in formula (A-1), “n1” represents an integer of 1 or 2”, and that the Fujii reference makes no mention of the number of hydroxyl groups as substituents.” (response, page 5, paragraphs 2 and 3).
The office notes that the presence of a hydroxyl substituent inherently indicates that n1 is (at least) 1, with one hydroxyl substituent present. Clearly the presence of a hydroxyl substituent means that there is at least one substituent present on the ring and n1 is one. One of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that that n1 would be 1. Exemplified rings include a single substituent (alkyls, page 9 of Fujii), further leading to the presence of one substituent with n1 being 1.
Applicant has also argued on page 10 that the higher sensitivity and higher contrast sought by applicant by the inclusion of the monomer is not recognized by the references, however, the references do not need to add a compound to a composition for the same reason or to solve the same problem as applicant. In the chemical arts, a compound (polymer, salt, organic compound, dye, etc.) may be added to a material for a difference purpose, but one of skill in the art would expect the inclusion to result in the same properties as a compound of the same structure would possess the same properties regardless of the reason for addition.
Therefore, the arguments are unpersuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722